Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Tax Fairness and Family Prosperity

Assembly Joint Resolution 39

Relating to: different property tax levy rates for parts of cities, villages, towns, counties, and school districts added by attachments to school districts, consolidations, and boundary changes under cooperative agreements (first consideration).

By Representatives Newcomer, Ballweg, Berceau, Gottlieb, Gunderson, Hintz, Kramer, F. Lasee, Lothian, Nygren, Strachota, Townsend and Zipperer; cosponsored by Senators Erpenbach, Kedzie, Lehman and Leibham.

November 06, 2007 Referred to Committee on Tax Fairness and Family Prosperity.

February 13, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Jauch, Kreitlow, Vinehout, Grothman

and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Eric Knight Representative Scott Newcomer's office
- Tryg Knutson Senator Jon Erpenbach's office
- Dan Vrakas County Executive, Waukesha County
- Margaret Farrow, Pewaukee
- Jon Hochkammer, Verona Mayor, City of Verona
- Ed Huck, Madison WI Alliance of Cities

Appearances Against

None

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sheri Krause, Madison WI Association of School Boards
- Michael Birkley, Madison WI Property Taxpayers, Inc
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 5, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Jauch, Kreitlow, Vinehout, Grothman

and Leibham.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Leibham, seconded by Senator Vinehout that **Assembly Joint Resolution 39** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (5) Senators Jauch, Kreitlow, Vinehout,

Grothman and Leibham.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Carrie Kahn Committee Clerk