## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

#### Senate Bill 132

Relating to: the use of ethnic names, nicknames, logos, and mascots by school boards, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Coggs, Risser, Carpenter and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Musser, Boyle, Berceau, Cullen, Fields, Grigsby, Kreuser, Mursau, Nelson, Parisi, Pocan, Schneider, Sheridan, Sinicki, Soletski, Sherman and Shilling.

April 06, 2007 Referred to Committee on Education.

October 18, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Regina Washinawatok, Keshena Menominee Nation
- Frank Boyle, Superior Rep., 73rd Assembly District
- Barbara Munson, Mosinee Wisconsin Indian Education Association
- Ken Whitehorse, Friendship self
- Brett Munson, Menasha Wisconsin Indian Education Association
- Michelle La Rock, Rhinelander Wisconsin Indian Education Association
- J. P. Leary, Madison Department of Public Instruction
- Ed Delgado, Oneida Councilman, Oneida Nation
- Carol Gunderson, Osseo self
- Harvey Gunderson, Osseo self
- Patricia Marroquin Norby, Osseo self
- Clif Morton, New London Wisconsin State Human Relations Association
- Richie Plass, Oneida Changing Winds Advocacy
- Matthew Stewart, La Crosse self
- Aaron Bird Bear, Madison Self

#### **Appearances Against**

• None.

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Zeke Dasho, Madison Rep. Sinicki's office
- Leah Ann Walker, Black River Falls
- Jayson Jackson, Wisconsin Rapids Native Community of Wisconsin Rapids
- Arvina Martin, Madison self
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Robert Munson Wisconsin Indian Education Association
- Spencer Coggs, Milwaukee Sen., 6th Senate District

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 13, 2008 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk