Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice

Assembly Bill 877

Relating to: carrying concealed weapons by law enforcement officers and by retired law enforcement officers.

By Representatives Friske, Bies, Hraychuck, Nygren, Van Roy, Nerison, Petrowski, Jorgensen, Zepnick, Montgomery, Kerkman, Vukmir, Meyer, Ballweg, Vos, Kestell, Albers, Nass, Musser, Kramer and Suder; cosponsored by Senators Breske, S. Fitzgerald, Hansen, Kapanke, Wirch, Grothman, Harsdorf, Kedzie, Lazich and Roessler.

February 26, 2008 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

February 27, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (11) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers, Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas, Kessler, Grigsby and Hraychuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Donald Friske State Representative, 35th State Assembly District
- J.B. Van Hollen Attorney General, Office of the Wisconsin Attorney General
- William Ward, Milwaukee Milwaukee Police Association
- Jeff Wiswell, Madison Representing himself

Appearances Against

• Annie Early, Madison — Wisconsin Troopers Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dan Kapanke State Senator, 32nd State Senate District
- Garey Bies State Representative, 1st State Assembly District
- Jerry Johnson, Green Bay Fraternal Order of Police (FOP), Lodge #2
- Jim Palmer, Madison Wisconsin Professional Police Association

• Alice O'Connor — Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 27, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers,

Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas,

Kessler, Grigsby and Hraychuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch that **Assembly Bill 877** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Kleefisch, Friske, Albers,

Owens, Vukmir, Kramer, Turner, Staskunas,

D.C. Watelt

Kessler, Hraychuck.

Noes: (1) Representative Grigsby.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk