Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Economic Development

Senate Bill 480

Relating to: changes to economic development tax benefit programs, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and requiring the exercise of rule-making authority.

By Senators Lassa, Sullivan, Roessler, Vinehout, Darling and Kapanke; cosponsored by Representatives Strachota, Jeskewitz, Vos, A. Ott, Townsend, Kleefisch, Ballweg, Hahn and Mursau.

February 12, 2008 Referred to Committee on Economic Development.

February 13, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Ron Brisbois, Boscobel Grant County Economic Development
- Julie Lassa Senator
- Pat Strachota Representative
- Peter Thillman, Green Bay WEDA
- James Otterstein, Janesville WEDA
- Amy Boyer, Madison Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Carol Roessler, Madison Senator

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Alberta Darling, Milwaukee Senator
- Sue Jeskewitz Representative
- Chandra Miller Fienen, Madison Department of Commerce

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 21, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Roessler, seconded by Senator Kreitlow that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Lassa that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Noes: (0) None.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by Senator Kreitlow, seconded by Senator Roessler that **Senate Bill 480** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senators Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Kreitlow,

Kanavas, Darling and Roessler.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Danielle Wilson Committee Clerk