Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture and Higher Education

Senate Bill 353

Relating to: collective bargaining process for University of Wisconsin System faculty and academic staff and making appropriations.

By Senators Hansen, Vinehout, Coggs, Decker, Erpenbach, Jauch, Kapanke, Lassa, Lehman, Miller, Plale, Sullivan, Taylor and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Richards, Berceau, Boyle, Colon, Hahn, Hebl, Hintz, Hixson, Kaufert, Kreuser, Musser, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Sheridan, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Travis and Turner.

December 11, 2007 Referred to Committee on Agriculture and Higher Education.

December 17, 2007 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Vinehout, Lassa, Plale, Harsdorf and

Kapanke.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- David Newby WI AFL-CIO
- Brian Kennedy, Glendale AFT Wisconsin
- Patti See, Eau Claire
- Robert Hooper, Eau Claire
- Patricia Terry, Green Bay Assn. of UW Proffesionals
- Mark Evenson, Mineral Point TAUWP
- Gloria Toivola, Superior
- Ed Young, Eau Claire
- Janice Bogstad, Eau Claire Dr., UW-EC faculty
- Janet Polansky, Menomonie
- Susan Harrison, Eau Claire
- Dale Gable, Eau Claire
- Larry Glenn, Eau Claire
- Tom Hench, LaCrosse
- George Cravins, Melrose TAUWP
- William Biglow, Oshkosh TAUWP
- Ray Hsu, Madison
- Thomas Kemp, Eau Claire
- Maryan Stubbs, Madison United Faculty and Academic Staff
- Ingolf Vogeler, Eau Claire UW-EC Faculty
- Rick Richmond, Eau Claire

 Dennis Shaw, Menomonie — UW-Stout Academic Staff Senate

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dave Hansen, Green Bay Sen., WI State Senate
- Pat Kreitlow, Chippewa Falls Sen., WI State Senate
- Aaron Brewster, Eau Claire UWEC Student Senate
- Julie Adler, Eau Claire
- Erica Benson, Eau Claire
- Anne Utschig, Eau Claire
- Kevin Kniffin, Madison AFT-Wisconsin
- Brandon Buchanan, Eau Claire Eau Claire City Council
- Cedric Lewson, Madison United Council
- Phil Staff, Eau Claire —
- Jeremy Gragert, Eau Claire
- Jill Malak, Madison
- Zachary Barnes, Eau Claire
- James Oberly, Eau Claire
- John Peter, Eau Claire WEAC
- Andrea Gapko, Eau Claire
- Jim Molenda, Madison
- Alexandra Torinus, Milwaukee

Registrations Against

- Daniel Hartog, Madison Dr.
- Daniel Barnish, Oregon
- Karen Schwarz, Madison
- Janet Swandby, Madison ASPRO
- Dave Carlson, Janesville
- Kathy Zweifel, Madison
- Constance Russell, Eau Claire
- Bruce Neumann, McFarland
- Joan Hall, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Present: (5) Senators Vinehout, Lassa, Plale, Harsdorf and Kapanke.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Vinehout, seconded by Senator Plale that **Senate Bill 353** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senators Vinehout, Lassa, Plale and Kapanke.

Noes: (1) Senator Harsdorf.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Joel Nilsestuen Committee Clerk