### **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Judiciary and Ethics**

#### Senate Bill 129

Relating to: requiring a hospital to provide to a sexual assault victim information and, upon her request, emergency contraception and providing a penalty.

By Senators Robson, Taylor, Miller, Plale, Risser, Erpenbach, Lehman, Wirch, Hansen, Jauch, Carpenter, Kreitlow, Coggs, Lassa and Sullivan; cosponsored by Representatives Pocan, Benedict, Berceau, Black, Boyle, Grigsby, Hraychuck, Kessler, Parisi, Pope-Roberts, Seidel, Sheridan, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Travis, Turner, Vruwink, Young, Zepnick and Wasserman.

May 31, 2007 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Ethics.

#### September 6, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas, Hintz and Kessler.

Absent: (2) Representatives Friske and Turner.

#### Appearances For

- Terry Musser, Black River Falls State Representative, 92nd Assembly District
- Mark Pocan, Madison State Representative, 78th Assembly District
- Judy Robson, Beloit State Senator, 15th Senate District
- Chris Taylor, Madison Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin
- Carousel Bayrd, Madison
- Amanda Harrington, Madison
- Julie Fagen, Madison NPCW HPRC
- Debbie Donovan Aurora Health Care
- Hope Swanson, Madison NASW WI
- Mike Murray, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Sarah Finger, Madison Compassionate Care for Rape Victims Coalition
- Linda Gage, Eau Claire
- Keeley Crowley, Manitowoc Sexual Assault Resource Center
- Lon Newman, Wausau WFPRHA

- Cathy Thompson, Janesville Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice
- Sharon Rogalski, Sharon National Organization for Women
- Emilie Rabbitt, Madison United Council of UW Students
- David Gauze, Sharon
- Kelly Anderson, Madison Rape Crisis Center
- Jennifer Helmers, Janesville
- Kelda Boys, Madison NARAL Pro-Choice Wisconsin
- Kim Wadas, Madison Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- James Linn, Shorewood Doctor
- Julie Mickelson, Shorewood Doctor, Milwaukee Guild of Catholic Medical Association
- J. Schuh, Westby Doctor
- Kimberly Couri, Wausau Doctor
- Rose Smyth, Custer Doctor
- Randal Wojciehoski, Stevens Point Doctor
- Michael Phillips, Wauwatosa Doctor
- William Vernon, Cambridge Reverend
- Matt Sande, Cambridge Pro-Life Wisconsin
- Matt Bowman Alliance Defense Fund
- Gene Green, Fox Lake Baptists fo Life of Wisconsin
- Judith Brant, Madison Wisconsin Family Action
- Pam Charles
- Richard Sorensen, Madison
- Greg Wagner, Middleton Pro-Life Wisconsin
- Robin Le Van, Oconomowoc
- J.A. Hines, Oxford State Representative, 42nd Assembly District
- Christine Sinicki, Milwaukee State Representative, 20th Assembly District
- Terese Berceau, Madison State Representative, 76th Assembly District
- Jon Erpenbach, Middleton State Senator, 27th Senate District
- Josh Freker, Madison Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Cleveland Doxtater, Green Bay American Indians Against Abuse
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Michael Welsh, Madison Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Mike Harrington, Whitefish Bay
- Marshall Feld, Madison

- Heidi Fields, Madison Planned Parenthood
- Jill Poarch, Middleton Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners
- Leslie Starczewski, Madison
- Emily Langer, Madison NASW
- Joyce Aasen, Madison
- Shirley Haidinger, Madison
- April Scheiner, Madison
- Stacy Harbaugh, Madison ACLU of Wisconsin
- Andrea Kaminski, Madison League of Women Voters
- Marc Hevstand, Madison NASW
- Sondra Le Grand, La Crosse
- Dick Swantz, La Crosse
- Judy Swantz, La Crosse
- Sharon Hampson, La Crosse
- Karen Gunderson, Madison
- Tom Ryan, Madison Medical Examiners Board
- Tammi Kral, Madison
- Kathryn Osborne, Madison American College of Nurse Midwives
- Kathryn Giegel, Middleton
- Stacie Reece, Madison
- Aaron Crandalc, Madison
- Kari Stevens, Madison
- Craig Spaulding, Madison
- Jennifer Olenchek, Milwaukee
- Jennifer O'Melia, Madison
- Sabrina Gentile, Madison Wisconsin Council on Children and Families
- John Giegel, Middleton
- Jodie Tierney, Madison
- Andrea Gage, New Berlin
- Will Goodman, Stevens Point Servants of Our Lady of Guadalupe
- Nicole Safar, Madison
- Roberta Allikson, Milwaukee
- JoCasta Zamarriph, Milwaukee PPWI
- Kristin Settle, Milwaukee One Wisconsin Now
- Lauren Hasselbacher, Madison DAIS
- Cynthia Beiler, McFarland National Organization for Women
- Katie Plona, Madison DHFS
- Theodora Christensen, Madison
- Judy Skog, Madison
- Josh Boll, Madison

- Jeanne Bissell, Madison
- Robert Ross, Madison
- Julie Simani, Middleton Madison Birth Center
- Adam Korbitz, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin
- Dale Griffin, Madison
- Jennifer Knack, Madison
- James Allen, Madison Doctor
- Laura Gottlieb, Madison
- Dan Ross, Madison
- Lindsey Moser, Madison
- Kimberly Luke, Madison
- Michelle Michalak, Madison
- Frank Iltis, Madison
- Amy Ihlenfeldt, Madison
- Jenifer Horne, Madison
- Judith Kaufman, Madison
- Richard Russell, Madison
- Kira Wehn, Madison
- Chynna Haas, Madison United Council
- Ray Maida, Madison
- Meg Robertson, Monona
- Kathleen Moen, Madison
- Deb Holt, Madison

### Appearances Against

• Christopher Kelley, Lisbon

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

• Carolyn Ponder, St. Francis

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### September 18, 2007 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske,

Kerkman, Kleefisch, Pridemore, Staskunas,

Hintz, Turner, Kessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative Staskunas that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch and Pridemore.

Noes: (4) Representatives Staskunas, Hintz, Turner and Kessler.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Kramer, seconded by Representative Pridemore that **Senate Bill 129** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Kramer, Friske, Kerkman, Kleefisch and Pridemore.

Noes: (4) Representatives Staskunas, Hintz, Turner and Kessler.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk