Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 512

Relating to: mandatory overtime hours worked by health care workers employed by health care facilities and providing penalties.

By Senators Robson, Coggs, Lehman, Carpenter, Miller, Hansen and Erpenbach; cosponsored by Representatives Benedict, Zepnick, Van Akkeren, Turner, Boyle, Berceau, Kessler, Pocan, Sheridan, Grigsby, Toles, Richards, Mason, Staskunas, Colon, Hintz and Hilgenberg.

February 19, 2008 Referred to Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs.

February 27, 2008 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, Grothman

and A. Lasee.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Judy Robson Senator
- Dian Palmer SEIU 1199
- Ann Louise Te'treault SEIU 1199
- Kathy Filipiak WFNHP
- Kalli Nedeau
- Kristy Koney
- Candice Owley WFNHP
- Heidi Gammon SEIU 1199
- Dee Ives SEIU 1199
- Marcia Rayho SEIU 1199
- Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association
- Michael Cordes SEIU Healthcare

Appearances Against

- Helen Birsch-Kenny Meriter Hospital
- Linda Cottreau Aurora
- Judy Warmueth Wisconsin Hospital Association

Appearances for Information Only

Jeff Wiswell

Registrations For

• Kevin Walsh — SEIU 1199

- Jon Erpenbach Senator
- Zeke Dasho Representative Christine Sinicki
- Zeke Dasho Representative Chuck Benedict
- Josh Zepnick Representative
- Bethany Ordaz SEIU Wisconsin State Council
- Joanne Ricca AFL-CIO
- Terrell Brock
- John Grabel AFSCME
- Stephanie Bloomingdale WFNHP
- Telemachus Ratalidys WFNHP
- Scott Hanson SEIU Healthcare
- Thomas Elert
- Brenda Frary SEIU 1199
- Mark LaFlash SEIU 1199
- Sandra Faust
- Shon Jones SEIU 1199
- Paege Heckel SEIU 1199
- Lynda Strom SEIU 1199
- Jeff Mintzlaff
- Geri Marsh SEIU 1199
- Cruz Cid SEIU 1199
- Brian Reid SEIU 1199
- Trish Hellann
- Becky Anderson SEIU 1199
- Mary Malaney

Registrations Against

- Melvina Huggins Meriter Hospital
- Randy Schade
- Mary Kay Grasmick
- Peggy Ose Wisconsin Organization of Nurse Executives
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association
- Jim McGinn Wisconsin Health Care Assn

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 5, 2008 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (4) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman and

Grothman.

Absent: (1) Senator A. Lasee.

Moved by Senator Wirch, seconded by Senator Lehman that **Senate Bill 512** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senators Coggs, Wirch and Lehman.

Noes: (1) Senator Grothman. Absent: (1) Senator A. Lasee.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 1

Adam Plotkin Committee Clerk