Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 299

Relating to: distribution of a portion of the school levy tax credit.

By Senators Lehman, Hansen, Kreitlow, Vinehout, Wirch, Erpenbach, Schultz, Carpenter, Coggs, Decker, Olsen, Taylor, Lassa and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Gottlieb, Mason, Nelson, Turner, Hilgenberg, Gronemus, Sheridan, Hintz, Hebl, Hixson, Pope-Roberts, Vruwink, Strachota, Cullen, Sinicki, Zepnick and Staskunas.

November 02, 2007 Referred to Committee on Education.

November 6, 2007 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Chris Thiel, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools
- Valley Ellenhausen, West Bend West Bend School District
- Danny Goldberg, Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Schools District 7

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None

Registrations For

- Mark Gottleib, Port Washington Rep., 60th Assembly District
- Cory Mason, Racine Rep., 62nd Assembly District
- Kathleen Vinehout, Alma Sen., 31st Senate District
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Sen., 4th Senate District
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Sheri Krause, Madison Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- John Forester School District Administrators Alliance
- Jennifer Gonda, Milwaukee City of Milwaukee

• Kristin Collett, Milwaukee — MTEA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 6, 2007 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Grothman, seconded by Senator Erpenbach that **Senate Bill 299** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Kreitlow, Olsen and Grothman.

Noes: (1) Senator Lazich.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk