

2009 Assembly Joint Resolution 130

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

Relating to: commending Blake Geoffrion of the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team.

Whereas, Blake Geoffrion, a senior forward with the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team, was named the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award recipient, given to the most outstanding college hockey player in the nation; and

Whereas, Wisconsin men's hockey student–athletes have been Hobey Baker finalists ten times, but Geoffrion is the first Badger to take home college hockey's top individual honor; and

Whereas, junior defenseman Brendan Smith joined Geoffrion as one of the top ten finalists this season, marking the first time UW has had two finalists in the same season; and

Whereas, Geoffrion, a team tri–captain, is one of college hockey's most complete players and is the Badgers' top faceoff winner, the team's top penalty–killing forward, UW's leader, and the nation's second–leading goal scorer with 28 goals, as well as the nation's top power play goal scorer with 15 goals; and

Whereas, during the Badgers' playoff run, in seven postseason games, Geoffrion had seven goals and 13 points, including two game–winning goals, three power–play goals and a first goal; and

Whereas, he was named the NCAA West Regional Most Outstanding Player, a member of the WCHA Final Five All–Tournament Team, and first–team All–American by the American College Hockey Association; now, therefore, be it

*Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That* the members of the Wisconsin legislature honor Blake Geoffrion for his strength of character on and off the ice, outstanding hockey skills, sportsmanship, and scholastic achievements which garnered him the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the nation's top college hockey student–athlete.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly