LRB-1934/3 PG:nwn:rs

2009 ASSEMBLY BILL 276

May 19, 2009 – Introduced by Representatives Smith, Rhoades, Hixson, Soletski, Garthwaite, Turner, Molepske Jr., Shilling, Grigsby, Montgomery, Danou, Kestell, Townsend, A. Ott, Brooks, Lothian and Murtha, cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Harsdorf, Vinehout, Hansen, Kreitlow, Holperin and Schultz. Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities.

- 1 AN ACT *to renumber and amend* 15.91; and *to create* 15.91 (2) of the statutes;
- 2 relating to: composition of the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin
- 3 System.

4

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Currently, 14 citizen members serve on the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System. This bill divides the state into seven geographical areas, called districts, and requires that at least one citizen member of the Board of Regents reside in each district. The requirement takes effect on January 1, 2015.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **SECTION 1.** 15.91 of the statutes is renumbered 15.91 (1) and amended to read:
- 5 15.91 **(1)** There is created a board of regents of the University of Wisconsin
- System consisting of the state superintendent of public instruction, the president,
- or by his or her designation another member, of the technical college system board
- 8 and: 14 citizen members appointed for staggered 7-year terms, and 2 students

ASSEMBLY BILL 276

enrolled at least half-time and in good academic standing at institutions within the University of Wisconsin System who are residents of this state, for 2-year terms.

- (3) The student members may be selected from recommendations made by elected representatives of student governments at institutions within the University of Wisconsin System. The governor shall appoint one student member who is at least 18 years old and one undergraduate student member who is at least 24 years old and represents the views of nontraditional students, such as those who are employed or are parents. The governor may not appoint a student member from the same institution in any 2 consecutive terms; the 2 student members who are appointed may not be from the same institution; and a student from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee may not serve on the Board of Regents at the same time. If a student member loses the status upon which the appointment was based, he or she shall cease to be a member of the board of regents.
- **Section 2.** 15.91 (2) of the statutes is created to read:
 - 15.91 **(2)** At least one of the citizen members shall reside in each of the following districts:
 - (a) District number one, consisting of Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Iron, Lincoln, Oneida, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rust, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.
 - (b) District number 2, consisting of Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, and Waupaca counties.

ASSEMBLY BILL 276

1	(c) District number 3, consisting of Buffalo, Clark, Crawford, Grant, Iowa
2	Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Pepin, Richland, Trempealeau
3	Vernon, and Wood counties.
4	(d) District number 4, consisting of Adams, Columbia, Dane, Green Lake
5	Marquette, Sauk, and Waushara counties.
6	(e) District number 5, consisting of Dodge, Fond du Lac, Sheboygan, and
7	Winnebago counties.
8	(f) District number 6, consisting of Green, Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine, Rock
9	and Walworth counties.
10	(g) District number 7, consisting of Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington, and
11	Waukesha counties.
12	SECTION 3. Effective date.
13	(1) This act takes effect on January 1, 2015.
14	(END)