

2009 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 131

April 20, 2010 – Introduced by Representatives BLACK and HEBL, cosponsored by Senator RISSER. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: commending student-athletes, coaches, and administrators at the
2	University of Wisconsin-Madison.
3	Whereas, student-athletes from the University of Wisconsin (UW)-Madison
4	enjoyed numerous successes in many sports during the 2009–2010 academic year;
5	and
6	Whereas, the Badger football team under the direction of Bret Bielema finished
7	the regular season with a 9–3 record capped off by a Champs Sport Bowl victory
8	against the University of Miami. The season was also highlighted with the naming
9	of Racine–native sophomore running back John Clay as the consensus 2010 Big Ten
10	Offensive Player of the Year; and
11	Whereas, the men's basketball team coached by Bo Ryan finished the regular
12	season with a record of 23–8 and made the NCAA tournament for the 12th straight
13	year; and
14	Whereas, the women's basketball team led by head coach Lisa Stone finished
15	the regular season with a record of 20–9, marking only the eighth 20–win season in

2009 – 2010 Legislature

UW women's basketball history. Stone guided the team to its first NCAA tournament
 appearance since 2002; and

-2-

Whereas, women's hockey coach Mark Johnson led the U.S. Women's National
Team at the Vancouver Winter Olympics to a silver medal. The team included seven
current or former Badgers, including Jessie Vetter, the Cottage Grove, Wisconsin,
native who won the 2009 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award; and

7 Whereas, the men's hockey team led by head coach Mike Eaves finished off a 8 phenomenal regular season with a record of 22–9–4 that propelled the team to the 9 NCAA Frozen Four and the National Championship game and the first-ever Badger 10 hockey student athlete Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner Blake Geoffrion; and 11 Whereas, Badger wrestling head coach Barry Davis led the team to one of the 12 most successful seasons in team history. Davis was named the 2010 National Coach 13 of the Year and the Badgers placed fourth at the NCAA Championships with 70.5 14 points, tying for the best finish in school history. The team featured four 15 all-Americans including sophomore Andrew Howe who won a national title in his 16 weight class; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
legislature honors all of the University of Wisconsin student–athletes, coaches, and
administrators for all of the hard work and dedication that went into the athletic
successes this season.

21

(END)