

2009 Assembly Joint Resolution 100

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: congratulating the Boy Scouts of America on its 100th anniversary.

Whereas, W. D. Boyce of Chicago incorporated the Boy Scouts of America on February 8, 1910, inspired by Robert Baden–Powell's Scout Movement in England; and

Whereas, under the leadership of Daniel Beard, Ernest Thompson Seton, and James West, the Boy Scouts of America expanded rapidly, absorbing similar organizations, and 17–year–old Arthur Rose Eldred of New York became the first Eagle Scout in 1912; and

Whereas, the Boy Scouts played an important role on the home front during the first and second world wars, collecting scrap metal, carrying messages, and selling war bonds; and

Whereas, over the years, the Boy Scouts expanded to include older and younger boys under the Cub Scouts, the Tiger Cub Scouts, the Explorers, and the Venturers; and

Whereas, the example of the Boy Scouts of America inspired Juliette Gordon Low of Savannah, Georgia, to establish the Girl Scouts of the United States of America in 1912; and

Whereas, in 2009, the Boy Scouts of America named its two millionth Eagle Scout, Anthony Thomas of Lakeville, Minnesota; and

Whereas, millions of boys over the past century have strived to uphold the Scout Oath: "On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight"; and

Whereas, the Scout Law defines Scouts as "trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent"; and

Whereas, the Boy Scouts of America is celebrating its centennial on February 8, 2010; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature congratulate the Boy Scouts of America on its 100th anniversary.	
Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate	Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk