## Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

#### Senate Bill 395

Relating to: adopting federal law as it relates to an income tax deduction for certain educators and creating an individual income tax deduction for educators who use their own funds to purchase classroom educational supplies.

By Senators Plale, Taylor, Olsen, Darling, Roessler, Kapanke, Leibham, Schultz, Kedzie, Wirch, Hansen, Vinehout, Risser, Lassa and Erpenbach; cosponsored by Representatives Wieckert, Ballweg, Staskunas, Boyle, Gronemus, Parisi, Turner, A. Ott, Smith, Jorgensen, Young, Berceau, Jeskewitz, Fields, Musser, Bies, Friske, Sheridan, Kaufert, Gunderson, Mursau, Mason, Grigsby, Cullen, Vos, Sherman, Seidel, Van Akkeren, Hubler, Shilling, Van Roy, Ziegelbauer, Molepske, Nelson, Kleefisch, Townsend, Schneider, Pope-Roberts and Travis.

January 17, 2008 Referred to Committee on Education.

#### February 21, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (2) Senators Kreitlow and Olsen.

#### Appearances For

- Steve Wieckert, Appleton Rep., 57th Assembly District
- Jeff Siuta, Racine Racine Unified School District
- Madu Enwemnwa, Madison Office of Sen. Lena Taylor

### **Appearances Against**

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Jeff Plale, Milwaukee Sen, 7th Senate District
- Joe Quick, Madison Madison Metropolitan School District
- Deb Sybell, Madison Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Sandy Nemec, Somerset Somerset School District
- Lily Ramos, Racine REAA
- Jennifer Kammerud, Madison Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

- Matt Kussow Wisconsin Council on Religious and Independent Schools
- Lena Taylor, Milwaukee Sen., 4th Senate District

## Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## March 6, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen,

Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Hansen, seconded by Senator Olsen that **Senate Bill 395** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lehman, Erpenbach, Hansen, Kreitlow, Olsen, Grothman and Lazich.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Sara Dauscher Committee Clerk