

State of Misconsin 2009 - 2010 LEGISLATURE

2009 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 126

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point men's
2	basketball team.
3	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point men's basketball team
4	won the NCAA Division III National Championship, defeating Williams College 78
5	to 73 on March 20, 2010, in Salem, Virginia; and
6	Whereas, the UWSP Pointers tied a school record with 29 victories and finished
7	with a 29–4 win–loss record; and
8	Whereas, the UWSP Pointers won the 2010 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic
9	Conference Tournament Title for the second year in a row and a league-best sixth
10	time, to earn an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament; and
11	Whereas, the UWSP Pointers have never lost in Salem, Virginia, going $6-0$ at
12	the Salem Civic Center; and
13	Whereas, the UWSP Pointers are only the third team to win more than two
14	national titles in Division III men's basketball; and

2009 – 2010 Legislature – 2 –

LRB-4654/en SRM:...:jf

1	Whereas, Coach Bob Semling is the 2010 Molten/DIII News Coach of the Year,
2	and Matt Moses is the 2010 Final Four's Most Outstanding Player, among the many
3	honors and awards received by members and coaches of the team; and
4	Whereas, throughout the season, the UWSP Pointers thrilled their fans,
5	inspired their community, and brought pride to the state of Wisconsin; and
6	Whereas, the 2010 UWSP Pointers will forever be remembered as a team that
7	relied on teamwork, sportsmanship, determination, and courage to achieve a
8	national championship; now, therefore, be it
9	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
10	Wisconsin legislature congratulate the University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point men's
11	basketball team and Coach Bob Semling for their remarkable season and wish them
12	continued success; and, be it further
13	Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint
14	resolution to each of the UWSP Pointer coaches and players.
15	(END)