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including immediate termination of testing by the 3rd-
party tester.

SECTION 2921. 343.20 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.20 (2) (b) Notwithstanding par. (a), at least 180
60 days prior to the expiration of an “H” endorsement
specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m., the department of trans-
portation shall mail a notice to the last—known address of
the licensee that the licensee is required to pass a security
threat assessment screening by the federal transportation
security administration of the federal department of
homeland security as part of the application to renew the
endorsement. The notice shall inform the licensee that
the licensee may commence the federal security threat
assessment screening at any time, but no later than 90 30
days before expiration of the endorsement.

SECTION 2922, 343.21 (1) (n) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.21 (1) (n) In addition to any other fee under this
subsection, for the issuance, renewal, upgrading, or rein-
statement of any license, endorsement, or instruction per-
mit, a federalsecurity verfication—mandate license
issuance fee of $10.

SECTION 2923. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in pars. (a)
and (am) must be filed by the department so that the com-
plete operator’s record is available for the use of the sec-
retary in determining whether operating privileges of
such person shall be suspended, revoked, canceled, or
withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest of
public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations,
and convictions that would be counted under s. 343.307
(2) shall be maintained permanently, except that the
department shall purge the record of a first violation of s.
23.33 (4¢) (a) 2., 30.681 (1) (b) 1., 346.63 (1) (b), or
350.101 (1) (b) after 10 years, if the person who com-
mitted the violation had a blood alcohol concentration of
0.08 or more but less than 0.1 at the time of the violation,
if the person does not have a commercial driver license,
if the violation was not committed by a person operating
a commercial motor vehicle, and if the person has no
other suspension, revocation, or conviction that would be
counted under s. 343.307 during that 10—year period.
The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses
under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10
years. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f) and, (j), and (L). and all
records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at
least 3 years. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be main-
tained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee
transfers residency to another state such record may be
transferred to another state of licensure of the licensee if
that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a perma-
nent record of convictions for disqualifying offenses.
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Such reports and records may be cumulative beyond the
period for which a license 1s granted, but the secretary, in
exercising the power of suspension granted under s.
343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and records
entered during the 4-year period immediately preceding
the exercise of such power of suspension.

SECTION 2924. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20 and 2009 Wisconsin
Act .... (this act), is repealed and recreated to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in pars. (a)
and (am) must be filed by the departinent so that the com-
plete operator’s record is available for the use of the sec-
retary in determining whether operating privileges of
such person shall be suspended, revoked, canceled, or
withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest of
public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations,
and convictions that would be counted under s. 343.307
(2) shall be maintained permanently, except that the
department shall purge the record of a first violation of s.
23.33 (4c) (a) 2., 30.681 (1) (b) 1., 346.63 (1) (b), or
350.101 (1) (b) after 10 years, if the person who com-
mitted the violation had a blood alcohol concentration of
0.08 or more but less than 0.1 at the time of the violation,
if the person does not have a commercial driver license,
if the violation was not committed by a person operating
a commercial motor vehicle, and if the person has no
other suspension, revocation, or conviction that would be
counted under s. 343.307 during that 10—year period.
The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses
under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10
years. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f), (j), and (L), and all
records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at
least 3 years. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be main-
tained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee
transfers residency to another state such record may be
transferred to another state of licensure of the licensee if
that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a perma-
nent record of convictions for disqualifying offenses.
Such reports and records may be cumulative beyond the
period for which a license is granted, but the secretary, in
exercising the power of suspension granted under s.
343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and records
entered during the 4—year period immediately preceding
the exercise of such power of suspension. The depart-
ment shall maintain the digital images of documents spe-
cified in s. 343.165 (2) (a) for at least 10 years.

SECTION 2925. 343.23 (4) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.23 (4) (a) -Any Notwithstanding subs. (1} and (2)
(b), any record of an administrative suspension upon
receipt of a report from the court hearing the action aris-
ing out of the same incident or occurrence that the action
has been dismissed or the person has been found innocent
of the charge arising out of that incident or occurrence,
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xcept that the record of an inistrative suspension for

a person holding a commercial driver license may be
i rt order.

urg n recei

SECTION 2926. 343.24 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.24(2) (intro.) Fhe Except as provided in pars, (b)
and (c), the department shall charge the following fees 1o
any person for conducting searches of vehicle operators’
records:

SECTION 2927. 34324 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.24 (2) (b) For each computerized search, $5. The

artment ma arge this fee to any governmental

ni in 1 m).

SECTION 2928. 343.24 (2) (c) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.24 (2) (c¢) For each search requested by tele-
phone, $6, or an established monthly service rate deter-
mined by the department. The department may not

I is fi vern ni ned i
895.51 (1) (dm).

SECTION 2929. 343.24 (2) (d) of the statutes is
created to read:

343.24 (2) (d) For providing a paper copy of an
abstract, $2.

SECTION 2930. 343.245 (4) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.245 (4) (b) Any person who violates sub. (3) (b)
shall be fined not less than $2,500 $2.750 nor more than
$10,000 $25.000 or imprisoned for not more than 90 days
or both.

SECTION 2931. 343.315 (1) of the statutes is renum-
bered 343.315 (1m).

SECTION 2932. 343.315 (1g) of the statutes is created
to read:

343.315 (1g) DerNrTION. In this section, “engaged
in commercial motor vehicle—related activities” means
all of the following:

(a) Operating or using a commercial motor vehicle.

(b) Operating or using any motor vehicle on or after
September 30, 2005, if the person operating or using the
vehicle has ever held a commercial driver license, has
ever operated a commercial motor vehicle on a highway,
or has ever been convicted of a violation related to, or
been disqualified from, operating a commercial motor
vehicle.

SECTION 2933. 343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes
is amended to read:

343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par
pars. (b) and (bm), a person shall be disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for a one—year
period upon a first conviction of any of the following
offenses--commitied-on-orafterJuly-1:1987; while driv-
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operating-any-motor—vehicle engaged in_commercial

motor—vehicle related activities:

SECTION 2934. 343.315 (2) (a) 5. of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315(2) (a) 5. Section 343.305 (7) or (9) or a local
ordinance in conformity therewith or a law of a federally
recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in
conformity with s. 343.305 (7) or (9) or the law of another
jurisdiction prohibiting refusal of a person driving or
operating a motor vehicle to submit to chemical testing
to determine the person’s alcohol concentration or intox-
ication or the amount of a restricted controlled substance

in the person’s blood, or prohibiting positive results from
such chemical testing, as those or substantially similar

terms are used in that jurisdiction’s laws.

SECTION 2935. 343.315 (2) (a) 8. of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315 (2) (a) 8. Causing a fatality through negli-
gent or criminal operation of a eemsnereial motor
vehicle.

SECTION 2936. 343.315 (2) (am) of the statutes is
created to read:

343.315(2) (am) Except as provided in par. (b), a per-
son shall be disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for a one—year period upon a first convic-
tion of causing a fatality through negligent or criminal
operation of a motor vehicle, committed on or after July
1, 1987, and before September 30, 2005, while driving or
operating any motor vehicle.

SEcTION 2937. 343.315 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315 (2) (b) If any of the violations listed in par.
(a) or (am) occurred in the course of transporting hazard-
ous materials requiring placarding or any quantity of a
material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73
on or after July 1, 1987, the person shall be disqualified
from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a 3—year
period.

SECTION 2938. 343.315 (2) (bm) of the statutes is
created to read:

343.315 (2) (bm) The period of disqualification
under par. (a) for a disqualification imposed under par. (a)
5. shall be reduced by any period of suspension, revoca-
tion, or disqualification under this chapter previously
served for an offense if all of the following apply:

1. The offense arises out of the same incident or
occurrence giving rise to the disqualification.

2. The offense relates to a vehicle operator’s alcohol
concentration or intoxication or the amount of a restricted
controlled substance in the operator’s blood.

SECTION 2939. 343.315 (2) (¢) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315(2) (¢) A person shall be disqualified for life
from operating a commercial motor vehicle if convicted
of 2 or more violations of any of the offenses listed in par.
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(a) or (am), or any combination of those offenses, arising
from 2 or more separate incidents. The department shall
consider only offenses committed on or after July 1,
1987, in applying this paragraph.

SECTION 2940. 343.315 (2) (e) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315(2) (e) A person is disqualified for life from

operating a commercial motor vehicle if the-person-uses

in the commission of a felony 1nvolv1ng the manufacture
distribution, delivery, or dispensing of a controlled sub-
stance or controlled substance analog, or possession with
intent to manufacture, distribute, deliver, or dispense a
controlled substance or controlled substance analog, the

150N is en in commerci tor vehicle—related
activities. No person who is disqualified under this para-
graph is eligible for reinstatement under par. (d).

SECTION 2941. 343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) of the statutes
is amended to read:

343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) A person is disqualified for a
period of 60 days from operating a commercial motor
vehicle if convicted of 2 serious traffic violations, and
120 days if convicted of 3 serious traffic violations, aris-
ing from separate occurrences committed within a
3—year period while driving or operating a commercial
motor vehicle or while driving or operating any motor
vehicle if the person holds a commercial driver license.
The 120-day period of disqualification under this para-
graph shall be in addition to any other period of disquali-
fication imposed under this paragraph. In this paragraph,

“serious traffic violations” means any of the following

offenses committed whlle epem&ng—&eemmere;al—me&er

commgrc1al motor vehlcle—related actwme
SECTION 2942. 343.315 (2) (f) 2. of the statutes is

amended to read:

343.315 (2) (f) 2. Violating any state or local law of
this state or any law of a federally recognized American
Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with any
state law or any law of another jurisdiction relating to
motor vehicle traffic control, arising in connection with
a fatal accident, other than parking, vehicle weight or
vehicle defect violations, or violations described in par.
(a) 8. or (am),

SECTION 2943. 343.315 (2) (fm) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315(2) (fm) A person is disqualified for a period
of 60 days from operating a commercial motor vehicle if
the person is convicted of violating s. 343.14 (5) or
345.17:4f and the violation of s. 343.14 (5) or 345.17
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or if the person’s commercial driver license is cancelled
by the secretary under s. 343.25 (1) or (5).

SECTION 2944. 343.315 (2) (h) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315 (2) (h) Except as provided in par. (i), a per-
son #s shall be disqualified for a period of 90 days from
operating a commercial motor vehicle if convicted of an
out—of—service violation, or ene-year 2 years if convicted
of 2 out—of—service violations, or 3 years if convicted of
3 or more out—of—service violations, arising from sepa-
rate occurrences committed within a 10-year period
while drivirg-of operating a commercial motor vehicle.
A disqualification under this paragraph shall be in addi-
tion to any penalty imposed under s. 343.44. In this para-
graph, “out—of-service violation” means violating s.
343.44 (1) (c) or_a law of another jurisdiction for an
offense therein which, if committed in this state, would
have been a violation of s. 343.44 (1) (c), by operating a
commercial motor vehicle while the operator or vehicle
is ordered out—of—service under the law _of this state or
another jurisdiction or under federal law, if the operator
holds a commercial driver license or is required to hold
a commercial driver license to operate the commercial
motor vehicle.

SECTION 2945. 343315 (2) (i) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315 (2) (i) If the violation listed in par. (h)
occurred in the course of transporting hazardous materi-
als requiring placarding or any quantity of a material
listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, or while
operating a vehicle designed to carry, or actually carry-
ing, 16 or more passengers, including the driver, the per-
son shall be disqualified from operating a commercial
motor vehicle for 180 days upon a first conviction, or for
-a-3—yearperiod 3 years for a 2nd or subsequent convic-
tion, arising from separate occurrences committed within
a 10-year period while driving or operating a commercial
motor vehicle. A disqualification under this paragraph
shall be in addition to any penalty imposed under s.
343.44.

SECTION 2946. 343.315 (2) (j) (intro.) of the statutes
is amended to read:

343.315 (2) (§) (intro.) A person is disqualified for a
period of 60 days from operating a commercial motor
vehicle if convicted of a railroad crossing violation, or
120 days if convicted of 2 railroad crossing violations or
one year if convicted of 3 or more railroad crossing viola-
tions, arising from separate occurrences committed
within a 3—year period while driving or operating a com-
mercial motor vehicle. In this paragraph, “railroad cross-
ing violation” means a violation of a federal, state, or
local law, rule, or regulation, or the law of another juris-
diction, relating to any of the following offenses at a rail-

relates to an application for a commercial driver license

road crossing:
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SECTION 2947. 343.315 (2) (L) of the statutes is
created to read:

343.315 (2) (L) If the department receives notice
from another jurisdiction of a failure to comply violation
by a person issued a commercial driver license by the the
department arising from the person’s failure to appear to
contest a citation issued in that jurisdiction or failure to
pay a judgment entered against the person in that jurisdic-
tion, the person is disqualified from operating a commer-
cial motor vehicle until the department receives notice
from the other jurisdiction terminating the failure to com-
ply violation except that the disqualification may not be
less than 30 days nor more than 2 years.

SECTION 2948. 343.315 (3) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.315(3) (b) If a person’s license or operating priv-
ilege is not otherwise revoked or suspended as the result
of an offense committed after March 31, 1992, which
results in disqualification under sub. (2) (a) to (f), (h)
or 1o (j), or (L), the department shall immediately dis-
qualify the person from operating a commercial motor
vehicle for the period required under sub. (2) (a) to (f),
(h)s-er to (j),.or (L). Upon proper application by the
person and payment of the fees specified in s. 343.21 (1)
(L) and (n), the department may issue a separate license
authorizing only the operation of vehicles other than
commercial motor vehicles. Upon expiration of the
period of disqualification, the person may apply for
authorization to operate commercial motor vehicles
under s. 343.26.

SECTION 2949. 343.315 (3) (bm) of the statutes is
created to read:

343.315 (3) (bm) Notwithstanding pars. (a) and (b)
and the time periods for disqualification specified in sub.
(2), if a person is convicted in another jurisdiction of a
disqualifying offense specified in sub. (2) while the per-
son is not licensed in or a resident of this state, that other
jurisdiction disqualified the person from operating a
commercial motor vehicle as a result of the conviction,
and the period of disqualification in that other jurisdic-
tion has expired, the department may not disqualify the
person from operating a commercial motor vehicle as a
result of the conviction.

SECTION 2950. 343.35 (1) (a) of the statutes is renum-
bered 343.35 (1) and amended to read:

343.35 (1) Execept-as-provided-in-par—b)-the The
department may order any person whose operating privi-
lege has been canceled, revoked or suspended to surren-
der his or her license or licenses to the department. The
department may order any person who is in possession of
a canceled, revoked or suspended license of another to
surrender the license to the department.

SECTION 2951. 343.35 (1) (b) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 2952.
amended to read:

343.43 (1) (a) of the statutes is
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343.43 (1) (a) Exceptasprovided-in-s-34335-(11(b);
represent Represent as valid any canceled, revoked, sus-

pended, fictitious or fraudulently altered license; or

SECTION 2953. 343.44 (1) (c) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.44 (1) (¢) Operating while ordered out—of—ser-
vice. No person may operate a commercial motor vehicle
while the person or the commercial motor vehicle is
ordered out—of—service under the law of this state or
another jurisdiction or under federal law.

SECTION 2954. 343.44 (2) (as) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.44 (2) (as) Any person who violates sub. (1) (b)
after July 27, 2005, shall forfeit not more than $2,500,
except that-if the-person-has-been-convicted-of-a-previous
vielation—of-sub—(1)-b)-within-the-preceding S—year
period-or if the revocation identified under sub. (1) (b)
resulted from an offense that may be counted under s.
343.307 (2), the penalty under par. (b) shall apply.

SECTION 2955. 343.44 (2) (bm) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.44 (2) (bm) Any person who violates sub. (1) (c)
shall berﬁned—net—less—t:haﬂ $—l—1~00—ner—m9¥e+han—$2—7§9

spee;-ﬁed—m—par——{b)—l——%eé— forfelt $2 500 for the ﬁrst

offense and $5.000 for the 2nd or subsequent offense
within 10 years.

SECTION 2956. 343.44 (4r) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.44 (4r) VIOLATION OF OUT-OF-SERVICE ORDER. In
addition to other penalties for violation of this section, if
a person has violated this section after he-er-she the per-
son or the commercial motor vehicle operated by the per-
son was ordered out—of—service under the law of this

state or another jurisdiction or under federal law, the
violation shall result in disqualification under s. 343.315
(2) (h) or ().

SECTION 2957. 343.50 (5) of the statutes is renum-
bered 343.50 (5) (a) 1. and amended to read:

343.50 (5) (a) 1. The Except as provided in subd. 2.,
the fee for an original card and for the reinstatement of an
identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall
be $18.

(b) The card shall be valid for the succeeding period
of 8 years from the applicant’s next birthday after the date
of issuance, except that a card that is issued to a person
who is not a United States citizen and who provides docu-
mentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14
(2) (er) shall expire on the date that the person’s legal
presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If
the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2)
(er) does not state the date that the person’s legal presence
in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card
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shall be valid for the succeeding period of 8 years from
the applicant’s next birthday after the date of issuance.

SECTION 2958. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, section 3381, and 2009 Wis-
consin Act .... (this act), is repealed and recreated to read:

343.50 (5) (a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the
fee for an original card, for renewal of a card, and for the
reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation
under sub. (10) shall be $18.

2. The department may not charge a fee to an appli-
cant for the initial issuance of an identification card if any
of the following apply:

a. The department has canceled the applicant’s valid
operator’s license after a special examination under s.
343.16 (5) and, at the time of cancellation, the expiration
date for the canceled license was not less than 6 months
after the date of cancellation.

b. The department has accepted the applicant’s vol-
untary surrender of a valid operator’s license under s.
343.265 (1) and, at the time the department accepted sur-
render, the expiration date for the surrendered license
was not less than 6 months after the date that the depart-
ment accepted surrender.

(b) Except as provided in par. (c) and s. 343.165 (4)
(c), an original or reinstated card shall be valid for the
succeeding period of 8 years from the applicant’s next
birthday after the date of issuance, and a renewed card
shall be valid for the succeeding period of 8 years from
the card’s last expiration date.

(c) Except as provided in s. 343.165 (4) (¢) and as
otherwise provided in this paragraph, an identification
card that is issued to a person who is not a United States
citizen and who provides documentary proof of legal sta-
tus as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (es) shall expire on the
date that the person’s legal presence in the United States
is no longer authorized or on the expiration date deter-
mined under par. (b), whichever date is earlier. If the doc-
umentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (es) does
not state the date that the person’s legal presence in the
United States is no longer authorized, then the card shall
be valid for the period specified in par. (b) except that, if
the card was issued or renewed based upon the person’s
presenting of any documentary proof specified in s.
343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the card shall, subject to s. 343.165
(4) (c), expire one year after the date of issuance or
renewal.

SECTION 2959. 343.50 (5) (a) 2. of the statutes is
created to read:

343.50(5) (a) 2. The department may not charge a fee
to an applicant for the initial issuance of an identification
card if any of the following apply:

a. The department has canceled the applicant’s valid
operator’s license after a special examination under s.
343.16 (5) and, at the time of cancellation, the expiration
date for the canceled license was not less than 6 months
after the date of cancellation.
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b. The department has accepted the applicant’s vol-
untary surrender of a valid operator’s license under s.
343.265 (1) and, at the time the department accepted sur-
render, the expiration date for the surrendered license
was not less than 6 months after the date that the depart-
ment accepted surrender.

SECTION 2960. 343.50 (5m) of the statutes is
amended to read:

343.50 (5m) EEDERAL-SECURITY-VERHICATION-MAN-
pATE CARD ISSUANCE FEE. In addition to any other fee
under this section, for the issuance of an original identifi-
cation card or duplicate identification card or for the
renewal or reinstatement of an identification card after
cancellation under sub. (10), a federal-security-verifica-
tion-mandate card issuance fee of $10 shall be paid to the
department.

SECTION 2961. 343.50 (5m) of the statutes, as
affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended
to read:

343.50 (Sm) CARD ISSUANCE FEE. In addition to any
other fee under this section, for the issuance of an original
identification card or duplicate identification card or for
the renewal or reinstatement of an identification card
after cancellation under sub. (10), a card issuance fee of
$10 shall be paid to the department. The fee under this
su ion n 1 n licant if the de
ment may not charge the applicant a fee under sub. (5) (a)
2.

SECTION 2962g.
amended to read:

343.72 (Sm) No driver school may represent that
completion of a course of instruction will guarantee that
the student will pass the driving skills test administered
by the department or
(1) (bm). A driver school may only represent by means
of a certificate of completion that the student has satisfac-
torily completed the required course.

SECTION 2962r. 343.72 (6) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.72 (6) All licensees must ascertain from state
license—examiners—the—route—over the department the
routes in _the licensee’s locale on which road tests are
givens-and-ne by state license examiners and by autho-
rized examiners of 3rd—party testers under s. 343.16 (1)
(bm). No licensee may instruct in-these-areas on these
routes, except that driver schools may operate op-a-divi-
ston-ofmetor-vehicle-skills-test-route on these routes if
comparable training location opportunities are not other-
wise available in the locale.

SECTION 2962t. 344.01 (2) (am) of the statutes is
created to read:

344.01 (2) (am) “Minimum liability limits” means,
with respect to a motor vehicle policy of liability insur-
ance, liability limits, exclusive of interest and costs, in the
following amounts:

343.72 (5m) of the statutes is
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1. Before January 1, 2010, $25,000 because of bodily
injury to or death of one person in any one accident and,
subject to such limit for one person, $50,000 because of
bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one
accident, and $10,000 because of injury to or destruction
of property of others in any one accident.

2. From January 1, 2010, to December 31, 2010,
$50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one per-
son in any one accident and, subject to such limit for one
person, $100,000 because of bodily injury to or death of
2 or more persons in any one accident, and $15,000
because of injury to or destruction of property of others
in any one accident.

3. From January 1, 2011, to December 31, 2011,
$75,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one per-
son in any one accident and, subject to such limit for one
person, $150,000 because of bodily injury to or death of
2 or more persons in any one accident, and $20,000
because of injury to or destruction of property of others
in any one accident.

4. From January 1, 2012, to December 31, 2016,
$100,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one per-
son in any one accident and, subject to such limit for one
person, $300,000 because of bodily injury to or death of
2 or more persons in any one accident, and $25,000
because of injury to or destruction of property of others
in any one accident.

5. After December 31, 2016, the liability limit
amounts published by the department under s. 344.11 (2).

SECTION 2963c. 344.01 (2) (d) of the statutes is
amended to read:

344.01 (2) (d) “Proof of financial responsibility” or
“proof of financial responsibility for the future” means
proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on
account of accidents occurring subsequent to the effec-
tive date of such proof, arising out of the maintenance or

use of a motor vehicle, 1n%h&asmunt—9£$2§—09@—beea&se

p;epe;&yef—e&befs—m—aaw—em-aee*dem an amount, as of

the date that proof is furnished to the department, equal
to or greater than the minimum liability limits.

SECTION 2963r. 344.11 of the statutes is created to
read:

344.11 Five—year indexing of insurance policy
liability limits. (1) At 5—year intervals after January 1,
2012, the department shall adjust the monetary amounts
of the liability limits specified in s. 344.01 (2) (am) 4. to
reflect changes since January 1, 2012, in the consumer
price index for all urban consumers, U.S. city average,
for the medical care group, as determined by the U.S.
department of labor.
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(2) Beginning in January 2017, and at 5—year inter-
vals thereafter, the department shall publish the adjusted
liability limit amounts, as determined under sub. (1), in
the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

SECTION 2963t. 344.14 (2) (L) of the statutes is
created to read:

344.14 (2) (L) To the operator or owner involved in
an accident if, at the time of the accident, the operator was
complying with s. 344.62 (1) or s. 344.63 (1) applies.

SECTION 2964¢. 344.15 (1) of the statutes is renum-
bered 344.15 (1) (intro.) and amended to read:

344.15 (1) (intro.) No policy or bond is effective
under s. 344.14 unless all of the following apply:

(a) The policy or bond is issued by an insurer autho-

rized to do an automobile liability or surety business in

this state, except as provided in sub. (2);-erunless-the,
jb) !bg limits Qg liability under mg pohcy or bond 18

m—any—ene—aee&dem as of the date of the acc1dent are

equal to or greater than the minimum liability limits.
SECTION 2964e. 344.25 (7) of the statutes is created

to read:

344.25 (7) At the time of the motor vehicle accident
giving rise to the judgment, the person was complying
with s. 344.62 (1) or s. 344.63 (1) applies.

SECTION 2965¢. 344.33 (2) of the statutes is amended
to read:

344.33 (2) MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY POLICY. A
motor vehicle policy of liability insurance shall insure the
person named therein using any motor vehicle with the
express or implied permission of the owner, or shall
insure any motor vehicle owned by the named insured
and any person using such motor vehicle with the express
or implied permission of the named insured, against loss
from the liability imposed by law for damages arising out
of the maintenance or use of the motor vehicle within the
United States of Amenca or the Dominion of Canada,
subject to the minimum lability limits exelusive-of-inter-
est-and-cests; with respect to each such motor vehicle as

SECTION 2966v. 344.55 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:
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344.55 (1) (intro.) No motor vehicle may be used as
a human service vehicle unless a policy of bodily injury
and property damage liability insurance, issued by an
insurer authorized to transact business in this state, is
maintained thereon. The policy shall provide property
i Liabili iha Limitof | ,

bility coverage with limits, as of the policy’s effective

1 ini liability lims if greate
of not less than $75,000 for each person and, subject to
such limit for each person, total limits as follows:

SECTION 2967r. Subchapter VI of chapter 344 [pre-
cedes 344.61] of the statutes is created to read:

CHAPTER 344
SUBCHAPTER VI
MANDATORY LIABILITY INSURANCE

344.61 Definitions. In this subchapter:

(1) Notwithstanding s. 344.01 (2) (b), “motor
vehicle” does not include trailers, semitrailers, and all—
terrain vehicles.

(2) Notwithstanding s. 344.33 (1), “motor vehicle
liability policy” means a motor vehicle policy of liability
insurance to which all of the following apply:

(a) The policy is issued by an insurer authorized to do
a motor vehicle liability business in this state or, if the
policy covers a vehicle that was not registered in this state
at the time of the policy’s effective date, in another state
in which the vehicle was registered or the owner or opera-
tor of the vehicle resided at that time.

(b) The policy is to or for the benefit of the person
named in the policy as the insured.

(c) The policy satisfies, as of the date of motor
vehicle operation, all requirements specified in s. 344.33
(2) and (3).

344.62 Motor vehicle liability insurance required.
(1) Except as provided in s. 344.63, no person may oper-
ate a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the
owner or operator of the vehicle has in effect a motor
vehicle liability policy with respect to the vehicle being
operated.

(2) Except as provided in s. 344.63, no person may
operate a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state
unless the person, while operating the vehicle, has in his
or her immediate possession proof that he or she is in
compliance with sub. (1). The operator of the motor
vehicle shall display the proof required under this subsec-
tion upon demand from any traffic officer.

(3) Nothing in this subchapter prohibits a person who
violates this section from also being subject to any provi-
sion in subchs. Ito IV of this chapter.

344.63 Exceptions to motor vehicle liability insur-
ance requirement. (1) A person operating a motor
vehicle is not subject to s. 344.62 if any of the following
apply:

(a) The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has in
effect a bond with respect to the vehicle that meets the

lia
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requirements under s. 344.36 (1), including the filing of
the bond with the secretary, and the vehicle is being oper-
ated with the permission of the person who filed the bond.

(b) The motor vehicle is insured as required by s.
121.53, 194.41, or 194.42 and the vehicle is being oper-
ated by the owner or with the owner’s permission.

(c) The motor vehicle is owned by a self—insurer
holding a valid certificate of self—insurance under s.
344.16, the self-insurer has made an agreement
described in s. 344.30 (4), and the vehicle is being oper-
ated with the owner’s permission.

(d) The owner or operator of the motor vehicle has
made a deposit of cash or securities meeting the require-
ments specified in s. 344.37 (1) and the vehicle is being
operated by or with the permission of the person who
made the deposit.

(e) The motor vehicle is subject to s. 344.51, 344.52,
or 344.55.

(f) The motor vehicle is owned by or leased to the
United States, this or another state, or any county or
municipality of this or another state, and the vehicle is
being operated with the owner’s or lessee’s permission.

(2) (a) The provisions of ss. 344.34 and 344.36 (2)
and (3) shall apply with respect to a bond filed with the
secretary under sub. (1) (a).

(b) The provisions of s. 344.37 (2) shall apply with
respect to a deposit made with the secretary under sub. (1)
(d). Any deposit received by the department under sub.
(1) (d) shall be maintained in an interest—bearing trust
account. All deposits received by the department under
sub. (1) (d) shall be held for the benefit of the depositors
and potential claimants against the deposits and shall be
applied only to the payment of judgments and assign-
ments relating to motor vehicle accidents, following the
procedure described in s. 344.20 (2).

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), the secretary
shall, upon request, consent to the immediate cancella-
tion of any bond filed under sub. (1) (a) or to the return
of any deposit of money or securities made under sub. (1)
(d) if any of the following apply:

1. The owner or operator of a motor vehicle provides
proof satisfactory to the department that the owner or
operator has in effect a motor vehicle liability policy with
respect to the vehicle or provides proof that a different
exception under sub. (1) applies with respect to the
vehicle.

2. The person on whose behalf the bond was filed or
deposit made has died, has become permanently incapac-
itated to operate a motor vehicle, or no longer maintains
a valid operator’s license.

3. The person on whose behalf the bond was filed or
deposit made no longer owns any motor vehicle regis-
tered with the department.

(b) The secretary may not consent to the cancellation
of any bond filed under sub. (1) (a) or to the return of any
deposit of money or securities made under sub. (1) (d) if
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any action for damages upon the bond or deposit is then
pending or any judgment against the person, for which a
claim may be made against the bond or deposit, is then
unsatisfied. If a judgment is in excess of the amounts spe-
cified in s. 344.33 (2), for purposes of this paragraph the
judgment is considered satisfied when payments in the
amounts specified in s. 344.33 (2) have been made. An
affidavit of the applicant that the applicant satisfies the
provisions of this paragraph is sufficient for the depart-
ment to consent to the cancellation of a bond or to return
any deposit, in the absence of evidence in the records of
the department contradicting the affidavit.

344.64 Fraudulent, false, or invalid proof of insur-
ance. No person may do any of the following for pur-
poses of creating the appearance of satisfying the require-
ments under s. 344.62 (2):

(1) Forge, falsify, counterfeit, or fraudulently alter
any proof of insurance, policy of insurance, or other
insurance document, or possess any forged, falsified, fic-
titious, counterfeit, or fraudulently altered proof of insur-
ance, policy of insurance, or other insurance document.

(2) Represent that any proof of insurance, policy of
insurance, or other insurance document is valid and in
effect, knowing or having reason to believe that the proof
of insurance, policy of insurance, or other insurance doc-
ument is not valid or not in effect.

344.65 Violations. (1) (a) Any person who violates
s. 344.62 (1) may be required to forfeit not more than
$500.

(b) Except as provided in par. (c), any person who
violates s. 344.62 (2) may be required to forfeit $10.

(c) No person charged with violating s. 344.62 (2)
may be convicted if the person produces proof that he or
she was in compliance with s. 344.62 (1) at the time the
person was issued a uniform traffic citation for violating
s. 344.62 (2). This proof may be produced either at the
time of the person’s appearance in court in response to the
citation or in the office of the traffic officer issuing the
citation.

(2) Any person who violates s. 344.64 may be
required to forfeit not more than $3,000.

(3) A traffic officer may not stop or inspect a vehicle
solely to determine compliance with s. 344.62 or a local
ordinance in conformity therewith. This subsection does
not limit the authority of a traffic officer to issue a citation
for a violation of s. 344.62 or a local ordinance in confor-
mity therewith observed in the course of a stop or inspec-
tion made for other purposes, except that a traffic officer
may not take a person into physical custody solely for a
violation of s. 344.62 or a local ordinance in conformity
therewith.

344.66 Rules. The department shall promulgate
rules, and prescribe any necessary forms, to implement
and administer this subchapter.
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344.67 Notice. The department shall include with
each operator’s license issued under ch. 343 notification
of the requirements and penalties under this subchapter.

SECTION 2968. 345.05 (1) (a) of the statutes is renum-
bered 345.05 (1) (am).

SECTION 2969. 345.05 (1) (ag) of the statutes is
created to read:

345.05 (1) (ag) “Authority” means a transit authority
created under s. 66.1038 or 66.1039.

SECTION 2970. 345.05 (2) of the statutes is amended
to read:

345.05 (2) A person suffering any damage proxi-
mately resulting from the negligent operation of a motor
vehicle owned and operated by a municipality or author-
ity, which damage was occasioned by the operation of the
motor vehicle in the course of its business, may file a
claim for damages against the municipality or authority
concerned and the governing body thereef of the munici-
pality, or the board of directors of the authority, may
allow, compromise, settle and pay the claim. In this sub-
section, a motor vehicle is deemed owned and operated
by a municipality or authority if the vehicle is either being
rented or leased, or is being purchased under a contract
whereby the municipality or authority will acquire title.

SECTION 2991, 347.48 (2m) (gm) of the statutes is
amended to read:

347.48 (2m) (gm) Netwithstandings—349-02alaw

made-for-other purposess-except-that-a- A law enforce-
ment officer may not take a person into physical custody
solely for a violation of this subsection or sub. (1) or (2)
or a local ordinance in conformity with this subsection,
sub. (1) or (2) or rules of the department.

SECTION 2992. 347.50 (2m) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

347.50 (2m) (a) Any person who violates s. 347.48
(2m) (b) or (¢) and any person 16 years of age or older
who violates s. 347.48 (2m) (d) may shall be required to
forfeit $10.

SECTION 2992e. 348.175 of the statutes is amended
to read:

348.175 Seasonal operation of vehicles hauling
peeled or unpeeled forest products cut crosswise or
abrasives or salt for highway winter maintenance.
The transportation of peeled or unpeeled forest products
cut crosswise or of abrasives or salt for highway winter
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maintenance in excess of gross weight limitations under
s. 348.15 shall be permitted during the winter months
when the highways are so frozen that no damage may
result thereto by reason of such transportation. If at any
time any person is so transporting such products or abra-
sives or salt upon a class “A” highway in such frozen con-
dition then that person may likewise use a class “B” high-
way without other limitation, except that chains and other
traction devices are prohibited on class “A” highways
but such chains and devices may be used in cases of

necessity. The-officers-or-agenciesin-charge-of mainte-
nanece-of-hishways-upon On the first day that conditions

warrant their determination of such frozen condition and
freedom of damage to such highways by transportation,
ffice ncies in of mainten igh-
ways shall declare particular highways, or highways
within areas of the state, as eligible for increased weight
limitations, and each declaration shall be effective as of
12:01 ..on 2nd day followi larati
Such declaration shall include the maximum weight on
each axle, combination of axles and the gross weight
allowed. Any person transporting any such product over
any highway of this state under this section is liable to the
maintaining authority for any damage caused to such
highway. This section does not apply to the national sys-
tem of interstate and defense highways, except for that

portion of USH-51-between-Wausau-and-STH-78 and-that

SEC'HON 2992m. 348.175 of the statutes, as affected
by 2005 Wisconsin Act 167 and 2009 Wisconsin Act ....
(this act), is repealed and recreated to read:

348.175 Seasonal operation of vehicles hauling
peeled or unpeeled forest products cut crosswise or
abrasives or salt for highway winter maintenance.
The transportation of peeled or unpeeled forest products
cut crosswise or of abrasives or salt for highway winter
maintenance in excess of gross weight limitations under
s. 348.15 shall be permitted during the winter months
when the highways are so frozen that no damage may
result thereto by reason of such transportation. If at any
time any person is so transporting such products or abra-
stves or salt upon a class “A” highway in such frozen con-
dition then that person may likewise use a class “B™ high-
way without other limitation, except that chains and other
traction devices are prohibited on class “A” highways
but such chains and devices may be used in cases of
necessity. On the first day that conditions warrant their
determination of such frozen condition and freedom of
damage to such highways by transportation, the officers
or agencies in charge of maintenance of highways shall
declare particular highways, or highways within areas of
the state, as eligible for increased weight limitations, and
each declaration shall be effective as of 12:01 a.m. on the
2nd day following the declaration. Such declaration shall
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include the maximum weight on each axle, combination
of axles and the gross weight allowed. Any person trans-
porting any such product over any highway of this state
under this section is liable to the maintaining authority
for any damage caused to such highway. This section
does not apply to the national system of interstate and
defense highways, except for that portion of 1 39 between
USH 51 and I 90/94.

SECTION 2992s. 348.21 (3g) (intro.) of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, section 3435n, and
2007 Wisconsin Act 97, section 179, is repealed and rec-
reated to read:

348.21 (3g) (intro.) Any person who, while operating
a vehicle combination that is transporting raw forest
products, violates s. 348.15 or 348.16 or any weight limi-
tation posted as provided in s. 348.17 (1) or in a declara-
tion issued under s. 348.175 or authorized in an over-
weight permit issued under s. 348.26 or 348.27 may be
penalized as follows:

SECTION 2992w, 348.25 (4) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

348.25 (4) (intro.) Except as provided under s.
348.26 (5), (6), or (7) or 348.27 (3m), (4m), (9), (9m),
(91), (91), (10), (12), (13), or (15) permits shall be issued
only for the transporting of a single article or vehicle
which exceeds statutory size, weight or load limitations
and which cannot reasonably be divided or reduced to
comply with statutory size, weight or load limitations,
except that:

SECTION 2993.
amended to read:

348.25 (8) (e) The officer or agency authorized to
issue a permit under s. 348.26 or 348.27 may require any
applicant for a permit under s. 348.26 or 348.27 to pay the
cost of any special investigation undertaken to determine
whether a permlt should be approved or denied and—te—pay

348.25 (8) (e) of the statutes is

SECTION 2993¢. 348.27 (4m) of the statutes is created
to read:

348.27 (4m) PERMITS FOR THE TRANSPORTATION OF
LOADS ON STH 31 AMONG MANUFACTURING PLANTS. DIS-
TRIBUTION CENTERS, AND WAREHOUSES. (a) Subject to
pars. (b) and (c), the department may issue annual or con-
secutive month permits for the transportation of loads in
vehicle combinations that exceed the maximum gross
weight limitations under s. 348.15 (3) (¢) by not more
than 18,000 pounds if the vehicle combination has 6 or
more axles and the gross weight imposed on the highway
by the wheels of any one axle of the vehicle combination
does not exceed 18,000 pounds, except that the gross
weight imposed on the highway by the wheels of any
steering axle on the power unit may not exceed the
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greater of 13,000 pounds or the manufacturer’s rated
capacity, but not to exceed 18,000 pounds. Notwith-
standing s. 348.15 (8), any axle of a vehicle combination
that does not impose on the highway at least 8 percent of
the gross weight of the vehicle combination may not be
counted as an axle for the purposes of this paragraph. A
permit issued under this subsection does not authorize the
operation of any vehicle combination at a maximum
gross weight in excess of 98,000 pounds.

(b) A permit under this subsection is valid only for
the transportation of loads between or among any of the
following:

1. A manufacturing plant located in Racine County.

2. A distribution center located in Kenosha County.

3. A warehouse located in Kenosha County.

4. A warehouse located in Racine County.

(c) 1. Except as provided in subds. 2. and 3., and sub-
ject to par. (d), a permit under this subsection is valid only
on STH 31 and on local highways designated in the per-
mit that provide access to STH 31.

2. A permit under this subsection is not valid on any
interstate highway designated under s. 84.29 (2) or on
any highway or bridge with a posted weight limitation
that is less than the vehicle combination’s gross weight.

3. Except as provided in subd. 2., if any portion of
STH 31 in Kenosha County or Racine County is closed,
a permit under this subsection is valid on any highway
providing a detour around this closed portion of STH 31.

(d) If the routes desired to be used by the applicant
involve highways under the jurisdiction of local authori-
ties, the department shall, prior to issuing the permit, sub-
mit the permit application to the officers in charge of
maintenance of the local highways to be used, for their
approval. The department may issue the permit, notwith-
standing the objections of these officers, if, after consult-
ing with these officers, the department determines that
their objections lack merit.

SECTION 2993g. 348.27 (9m) (a) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

348.27 (9m) (a) 1. Raw forest products or of fruits or
vegetables from field to storage or processing facilities in
vehicles or vehicle combinations that exceed the maxi-
mum gross weight limitations under s. 348.15 (3) (c) by
not more than 10,000 pounds. A permit under this subdi-
vision is not valid on highways designated as part of the
national system of interstate and defense highways,
except on I 39 between STH 29 south of Wausau and the
1 90/94 interchange near Portage in Marathon, Portage,
Waushara Marquette and Columbla counties. Ne-permit

2011

SECTION 2993m. 348.27 (9m) (a) 1. of the statutes,
as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 167, section 13, and
2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is repealed and recre-
ated to read:
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348.27 (9m) (a) 1. Raw forest products or of fruits or
vegetables from field to storage or processing facilities in
vehicles or vehicle combinations that exceed the maxi-
mum gross weight limitations under s. 348.15 (3) (c) by
not more than 10,000 pounds. A permit under this subdi-
vision is not valid on highways designated as part of the
national system of interstate and defense highways,
except on I 39 between STH 29 south of Wausau and the
1 90/94 interchange near Portage in Marathon, Portage,
Waushara, Marquette and Columbia counties.

SECTION 2993t. 349.027 of the statutes is created to
read:

349.027 Collection of information related to
motor vehicle stops. (1) INFORMATION COLLECTION
REQUIRED. For each motor vehicle stop made on or after
January 1, 2011, by a law enforcement officer, the person
in charge of the law enforcement agency employing the
law enforcement officer shall cause to be obtained all
information relating to the traffic stop that is required to
be collected under rules promulgated under s. 16.964
(16) (b) 1.

(2) SUBMISSION OF INFORMATION COLLECTED. The
person in charge of a law enforcement agency shall sub-
mit the information collected under sub. (1) to the office
of justice assistance using the process, and in the format,
prescribed by the rules promulgated under s. 16.964 (16)
(b) 2.

SECTION 2994a. 440.03 (9) (a) (intro.) of the statutes
is renumbered 440.03 (9) (intro.) and amended to read:

440.03 (9) (1ntr0 ) Sabjeet—{&pa'fs—éb)-aﬂd—(e)—khe

department shall

] i ] 5 ] .] . . . . ".

doing-all-of the following include all of the following
with each biennial budget request that it makes under s.
16.42:

SECTION 2994b. 440.03 (9) (a) 1. of the statutes is
renumbered 440.03 (9) (a) and amended to read:

440.03 (9) (a) Reecaleulating A recalculation of the
administrative and enforcement costs of the department
that are attributable to the regulation of each occupation
or business under chs. 440 to 480 and that are included in
the budget request.

SECTION 2994¢. 440.03 (9) (a) 2. and (b) of the stat-
utes are consolidated, renumbered 440.03 (9) (b) and
amended to read:

440.03 (9) b) NeHa{er—man—Jaﬂaaq—ll-ef—eaeh-edd—

pum A regommended change to each fee p_e_gﬁed unde
s. 440.05 (1) for an initial credential for which an

examination is not required, under s. 440.05 (2) for a

reciprocal credential, ands-subjeet-to under s. 440.08 (2)
(a); for a credential renewal, if an-adjustment the change
is necessary to reflect the approximate administrative and
enforcement costs of the department that are attributable
to the regulation of the particular occupation or business
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during the period in which the initial or reciprocal cre-
dential or credential renewal is in effect and, for purposes
of the recommended change to each fee specified under
s. 440.08 (2) (a) for a credential renewal, to reflect an esti-
mate of any additional moneys available for the depart-

ment’s general program operations, during the budget

period to which the biennial budget request applies, as a
result of appropriation transfers that have been or are esti-

mated to be made under S. 20 165 (1) (1)duﬂaa~£he~ﬁseal

prior to and during that budget period. The department
may not recommend an initial credential fee that exceeds
the amount of the fee that the department recommends
for a renewal of the same credential, if no examination is
required for the initial credential.

SECTION 2994d. 440.03 (9) (¢) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 2994e. 440.03 (9) (d) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 2994eg. 440.03 (13) (b) 18g. of the statutes
is created to read:

440.03 (13) (b) 18g. Chiropractic radiological tech-
nician.

SECTION 2994er. 440.03 (13) (b) 18r. of the statutes
is created to read:

440.03 (13) (b) 18r. Chiropractic technician.

SECTION 2994f. 440.03 (14) (a) 1. c. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440 03 (14) (a) l.c. The person pays the initial-cre-

Oy (a) spec1ﬁed ins. 440 05 ( 1) and ﬁles wrth Lhe depart-

ment evidence satisfactory to the department that he or
she is certified, registered, or accredited as required
under subd. 1. a.

SECTION 2994¢g. 440.03 (14) (a) 2. c. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440 03 (14) (a) 2.c. The person pays the initial-ere-

D@ pgcrﬁed ins. 440 05 (1) and ﬁles w1th the depart-

ment evidence satisfactory to the department that he or
she 1s certified, registered, or accredited as required
under subd. 2. a.

SECTION 2994h. 440.03 (14) (a) 3. c. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440 03 (14) (a) 3.¢. The person pays the initial-cre-

D) pe_c1ﬁed ins. 440 05 1} and ﬁles w1th the depart-

ment evidence satisfactory to the department that he or
she is certified, registered, or accredited as required
under subd. 3. a.
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SECTION 2994i. 440.03 (14) (am) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.03 (14) (am) The department may promulgate
rules that establish requirements for granting a license to
practice psychotherapy to a person who is registered
under par. (a). Rules promulgated under this paragraph
shall establish requirements for obtaining such a license
that are comparable to the requirements for obtaining a
clinical social worker, marriage and family therapist, or
professional counselor license under ch. 457. If the
department promulgates rules under this paragraph, the
department shall grant a license under this paragraph to
a person reglstered under par (a) who pays mem&ere—
spgg;ﬁed ins. Q,Qﬁ il )and prov1des ev1dence
satisfactory to the department that he or she satisfies the
requirements established in the rules.
SECTION 2994j. 440.03 (14) (¢) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.03 (14) (c) The renewal dates for certificates
granted under par. (a) and licenses granted under par.
(am) are specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a). Renewal applica-
tions shall be submitted to the department on a form pro-
vided by the department and shall include the renewa] fee

c1ﬁed ins. 440 08 ( 2) ( a) and ev1dence satrsfactory to the
department that the person’s certification, registration, or
accreditation specified in par. (a) 1. a., 2. a,, or 3. a. has
not been revoked.

SECTION 2994k. 440.05 (1) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440 05 (1) (a) Initial credenual An-amount-deter-
Each apphcant for an mmal credentla] shall pay the initial
credential fee to the department when the application
materials for the initial credential are submitted to the
department.

SECTION 2994L. 440.05 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.05 (2) Reciprocal credential, including any cre-
dential described in s. 440.01 (2) (d) and any credential
that permits temporary practice in this state in whole or
in part because the person holds a credential in another
jurisdiction: The applicable credential renewal fee deter
mined-by the department-under-s-440.03(9) (a) under s.
440.08 (2) (a) and, if an examination is required, an
examination fee under sub. (1).

SECTION 2994m. 440.08 (2) (a) (intro.) of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (b)
and in ss. 440.51, 442.04, 444.03, 444.11, 448.065,
447.04 (2) (c) 2., 449.17 (1m) (d), 449.18 (2) (d), and
461.02 (3) (a) and (b) and (4), the renewal dates and
renewal fees for credentials are as follows:
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SECTION 2994mg. 440.08 (2) (a) 1. to 14d. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 1. Accountant, certified public:
December 15 of each odd—numbered year; $59.

3. Accounting corporation or partnership: December
15 of each odd—numbered year; $56.

4. Acupuncturist: July 1 of each odd—numbered year:
$70.

4m. Advanced practice nurse prescriber: October |
of each even—numbered year; $73.

5. Aesthetician: April 1 of each odd—numbered year;
$87.

6. Aesthetics establishment: April 1 of each odd—
numbered year; $70.

7. Aesthetics instructor: April 1 of each odd—num-
bered year; $70.

8. Aesthetics school: April 1 of each odd—numbered
year; $115.

9. Aesthetics specialty school: April | of each odd—
numbered year; $53.

9m. Substance abuse counselor, clinical supervisor,
or prevention specialist: except as limited in s. 440.88
(4), March 1 of each odd—numbered year; $70.

11. Appraiser, real estate, certified general: Decem-
ber 15 of each odd—numbered year; $162.

1lm. Appraiser, real estate, certified residential:
December 15 of each odd—numbered year; $167.

12. Appraiser, real estate, licensed: December 15 of
each odd-numbered year; $185.

13. Architect: August 1 of each even—numbered
year; $60.

14. Architectural or engineering firm, partnership or
corporation: February 1 of each even—numbered year;
$70.

14d. Athlete agent: July 1 of each even—numbered
year; $53.

SECTION 2994mh. 440.08 (2) (a) 14f. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440.08 (2) (a) 14f. Athletic trainer: July 1 of each
even—numbered year; $75.

SECTION 2994mi. 440.08 (2) (a) 14g. to 21. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 14g. Auction company: December 15
of each even—numbered year; $56.

14r. Auctioneer: December 15 of each even—num-
bered year; $174.

15. Audiologist: February 1 of each odd—numbered
year; $106.

16. Barbering or cosmetology establishment: April
1 of each odd—numbered year; $36.

17. Barbering or cosmetology instructor: April 1 of
each odd—-numbered year; $91.
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18. Barbering or cosmetology manager: April | of
each odd—numbered year; $71.

19. Barbering or cosmetology school: April 1 of each
odd—-numbered year; $138.

20. Barber or cosmetologist: April 1 of each odd-
numbered year; $63.

21. Cemetery authority, licensed: December 15 of
each even—numbered year; $343, plus an amount to be

etermi by the cemete ard.

SECTION 2994mj. 440.08 (2) (a) 21m. of the statutes
is amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 2Im. Cemetery authority, registered:
December 15 of each even—numbered year;-$10.

SECTION 2994mk. 440.08 (2) (a) 21m. of the statutes,
as affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is
amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 21m. Cemetery authority, registered:
December 15 of each even—numbered year; $10.

SECTION 2994mn. 440.08 (2) (a) 22. to 27. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 22. Cemetery preneed seller: Decem-
ber 15 of each even—numbered year; $61.

23. Cemetery salesperson: December 15 of each
even—numbered year; $90.

23m. Charitable organization: August 1 of each year;
$15.

24. Chiropractor: December 15 of each even—num-
bered year; $168.

24m. Crematory authority: January 1 of each even—
numbered year; $53.

25. Dental hygienist: October 1 of each odd—num-
bered year; $37.

26. Dentist: October 1 of each odd—numbered year;
$131.

26m. Dentist, faculty member: October | of each
odd—numbered year; $131.

27. Designer of engineering systems: February 1 of
each even—numbered year; $58.

SECTION 2994mnag. 440.08 (2) (a) 23p. of the stat-
utes is created to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 23p. Chiropractic radiological techni-
cian: December 15 of each even—numbered year; $44.

SECTION 2994mnar. 440.08 (2) (a) 23s. of the stat-
utes is created to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 23s. Chiropractic technician: Decem-
ber 15 of each even—numbered year; $44.

SECTION 2994mnb. 440.08 (2) (a) 27m. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 27m. Dietitian: November 1 of each
even—numbered year; $75.

SECTION 2994mnf. 440.08 (2) (a) 29. to 51. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:
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440.08 (2) (a) 29. Drug manufacturer: June 1 of each
even—numbered year; $70.

30. Electrologist: April 1 of each odd—~numbered
year; $76.

31. Electrology establishment: April 1 of each odd—
numbered year; $36.

32. Electrology instructor: April 1 of each odd—num-
bered year; $86.

33. Electrology school: April | of each odd—num-
bered year; $71.

34. Electrology specialty school: April 1 of each
odd—numbered year; $53.

35. Engineer, professional: August 1 of each even—
numbered year; $58.

35m. Fund-raising counsel: September 1 of each
even—numbered year: $53.

36. Funeral director: December 15 of each odd-
numbered year; $135.

37. Funeral establishment: June 1 of each odd—num-
bered year; $56.

38. Hearing instrument specialist: February 1 of each
odd-numbered year; $106.

38g. Home inspector: December 15 of each even—
numbered year; $53.

38m. Landscape architect: August 1 of each even—
numbered year; $56.

39. Land surveyor: February 1 of each even—num-
bered year; $77.

42. Manicuring establishment: April 1 of each odd—
numbered year; $53.

43. Manicuring instructor: April 1 of each odd—num-
bered year; $53.

44. Manicuring school: April 1 of each odd—-num-
bered year; $118.

45. Manicuring specialty school: April 1 of each
odd—numbered year; $53.

46. Manicurist: April 1 of each odd—numbered year;
$133.

46m. Marriage and family therapist: March 1 of each
odd—-numbered year; $84.

46r. Massage therapist or bodyworker: March 1 of
each odd-numbered year; $53.

46w. Midwife, licensed: July 1 of each even—num-
bered year; $56.

48. Nurse, licensed practical: May 1 of each odd—
numbered year; $69.

49. Nurse, registered: March 1 of each even—num-
bered year; $66.

50. Nurse-midwife: March 1 of each even—num-
bered year; $70.

51. Nursing home administrator: July 1 of each
even—numbered year; $120.

SECTION 2994mnk. 440.08 (2) (a) 52. and 53. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:
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440.08 (2) (a) 52. Occupational therapist: November
June 1 of each odd—numbered year; $75.

53. Occupational therapy assistant: Nevember June
1 of each odd—numbered year; $75.

SECTION 2994mnp. 440.08 (2) (a) 54. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440.08 (2) (a) 54. Optometrist: December 15 of each
odd—-numbered year; $65.

SECTION 2994mns. 440.08 (2) (a) 54m. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 54m. Perfusionist: November March
1 of each edd—numbered even—numbered year; $141.

SECTION 2994mnw. 440.08 (2) (a) 55. and 56. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 55. Pharmacist: June 1 of each even—
numbered year; $97.

56. Pharmacy, in—state and out—of-state: June 1 of
each even—numbered year; $56.

SECTION 2994mp. 440.08 (2) (a) 57. to 58. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 57. Physical therapist: November
March 1 of each odd—numbered year; $75.

57m. Physical therapist assistant: November March
1 of each odd—numbered year; $75.

58. Physician, other than a physician who possesses
the degree of doctor of osteopathy: November 1 of each
odd-numbered year; $141.

SECTION 2994mr. 440.08 (2) (a) 58m. of the statutes
is created to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 58m. Physician who possesses the
degree of doctor of osteopathy: March 1 of each even—
numbered year; $141.

SECTION 2994mu. 440.08 (2) (a) 59. and 60. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 59. Physician assistant: Newvember
March | of each odd—numbered year; $141.

60. Podiatrist: November 1 of each edd—numbered
even—numbered year; $91.

SECTION 2994mx. 440.08 (2) (a) 61. to 67x. of the
statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are
amended to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 61. Private detective: September 1 of
each even—numbered year; $101.

62. Private detective agency: September 1 of each
odd-numbered year; $53.

63. Private practice school psychologist: October 1
of each odd—numbered year; $103.

63g. Private security person: September 1 of each
even—numbered year; $53.
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63m. Professional counselor: March 1 of each odd-
numbered year; $76.

63t. Professional fund—raiser: September 1 of each
even—numbered year; $93.

63u. Professional geologist: August | of each even—
numbered year; $59.

63v. Professional geology, hydrology or soil science
firm, partnership or corporation: August 1 of each even—
numbered year; $53.

63w. Professional hydrologist:
even—numbered year; $53.

63x. Professional soil scientist: August 1 of each
even—numbered year; $53.

64. Psychologist: October 1 of each odd—numbered
year; $157.

65. Real estate broker: December 15 of each even—
numbered year; $128.

66. Real estate business entity: December 15 of each
even—numbered year; $56.

67. Real estate salesperson: December 15 of each
even—numbered year; $83.

67m. Registered interior designer: August | of each
even—numbered year; $56.

67v. Registered music, art or dance therapist: Octo-
ber 1 of each odd—numbered year; $53.

67x. Registered music, art, or dance therapist with
psychotherapy license: October 1 of each odd—numbered
year; $53.

SECTION 2994ng. 440.08 (2) (a) 68. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440.08 (2) (a) 68. Respiratory care practitioner:
November July 1 of each edd—numbered even—num-
bered year; $141.

SECTION 2994nr. 440.08 (2) (a) 68b. to 72. of the stat-
utes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, are amended
to read:

440.08 (2) (a) 68b. Sanitarian: January 1 of each
even—numbered year; $53.

68d. Social worker: March 1 of each odd—numbered
year; $63.

68h. Social worker, advanced practice: March | of
each odd—numbered year; $70.

68p. Social worker, independent: March 1 of each
odd—-numbered year; $58.

68t. Social worker, independent clinical: March 1 of
each odd—numbered year; $73.

68v. Speech—language pathologist: February 1 of
each odd—numbered year; $63.

69. Time-share salesperson: December 15 of each
even—numbered year; $119.

70. Veterinarian: December 15 of each odd—num-
bered year; $105.

71. Veterinary technician:
odd-numbered year; $58.

August 1 of each

December 15 of each
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72. Wholesale distributor of prescription drugs: June
1 of each even—numbered year; $300, except that before
June 1, 2010, the amount of the renewal fee is $3

SECTION 29940. 440.08 (2) (c) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.08 (2) (c) Except as provided in sub. (3), renewal
apphcatlons shall include the appllcable renewal fee as

as—spee&ﬁeé—m—p&r—éb} soec1ﬁed in pars. (a) and (b).

SECTION 2994p. 440.08 (3) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.08 (3) (a) Except as provided in rules promul-
gated under par. (b), if the department does not receive an
application to renew a credential before its renewal date,
the holder of the credential may restore the credential by

payment of the applicable renewal fee determined-by-the
departmentunders-—440.03-(9)-(a) specified in sub. (2) (a)

and by payment of a late renewal fee of $25.

SECTION 2995. 440.25 of the statutes is amended to
read:

440.25 Judicial review. The department may seek
judicial review under ch. 227 of any final disciplinary
decision of the medical examining board or affiliated cre-
dentialing board attached to the medical examining
board. The department shall be represented in such
review proceedings by an attorney within the depart-
ment. Upon request of the medical examining board or
the interested affiliated credentialing board, the attorney
general may represent the board. If the attorney general
declines to represent the board, the board may retain spe-
cial counsel which shall be paid for out of the appropri-
ation under s. 20.165 (1) ¢} (hg).

SECTION 2995ca. 440.26 (3) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.26 (3) ISSUANCE OF LICENSES; FEES. Upon receipt
and examination of an application executed under sub.
(2), and after any investigation that it considers neces-
sary, the department shall, if it determines that the appli-
cant is qualified, grant the proper license upon payment
of the initial-credential fee determined-by-the- department
unders-440.03-(9)(a) specified in s. 440.05 (1). No

license shall be issued for a longer period than 2 years,
and the license of a private detective shall expire on the
renewal date of the license of the private detective
agency, even if the license of the private detective has not
been in effect for a full 2 years. Renewals of the original
licenses issued under this section shall be issued in accor-
dance with renewal forms prescribed by the department
and shall be accompamed by the-appheable fees spemﬁed
in s. 440.08 or-dete e i3 ad
440:03(9-(a). The department may not renew a llcense
unless the applicant provides evidence that the applicant
has in force at the time of renewal the bond or liability
policy specified in this section.
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SECTION 2995¢ch. 440.26 (5m) (a) 4. of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440.26 (5m) (a) 4. The individual pays to the depart-

ment the initial-credential fee determined-by the-depart-

ment-unders—440.03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440.05 (1).
SECTION 2995cc. 440.26 (5Sm) (b) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.26 (5m) (b) The renewal dates for permits issued
under this subsection are specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).
Renewal applications shall be submitted to the depart-
ment on a form provided by the department and shail

include the renewal fee determined-by-the-department

unders-440-03-(93-(a3 specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).
SECTION 2995¢d. 440.42 (1) (¢) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.42 (1) (c) The department shall issue a certificate
of registration to each charitable organization that is reg-
istered under this subsection. Renewal applications shall
be submitted to the department, on a form provided by the
department, on or before the expiration date specified in
s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall include a registration statement
that comphes with sub. (2) and the renewal fee deter-

a) specified

ins. 440 08 (2) (a)

SECTION 2995ce. 440.43 (1) (¢) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.43 (1) (c) The department shall issue a certificate
of registration to each fund-raising counsel that is regis-
tered under this subsection. Renewal applications shall
be submitted to the department, on a form provided by the
department, on or before the date specified in s. 440.08
(2) (a) and shall include the renewal fee detennined—by

the-department-unders—440.03(9)(a) specified in g
440.08 (2) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the depart-

ment that the fund-raising counsel maintains a bond that
is approved under sub. (2).

SECTION 2995¢f. 440.44 (1) (c) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.44 (1) (c) The department shall issue a certificate
of registration to each professional fund—raiser that is
registered under this subsection. Renewal applications
shall be submitted to the department, on a form provided
by the department, on or before the date specified in s.
440 08 (2) (a) and shall include the renewal fee deter-

d h al e specified

in_s. 440 08 (2) ( a) and ev1dence satlsfactory to the
department that the professional fund—raiser maintains a
bond that is approved under sub. (2).

SECTION 2995¢g. 440.62 (2) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.62 (2) (a) An application for initial licensure or
renewal or reinstatement of a license under this section
shall be submitted to the department on a form provided
by the depanment and shall be accompamed by the apph-
cable fee determin e-d
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9)-ay specified in s. 440.05 (1) or 440.08. Each applica-
tion shall be accompanied by a surety bond acceptable to
the department in the minimum sum of $25,000 for each
location.

SECTION 2995¢ch. 440.63 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.63 (2) APPLICATIONS: CERTIFICATION PERIOD. An
application for initial certification or renewal or rein-
statement of a certificate under this section shall be sub-
mitted to the department on a form provided by the
department. An application for initial certification shall

include the initial-credential fee determined-by the
departinent-unders-—440.03-(93-(a) specified in s. 440.05

(1). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the
department on a form provided by the department on or
before the applicable renewal date specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a) and shall include the apphcable renewal
specifi ed ins. Q,Q§ (2) (a) and the apphcable penalty
for late renewal under s. 440.08 (3) if the application is
submitted late.

SECTION 2995¢i. 440.71 (2) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440 71 (2) (a) Pays the m&al—eredent}al fee deter-

; h A - a} specified

ins. 4412 05 (11
SECTION 2995c¢j.
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.71 (3) RENEWAL. Renewal applications shall be
submitted to the department on a form provided by the
department on or before the applicable renewal date spe-
cified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall include the apph-

440.71 (3) of the statutes, as

cable renewal fee determ depa !
440-03-(9(a) specified Qnder S. Q,Q& (2) (g[
SECTION 2995ck. 440.88 (4) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.88 (4) APPLICATIONS; CERTIFICATION PERIOD. An
application for certification as a substance abuse coun-
selor, clinical supervisor, or prevention specialist under
this section shall be made on a form provided by the
department and filed with the department and shall be
accompanied by the initial-credential fee determined-by
the-department-unders-—440:.03(9)(a) specified under s.
440.05 (1). The renewal date and renewal fee for certifi-
cation as a substance abuse counselor, clinical supervi-
sor, or prevention specialist is are specified under s.
440 08 (2) (a) and»—th&wnewal—fe&ﬁewueh—eemﬁea&em

Renewal of cemﬁcatlon asa substance abuse counselor—
in—training, a clinical supervisor—in—training, or a pre-
vention specialist—in—training may be made only twice.
SECTION 2995¢L. 440.91 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.91 (1) (b) 2. The cemetery authorlty pays the -

440039y (a) snecxﬁed ins. 440 05 (1)
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SECTION 2995¢m. 440.91 (1) (¢) 1. of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.91 (1) (¢) 1. The renewal dates and renewal fees
for licenses granted under par. (b) are specified in s.
440.08 (2) (a) and-the renewal fees-for such-licenses-are
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SECTION 2995¢s. 440.972 (2) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.972 (2) The renewal date and renewal fee for cer-
tificates granted under this section is are specified under
S. 440 08 (2) (a) 38g %me%newalieeieesueheeﬂ@

except that a licensed cemetery authortty is not requrred
to renew its license if the cemetery authority sells less
than 20 cemetery lots or mausoleum spaces at a cemetery
during a calendar year, or that has less than $100,000 in
trust fund accounts for a cemetery.

SECTION 2995¢n. 440.91 (2) (intro.) of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

440.91 (2) (intro.) Except as provided in sub. (10),
every person that sells or solicits the sale of, or that
expects to sell or solicit the sale of, 20 or more cemetery
lots or mausoleum spaces per year during 2 consecutive
calendar years shall be licensed by the board. A person
may not be licensed as a cemetery salesperson except
upon the written request of a cemetery authority and the
payment of the initial-credential fee determined-by-the
department-unders-440.03-{9)-(a) specified in s. 440.05.
The cemetery authority shall certify in writing to the
board that the person is competent to act as a cemetery
salesperson. An applicant for licensure as a cemetery
salesperson shall furnish to the board, in such form as the
board prescribes, all of the following information:

SECTION 2995co. 44091 (4) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.91 (4) Renewal applications shall be submitted
to the department on a form provided by the department
on or before the applicable renewal date specified under
s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall include the appllcable renewal
fee determined he-de SF-5- - a

pec1ﬁed under s. 440 Q8 12) (a).

SECTION 2995¢p. 440.92 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440 92 (1) (b) 2. Pays meaﬂmal—ereden&al fee deter-

; aFtrent-unders- - a) under s.

40 05 (1 ).
SECTION 2995¢q. 440.92 (1) (c) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.92 (1) (c) Renewal applications shall be sub-
mitted to the department on a form provided by the
department on or before the applicable renewal date spe-
cified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall include the appll—

cable renewal fee determi !

440.03-(9)(a) specified under S. 440 08 (2) (a)
SECTION 2995cr. 440.966 (1) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.966 (1) The renewal date and renewal fee for a

certificate of registration issued under this subchapter is

are specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a)-and-the-renewal-fee-for
| 9 : strationis_d ined bl

SECTION 2995¢t. 44098 (6) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.98 (6) APPLICATIONS. An application for a sani-
tarian registration under this section shall be made on a
form provided by the department and filed with the
department and shall be accompanied by the mr&al—ere—
dential fee determined-by-the-departmen de A40.0
() specified in s. 440.05 (1). The renewal date and

renewal fee for a sanitarian registration is are specified

under s 440.08 (2) (a)—and—the{enewal—fee—fer—suehregrs-

%~

SECTION 2995¢tm. 440.9805 (1) of the statutes is
amended to read:

440.9805 (1) “Health care provider” means a health
care provider, as defined in s. 146.81 (1) (a) to (p), a per-
son licensed or issued a training permit as an emergency
medical technician under s. 256.15, or a person certified
as a first responder under s. 256.15 (8) (a).

SECTION 2995¢cu. 440.982 (1m) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.982 (lm) (b) The person pays themmal—epeden—

{a) sr)ec1ﬁed ins. 440 05 (1)

SECTION 2995cv. 440.983 (1) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.983 (1) The renewal date for licenses granted
under this subchapter is specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).
Renewal applications shall be submitted to the depart-
ment on a form provided by the department and shall
include the renewal fee determined-by-the-department
unders-—440.03- (0 (a) specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995c¢w. 440.992 (1) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

440.992 (1) Except as otherwise provided in sub. (2),
the department shall issue a certificate of registration to
an individual who complies with s. 440.9915 (1) or
whose application has been accepted under s. 440.9915
(2) if the individual has pald the *mﬂal—ereden&al fee

cified in s. 440 05 (1) (a)
SECTION 2995¢x. 440.9935 of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
440.9935 Renewal. The renewal date and fee for
certificates of registration issued under this subchapter is

are specrﬁed ns. 440 08 (2) (a}and&he-renewa%fee—fer

5—440—03—{99%39 Renewal appllcatrons shall be sub-
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mitted to the department on a form provided by the
department.

SECTION 2995¢y. 441.01 (7) of the statutes is created
to read:

441.01 (7) (a) The board shall require each applicant
for the renewal of a license, certificate, or permit issued
under this chapter to do all of the following as a condition
for renewing the license, certificate, or permit:

1. Complete and submit to the department with the
application for renewal of the license, certificate, or per-
mit a nursing workforce survey developed by the depart-
ment of workforce development under s. 106.30 (2).

2. Pay a nursing workforce survey fee of $4. All mon-
eys received under this subdivision shall be deposited
into the general fund and credited to the appropriation
account under s. 20.165 (1) (jm).

(b) The board may not renew a license, certificate, or
permit under this chapter unless the renewal applicant
has completed the nursing workforce survey to the satis-
faction of the board. The board shall establish standards
to determine whether the survey has been completed.
The board shall, by no later than June 30 of each odd—
numbered year, submit all completed nursing workforce
survey forms to the department of workforce develop-
ment.

SECTION 2995¢z. 441.06 (3) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

441.06 (3) A registered nurse practicing for com-
pensation shall, on or before the applicable renewal date
specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), submit to the board on
furnished forms a statement giving name, residence, and
other facts that the board requires, wath the nursing work-
force survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7). and the
applicable renewal fee determined by the department
under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 2995d. 441.06 (3) of the statutes, as
affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended
to read:

441.06 (3) A registered nurse practicing for com-
pensation shall, on or before the applicable renewal date
spectfied under s. 440.08 (2) (a), submit to the board on
furnished forms a statement giving name, residence, and
other facts that the board requires, the nursing workforce
survey and fee required under s.441.01 (7) and the apph-
cable renewal fee determined-by-the-de FReRt-UH :
440:03-(9y-(ay specified under s. 440. 08 (2) 1a1

SECTION 2995dc. 441.08 of the statutes is amended
to read:

441.08 Temporary permit. A nurse who has gradu-
ated from an accredited school but is not licensed in this
state may be granted a temporary permit upon payment
of the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6) by the board to prac-
tice for compensation until the nurse can qualify for
licensure. The temporary permit may be renewed once.

Each applicant for renewal of a temporary permit under

this section shall complete the nursing workforce survey
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and pay the fee required under s. 441.01 (7). Further
renewals may be granted in hardship cases. The board
may promulgate rules limiting the use and duration of
temporary permits and providing for revocation of tem-
porary permits.

SECTION 2995de. 441.10 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

441.10 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal
date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), a licensed practical
nurse practicing for compensation shall submit to the
board, on forms furnished by the department, an applica-
tion for license renewal, together with a statement giving
name, residence, nature and extent of practice as a
licensed practical nurse during the prior year and prior
unreported years, the nursing workforce surv
required under s. 441,01 (7), and other facts bearing upon
current competency that the board requires, accompanied
by the applicable license renewal fee determined by the
department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).

SECTION 2995dg. 441.10 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended
to read:

441.10 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal
date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), a licensed practical
nurse practicing for compensation shall submit to the
board, on forms furnished by the department, an applica-
tion for license renewal, together with a statement giving
name, residence, nature and extent of practice as a
licensed practical nurse during the prior year and prior
unreported years, the nursing workforce survey and fee
required under s. 441.01 (7), and other facts bearing upon
current competency that the board requires, accompanied

by the applicable license renewal fee determined-by-the
department-under-s-—440.03(9)-(a) specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995dr. 441.15 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes, as
affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended
to read:

441 15 (3) (a) 2. Pays mem&al—eredenual fee deter-

; e 2) specified

SECTION 2995dt. 441.15 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

441.15 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal
date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), a person issued a
license under par. (a) and practicing nurse—midwifery
shall submit to the board on furnished forms a statement
giving his or her name, residence, the nursing workforce
survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7). and other
information that the board requires by rule, with the
applicable renewal fee determined by the department
under s. 440.03 (9) (a). If applicable, the person shall also
submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he or she
has in effect the malpractice liability insurance required
under the rules promulgated under sub. (5) (bm). The
board shall grant to a person who pays the fee determined

under S, 440 05 (l)
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by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a) for renewal of
a license to practice nurse—midwifery and who satisfies
the requirements of this paragraph the renewal of his or
her license to practice nurse—midwifery and the renewal
of his or her license to practice as a registered nurse.

SECTION 2995e. 441.15 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended
to read:

441.15 (3) (b) On or before the applicable renewal
date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), a person issued a
license under par. (a) and practicing nurse—midwifery
shall submit to the board on furnished forms a statement
giving his or her name, residence, the nursing workforce
survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7), and other
information that the board requires by rule, with the

applicable renewal fee determined -by-the-departinent
unders-440.03-(9)-(a) specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

If applicable, the person shall also submit evidence satis-
factory to the board that he or she has in effect the mal-
practice liability insurance required under the rules pro-
mulgated under sub. (5) (bm). The board shall grant to
a person who pays the fee determined-by-the-department
unders-440.03-(9-(a) specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a)

for renewal of a license to practice nurse—midwifery and
who satisfies the requirements of this paragraph the
renewal of his or her license to practice nurse—midwifery
and the renewal of his or her license to practice as a regis-
tered nurse.

SECTION 2995ed. 441.16 (3) (d) of the statutes is
amended to read:

441.16 (3) (d) Establishing procedures for maintain-
ing a certificate to issue prescription orders, including
requirements for continuing education and a requirement
to complete ing workforce su mit the
fee required under s. 441.01 (7).

SECTION 2995eg. 442.08 (1) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

442.08 (1) The department shall issue a license to an
individual who holds an unrevoked certificate as a certi-
fied public accountant, submits an application for the
license on a form provided by the department, and pays
the initial-credential fee determined-by-the-department

unders-—440.03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440.05 (1).
SECTION 2995er. 442.08 (2) (intro.) of the statutes,

as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

442.08 (2) (intro.) The department shall issue a
license to a firm that submits an application for the
llcense on a form prov1ded by the departmem pays the

5-440-03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440. 05 (1), and does each

of the following:
SECTION 2995f. 442.083 of the statutes, as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
442.083 Renewal. The renewal dates and renewal
fees for licenses issued under this chapter are specified
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under s. 440.08 (2) (aHnd{hHeneMlakiees—fepﬁreh

440—@3{9«){39 The department may not renew a hcense
issued to a firm unless, at the time of renewal, the firm sat-
isfies the requirements under s. 442.08 (2) and demon-
strates, to the satisfaction of the department, that the firm
has complied with the requirements under s. 442.087.

SECTION 2995fg. 442.09 of the statutes, as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

442.09 Fees. The fees for examination and licenses
granted or renewed under this chapter are specified in s-

S8 440 05 M»%em%eﬁ—weh

SECTION 2995fr. 443.07 (6) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
443.07 (6) The renewal date and renewal fee for per-
mits under this section is are specrﬁed under s. 440. 08 (2)

SECTION 2995g. 443.08 (3) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

443.08 (3) (a) A firm, partnership, or corporation
desiring a certificate of authorization shall submit an
application to the department on forms provided by the
department, listing the names and addresses of all offi-
cers and directors, and all individuals in its employment
registered or granted a permit to practice architecture,
professional engineering, or designing in this state who
will be in responsible charge of architecture, professional
engineering, or designing being practiced in this state
through the firm, partnership, or corporation and other
relevant information required by the examining board.
A similar type of form shall also accompany the renewal
fee. If there is a change in any of these persons, the
change shall be reported on the same type of form, and
filed with the department within 30 days after the effec-
tive date of the change. The examining board shall grant
a certificate of authorization to a firm, partnership, or cor-
poration complying with this subsection upon payment
of the initial-credential fee

determined-by-the-department
unders—440.03 (9 (a) specified in s. 440.05 (1). This

subsection does not apply to firms, partnerships, or cor-
porations exempt under s. 443.14 (3) or (5).
SECTION 2995gg. 443.08 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
443.08 (3) (b) The renewal date and renewal fee for
certificates of authorization under this section is are spe-
c1ﬁed under S. 440 08 (2) (a)—and&e—fee—ferfenewa}—ef

SECTION 2995gr. 443.10 (2) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
443.10(2) (b) The fees for examinations and licenses
granted or renewed under this chapter are specified in s

ss. 440.05;-and-thefee-for-renewal-of such-licenses-is
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440.08.
SECTION 2995h. 443.10 (2) (e) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
443.10 (2) (e) The renewal date and renewal fee for
certificates of registration for architects, landscape archi-
tects, and professional engineers s are specified under s.

440 08 (2) (a}ané«éae«feeier—feaewaleﬁsueheemﬁeates

SEC'HON 2995hg 443 10 (5) of the statutes as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

443.10(5) Fees; RENEWALS. The land surveyor’s sec-
tion shall grant a certificate of registration as a land sur-
veyor to any applicant who has met the applicable
requirements of this chapter. The renewal date and
rengwal fee for the certificate is are specified under s.
440. 08 (2) (a)—and—the—renewal—fe&fer—the—eemﬁeate—}s

SECTION 2995hr 445 04 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
445.04 (2) No person may engage in the business of
a funeral director, or make a representation as engaged in
such business, in whole or in part, unless first licensed as
a funeral director by the examining board. Application
for a license, other than a renewal, shall be in writing and
verified on a form to be furnished by the department. The
application must specify the address at which the appli-
cant proposes to conduct the business of a funeral direc-
tor and shall contain such other information as the
examining board requires to determine compliance with
the requirements of this chapter. Accompanying the
application shall be the initial-credential fee determined
by-the-departinent-unders-440-03-(9)-(a) specified in s.
440.05 (1), together with affidavits of recommendation
from at least 2 persons of the county in which the appli-
cant resides or proposes to conduct the business of a
funeral director.
SECTION 2995i. 445.06 of the statutes, as affected by
2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
445.06 Renewal of licenses. The renewal date and
renewal fee for a funeral directors’ license is are specified

under s 440.08 (2) (a%and—the—fenewal—ﬁee—fer—sueh

(~9—)—€a9 Before any renewal llcense is dehvered to any
licensed funeral director, proof must be furnished by the
applicant, to the satisfaction of the examining board, that
the applicant is doing business at a recognized funeral
establishment, except that if such applicant is not doing
business at a recognized funeral establishment at the time
of application for a license, the applicant shall be given
a certificate, without additional cost, to the effect that the
applicant is in good standing as a funeral director, and
shall be entitled to a renewal license at any time during
that license period, when located at a recognized funeral
establishment, without payment of any additional
renewal fee. The applicant must also furnish proof of
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completion of at least 15 hours of continuing education
during the previous 2—year licensure period, except that
new licensees are exempt from this requirement during
the time between initial licensure and commencement of
a full 2—year licensure period.

SECTION 2995iam. 445.105 (3) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

445.105 (3) Applications for funeral establishment
permits shall be made on forms provided by the depart-
ment and filed with the department and shall be accompa-

nied by the initial-credential fee determined—by-the
department-unders—440:03-(9)-(a) specified under s
440.05 (1). The renewal date and renewal fee for a

funeral establishment permit is are specified under s.

440.08 (2) (a)—and—&he—feﬂewal—fee—fef—sueh—permms

SECTION 29951b 446 01 ( 1) of the statutes is renum-
bered 446.01 (1t).

SECTION 2995ibm. 446.01 (1d) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.01 (1d) “Adjunctive services” means services
that are preparatory or complementary to the practice of
chiropractic. “Adjunctive services” includes all of the
following:

(a) The taking and preparation of preliminary patient
histories, as defined by the examining board by rule.

(b) Providing physiotherapy treatment, as defined by
the examining board by rule.

SECTION 2995ic. 446.01 (1h) of the statutes is created
to read:

446.01 (1h) “Chiropractic radiological technician”
means an individual who holds a certificate as a chiro-
practic radiological technician granted by the examining
board.

SECTION 2995icm.
created to read:

446.01 (1p) “Chiropractic technician” means an
individual who holds a certificate as a chiropractic tech-
nician granted by the examining board.

SECTION 2995id. 446.02 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.02 (1) (intro.) Except as provided in sub. (9), no
person may engage in the practice of chiropractic or
attempt to do so or hold himself or herself out as autho-
rized to do so, unless such person satisfies all of
lowing:

SECTION 2995idm. 446.02 (1) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.02 (1) (a) Is licensed by the examining board;
and,

SECTION 2995ie. 446.02 (1) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.02 (1) (b) Meets Submits evidence satisfactory
to the examining board that the person meets the require-
ments of continuing education for license renewal as the
examining board may require, which requirements shall

446.01 (1p) of the statutes is




2009 Wisconsin Act

include current proficiency in the use of an automated
external defibrillator achieved through instruction pro-
vided by an individual, organization, or institution of
higher education approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide

such instruction. The person shall include the approval
number assigned under sub. (5) (b) to each educational
program completed by the person to satisfy the require-
ments of this paragraph, During the time between initial
licensure and commencement of a full 2—year licensure
period new licensees shall not be required to meet contin-
uing education requirements. Any person who has not
engaged in the practice of chiropractic for 2 years or
more, while holding a valid license under this chapter,
and desiring to engage in such practice, shall be required
by the examining board to complete a continuing educa-
tion course at a school of chiropractic approved by the
examining board or pass a practical examination
administered by the examining board or both.

SECTION 2995iem. 446.02 (2) (a) of the statutes is
renumbered 446.02 (2) (a) 1. and amended to read:

446.02 (2) (a) 1. The Except as provided in subd. 2.,
the examining board shall grant a license to engage in the
practice of chiropractic to a qualified person who submits
an application for the license to the department on a form
provided by the department, accompanied by satisfactory
evidence of completion of the educational requirements
established in the rules promulgated under par. (b),
passes the examination examinations described under
sub. (3) and pays the license fee specified in s. 440.05 (1).

SECTION 2995if. 446.02 (2) (a) 2. of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (2) (a) 2. The examining board may not issue
a license under this subsection to an applicant who has
defaulted on any loan obtained by the applicant to finance
the applicant’s education. The examining board shall
promulgate rules to implement this subdivision, includ-
ing standards for satisfactory documentary evidence to
be submitted by the applicant to verify compliance with
the requirements under this subdivision.

SECTION 2995ifm. 446.02 (2) (b) 4. of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (2) (b) 4. Has successfully completed the
examinations required under sub. (3).

SECTION 2995ig. 446.02 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (3) (intro.) The examining board shall require
each applicant for licensure to successfully complete the
following examinations:

SECTION 299Sigm. 446.02 (3) of the statutes is
renumbered 446.02 (3) (a) and amended to read:

446.02 (3) (a) -Examination An examination adminis-
tered by the examining board. The examination shall be
in the subjects usually taught in such reputable schools of
chiropractic, and shall be conducted at least twice a year
at such times and places as the examining board deter-
mines. The examination shall include a practical
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examination of the applicant as prescribed by the
exammmo board lnhe&e&%s—ewgmte&examma&ea-

eemﬁea{eoef The examining board shall charge an

ination fe each applica r licens n
S b to t of developing and administeri

the examination required under this paragraph.
{b) Any examination required by the national board

of chiropractic examiners.
SECTION 2995ih. 446.02 (4) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
446.02 (4) The renewal date and renewal fee for all
licenses granted by the examining board #s are specified
under s. 440 08 (2) (a)—and—%h&—reim

699%&%
SECTION 2995ihm. 446.02 (5) of the statutes is
renumbered 446.02 (5) (a).

SECTION 2995ii. 446.02 (5) (b) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (5) (b) The examining board shall assign a
unique approval number to each continuing education
program approved by the examining board under s.
446.028.

SECTION 2995iim. 446.02 (7) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.02 (7) (a) Except as provided in par pars. (b) and
(d), a chiropractor who is licensed under this chapter may
delegate to a person who is not licensed under this chapter
the performance of services-that-are adjunctive te-the
practice-of chirepractie services if the services are per-
formed under the direct, on—premises supervision of the
chiropractor.

SECTION 2995ij.
created to read:

446.02 (7) (d) 1. Beginning on the effective date of
this subdivision .... [LRB inserts date], a chiropractor
may delegate X—ray services only to a chiropractic radio-
logical technologist.

2. Beginning on the effective date of this subdivision

. [LRB inserts date], a chiropractor may delegate
adjunctive services only to a chiropractic technologist.

SECTION 2995ijm. 446.02 (7d) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (7d) (a) A chiropractor shall evaluate each
patient before commencing treatment of the patient to
determine whether the patient has a condition that is
treatable by the practice of chiropractic. The evaluation
shall be based upon an examination that is appropriate to
the patient. To conduct the evaluation, the chiropractor
shall utilize chiropractic science, as defined by the
examining board by rule, and the principles of education
and training of the chiropractic profession.

(b) A chiropractor shall discontinue the practice of
chiropractic on a patient if, at any time after the evalua-
tion under par. (a) or during or following treatment of the

446.02 (7) (d) of the statutes is
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patient, the chiropractor determines or reasonably
believes that the patient’s condition is not treatable by the
practice of chiropractic, or will not respond to further
practice of chiropractic by the chiropractor, except that a
chiropractor may provide maintenance, supportive, and
wellness care to the patient if the patient is being treated
by another health care professional.

(c) A chiropractor who discontinues the practice of
chiropractic as required in par. (b) shall inform the patient
of the reason for discontinuing the practice of chiroprac-
tic and shall refer the patient to a physician licensed under
subch. IT of ch. 448. A chiropractor may continue to pro-
vide maintenance, supportive, and wellness care to a
patient referred under this paragraph who requests these
services from the chiropractor. A referral under this para-
graph shall describe the chiropractor’s findings. If the
referral is written, the chiropractor shall provide the
patient with a copy and shall maintain a copy in the
patient’s records. If the referral is oral, the chiropractor
shall communicate the referral directly to the physician,
shall notify the patient about the referral, and shall make
a written record of the oral referral. The written record
of the oral referral shall include the name of the physician
to whom the patient was referred and the date of the refer-
ral. The chiropractor shall maintain a copy of the written
record of the oral referral in the patient’s records.

SECTION 2995ik. 446.02 (9) (d) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.02 (9) (d) A person who performs services-that
are adjunctive to-the-practice-of chiropractic-and services
that are delegated to the person under sub. (7).

SECTION 2995ikm. 446.02 (10) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.02 (10) (a) A chiropractor may waive all or a por-
tion of an insured patient’s copayments, coinsurance, or
deductibles due to a chiropractor who engages in the
practice of chiropractic on behalf of the insured patient if
all of the following are satisfied:

1. The chiropractor receives from and maintains
written documentation of the patient’s financial hard-
ship, as defined by the examining board by rule.

2. The chiropractor accurately reports to the patient’s
insurer the actual fee charged, if any, to the patient. If the
chiropractor waives all or a portion of the patient’s
copayments, consurance, or deductibles due to the chiro-
practor, the chiropractor may not seek payment from the
insurer for any portion of the copayment, coinsurance, or
deductible waived by the chiropractor unless the claim
for the services related to the copayment, coinsurance, or
deductible is reduced by an equal amount. In this subdi-
vision and in par. (b), “Insurer” has the meaning given in
s. 600.03 (27).

(b) A chiropractor who violates par. (a) shall refund
the insurer for all payments received from the insurer that
are related to the day on which a patient’s payment was
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waived or reduced or for the course of treatment for
which the patient’s payment was waived or reduced.

SECTION 2995iL. 446.025 of the statutes is created to
read:

446.025 Regulation of chiropractic radiological
technicians. (1) (a) No person may provide X-ray ser-
vices on behalf of a chiropractor in connection with the
practice of chiropractic unless the person is a chiropractic
radiological technician and is under the direct, on—prem-
ises supervision of a chiropractor licensed under this
chapter.

(b) No person may designate himself or herself as a
“chiropractic radiological technician™ or “chiropractor
radiological technician,” use or assume the title “chiro-
practic radiological technician” or “chiropractor radio-
logical technician™ or any title that includes “chiropractic
radiological technician”or “chiropractor radiological
technician,” append to the person’s name the letters
“C.R.T.,” or use any other title or designation that repre-
sents or implies that he or she is a chiropractic radiolog-
ical technician unless the person is certified by the
examining board under this section.

(2) (a) The examining board shall certify as a chiro-
practic radiological technician an individual who does all
of the following:

1. Submits an application to the department on a form
provided by the department.

2. Pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1).

3. Submits evidence satisfactory to the examining
board that the individual has completed a course of study
approved by the examining board.

4. Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, sub-
mits evidence satisfactory to the examining board that the
individual does not have an arrest or conviction record.

5. Completes any other requirements established by
the examining board by rule.

(b) The department shall assign a unique certificate
number to each individual certified under this section.

(3) (a) The renewal date and fees for a certificate
issued under this section are specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).

(b) A chiropractic radiological technician shall, at the
time that he or she applies for renewal of a certificate
under par. (a), submit evidence satisfactory to the
examining board that he or she has completed at least 12
continuing educational credit hours in programs estab-
lished by rules promulgated by the examining board.

SECTION 2995iLm. 446.026 of the statutes is created
to read:

446.026 Regulation of chiropractic technicians.
(1) (a) No person may provide adjunctive services unless
the person is a chiropractic technician and is under the
direct, on—premises supervision of a chiropractor
licensed under this chapter.

(b) Except as provided in s. 446.025 (1) (b), no person
may designate himself or herself as a “chiropractic tech-
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nician” or “chiropractor technician,” use or assume the
title “chiropractic technician” or “chiropractor techni-
cian” or any title that includes “chiropractic technician”
or “chiropractor technician,” append to the person’s
name the letters “C.T.,” or use any other title or designa-
tion that represents or implies that he or she 1s a chiro-
practic technician unless the person is certified by the
examining board under this section.

(2) (a) The examining board shall certify as a chiro-
practic technician an individual who does all of the fol-
lowing:

1. Submits an application to the department on a form
provided by the department.

2. Pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1).

3. Submits evidence satisfactory to the examining
board that the individual has completed a course of study
approved by the examining board.

4. Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, sub-
mits evidence satisfactory to the examining board that the
individual does not have an arrest or conviction record.

5. Completes any other requirements established by
the examining board by rule.

(b) The department shall assign a unique certificate
number to each individual certified under this section.

(3) (a) The renewal date and fees for a certificate
issued under this section are specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).

(b) A chiropractic technician shall, at the time that he
or she applies for renewal of a certificate under par. (a),
submit evidence satisfactory to the examining board that
he or she has completed at least 6 continuing educational
credit hours in programs established by rules promul-
gated by the examining board.

SECTION 2995im. 446.028 of the statutes is created
to read:

446.028 Continuing education approval; pro-
gram sponsors. Each program sponsor of a continuing
education program required to be completed by a chiro-
practor as a condition of license renewal shall submit the
program to the examining board for approval. In this sec-
tion, “program sponsor” means the Wisconsin Chiro-
practic Association, the International Chiropractors
Association, a college of chiropractic approved by the
examining board, and a college of medicine or osteopa-
thy accredited by an accrediting body listed as nationally
recognized by the secretary of the federal department of
education. “Program sponsor” does not include an indi-
vidual, organization, or institution of higher education
approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide instruction in the
use of an automated external defibrillator.

SECTION 2995imm. 446.03 of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.03 Reprimand; license revocation, limitation,
or suspension of a license or certificate. The examining
board, by order, may reprimand a licensee, certificate
holder, or registrant and may deny, limit, suspend or
revoke any license, certificate, or certificate of registra-
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tion if the licensee, certificate holder, or registrant does
any of the following:

(1) Obtained QObtains the license, certificate, or cer-
tificate of registration through error or frauds.

(2) Is addicted to alcohol or other drugs;.

(3) Is hereafter convicted in a court of competent
jurisdiction, either within or without this state, or in fed-
eral court, of any violation of any law governing the prac-
tice of chiropractic or of any felony, subject to ss.
111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, a certified copy of the
record of conviction to be conclusive evidence of such
convictions,

(4) Has obtained or sought to obtain anything of
value by fraudulent representation in the practice of chi-
ropractics.

(5) Is guilty of unprofessional conduct;,

(6) Has continued practice, knowingly having an
infectious or contagious disease;-er,

(7) H-the-applicantorregistrant-maintains Maintains
a professional connection or association with any other
person continuing to violate this chapter after 10 days’
notice in writing by the department.

SECTION 2995in. 446.04 (intro.), (1), (2), (4) and (5)
(intro.) and (a) of the statutes are amended to read:

446.04 Unprofessional conduct. (intro.) Unprofes-
sional conduct includes, without limitation because of
enumeration, all of the following:

(1) Any conduct of a character likely to deceive or
defraud the publics.

(2) Loaning of a chiropractic license or certificate to
anyone;.

(4) Splitting or dividing any fee for chiropractic ser-
vice with any person except an associate licensed chiro-
practorz,

(5) (intro.) Use of unprofessional advertising which
shall-Hnelude includes, without limitation because of enu-
meration, all of the following:

(a) Any advertising statement of a character tending
to deceive or mislead the public;.

SECTION 2995inm. 446.04 (6) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.04 (6) Sexual behavior, including noncontact
sexual behavior, with or in the presence of a patient,
including sexual contact under s. 939.22 (34), indecent
exposure of genitals or pubic area, sexual gratification,
sexually offensive communication, or dating a patient
under treatment. The examining board shall establish by
rule definitions for contact sexual behavior and noncon-
tact sexual behavior.

SECTION 2995i0. 446.05 (Im) of the statutes is
created to read:

446.05 (1Im) (a) Subject to the rules promulgated
under s. 440.03 (1), the examining board may make
investigations and conduct hearings in regard to the con-
duct of any chiropractic radiological technician who, it
has reason to believe, violated s. 446.025 or 446.03. The
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person complained against may proceed to review any
action of the examining board under ch. 227.

(b) Subject to the rules promulgated under s. 440.03
(1), the examining board may make investigations and
conduct hearings in regard to the conduct of any chiro-
practic technician who, it has reason to believe, violated
S. 446.026 or 446.03. The person complained against
may proceed to review any action of the examining board
under ch. 227.

SECTION 2995iom. 446.05 (2) of the statutes is
amended to read:

446.05 (2) Upon application and satisfactory proof
that the cause of such revocation or suspension no longer
exists, the examining board may reinstate any license,
certificate, or registration suspended or revoked by it.
This subsection does not apply to a license, certificate, or
registration that is suspended under s. 440.13 (2) (c) or
that is revoked under s. 440.12 or 446.07 (2) (a) 2. or (b)
’%

ae

SECTION 2995ip. 446.07 (title) of the statutes is
repealed and recreated to read:

446.07 (title) Penalties.

SECTION 2995ipm. 446.07 of the statutes is renum-
bered 446.07 (1).

SECTION 2995ir. 446.07 (2) of the statutes is created
to read:

446.07 (2) (a) Any licensee or holder of a certificate
issued under this chapter who is investigated under s.
446.05 (1) and found guilty of contact sexual behavior,
as defined by the examining board under s. 446.04 (6) and
prohibited under ss. 446.03 (5) and 446.04 (6), shall be
subject to the following penalties:

1. For the first violation, the examining board shall
suspend the individual’s license or certificate for a period
of 12 months. A chiropractor whose license is suspended
under this subdivision shall be prohibited from entering
onto the premises of his or her practice and may not hire
any person to oversee the chiropractor’s practice during
the chiropractor’s suspension.

2. For the 2nd violation, the examining board shall
permanently revoke the individual’s license or certifi-
cate.

(b) Any licensee or holder of a certificate issued
under this chapter who is investigated under s. 446.05 (1)
and found guilty of noncontact sexual behavior, as
defined by the examining board under s. 446.04 (6) and
prohibited under ss. 446.03 (5) and 446.04 (6), shall be
subject to the following penalties:

I. For the first violation, the examining board shall
suspend the individual’s license or certificate for a period
of 3 months. The examining board shall require the indi-
vidual to complete continuing education on the topic of
effective and appropriate interaction between chiroprac-
tors and their patients.

2. For the 2nd violation, the examining board shall
suspend the individual’s license or certificate for a period
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of 12 months. A chiropractor whose license is suspended
under this subdivision shall be prohibited from entering
onto the premises of his or her practice and may not hire
any person to oversee the chiropractor’s practice during
the chiropractor’s suspension.

3. For the 3rd violation, the examining board shall
permanently revoke the individual’s license or certifi-
cate.

SECTION 2995j. 447.05 of the statutes, as affected by
2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

447.05 Expiration and renewal. Renewal applica-
tions shall be submitted to the department on a form pro-
vided by the department on or before the applicable
renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall

include the applicable renewal fee deteﬁnénedvby%he

department-under-s-440.03(9)(a) specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a). The examining board may not renew a

license to practice dentistry unless the applicant for
renewal attests that he or she has current proficiency in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an
automated external defibrillator achieved through
instruction provided by an individual, organization, or
institution of higher education approved under s. 46.03
(38) to provide such instruction. The examining board
may not renew a license to practice dental hygiene unless
the applicant for renewal attests that he or she has com-
plied with s. 447.055 and any rules promulgated by the
department under s. 447.055, that he or she has a current
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and that
he or she has current proficiency in the use of an auto-
mated external defibrillator achieved through instruction
provided by an individual, organization, or institution of
higher education approved under s. 46.03 (38) to provide
such instruction.

SECTION 2995jg. 448.07 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

448.07 (2) Fees. The fees for examination and

licenses granted or renewed under this subchapter are

speCJﬁed in s 8s. 440 05 nd 440. O&—and—tbe;enewal«fee

SECTION 2995jr. 448.55 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

448.55 (2) The renewal dates for licenses granted
under this subchapter, other than temporary licenses
granted under rules promulgated under s. 448.53 (2), are
specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a). Renewal applications
shall be submitted to the department on a form provided
by the depanment and shall include the renewa] fee deter-

e e & a) specified
ins. 44() ()8 (2) (a) and proof of comphance with the
requirements established in any rules promulgated under
sub. (3).

SECTION 2995k, 448.65 (2) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
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448.65 (2) (a) The renewal fee determnined-by-the
dep&émen%ndm%@%{a) specified in s. 440.08 (2)

SECTION 2995kg. 448.86 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

448.86 (2) The renewal dates for certificates granted
under this subchapter, other than temporary certificates
granted under s. 448.80, are specified under s. 440.08 (2)
(a). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the
department on a form provided by the department and

shall include the renewal fee determined-by-the-depart-
ment-unders-440:03-(9)(a) specified in 5. 440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995kr. 448.955 (2) (intro.) of the statutes,
as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to
read:

448.955 (2) (intro.) Renewal applications shall be
submitted to the department on a form provided, subject
to sub. (3), by the department and shall 1nclude the
renewal fee dete e e e
440.03-(9)(a) specifi gzi in s. QQ& (2[ 1a}and ev1dence
satisfactory to the affiliated credentialing board that the
licensee has all of the following:

SECTION 2995L. 448.967 (2) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

448.967 (2) The renewal dates for licenses granted
under this subchapter are specified under s. 440.08 (2)
(a). Renewal applications shall be submitted to the
department on a form provided by the department and
shall include the renewal fee determined-by-the-depart-
mentunder-s-440.03(9)(a) specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a)

and a statement attesting compliance with the continuing
education requirements established in rules promulgated
under s. 448.965 (1) (b).

SECTION 2995Lg. 449.06 (1) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

449.06 (1) Persons practicing optometry shall, on or
before the applicable renewal date specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a), register with the department, pay the
applicable renewal fee determined-by—the-department
unders-440.03-(9)-(a) specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a),

and provide evidence satisfactory to the examining board
that he or she has complied with the rules promulgated
under sub. (2m).
SECTION 2995Lr. 450.06 (2) (¢) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
450.06 (2) (¢c) The initial-credential fee determined
by the department-under s-440.03(9)-(a) under s. 440.05

(1) is paid.
SECTION 2995m. 450.065 (2) (d) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
450 065 (2) (d) Pays the imd@ﬂﬂ-&} fee deter-
: e a} under s.

440.05 (] ).
SECTION 2995mg. 450.07 (1) of the statutes is
amended to read:
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450.07 (1) No person may engage in manufacturing
in this state unless the person obtains a manufacturer’s
license from the board. For the issuance of a license
under this subsection, the apphcant shall pay the initial

440.03-(9)(a} soemﬁed in s. 440. 05 (1)
SECTION 2995mr. 450.08 (2) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
450.08 (2) (a) A pharmacist’s license may be
renewed by complying with continuing education
reqmrements under s. 450.085 and paymg the appllcable

specified ungler_ S. %l Qﬁ (;) 1@) on or before the appllca-
ble renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a). Failure

to obtain renewal within the time period specified under
this paragraph terminates the right of the person to be
licensed as a pharmacist, and such right can only be
acquired by passing an examination to the satisfaction of
the board.

SECTION 2995n. 450.08 (2) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

450.08 (2) (b) A pharmacy, manufacturer’s or dis-
tributor’s hcense may be renewed by paymg the applica-

@ pe_mﬁed unQer s. 440. 08 (2) (a)onor before the apph-
cable renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995nd. 450.095 of the statutes is created
to read:

450.095 Duty to dispense contraceptives. (1) In
this section:

(a) “Contraceptive drug or device” means any drug
or device approved by the federal food and drug adminis-
tration that is used to prevent pregnancy, including a con-
traceptive drug or device restricted to distribution by a
pharmacy.

(b) “Without delay” means within the usual and cus-
tomary time frame reasonably expected at a pharmacy for
dispensing or distributing a prescription that is not a con-
traceptive drug or device.

(2) Unless one or more of the following applies, a
pharmacy shall dispense lawfully prescribed contracep-
tive drugs and devices and shall deliver contraceptive
drugs and devices restricted to distribution by a phar-
macy to a patient without delay:

1. The prescription contains an obvious or known
error or contains inadequate instructions.

2. The prescription is contraindicated for the patient,
is incompatible with another drug or device prescribed
for the patient, or is prohibited by state or federal law.

3. The prescription is potentially fraudulent.

(3) Any person who violates this section may be
required to forfeit not less than $250 nor more than
$2.500 for each violation.
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(4) Nothing in this section may be construed to abro-
gate a pharmacist’s legal and ethical obligations to com-
ply with the laws of this state.

SECTION 2995ng. 451.04 (4) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

451.04 (4) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. Renewal
applications shall be submitted to the department on a
form provided by the department on or before the appli-
cable renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and
shall include the applicable renewal fee determined-by
the-department-unders-440-03-(9)(a) specified under s.

440.08 (2) (a).
SECTION 2995nr. 452.025 (1) (¢) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
452.025 (1) (c) Each application for registration as a
time—share salesperson shall be accompanied by an ini-

tial credential fee determined-by the-departiment-unders.
440-03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440.05 (1 tor the apphcable
renewal fee determined-by—the departin ¥
440:03-(9(a) specified in s. Q,Qﬁt?,ngt Whtchever is
appropriate.

SECTION 29950. 452.025 (5) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

452.025 (5) (b) An application to renew a certificate
of registration granted under this section shall be sub-

mitted with the applicable renewal fee determined by-the

department-under—s—440:03-(9)-(a) specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a) on or before the applicable renewal date

specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).
SECTION 29950g. 452.10 (3) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
452.10 (3) The fees for examinations and licenses
granted or renewed under this chapter are specified under
5 88, 440 05 _@nd_&f}_O_Q_&—&nd—the—reﬂewal—fee—fer—sueh

SECTION 29950r. 452.12 (2) (¢) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
452.12 (2) (c) Application for a business entity
license shall be made on forms prescribed by the depart-
ment, listing the names and addresses of all business rep-
resentatlves and shall be accompanled by the initial-cre-

9-(a) specified in s. 440 05 (l) If there isa change in

any of the business representatives, the change shall be
reported to the department, on the same form, within 30
days after the effective date of the change.

SECTION 2995p. 452.12 (5) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

452.12 (5) (a) Renewal applications for all licenses
shall be submJtted with the apphcab]e renewal fee deter-

He he-departme a) specified
under S. 440 08 ( 2) ( a) on or before the apphcab]e renewal
date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995pg. 452.12 (6) (e) 1. of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
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452.12(6) (e) 1. If a person has registered as an inac-
tive licensee before November 1, 1990, the department
shall reinstate the person’s original license if that person
applies to the department for reinstatement of his or her
original license, pays the fee fees specified under s.
440.05 (1) (a) and (b), passes an examination under s.
452.09 (3) and completes the education requirements
established by the department under par. (f).

SECTION 2995pr. 452.12 (6) (e) 2. of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

452.12(6) (e) 2. If a person has registered as an inac-
tive licensee on or after November 1, 1990, the depart-
ment shall reinstate the person’s original license if that
person applies to the department for reinstatement of his
or her original license, pays the renewal fee determined
by-the-department-anders-440:03-(9-(a) specified under

s. 440,08 (2) (a) for the original license and completes 12
hours of continuing education as established by the
department under par. (f). A person who is eligible for
reinstatement of his or her original license under this sub-
division shall complete the requirements for reinstate-
ment under this subdivision before January 1, 1996, or
within 5 years after the date on which the person regis-
tered as an inactive licensee, whichever is later.

SECTION 2995q. 453.062 (1) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

453.062 (1) RENEwWAL. The renewal dates and

renewal fees for veterinary licenses and veterinary tech-
nician certifications are spemﬁed under s. 440. 08 (2) (a)—

SECTION 2995qg 454 06 (1) (a) of the statutes as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

454.06 (1) (a) The appllcam pays the initial-creden-
tial fee determmine the &

&) specified in s. 440 05 ( l) except as prov1ded in s.
454.13 (1).
SECTION 2995qr.

454.06 (8) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
454.06 (8) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. The renewal

date and renewal fee for licenses issued under subs. (2)
to (6) is are specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a)—and-the

SECTION 2995r. 454.08 (3) of the statutes, as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

454.08 (3) The examining board shall issue an estab-
hshment license to any person who pays the imtial-cre-

- soemﬁed in_s. 440 05 (1) and who satlsﬁes the
requirements established by the examining board by rule,
including proof of ownership of the business. Any
change of ownership shall be reported to the examining
board by the new owner within 5 days after the change of
ownership.
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SECTION 2995rg. 454.08 (9) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
454.08 (9) The renewal date and renewal fee for
licenses issued under this section is are specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a)—anet«the—waewal—fee—fer—sueb%eenses&s

SECTION 2995rr 455 06 of the statutes as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

455.06 Renewals. The renewal date and renewal fee
for licenses issued under s. 455.04 (1) and (4) is are speci-
ﬁed under s. 440. 08 (2) (a)—mﬁ%hemewal»ie&fe&saeh

{99«(&9 An apphcant for renewal of a hcense shall mclude
with his or her application proof of completion of contin-
uing education programs or courses approved under s.
455.065 (4) for the minimum number of hours required
in the rules promulgated under s. 455.065 (1).

SECTION 2995s. 455.07 (2) of the statutes, as affected
by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

455.07 (2) The fee for renewal of a license under this
chapter is determined-b ;

%wf_@iumle_s_o_o_&(_)_@
SECTION 2995sg. 456.07 (2) of the statutes, as

affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
456.07 (2) The application for a new certificate of
reglstratlon shall include the apphcable renewal fee

cified ggglg; S. ﬂl QS !2! 1@1 and ev1dence satlsfactory to
the examining board that during the biennial period
immediately preceding application for registration the
applicant has attended a continuation education program
or course of study. During the time between initial licen-
sure and commencement of a full 2—year licensure period
new licensees shall not be required to meet continuing
education requirements. All registration fees are payable
on or before the applicable renewal date specified under
s. 440.08 (2) (a).

SECTION 2995sm. 457.04 (8) of the statutes is created
to read:

457.04 (8) Practice clinical social work, marriage
and family therapy, or professional counseling without
notifying his or her client in writing of the procedure to
follow to resolve a grievance. The notice required under
this subsection shall provide one of the following options
for resolving a grievance to the client:

(a) A grievance resolution procedure that contains all
of the following elements:

1. The name, address, and telephone number of, and
any other contact information available for, the appropri-
ate section of the examining board that is responsible for
receiving a complaint and investigating and conducting
a hearing under s. 457.26 (1).

2. The name, address, and telephone number of, and
any other contact information available for, a person not
involved in the services, therapy, or counseling giving
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rise to the complaint who would be available to receive
and investigate a complaint.

3. The manner by which a client may present a com-
plaint to a person identified in subd. 1. or 2.

4. The manner by which a client may appeal the reso-
lution of a complaint presented in subd. 3.

5. Time limits for filing, processing, and appealing
the resolution of a complaint presented under subd. 3.

6. Protections against retaliation for a client who
presents a complaint under subd. 3. and for any person
who assists the client to present a complaint under subd.
3.

(b) A grievance resolution procedure that complies
with the rules promulgated under s. 51.61 (5) (b).

(¢) A grievance resolution procedure that is available
to the credential holder through a professional associa-
tion of which the credential holder is a member.

SECTION 2995sr. 457.20 (3) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

457.20 (3) (a) The renewal fee determined-by-the
department-unders—440:03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440.08
2) (a).

SECTION 2995t. 458.11 of the statutes, as affected by

2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

458.11 Expiration and renewal. Renewal applica-
tions shall be submitted to the department on a form pro-
vided by the department on or before the applicable
renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) and shall
include the applicable renewal fee determined-by-the

department-under-s-440:03(9)(a) specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a). Renewal of an appraiser certificate auto-

matically renews the individual’s appraiser license with-
out payment of the renewal fee for the appraiser license
or completion of any additional continuing education
requirements that would otherwise be required for
renewal of the appraiser license. Renewal applications
shall be accompanied by proof of completion of the con-
tinuing education requirements in s. 458.13. Notwith-
standing s. 458.06 (3) (b) 2. and (4) (b) 2., 1989 stats., and
s. 458.08 (3) (b) 2. and (¢) 2., 1991 stats., the department
may not renew a certificate that was granted under s.
458.06 (3) or (4) before May 29, 1993, unless the holder
of the certificate submits evidence satisfactory to the
department that he or she has successfully completed the
applicable educational requirements specified in rules
promulgated under s. 458.085 (1) and the department
may not renew a certificate that was granted under s.
458.08 (3) before May 29, 1993, unless the holder of the
certificate submits evidence satisfactory to the depart-
ment that he or she has successfully completed the appli-
cable education and experience requirements specified in
rules promulgated under s. 458.085 (1) and (2).
SECTION 2995tg. 459.09 (1) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:




2009 Assembly Bill 75

459.09 (1) (a) Pay to the department the apphcab]e
renewal fee determine ety
44003 () -(a) sneuﬁed under S. 440 08 ( 2) (a).
SECTION 2995tr. 459.24 (5) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

459.24 (5) (a) The renewal fee determined-by-the

department-unders-—440.03-(9)-(a) specified in s. 440.08
(2)(a)

SECTION 29961, 460.07 (2) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

460.07 (2) (a) The renewal fee determined-by-the
mm@wmgm@@ specified in s, 440.08

SECTION 2996fm. 461.02 (1) of the statutes, as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended to read:

461.02 (1) REGISTRATION REQUIRED. No person may
offer or provide professional employer services, adver-
tise that the person is a professional employer organiza-
tion or that the person provides professional employer
services, or otherwise hold itself out as a professional
employer organization unless the person first registers
with the department as provided in this section. To regis-
ter under this section, a person shall file the registration
form under sub. (2) and pay the }maal—efedelmal fee

SECTION 2996fn 461.02 (4) of the statutes, as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended to read:

461.02 (4) RENEWAL REGISTRATION. A registrant that
wishes to renew its registration shall, by no later than 180
days after the end of the registrant’s fiscal year, renew
that registration by notifying the department of any
changes in the information specified in sub. (2) (a) to (e},
filing an updated financial statement as described in sub.
(2) (f), and paying the renewal-credential fee determined
by-the-department-unders-440-03-(9)-(a) specified in s.
440.08 (2) (a). A registrant may apply to the department
for an extension of the time within which to renew a reg-
istration by providing with the application a letter from
the certified public accountant who is auditing the regis-
trant’s financial statement stating the reasons for the
delay and the anticipated completion date of the audit. A
renewal registration is valid for one year after the date of
renewal.

SECTION 2996fo. 461.02 (5) (a) of the statutes, as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended to read:

461.02 (5) (a) A professional employer organization
or professional employer group that is domiciled outside
this state, that is registered or licensed as a professional
employer organization or professional employer group in
another state, that does not maintain an office in this state
or directly solicit clients that are located or domiciled in
this state, and that has no more than 50 employees per-
forming services for clients in this state on any given day
may apply for limited registration under this section by
filing with the department a limited registration form pre-
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scrlbed by the depanment and paymg the initial-ereden-
@) specxﬁed ins. 440 05 ). An apphcant that 1s seekmg
limited registration shall, in addition to the information
provided under sub. (2), provide the department with
information and documentation showing that the appli-
cant meets the qualifications specified in this paragraph
for limited registration.
SECTION 2996fp. 461.02 (6) of the statutes, as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended to read:
461.02 (6) PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYER GROUP REGIS-
TRATION. Two or more professional employer organiza-
tions that are part of a professional employer group may
register under this section or renew a registration by pro-
viding the information required under sub. (2), (4), or (5)
on a combined or consolidated basis, paying the initial
credential-or renewal fee determined-by the-department
H—nder—s—440v03—(—99—€a9 QQCIﬁed under s. 440.05 (1) for
f under s. 440.08 (2) (a
for a mngwg!, and guaranteemg each other’s obligations.
If a professional employer group provides a combined or
consolidated financial statement under sub. (2) (f) that
includes the financial condition of entities that are not
part of the professional employer group, the person con-
trolling the professional employer group shall guarantee
the obligations of the professional employer organiza-
tions in the professional employer group.
SECTION 2996fg. 461.02 (8) of the statutes, as
created by 2007 Wisconsin Act 189, is amended to read:
461.02 (8) ISSUANCE OF REGISTRATION. On receipt of
an application for registration or for renewal of a registra-
tion under subs. (3) to (7) and of the+m&al—e;eden&al—fee
orrenewal fee determine FRen
440:03-(9 (&) specifi gd 1,1nd§r S. Q{)ﬁ ( 1) fora Legggjla
tion or the fee specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a) for a
renewal, the department shall investigate the applicant or
registrant to determine whether the applicant or regis-
trant is qualified for registration or for renewal registra-
tion. Except as provided in s. 440.12 and 440.13, the
department shall issue a registration or renewal registra-
tion if, after completing the investigation, the department
determines that the applicant or registrant meets the
requirements under this chapter and rules promulgated
under s. 461.06 for issuance or renewal of a registration
and 1s satisfied that the applicant or registrant will com-
ply with this chapter and those rules.
SECTION 2996g. 470.045 (3) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
470.045 (3) (a) A firm, partnership or corporation
desiring a certificate of authorization shall submit an
application to the department on forms provided by the
department, listing the names and addresses of all offi-
cers and directors, and all individuals in its employment
licensed to practice professional geology, hydrology or
soil science in this state who will be in responsible charge
of professional geology, hydrology or soil science being

Z
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practiced in this state through the firm, partnership or cor-
poration and other relevant information required by the
appropriate section of the examining board. A similar
type of form shall also accompany the renewal fee. If
there is a change in any of these persons, the change shall
be reported on the same type of form, and filed with the
department within 30 days after the effective date of the
change. The appropriate section of the examnining board
shall grant a certificate of authorization to a firm, partner-
ship or corporation complying with this subsection upon
payment of the initial-eredential fee de!em}ned—by—ﬁhe
departmentunders-—440.03-(9)-{a) specified in s, 440.05
(1). This subsection does not apply to firms, partnerships
or corporations exempt under s. 470.025 (3).

SECTION 2996h. 470.045 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

470.045 (3) (b) The renewal date and renewal fee for
certificates of authorization under this section is are spe-

cified under s. 440.08 (2) (a);-and-the-renewal-fee-forsuch

SECTION 2996i. 470.07 of the statutes, as affected by
2007 Wisconsin Act 20, i1s amended to read:

470.07 Renewal of licenses. The renewal dates for
licenses granted under this chapter are specified under s.
440.08 (2) (a). Renewal applications shall be submitted
to the department on a form provided by the department

and shall include the renewal fee determined-by-the
department-unders-440.03-(9-(a) specified in s. 440.08

(2) (a) and evidence satisfactory to the appropriate sec-
tion of the examining board that the applicant has com-
pleted any continuing education requirements specified
in rules promulgated under s. 470.03 (2).
SECTION 2996j. 480.08 (3) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:
480 08 (3) (b) Pays the mﬁ*al—e;ede—n&al fee deter-

a) specified

&MJ

SECTION 2996k. 480.08 (5) of the statutes, as
affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

480.08 (5) EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. The renewal
date and renewal fee for certificates granted under this
chapter, other than temporary certificates granted under
sub. (7), is are specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a);-and-the

Renewal applications shall mclude ev1dence saUSfactory
to the department that the applicant holds a current permit
issued under s. 77.52 (9). A renewal application for an
auctioneer certificate shall be accompanied by proof of
completion of continuing education requirements under
sub. (6).

SECTION 2997. 551.614 (1) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:
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551.614 (1) (a) There shall be a filing fee of $750
$1.500 for every registration statement filed under s.
551.303 or 551.304, and for every notice filing under s.
551.302. If a registration statement is denied or with-
drawn before the effective date or a pre—effective stop
order is entered under s. 551.306, or a notice filing is
withdrawn, the filing fee shall be retained.

SECTION 2998. 551.614 (1) (b) 1. a. of the statutes 1s
amended to read:

551.614 (1) (b) 1. a. Elect not to include the informa-
tion under subd. 1. b. and instead pay a fee of $35560
$15.000.

SECTION 2999. 551.614 (1) (b) 1. b. of the statutes is
amended to read:

551.614 (1) (b) 1. b. Report the amount of securities
sold to persons 1n this state during the preceding fiscal
year or, if the registration is terminated, during the por-
tion of the preceding fiscal year during which the regis-
tration was effective, and pay a fee of 0.05 percent of the
dollar amount of the securities sold to persons in this
state, but not less than $130 $750 nor more than $1,500
$15.000.

SECTION 3000. 551.614 (1) (b) 2. a. of the statutes is
amended to read:

551.614 (1) (b) 2. a. Elect not to include the informa-
tion under subd. 2. b. and instead pay a fee of $1;500
$15.000.

SECTION 3001. 551.614 (1) (b) 2. b. of the statutes is
amended to read:

551.614 (1) (b) 2. b. Report the amount of securities
sold to persons in this state during the preceding fiscal
year or, if sales have terminated, during the portion of the
preceding fiscal year during which sales were made, and
pay a fee of 0.05 percent of the dollar amount of the secu-
rities sold to persons in this state, but not less than $150
$750 nor more than $3:500 $15.000.

SECTION 3002, 551.614 (2) of the statutes is amended
to read:

551.614 (2) FEES RELATED TO BROKER-DEALERS,
AGENTS, INVESTMENT ADVISERS. INVESTMENT ADVISER REP-
RESENTATIVES, AND FEDERAL COVERED ADVISERS. Every
applicant for an initial or renewal license under s.
551.401, 551.402, 551.403, or 551.404 shall pay a filing
fee of $200 in the case of a broker—dealer or investment
adviser and $30 $80 in the case of an agent representing
a broker—dealer or issuer or an investment adviser repre-
sentative. Every federal covered adviser in this state that
is required to make a notice filing under s. 551.405 shall
pay an initial or renewal notice filing fee of $200. A bro-
ker—dealer, investment adviser, or federal covered
adviser maintaining a branch office within this state shall
pay an additional filing fee of $30 $80 for each branch
office. When an application is denied, or an application
or a notice filing is withdrawn, the filing fee shall be
retained.
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SECTION 3002r. 560.03 (19) of the statutes is

amended to read:

560.03 (19) Establish a business-development-assis-
tanee regulatory ombudsman center in the department to
provide services as set forth in subch. II1.

SECTION 3008. 560.037 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.037 (1) (intro.) Subject to sub. (3), the depart-
ment may make grants from the appropriation under s.
20.143 (1) ¢ (fw) to the women’s business initiative
corporation to fund its operating costs if all of the follow-
ing apply:

SECTION 3009. 560.06 of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3010. 560.07 (8) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3011. 560.07 (9) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3013p. 560.125 (2) of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.125 (2) AUTHORITY. Beginning on July 1, 2006,
and ending on June 30, 204+ 20135, the department may
award a grant to an eligible applicant for the purchase and
field testing of one or more idling reduction units as pro-
vided in subs. (3) and (4).

SECTION 3013q. 560.125 (4) (c) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3013r. 560.125 (4) (cm) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.125 (4) (cm) Subject to par. (d), the department
may make grants under this section from the effective
date of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts date], to June 30,
2015, of 50 percent of the eligible costs for an idling
reduction unit installed on a truck tractor, unless the
department has previously awarded a grant under this
section for an idling reduction unit installed on the truck
tractor.

SECTION 3013s.
amended to read:

560.125 (6) SUNSET. Subsections (2) to (4) do not
apply after December 31, 2042 2016.

SECTION 3014. 560.126 (2) (b) 2. of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.126 (2) (b) 2. Whether the applicant is a small
business, a minority ewned-business under s. 560.-80-(8)
560.036 (1) (e}, a locally owned business, or a farm.

SECTION 3015. 560.13 (2) (a) 2. (intro.) of the stat-
utes is amended to read:

560.13 (2) (a) 2. (intro.) All of the following are
unknown, cannot be located, or are financially unable to
pay the cost of brownfieldsredevelopment-orassociated
environmental remediation activities:

SEcTION 3016. 560.13 (2) (b) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.13 (2) (b) 1. The contribution required under par.
(a) 3. may be in cash or in—kind. Cash contributions may
be of private or public funds, excluding funds obtained
under the program under s. 560.17 or under any program

560.125 (6) of the statutes is
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under subch. I or V er- Vi1 of this chapter. In—kind con-

tributions shall be limited to actual remediation services.
SECTION 3017. 560.13 (3) (a) (intro.) of the statutes

is renumbered 560.13 (3) (intro.) and amended to read:
560. l’» (3) (intro.) The department shall-award-grants

r the following criteria in ing award
under this section en-the-basis-of-the-following-criteria:

SECTION 3018. 560.13 (3) (a) 1. of the statutes is
renumbered 560.13 (3) (a).

SEcTION 3019. 560.13 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3020. 560.13 (3) (a)
repealed.

SECTION 3021. 560.13 (3) (a) 4. of the statutes is
repealed.

SEcTION 3022. 560.13 (3) (b) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3023. 560.13 (3) (c¢) of the statutes is created
to read:

560.13 (3) (c) The level of financial commitment by
the applicant to the project.

SECTION 3024. 560.13 (3) (d) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.13 (3) (d) The extent and degree of soil and
groundwater contamination at the project site.

SECTION 3025. 560.13 (3) (e) of the statutes is created
to read:

560.13 (3) (e) The adequacy and completeness of the
site investigation and remediation plan.

SECTION 3026. 560.13 (3) (f) of the statutes is created
to read:

560.13 (3) (f) Any other factors considered by the
department to be relevant to assessing the viability and
feasibility of the project.

SECTION 3029. 560.138 (7) of the statutes is created
to read:

560.138 (7) The department may charge the recipient
of a grant or loan under this section an origination fee of
not more than 2 percent of the grant or loan amount if the
grant or loan equals or exceeds $100,000. The depart-
ment shall deposit all origination fees collected under this
subsection into the appropriation account under s. 20.143
(1) (gm).

SECTION 3030. 560.139 (2) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3031. 560.139 (3) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3032. 560.139 (4) of the statutes is created
to read:

560.139 (4) ORIGINATION FEE. The department may
charge the recipient of a grant or loan under sub. (1) (a),
(2), or (3) an origination fee of not more than 2 percent
of the grant or loan amount if the grant or loan equals or
exceeds $100,000. The department shall deposit all orig-
ination fees collected under this subsection into the
appropriation account under s. 20.143 (1) (gm).

SECTION 3033. 560.14 of the statutes is repealed.

3. of the statutes is
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SECTION 3033k. 560.145 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.145 Grants to Center for Advanced Technol-
ogy and Innovation. From the appropriation under s.
20.143 (1) (c), the department shall annually award to the
Center for Advanced Technology and Innovation in
Racine County a grant of $50,000 if the Center for
Advanced Technology and Innovation obtains, from a
source other than the state, matching funds of at least
$50,000. The department shall enter into an agreement
with the Center for Advanced Technology and Innova-
tion specifying the uses for the grant proceeds and audit-
ing and reporting requirements.

SecTION 3033L. 560.157 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.157 Entrepreneurial assistance grants. (1) In
this section, “‘new business” means a business organized
in this state on a date not more than 12 months before the
date on which the business applies for a grant under this
section.

(2) (a) The department may award a grant of up to
$3,000 to a new business from the appropriation under s.
20.143 (1) (gv) for the business’s expenses in hiring a stu-
dent of a college or university in this state as a paid intern
for the business to assist in conducting research, market-
ing, business plan development, or other functions relat-

ing to the creation of a new business. Grants under this -

subsection may be used only for the recipient’s expenses
in hiring students in the fields of business, engineering,
information technology, or in a similar field, as deter-
mined by the department.

(b) The department shall enter into an agreement
with a recipient of a grant under this section that requires
the recipient to repay at least one—third of the amount of
the grant no later than 2 years after the recipient receives
the proceeds of a grant under this subsection. The depart-
ment shall encourage a recipient to repay additional
amounts when the business becomes profitable.

(3) If the department awards grants under sub. (2) to
3 or more businesses to fund internships for students of
a single college or university in this state, the department
may award a grant of up to $25,000 to the college or uni-
versity from the appropriation under s. 20.143 (1) (gv) for
costs associated with hiring interns under sub. (2). If the
department lacks sufficient funds to award grants to all
qualified applicants, the department shall allocate avail-
able funds to applicants who have the greatest potential
to create jobs in this state.

(4) The department shall actively pursue gifts and
grants from private sources for funding grants under this
section.

(5) (a) Not later than 4 years after the effective date
of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts date], the department
shall submit to the legislature under s. 13.172 (2) a report
evaluating the effectiveness of grants under this section.

- 580 -

2009 Assembly Bill 75

(b) The department may not award a grant under this
section after June 30, 2014.

SECTION 3035. 560.183 (title) of the statutes is
renumbered 36.60 (title).

SECTION 3036. 560.183 (1) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (1).

SECTION 3037. 560.183 (2) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (2), and 36.60 (2) (a), as renumbered, is
amended to read:

36.60 (2) (a) The departinent board may repay, on
behalf of a physician or dentist, up to $50,000 in educa-
tional loans obtained by the physician or dentist from a
public or private lending institution for education in an
accredited school of medicine or dentistry or for post-
graduate medical or dental training.

SECTION 3038. 560.183 (3) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (3) and amended to read:

36.60 (3) AGREEMENT. (a) The department board
shall enter into a written agreement with the physician, in
which the physician agrees to practice at least 32 clinic
hours per week for 3 years in one or more eligible practice
areas in this state, except that a physician specializing in
psychiatry may only agree to practice psychiatry in a
mental health shortage area and a physician in the
expanded loan assistance program under sub. (9) may
only agree to practice at a public or private nonprofit
entity in a health professional shortage area. The physi-
cian shall also agree to care for patients who are insured
or for whom health benefits are payable under medicare,
medical assistance, or any other governmental program.

(am) The department board shall enter into a written
agreement with the dentist, in which the dentist agrees to
practice at least 32 clinic hours per week for 3 years in one
or more dental health shortage areas in this state. The
dentist shall also agree to care for patients who are
insured or for whom dental health benefits are payable
under medicare, medical assistance, or any other govern-
mental program.

(b) The agreement shall specify that the responsibil-
ity of the department board to make the payments under
the agreement is subject to the availability of funds in the
appropriations under s. 20-143 20.285 (1) (jc)-m) and
& (ks).

SECTION 3039. 560.183 (4) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (4), and 36.60 (4) (intro.), as renumbered, is
amended to read:

36.60 (4) LoAN REPAYMENT. (intro.) Principal and
interest due on loans, exclusive of any penalties, may be
repaid by the departinent board at the following rate:

SECTION 3040. 560.183 (5) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (5), and 36.60 (5) (a) and (b) (intro.) and 6.,
as renumbered, are amended to read:

36.60 (5) (a) The obligation of the department board
to make payments under an agreement entered into under
sub. (3) (b) is subject to the availability of funds in the




2009 Assembly Bill 75

appropriations under s. 20-343 20.285 (1) (jc)s+4jm) and
ey (ks).

(b) (intro.) If the cost of repaying the loans of all eligi-
ble applicants, when added to the cost of loan repayments
scheduled under existing agreements, exceeds the total
amount in the appropriations under s. 26-343 20.285 (1)
(je )61 and k) (ks), the department board shall estab-
lish priorities among the eligible applicants based upon
the following considerations:

6. Other considerations that the departznent board
may specify by rule.

SECTION 3041. 560.183 (6) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (6) and amended to read:

36.60 (6) LocaL PARTICIPATION. The department
board shall encourage contributions to the program under
this section by counties, cities, villages, and towns.
Funds received under this subsection shall be deposited
in the appropriation under s. 20-443-(H-Gm) 20.285 (1)
(jc)-

SECTION 3042. 560.183 (6m) of the statutes is
renumbered 36.60 (6m), and 36.60 (6m) (a) (intro.) and
(b), as renumbered, are amended to read:

36.60 (6m) (a) (intro.) The department board shall,
by rule, establish penalties to be assessed by the depart-
ment board against physicians and dentists who breach
agreements entered into under sub. (3). The rules shall
do all of the following:

(b) Any penalties assessed and collected under this
subsection shall be credited to the appropriation account
under s. 20:-143 20.285 (1) (jo).

SECTION 3043. 560.183 (8) (intro.), (b), (d), (e) and
(D) of the statutes are renumbered 36.60 (8) (intro.), (b),
(d), (e) and (f), and 36.60 (8) (intro.), (b) and (d), as
renumbered, are amended to read:

36.60 (8) ADMMSM‘#E—G@N%MG? ADMINISTRA-

the-contract-the-office-of rural-health The board shall do
all of the followmg

H;em—eeaﬂeﬂ—ea—&he%demmeaaen—ef Idgntlfy ellglble
practice areas with an extremely high need for medical
care and dental health shortage areas with an extremely
high need for dental care.

(d) Assistthe-department-to-publicize Publicize the
program under this section to physicians, dentists, and
eligible communities.

SECTION 3044. 560.183 (8) (g) of the statutes is
repealed.
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SECTION 3045. 560.183 (9) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.60 (9), and 36.60 (9) (intro.), as renumbered, is
amended to read:

36.60 (9) EXPANDED LOAN ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.
(intro.) The departinent board may agree to repay loans
as provided under this section on behalf of a physician or
dentist under an expanded physician and dentist loan
assistance program that is funded through federal funds
in addition to state matching funds. To be eligible for
loan repayment under the expanded physician and dentist
loan assistance program, a physician or dentist must ful-
fill all of the requirements for loan repayment under this
section, as well as all of the following:

SECTION 3046. 560.184 (title) of the statutes is
renumbered 36.61 (title).

SECTION 3047. 560.184 (1) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (1), and 36.61 (1) (ac), (ag), (bp) and (d), as
renumbered, are amended to read:

36.61 (1) (ac) “Clinic hours” has the meaning given
in s. 560-183 36.60 (1) (ac).

(ag) “Dental health shortage area” has the meaning
given in s. 560483 36.60 (1) (ad).

(bp) “Health professional shortage area” has the
meaning given in s. 560-183 36.60 (1) (a)).

(d) “Primary care shortage area” has the meaning
given in s. 560183 36.60 (1) (cm).

SECTION 3048. 560.184 (2) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (2) and amended to read:

36.61 (2) ELiGIBILITY. The departinent hoard may
repay, on behalf of a health care provider, up to $25,000
in educational loans obtained by the health care provider
from a public or private lending institution for education
related to the health care provider’s field of practice, as
determined by the department board with the advice of
the council.

SECTION 3049. 560.184 (3) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (3) and amended to read:

36.61 (3) AGREEMENT. (a) The department board
shall enter into a written agreement with the health care
provider. In the agreement, the health care provider shall
agree to practice at least 32 clinic hours per week for 3
years in one or more eligible practice areas in this state,
except that a health care provider in the expanded loan
assistance program under sub. (8) who is not a dental
hygienist may only agree to practice at a public or private
nonprofit entity in a health professional shortage area.

(b) The agreement shall specify that the responsibil-
ity of the department board to make the payments under
the agreement is subject to the availability of funds in the
appropriations under s. 20-343 20.285 (1) (jc)-4&} and
k) (ks).
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SECTION 3050. 560.184 (4) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (4), and 36.61 (4) (intro.), as renumbered, is
amended to read:

36.61 (4) LoaN REPAYMENT. (intro.) Principal and
interest due on loans, exclusive of any penalties, may be
repaid by the department board at the following rate:

SECTION 3051. 560.184 (5) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (5), and 36.61 (5) (a) and (b) (intro.) and 6.,
as renumbered, are amended to read:

36.61 (5) (a) The obligation of the department board
to make payments under an agreement entered into under
sub. (3) is subject to the availability of funds in the
appropriations under s. 20443 20.285 (1) (jc)) and
ko) (ks).

(b) (intro.) If the cost of repaying the loans of all eligi-
ble applicants, when added to the cost of loan repayments
scheduled under existing agreements, exceeds the total
amount in the appropriations under s. 26-143 20.285 (1)
(Jo )6t and ey (ks), the departinent board shall estab-
lish priorities among the eligible applicants based upon
the following considerations:

6. Other considerations that the department board
may specify by rule.

SECTION 3052. 560.184 (6) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (6) and amended to read:

36.61 (6) LocAaL pARTICIPATION. The department
board shall encourage contributions to the program under
this section by counties, cities, villages and towns. Funds
received under this subsection shall be credited to the

appropriation account under s. 20-343-(33-GEy 20.285 (1)

(e).

SEcTION 3053. 560.184 (6m) of the statutes is
renumbered 36.61 (6m), and 36.61 (6m) (a) (intro.) and
(b), as renumbered, are amended to read:

36.61 (6m) (a) (intro.) The department board shall,
by rule, establish penalties to be assessed by the depart-
saent board against health care providers who breach an
agreement entered into under sub. (3) (a). The rules shail
do all of the following:

(b) Any penalties assessed and collected under this
subsection shall be credited to the appropriation account
under s. 20:-143 20.285 (1) (jc).

SECTION 3054. 560.184 (7) (intro.), (a), (b), (c) and
(d) of the statutes are renumbered 36.61 (7) (intro.), (a),
(b), (¢) and (d), and 36.61 (7) (intro.), (a) and (b), as
renumbered, are amended to read:

36.61 (7) ADMINMISTRATIVE-CONTRACT ADMINISTRA-
TION. (intro.) Erom-the-appropriation-unders—20-143(H
k) the—departiment-shall contract with-the board-of

 the Uni . Wi i Medical Sehool.
the-contract-the-office-ofyrural - health The board shall do
all of the following:
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cation-of Identify communities with an extremely high
need for health care, including dental health care.

(b) Assistthe-department-to-publicize Publicize the
program under this section to health care providers and
eligible communities.

SECTION 3055. 560.184 (7) (e) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3056. 560.184 (8) of the statutes is renum-
bered 36.61 (8), and 36.61 (8) (intro.), as renumbered, is
amended to read:

36.61 (8) EXPANDED LOAN ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.
(intro.) The department board may agree to repay loans
as provided under this section on behalf of a health care
provider under an expanded health care provider loan
assistance program that is funded through federal funds
in addition to state matching funds. To be eligible for
loan repayment under the expanded health care provider
loan assistance program, a health care provider must ful-
fill all of the requirements for loan repayment under this
section, as well as all of the following:

SEcCTION 3057. 560.185 (intro.), (1) and (1m) of the
statutes are renumbered 36.62 (intro.), (1) and (2) and
amended to read:

36.62 Rural health development council. (intro.)
The rural health development council created under s.
151457483 15.917 (1) shall do all of the following:

(1) Advise the department board on matters related
to the physician and dentist loan assistance program
under s. 560183 36.60 and the health care provider loan
assistance program under s. 560184 36.61.

(2) Advise the department board on the amount, up
to $25,000, to be repaid on behalf of each health care pro-
vider who participates in the health care provider loan
assistance program under s. 560-184 36.61.

SECTION 3058. 560.185 (2) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3059. 560.185 (3) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3060, 560.185 (4) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3070. 560.2055 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.2055 Jobs tax credit. (1) DeriNITIONS. In this
section:

(a) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., “business”
means any organization or enterprise operated for profit,
including a sole proprietorship, partnership, firm, busi-
ness trust, joint venture, syndicate, corporation, limited
lability company, or association.

2. “Business” does not include a store or shop in
which retail sales is the principal business.

(b) “Eligible employee” means a person employed in
a full-time job by a person certified under sub. (2).

(¢) “Full-time job” means a regular, nonseasonal
full-time position in which an individual, as a condition
of employment, is required to work at least 2,080 hours
per year, including paid leave and holidays, and for which
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the individual receives pay that is equal to at least 150
percent of the federal minimum wage and benefits that
are not required by federal or state law. “Full-time job”
does not include initial training before an employment
position begins.

(d) “Tax benefits” means the jobs tax credit under ss.
71.07 (3q), 71.28 (3q), and 71.47 (3q).

(2) CertiFICATION. The department may certify a per-
son to receive tax benefits under this section if all of the
following apply:

(a) The person is operating or intends to operate a
business in this state.

(b) The person applies under this section and enters
into a contract with the department.

(3) ELIGIBILITY FOR TAX BENEFITS. A person certified
under sub. (2) may receive tax benefits under this section
if, in each year for which the person claims tax benefits
under this section, the person increases net employment
in the person’s business and one of the following apply:

(a) In a tier I county or municipality, an eligible
employee for whom the person claims a tax credit will
earn at least $20,000 but not more than $100,000 in
wages from the person in the year for which the credit is
claimed.

(b) In a tier II county or municipality, an eligible
employee for whom the person claims a tax credit will
earn at least $30,000 but not more than $100,000 in
wages from the person in the year for which the credit is
claimed.

(c) Inatier I county or municipality or a tier II county
or municipality, the person improves the job-related
skills of any eligible employee, trains any eligible
employee on the use of job—related new technologies, or
provides job-related training to any eligible employee
whose employment with the person represents the
employee’s first full-time job.

(4) DURATION, LIMITS, AND EXPIRATION. (a) The certi-
fication of a person under sub. (2) may remain in effect
for no more than 10 cumulative years.

(b) 1. The department may award to a person certified
under sub. (2) tax benefits for each eligible employee in
an amount equal to up to 10 percent of the wages paid by
the person to that employee if that employee earned
wages in the year for which the tax benefit is claimed
equal to one of the following:

a. In a tier I county or municipality, at least $20,000
but not more than $100,000.

b. In a tier II county or municipality, at least $30,000
but not more than $100,000.

2. The department may award to a person certified
under sub. (2) tax benefits in an amount to be determined
by the department by rule for costs incurred by the person
to undertake the training activities described in sub. (3)
(©).

(c) The department may allocate up to $5,000,000 in
tax benefits under this section in any calendar year.
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(5) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT. (a) The department
of commerce shall notify the department of revenue
when the department of commerce certifies a person to
receive tax benefits.

(b) The department of commerce shall notify the
department of revenue within 30 days of revoking a certi-
fication made under sub. (2).

(c) The departinent may require a person to repay any
tax benefits the person claims for a year in which the per-
son failed to maintain employment required by an agree-
ment under sub. (2) (b).

(d) The department shall determine the maximum
amount of the tax credits under ss. 71.07 (3q), 71.28 (3q),
and 71.47 (3q) that a certified business may claim and
shall notify the department of revenue of this amount.

(e) The department shall annually verify the informa-
tion submitted to the department by the person claiming
tax benefits under ss. 71.07 (3q), 71.28 (3q), and 71.47
(39).

(f) The department shall promulgate rules for the
implementation and operation of this section, including
rules relating to the following:

1. The definitions of a tier I county or municipality
and a tier I county or municipality. The department may
consider all of the following information when establish-
ing the definitions required under this subdivision:

a. Unemployment rate.

b. Percentage of families with incomes below the
poverty line established under 42 USC 9902 (2).

¢. Median family income.

d. Median per capita income.

e. Other significant or irregular indicators of eco-
nomic distress, such as a natural disaster or mass layoff.

2. A schedule of additional tax benefits for which a
person who is certified under sub. (2) and who incurs
costs related to job training under sub. (3) (c) may be eli-
gible.

3. Conditions for the revocation of a certification
under par. (b).

4. Conditions for the repayment of tax benefits under
par. (¢).

SECTION 3070m. 560.206 (5) of the statutes is
crealed to read:

560.206(5) (a) The department shall annually submit
to the cochairpersons of the joint committee on finance
areport that includes all of the following:

1. The number of entities receiving tax credits under
ss. 71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), and 71.47 (5f)
and (5h) in the preceding year.

2. The total amount of production expenditures, as
defined in ss. 71.07 (5f) (a) 3., for which tax credits were
claimed in the preceding year and the county and city or
village in which the production expenditures were made.

3. The number of individuals employed on each of
the productions in the preceding year.
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(b) The department shall gather the information
required to produce the report described in par. (a) using
financial tracking forms and permits that are consistent
with industry standards.

SECTION 3073. 560.208 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.208 Qualified new business ventures. (1) The
department shall implement a program to certify quali-
fied new business ventures for purposes of s. 71.05 (24).
A business desiring certification shall submit an applica-
tion to the department in each taxable year for which the
business desires certification. Subject to sub. (2), a busi-
ness may be certified under this subsection, and may
maintain such certification, only if the business is
engaged in one of the following:

(a) Developing a new product or business process.

(b) Manufacturing, agriculture, or processing or
assembling products and conducting research and devel-
opment.

(2) The department may not certify a business under
sub. (1) if the business is engaged in real estate develop-
ment, insurance, banking, lending, lobbying, political
consultation, professional services provided by attor-
neys, accountants, business consultants, physicians, or
health care consultants, wholesale or retail sales, leisure,
hospitality, transportation, or construction.

(3) (a) The department shall maintain a list of busi-
nesses certified under sub. (1) and shall permit public
access to the lists through the department’s Internet Web
site.

(b) The department of commerce shall notify the
department of revenue of every certification issued under
sub. (1) and the date on which a certification under sub.
(1) 1s revoked or expires.

SECTION 3074m. 560.255 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.255 Grants to Wisconsin Angel Network.
Annually, from the appropriation under s. 20.143 (1)
(bk), the department shall make a grant to the Wisconsin
Angel Network of $60,000. The department shall enter
into an agreement with the Wisconsin Angel Network
that specifies the uses for the grant proceeds and report-
ing and auditing requirements. The department shall pro-
mulgate rules necessary to administer this section.

SECTION 3075. 560.277 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.277 Wisconsin venture fund. (1) DEFINITION.
In this section, “eligible institution” means a research
institution or nonprofit organization involved in eco-
nomic development.

(2) CAPITAL CONNECTIONS GRANTS. From the
appropriation under s. 20.143 (1) (bk), the department
may award a grant to an eligible institution to fund a proj-
ect that does any of the following:
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(a) Expands access for Wisconsin business ventures
and entrepreneurs to existing capital networks.

(b) Creates or runs a network to connect Wisconsin
business ventures and entrepreneurs with available capi-
tal.

(c) Creates an activity, event, or strategy to connect
Wisconsin business ventures and entrepreneurs with
available capital.

(3) VENTURE SEED GRANTS. (a) From the appropri-
ation under s. 20.143 (1) (bk), the department may award
a grant to an eligible institution to match funds raised by
the institution for funding a new business or determining
proof of concept and feasibility of a new business idea,
if the department determines the award of a grant will
increase the amount of funding for new businesses or will
leverage private investment and facilitate the creation of
jobs in this state.

(b) The proceeds of a grant awarded under this sub-
section shall be used to provide funding as proposed by
the institution in the institution’s application.

(4) RULE MAKING. The department shall promulgate
rules for the administration of this section.

(5) The department shall establish by rule a Wiscon-
sin venture fund advisory council, which shall make rec-
ommendations to the department regarding all of the fol-
lowing:

(a) A process by which the department, the depart-
ment of financial institutions, and other qualified persons
may review proposals.

(b) The maximum amount of a grant awarded under
sub. (2) or (3).

(c) Requirements that applicants for grants under
subs. (2) and (3) secure funding from sources other than
the state to match a portion of the amount of a grant
awarded under sub. (2) or (3).

(d) Monitoring of projects funded by grants under
sub. (2) or (3), including monitoring of job creation.

SECTION 3076. Subchapter II of chapter 560 [pre-
cedes 560.30] of the statutes is created to read:

CHAPTER 560
SUBCHAPTER 1I
FORWARD INNOVATION FUND

SECTION 3077. 560.30 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.30 Definitions. In this subchapter:

(1) “Board” means the economic policy board
created under s. 15.155 (2).

(2) “Business” means a company located in this state,
a company that has made a firm commitment to locate a
facility in this state, or a group of companies at least 80
percent of which are located in this state.

(3) “Cluster” means a geographic, categorical, hori-
zontal, or vertical concentration of interconnected, inter-
dependent, or synergistic businesses, industries, research
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centers, or venues for the performance, creation, or dis-
play of the arts.

(4) “Community—based organization” means an
organization that is involved in economic development
and helps businesses that are likely to employ persons.

(5) “Economically distressed area” means an area
designated by the department using the methodology
established by rule under s. 560.301 (2).

(6) “Eligible activity” means any of the following:

(a) The start—up, expansion, or retention of minority
businesses.

(b) The start—up, expansion, or retention of busi-
nesses in economically distressed areas.

(c) Innovative proposals to strengthen inner cities.

(d) Innovative proposals to strengthen communities
in rural municipalities.

(e) Innovative programs to strengthen clusters.

(f) Innovative proposals to strengthen entrepreneur-
ship.

(7) “Eligible recipient” means any of the following:

(a) A business or small business.

(b) The governing body of a municipality.

(¢c) A community—based organization.

(d) A cooperative or association incorporated under
ch. 185 or organized under ch. 193.

(e) A local development corporation.

(f) A nonprofit organization whose primary purpose
is to promote the economic development of or commu-
nity development in a particular area or region in the
state.

(8) “Governing body” means a county board, city
council, village board, or town board.

(9) “Local development corporation” means any of
the following:

(a) The elected governing body of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe or band in this state or any
business created by the elected governing body.

(b) A corporation organized under ch. 181 that is a
nonprofit corporation, as defined in s. 181.0103 (17), that
* is at least 51 percent controlled and actively managed by
minority group members, and that does all of the follow-
ing:

1. Operates primarily within specific geographic
boundaries.

2. Promotes economic development and employ-
ment opportunities for minority group members or
minority businesses within the specific geographic area.

3. Demonstrates a commitment to or experience in
promoting economic development and employment
opportunities for minority group members or minority
businesses.

(10) “Minority business” has the meaning given in s.
560.036 (1) (e).

(11) “Minority group member” has the meaning
given in s. 560.036 (1) (f).
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(12) “Municipality” means a county, city, village, or
town.

(13) “Rural municipality” means any of the follow-
ing:

(a) A municipality that is located in a county with a
population density of less than 150 persons per square
mile.

(b) A municipality with a population of 6,000 or less.

(14) “Small business” means a business with fewer
than 100 employees, including employees of any subsid-
iary or affiliated organization.

SECTION 3078. 560.301 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.301 Rules, policies, and standards for award-
ing grants and making loans. The department, in con-
sultation with the board, shall promulgate rules that
establish procedures, policies, and standards for imple-
menting this subchapter and awarding grants and making
loans under this subchapter. The rules shall include all of
the following:

(1) A statement of the department’s economic devel-
opment objectives for the program under this subchapter,
together with the goals and accountability measures
required under s. 560.01 (2) (ae).

(2) The methodology for designating an area as eco-
nomically distressed. The methodology under this sub-
section shall require the department to consider the most
current data available for the area and for the state on the
following indicators:

(a) Unemployment rate.

(b) Percentage of families with incomes below the
poverty line established under 42 USC 9902 (2).

(c) Median family income.

(d) Median per capita income.

(e) Average annual wage.

(f) Real property values.

(g) Other significant or irregular indicators of eco-
nomic distress, such as a natural disaster.

(3) Provisions for the development of a biennial plan
for awarding grants and making loans under this sub-
chapter, before the commencement of each odd~num-
bered fiscal year, and for the submission of the biennial
plan to the governor and the chief clerk of each house of
the legislature for distribution to the appropriate standing
committees under s. 13.172 (3).

(4) Procedures related to grants and loans under s.
560.304 for all of the following:

(a) Submitting applications for grants and loans.

(b) Evaluating applications.

(c) Monitoring project performance.

(d) Auditing the grants and loans.

(5) Conditions applicable to a grant awarded or loan
made under s. 560.304.

(6) Procedures for monitoring the use of grants
awarded and loans made under this subchapter, including




2009 Wisconsin Act

procedures for verification of economic growth, job cre-
ation, and the number and percentage of newly created
jobs for which state residents are hired.

SecTION 3079. 560.302 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.302 Grant and loan criteria. Upon receipt of
an application by an eligible recipient, the department
may consider any of the following in determining
whether to award a grant or make a loan under s. 560.304:

(1) Whether the eligible activity proposed to be con-
ducted by the eligible recipient serves a public purpose.

(2) Whether the eligible activity proposed to be con-
ducted by the eligible recipient will retain or increase
employment in this state.

(3) Whether the eligible activity proposed to be con-
ducted by the eligible recipient is likely to occur without
the grant or loan.

(4) Whether and the extent to which the eligible
activity proposed to be conducted by the eligible recipi-
ent will contribute to the economic growth of this state
and the well-being of residents of this state.

(5) Whether the eligible activity proposed to be con-
ducted by the eligible recipient will be located in an eco-
nomically distressed area.

(6) The economic condition of the community in
which the eligible activity proposed to be conducted by
the eligible recipient is proposed to occur.

(7) The potential of the eligible activity proposed to
be conducted by the eligible recipient to promote the
employment of minority group members.

(8) Any other criteria established by the department
by rule, including the types of projects that are eligible for
funding and the types of eligible projects that will receive
priority.

SECTION 3080. 560.303 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.303 Miscellaneous and administrative expen-
ditures. In each biennium, the department may expend
or encumber up to a total of 1 percent of the moneys
appropriated under s. 20.143 (1) (fi) for that biennium for
any of the following:

(1) Evaluations of proposed technical research pro-
jects.

(3) Evaluation costs, collection costs, foreclosure
costs, and other costs associated with administering the
loan portfolio under this subchapter, excluding staff sala-
ries.

SECTION 3081. 560.304 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.304 Forward innovation fund. The depart-
ment may award a grant or make a loan to an eligible
recipient from the appropriations under s. 20.143 (1) (fi)
(gm), and (i0). The department shall consult with the
board prior to awarding a grant or making a loan under
this section.
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SECTION 3082, 560.305 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.305 Administration. (1) The department, in
cooperation with the board, shall encourage small busi-
nesses to apply for grants and loans under this subchapter
by ensuring that there are no undue impediments to their
participation and by actively encouraging small busi-
nesses to apply for grants and loans. The department
shall do all of the following:

(a) Publish and disseminate information about pro-
jects that may be funded by a grant or loan under s.
560.304 and about procedures for applying for grants and
loans under s. 560.304.

(b) Simplify the application and review procedures
for small businesses so that they will not impose unneces-
sary administrative burdens on small businesses.

(c) Assist small businesses in preparing applications
for grants and loans.

(2) The department may charge a grant or loan recipi-
ent an origination fee of not more than 2 percent of the
grant or loan amount if the grant or loan equals or exceeds
$100,000. The department shall deposit all origination
fees collected under this subsection into the appropri-
ation account under s. 20.143 (1) (gm).

(3) The board shall develop a policy relating to
obtaining reimbursement of grants and loans provided
under this subchapter. The policy may provide that reim-
bursement shall be obtained through full repayment of
the principal amount of the grant or loan plus interest,
through receipt of a share of future profits from or an
interest in a product or process, or through any other
appropriate means.

(4) The board shall require, as a condition of a grant
or loan, that a recipient contribute to a project an amount
that is not less than 25 percent of the amount of the grant
or loan.

SEcTION 3082f. Subchapter I1I (title) of chapter 560
[precedes 560.41] of the statutes is amended to read:

CHAPTER 560
SUBCHAPTER III
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT-ASSISTANCE
REGULATORY OMBUDSMAN CENTER

SecTION 3082g. 560.41 (1m) of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.41 (lm) “Center” means the business-develop-
ment-assistance regulatory ombudsman center in the

department.

SECTION 3082h. 560.45 of the statutes is created to
read:

560.45 Small business innovation research assis-
tance grants. (1) The department may award a grant
from the appropriations under s. 20.143 (1) (ie), (ig),
(im), and (ir) to a business for innovation and research
assistance.
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(2) The department may not award a total of more
than $250,000 in grants in a fiscal year. In each fiscal
year, the department shall allocate $100,000 for grants to
businesses in the phase of development that precedes the
eligibility of the businesses for grants under the federal
small business innovation research program, $100,000
for grants to businesses in phase III of the federal small
business innovation research program, and $50,000 for
grants to businesses for the costs of preparing projects for
participation in the federal small business innovation
research program.

(3) The department shall promulgate rules necessary
to administer this section.

SECTION 3083. 560.60 (1s) of the statutes is amended
to read:

560.60 (1s) “Board” means the development-finance
economic policy board created under s. 15.155 (1) (2).

SECTION 3086. 560.68 (3) of the statutes is amended
to read:

560.68 (3) The department may charge a grant or loan
recipient an origination fee of not more than 2% of the
grant or loan amount if the grant or loan equals or exceeds
$200,000 $100,000. The department shall deposit all
origination fees collected under this subsection in the
appropriation account under s. 20.143 (1) (gm).

SECTION 3092¢g. 560.70 (7) (b) of the statutes is
renumbered 560.70 (7) (b) 1. and amended to read:

560.70 (7) (b) 1. In Except as provided in subd. 2., in
s. 560.795, “tax benefits” means the development zones
investment credit under ss. 71.07 (2di), 71.28 (1di), and
71.47 (1di) and the development zones credit under ss.
71.07 (2dx), 71.28 (1dx), 71.47 (1dx), and 76.636. With
respect to the development opportunity zones under s.
560.795 (1) (e) and (f), “tax benefits” also means the
development zones capital investment credit under ss.
71.07 (2dm), 71.28 (1dm), and 71.47 (1dm).

SECTION 3092r. 560.70 (7) (b) 2. of the statutes is
created to read:

560.70 (7) (b) 2. With respect to the development
opportunity zones under s. 560.795 (1) (g) and (h), “tax
benefits” means the development zone credits under ss.
71.07 (2dx), 71.28 (1dx), 71.47 (1dx), and 76.636 and the
development zones capital investment credit under ss.
71.07 (2dm), 71.28 (1dm), and 71.47 (1dm).

SECTION 3110b. 560.795 (1) (g) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.795 (1) (g) An area in the city of Janesville, the
legal description of which is provided to the department
by the local governing body of the city of Janesville.

SEcTION 3110e. 560.795 (1) (h) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.795 (1) (h) An area in the city of Kenosha, the
legal description of which is provided to the department
by the local governing body of the city of Kenosha.

SecTION 3110h. 560.795 (2) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:
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560.795(2) (a) Except as provided in par. (d), the des-
ignation of each area under sub. (1) (a), (b), and (¢c) as a
development opportunity zone shall be effective for 36
months, with the designation of the areas under sub. (1)
(a) and (b) beginning on April 23, 1994, and the designa-
tion of the area under sub. (1) (c) beginning on
April 28, 1995. Except as provided in par. (d), the desig-
nation of each area under sub. (1) (d) and (e) as a develop-
ment opportunity zone shall be effective for 84 months,
with the designation of the area under sub. (1) (d) begin-
ning on January I, 2000, and the designation of the area
under sub. (1) (e) beginning on September 1, 2001.
Except as provided in par. (d), the designation of the area
under sub. (1) (f) as a development opportunity zone shall
be effective for 108 months, with-the-designation-of the
area-under-sub—(1-(H beginning on September 1, 2001.
Except as provided in pars. (d) and (e), the designation of
each area under sub. (1) (g) and (h) as a development

unity zone shall be effective for n in-
ning on the date on which the area is designated under

sub, (1).
SECTION 3110L. 560.795 (2) (b) 7. of the statutes is

created to read:

560.795 (2) (b) 7. Except as provided in par. (e) 1.,
the limit for tax benefits for the development opportunity
zone under sub. (1) (g) is $5,000,000.

SECTION 3110p. 560.795 (2) (b) 8. of the statutes is
created to read:

560.795 (2) (b) 8. Except as provided in par. (e) 2.,
the limit for tax benefits for the development opportunity
zone under sub. (1) (h) is $5,000,000.

SECTION 3110r. 560.795 (2) (d) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.795 (2) (d) 1. Notwithstanding par pars. (a) and
(e), the designation of an area as a development opportu-
nity zone shall expire 90 days after the day on which the
department determines that the forgone tax revenues
under par. (c¢) will equal or exceed the limit for the devel-
opment opportunity zone.

SECTION 3110u. 560.795 (2) (e) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.795 (2) (e) 1. The department may extend the
designation of an area under sub. (1) (g) as a development
opportunity zone for an additional 60 months if the
department determines that an extension under this sub-
division would support economic development within
the city. If the department extends the designation of the
area as a development opportunity zone, the limit for tax
benefits for the development opportunity zone under sub.
(1) (g) is increased by $5,000,000.

2. The department may extend the designation of an
area under sub. (1) (h) as a development opportunity zone
for an additional 60 months if the department determines
that an extension under this subdivision would support
economic development within the city. If the department
extends the designation of the area as a development
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opportunity zone, the limit for tax benefits for the devel-
opment opportunity zone under sub. (1) (h) is increased
by $5,000,000.

SECTION 3110y. 560.795 (3) (a) 4. of the statutes is
amended to read:

560.795 (3) (a) 4. Any person that is conducting or
that intends to conduct economic activity in a develop-
ment opportunity zone under sub. (1) (e) er, (), (g). or (h)
and that, in conjunction with the local governing body of
the city in which the development opportunity zone is
located, submits a project plan as described in par. (b) to
the department shall be entitled to claim tax benefits
while the area is designated as a development opportu-
nity zone.

SECTION 3121g. 560.799 (5m) of the statutes is
created to read:

560.799 (5m) ADDITIONAL TAX BENEFITS FOR SIGNIFI-
CANT CAPITAL EXPENDITURES. If the department deter-
mines that a business certified under sub. (5) makes a sig-
nificant capital expenditure in the enterprise zone, the
department may certify the business to receive additional
tax benefits in an amount to be determined by the depart-
ment, but not exceeding 10 percent of the business’ capi-
tal expenditures. The department shall, in a manner
determined by the department, allocate the tax benefits a
business is certified to receive under this subsection over
the remainder of the time limit of the enterprise zone
under sub. (4).

SECTION 3121r. 560.799 (6) (g) 3. of the statutes is
created to read:

560.799 (6) (g) 3. The definition of “significant capi-
tal expenditure” for purposes of sub. (5m).

SECTION 3128. Subchapter VII of chapter 560 [pre-
cedes 560.80] of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3133. 563.03 (1) of the statutes is amended
toread:

563.03 (1) “Adult family home” has the meaning
given in s. 50.01 (1) (a) or (b).

SECTION 3134. 600.03 (34) of the statutes is amended
to read:

600.03 (34) “Office” means “the office of the msur-
ance-comumissioner” commissioner of insurance of this
state.

SEcTION 3135. 601.31 (1) (n) of the statutes is
amended to read:

601.31 (1) (n) For Listing appointing, or renewing -a
listing an appointment of, an agent under s. 628.11, -afee

$8 $16 annually for resident agents or $24 $50 annually
for nonresident agents, unless the commissioner sets a
higher fee by rule. to be paid at times and under proce-

dures set by the commissioner.
SecTioN 3135t. 601.41 (9) (a) of the statutes is

amended to read:
601.41 (9) (a) In this subsection, “health care pro-
vider” has the meaning given in s. 146.81 (1) (a) to (p).
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SECTION 3136. 601.41 (10) of the statutes is created
to read:

601.41 (10) UNIFORM APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL
HEALTH INSURANCE POLICIES. (a) The commissioner shall
by rule prescribe uniform questions and the format for
applications, which may not exceed 10 pages in length,
for individual major medical health insurance policies.

(b) After the effective date of the rules promulgated
under par. (a), an insurer may use only the prescribed
questions and format for individual major medical health
insurance policy applications. The commissioner shall
publish a notice in the Wisconsin Administrative Regis-
ter that states the effective date of the rules promulgated
under par. (a).

(c) For purposes of this subsection, an individual
major medical health insurance policy includes health
coverage provided on an individual basis through an
association.

SECTION 3137. 601.428 of the statutes is created to
read:

601.428 Cancellation and rescission reports.
Beginning in 2009, every insurer that issues individual
health insurance policies shall annually report to the
commissioner the total number of individual health
insurance policies that the insurer issued in the preceding
year and the total number of individual health insurance
policies with respect to which the insurer initiated or
completed a cancellation or rescission in the preceding
year.

SECTION 3137r. 609.655 (3) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

609.655 (3) (a) A clinical assessment of the depen-
dent student’s nervous or mental disorders or alcoholism
or other drug abuse problems, conducted by a provider
described in s. 632.89 (1) (e) 2. er, 3., or 4. who is located
in this state and in reasonably close proximity to the
school in which the dependent student is enrolled and
who may be designated by the defined network plan.

SECTION 3138. 609.755 of the statutes is created to
read:

609.755 Coverage of dependents. Limited service
health organizations, preferred provider plans, and
defined network plans are subject to s. 632.885.

SECTION 3138g. 609.805 of the statutes is created to
read:

609.805 Coverage of contraceptives. Defined net-
work plans are subject to s. 632.895 (17).

SECTION 3138i. 609.87 of the statutes is created to
read:

609.87 Coverage of treatment for autism spec-
trum disorders. Defined network plans are subject to s.
632.895 (12m).

SECTION 3138n. 610.65 of the statutes is amended to
read:

610.65 Uniform claim processing form. Beginning
no later than July 1, 2004, every insurer shall use the uni-
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form claim processing form developed by the commis-
sioner under s. 601.41 (9) (b) when processing a claim
submitted by a health care provider, as defined in s.
146.81 (1) (a) to (p).

SECTION 3139. 611.11 (4) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

611.11 (4) (a) In this subsection, “municipality” has
the meamng given in s. 345.05 (1) (¢), bu Laigg includes
n rity created und 1039,

SECTION 3140. 614.10 (2) (c) 3. of the stalutes is
amended to read:

614.10 (2) (c) 3. Notwithstanding s. 614.01 (1) (a) 2.,
on the application of an employee specified in subd. 2.,
provide insurance benefits to the employee’s spouse or
domestic partner under ch. 770 or a child of the employee
who receives financial services or support from the
employee.

SEcTION 3141. 619.01 (1) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

619.01 (1) (a) Establishment of plans. 1f the commis-
sioner finds after a hearing that in any part of this state
automobile insurance, property insurance, health care
liability insurance, liability insurance but not to include
coverage for risks whieh that are determined to be unin-
surable, worker’s compensation insurance, insurance
coverage for foster homes ertreatmentfosterhomes, or
insurance coverage for group homes is not readily avail-
able in the voluntary market, and that the public interest
requires sueh that availability, the commissioner may by
rule either promulgate plans to provide such insurance
coverages for any risks in this state which that are equita-
bly entitled to, but otherwise unable to obtain such, that
coverage, or may call upon the insurance industry to pre-
pare plans for the commissioner’s approval.

SECTION 3142. 619.01 (1) (¢) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

619.01 (1) (¢) 1. Each plan, except a health care
liability insurance plan, a foster home protection insur-
ance plan, -a-treatmhentfoster-home-protectioninsurance
plas or a group home protection insurance plan, shall
require participation by all insurers doing any business in
this state of the types covered by the specific plan and all
agents licensed to represent sueh those insurers in this
state for the specified types of business, except that the
commissioner may exclude classes of persons for admin-
istrative convenience or because it is not equitable or
practicable to require them to participate in the plan.

SECTION 3143. 619.01 (1) (c) 4m. of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3144, 619.01 (9) of the statutes is amended
to read:

619.01 (9) FOSTER HOME PROTECTION INSURANCE. In
this section “foster home protection insurance” means
insurance coverage to protect persons who receive a
license to operate a foster home under s. 48.62 (1) &)
against the unique risks, determined by the commis-
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sioner, to which sueh those persons are exposed. If the
persons have insurance which that covers any of these
those risks, the foster home protection insurance may
insure against any or all of the other risks, and may pro-
vide additional or excess limits coverage for any or all of
these those risks.

SECTION 3145.
repealed.

SECTION 3147. 631.43 (3) of the statutes is amended
to read:

631.43 (3) EXCEPTION. Subsection (1) does not affect
the rights of insurers to exelude; limit or reduce restrict
coverage under s. 632.32 (5) (b); or (¢) er-(H-te-().

SECTION 3147g. 631.89 (2) (bm) of the statutes is
amended to read:

631.89 (2) (bm) Require or request directly or indi-
rectly a health care provider, as defined in s. 146.81 (1)
(a) to (p), who is or may be providing or who has or may
have provided health care services to an individual to
reveal whether the individual or a member of the individ-
ual’s family has obtained a genetic test or what the results
of the test, if obtained by the individual or a member of
the individual’s family, were.

SECTION 3148. 632.32 (2) (a) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.32 (2) (at).

SECTION 3149. 632.32 (2) (am) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32 (2) (am) “Medical payments coverage”
means coverage to indemnify for medical payments or
chiropractic payments or both for the protection of all
persons using the insured motor vehicle from losses
resulting from bodily injury or death.

SECTION 3150. 632.32 (2) (¢) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.32 (2) (h).

SECTION 3151. 632.32 (2) (cm) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32(2) (cm) “Umbrella or excess liability policy”
means an insurance contract providing at least
$1,000,000 of liability coverage per person or per occur-
rence in excess of certain required underlying liability
insurance coverage or a specified amount of self—insured
retention.

SEcTION 3152. 632.32 (2) (d) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32 (2) (d) “Underinsured motorist coverage”
means coverage for the protection of persons insured
under that coverage who are legally entitled to recover
damages for bodily injury, death, sickness, or disease
from owners or operators of underinsured motor
vehicles.

SECTION 3153. 632.32 (2) (e) of the statutes is created
to read:

632.32 (2) () “Underinsured motor vehicle” means
a motor vehicle to which all of the following apply:

1. The motor vehicle is involved in an accident with
a person who has underinsured motorist coverage.

619.01 (9m) of the statutes is
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2. A bodily injury liability insurance policy applies
to the motor vehicle at the time of the accident.

3. The limits under the bodily injury liability insur-
ance policy are less than the amount needed to fully com-
pensate the insured for his or her damages.

SECTION 3154, 632.32 (2) (f) of the statutes is created
to read:

632.32 (2) (f) “Uninsured motorist coverage” means
coverage for the protection of persons insured under that
coverage who are legally entitled to recover damages for
bodily injury, death, sickness, or disease from owners or
operators of uninsured motor vehicles.

SECTION 3155. 63232 (2) (g) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32 (2) (g) “Uninsured motor vehicle” means a
motor vehicle that is involved in an accident with a per-
son who has uninsured motorist coverage and with
respect to which, at the time of the accident, a bodily
injury liability insurance policy is not in effect and the
owner or operator has not furnished proof of financial
responsibility for the future under subch. III of ch. 344.
“Uninsured motor vehicle” also includes any of the fol-
lowing motor vehicles involved in an accident with a per-
son who has uninsured motorist coverage:

1. An insured motor vehicle if before or after the acci-
dent the liability insurer of the motor vehicle is declared
insolvent by a court of competent jurisdiction.

2. Except as provided in subd. 3., an unidentified
motor vehicle, provided that an independent 3rd party
provides evidence in support of the unidentified motor
vehicle’s involvement in the accident.

3. An unidentified motor vehicle involved in a hit—
and—run accident with the person.

SECTION 3156. 632.32 (4) (title) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.32 (4) (title) REQUIRED UNINSURED MOTORIST,
UNDERINSURED MOTORIST. AND MEDICAL PAYMENTS COV-
ERAGES.

SECTION 3157. 632.32 (4) (intro.) (except 632.32 (4)
(title)) of the statutes is renumbered 632.32 (4) (a) (intro.)
and amended to read:

632.32 (4) (a) (intro.) Every policy of insurance sub-
ject to this section that insures with respect to any motor
vehicle registered or principally garaged in this state
against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for
bodily injury or death suffered by any person arising out
of the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle
shall contain therein or supplemental thereto the-follow-
ing provisions for all of the following coverages:

SECTION 3158. 632.32 (4) (a) (title) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3159. 632.32 (4) (a) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.32 (4) (a) 1 —Feﬁhe-;areaeegeneﬁpe;senswured
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ing-therefrom Excludin olicy writ town

mutual organized under ch. 612, uninsured motorist cov-
erage, in limits of at least $25,068 $100.000 per person
and $50,000 $300.000 per accident.

SECTION 3160. 632.32 (4) (a) 2. of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3161. 632.32 (4) (a) 2m. of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32 (4) (a) 2m. Excluding a policy written by a
town mutual organized under ch. 612, underinsured
motorist coverage, in limits of at least $100,000 per per-
son and $300,000 per accident.

SECTION 3162. 632.32 (4) (a) 3. of the statutes is
renumbered 632.32 (4) (c) and amended to read:

632.32 (4) (c) Insurers Unless an insurer waives the

right to subrogation, insurers making payment under the
uninsured—motorists—coverage any of the coverages

under this subsection shall, to the extent of the payment,
be subrogated to the rights of their insureds.

SECTION 3163. 632.32 (4) (b) (title) of the statutes is
repealed.

SECTION 3164. 632.32 (4) (b) of the statutes is
renumbered 632.32 (4) (a) 3m. and amended to read:

632.32 (4) (a) 3m. Te-indemnifyfor-medical-pay-
ments-orchiropractic-payments-or-both Medical pay-
ments coverage, in the amount of at least $15000 $10.000
per person %Fm%enenﬂﬂau—pe;sen&mng{hmsured

thee*ten{—ef—&s—paymems Coverage written under [hlS
paragraph subdivision may be excess coverage over any
other source of reimbursement to which the insured per-
son has a legal right.

SECTION 3165. 632.32 (4) (bc) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.32 (4) (bc) Notwithstanding par. (a) 3m., the
named insured may reject medical payments coverage.
If the named insured rejects the coverage, the coverage
need not be provided in a subsequent renewal policy
issued by the same insurer unless the insured requests it
in writing.

SECTION 3166.
repealed.

SECTION 3167. 632.32 (4r) of the statutes is created
to read:

632.32 (4r) REQUIRED WRITTEN OFFERS OF UNINSURED
MOTORIST AND UNDERINSURED MOTORIST COVERAGES FOR
UMBRELLA OR EXCESS LIABILITY POLICIES. (a) An insurer
writing umbrella or excess liability policies that insure
with respect to a motor vehicle registered or principally

632.32 (4m) of the statutes is
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garaged in this state against loss resulting from liability
imposed by law for bodily injury or death suffered by a
person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use
of a motor vehicle shall provide written offers of unin-
sured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist cov-
erage, which offers shall include a brief description of the
coverage offered. An insurer is required to provide the
offers required under this subsection only one time with
respect to any policy in the manner provided in par. (b).

(b) 1. Each application for an umbrella or excess
liability policy issued on or after the effective date of this
subdivision .... [LRB inserts date], shall contain a written
offer of uninsured motorist coverage and a written offer
of underinsured motorist coverage.

2. For umbrella or excess liability policies that are in
effect on the effective date of this subdivision .... [LRB
inserts date], the insurer shall provide a written offer of
uninsured motorist coverage to the named insureds under
each policy that does not include uninsured motorist cov-
erage and a written offer of underinsured motorist cover-
age to the named insureds under each policy that does not
include underinsured motorist coverage. The insurer
shall provide an offer under this subdivision in conjunc-
tion with the notice of the first renewal of the policy
occurring after the effective date of this subdivision ....
[LRB inserts date].

(c) An applicant or named insureds may reject one or
both of the coverages offered, but must do so in writing.
If the applicant or named insureds reject either of the cov-
erages offered, the insurer is not required to provide the
rejected coverage under a policy that is renewed to the
person by that insurer unless an insured under the policy
subsequently requests the rejected coverage in writing.

(d) If an umbrella or excess liability policy that was
issued on or after the effective date of this paragraph ....
[LRB inserts date}, or an umbrella or excess liability
policy that was in effect on, but renewed after, the effec-
tive date of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts date], includes
neither uninsured motorist coverage nor underinsured
motorist coverage, or only one of the coverages, and the
insurer did not provide a written offer required under par.
(b) 1. or 2. with respect to the coverage or coverages not
included, on the request of the insured the court shall
reform the policy to include the coverage or coverages
not included and for which the insurer did not provide a
written offer, with the same limits as the liability cover-
age limits under the policy.

(e) This subsection does not apply to a town mutual
organized under ch. 612.

SECTION 3168. 632.32 (5) (f) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.32 (6) (d) and amended to read:

632.32 (6) (d) -A No policy may provide that, regard-
less of the number of policies involved, vehicles
involved, persons covered, claims made, vehicles or pre-
miums shown on the policy, or premiums paid, the limits

for any uninsured motorist coverage or underinsured
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motorist coverage under the policy may not be added to
the limits for similar coverage applying to other motor
vehicles to determine the limit of insurance coverage
available for bodily injury or death suffered by a person
in any one accident, except that a policy may limit the
number of motor vehicles for which the limits for cover-
age may be added to 3 vehicles.

SECTION 3169. 632.32 (5) (g) of the statutes is
renumbered 632.32 (6) (e) and amended to read:

632.32 (6) (e) -A- No policy may provide that the
maximum amount of uninsured motorist coverage or
underinsured motorist coverage available for bodily
injury or death suffered by a person who was not using a
motor vehicle at the time of an accident is the-highest any
single limit of uninsured motorist coverage or underin-
sured motorist coverage, whichever is applicable, for any
motor vehicle with respect to which the person is insured,

except that a policy may limit the number of motor

vehicles for which coverage limits may be added to 3
vehicles.

SEcTioN 3170. 632.32 (5) (h) of the statutes is
renumbered 632.32 (6) (f) and amended to read:

632.32 (6) (f) -A- No policy may provide that the max-
imum amount of medical payments coverage available
for bodily injury or death suffered by a person who was
not using a motor vehicle at the time of an accident is the
highest any single limit of medical payments coverage
for any motor vehicle with respect to which the person is
insured, except that a policy may limit the number of

motor vehicles for which medical payments coverage

limits may be added to 3 vehicles.
SEcTION 3171. 632.32 (5) (i) of the statutes is renum-

bered 632.32 (6) (g), and 632.32 (6) (g) (intro.), as
renumbered, is amended to read:

632.32(6) (g) (intro.) -A- No policy may provide that
the limits under the policy for uninsured motorist cover-
age or underinsured motorist coverage for bodily injury
or death resulting from any one accident shall be reduced
by any of the following that apply:

SECTION 3172. 632.32 (5) (j) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.32 (6) (h), and 632.32 (6) (h) (intro.), as
renumbered, is amended to read:

632.32 (6) (h) (intro.) -A- No policy may provide that
any uninsured motorist coverage or underinsured motor-
st coverage under the policy does not apply to a loss
resulting from the use of a motor vehicle that meets all of
the following conditions:

SECTION 3172k. 632.355 of the statutes is created to
read:

632.355 Prohibited bases for assessing risk. In
issuing or renewing a motor vehicle insurance policy, an
insurer may not do any of the following:

(1) Place the applicant or insured in a high—risk cate-
gory on the basis that the applicant or insured has not pre-
viously had motor vehicle insurance.
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(2) Assess the applicant’s or insured’s risk on the
basis of the city, village, town, or county in which the
insured motor vehicle is customarily kept.

SECcTION 3173. 632.72 (1g) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.72 (1g) (b) “Medical benefits or assistance”
means health care services funded by a relief block grant
underch—49, as defined in s. 49.001 (5p); medical assis-
tance, as defined under s. 49.43 (8); or maternal and child
health services under s. 253.05.

SECTION 3173b. 632.725 (1) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.725 (1) DerFNiTION. In this section, “health care
provider” has the meaning given in s. 146.81 (1) (a) to (p).

SECTION 3173d. 632.7495 (4) of the statutes is
renumbered 632.7495 (4) (intro.) and amended to read:

632.7495 (4) (intro.) Netwithstanding Except as the
commissioner may provide by rule under sub. (5) and
notwithstanding subs. (1) and (2) and s. 631.36 (4), an
insurer is not required to renew individual health benefit
plan coverage that complies with all of the following:

(a) The coverage is marketed and designed to provide
short—term coverage as a bridge between coverages.

SECTION 3173f. 632.7495 (4) (b) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.7495 (4) (b) The coverage has a term of not more
than 12 months.

SECTION 3173h. 632.7495 (4) (¢) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.7495 (4) (c) The coverage term aggregated with
all consecutive periods of the insurer’s coverage of the
insured by individual health benefit plan coverage not
required to be renewed under this subsection does not
exceed 18 months. For purposes of this paragraph, cov-
erage periods are consecutive if there are no more than 63
days between the coverage periods.

SECTION 3173j. 632.7495 (4) (d) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.7495 (4) (d) Rules promulgated by the commis-
sioner under sub. (5).

SECTION 3173m. 632.7495 (5) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.7495 (5) The commissioner shall promulgate
rules governing disclosures related to, and may promul-
gate rules setting standards for, the sale of individual
health benefit plans that an insurer is not required to
renew under sub. (4).

SECTION 3174. 632.7497 of the statutes is created to
read:

632.7497 Modifications at renewal. (1) In this sec-
tion, “individual major medical or comprehensive health
benefit plan” includes coverage under a group policy that
is underwritten on an individual basis and issued to indi-
viduals or families.

(2) An insurer that issues an individual major medi-
cal or comprehensive health benefit plan shall, at the time
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of a coverage renewal, at the request of an insured, permit
the insured to do either of the following:

(a) Change his or her coverage to any of the follow-
ing:

1. A different but comparable individual major medi-
cal or comprehensive health benefit plan currently
offered by the insurer.

2. An individual major medical or comprehensive
health benefit plan currently offered by the insurer with
more limited benefits.

3. An individual major medical or comprehensive
health benefit plan currently offered by the insurer with
higher deductibles.

(b) Modify his or her existing coverage by electing
an optional higher deductible, if any, under the individual
major medical or comprehensive health benefit plan.

(3) (a) The insurer may not impose any new preexist-
ing condition exclusion under the new or modified cover-
age under sub. (2) that did not apply to the insured’s origi-
nal coverage and shall allow the insured credit under the
new or modified coverage for the period of original cov-
erage.

(b) For the new or modified coverage, the insurer
may not rate for health status other than on the insured’s
health status at the time the insured applied for the origi-
nal coverage and as the insured disclosed on the original
application.

(4) (a) Annually, the insurer shall mail to each
insured under an individual major medical or compre-
hensive health benefit plan issued by the insurer, a notice
that includes all of the following information:

1. That the insured has the right to elect alternative
coverage as described in sub. (2).

2. A description of the alternatives available to the
insured.

3. The procedure for making the election.

(b) The insurer shall mail the notice under par. (a) not
more than 3 months nor less than 60 days before the
renewal date of the insured’s plan.

(5) (a) Nothing in this section requires an insurer to
issue alternative coverage under sub. (2) if the insured’s
coverage may be nonrenewed or discontinued under s.
632.7495 (2), (3) (b), or (4).

(b) Notwithstanding s. 600.01 (1) (b) 3. and 4., this
section applies to a group health benefit plan described in
s. 600.01 (1) (b) 3. or 4. if that group health benefit plan
is an individual major medical or comprehensive health
benefit plan as defined in sub. (1).

SECTION 3176. 632.76 (2) (ac) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.76 (2) (ac) 1. Notwithstanding par. (2), no claim
or loss incurred or disability commencing after 12
months from the date of issue of an individual disability
msurance policy, as defined in s. 632.895 (1) (a), may be
reduced or denied on the ground that a disease or physical
condition existed prior to the effective date of coverage,
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unless the condition was excluded from coverage by
name or specific description by a provision effective on
the date of the loss.

2. Except as provided in subd. 3., an individual dis-
ability insurance policy, as defined in s. 632.895 (1) (a),
other than a short—term policy subject to s. 632.7495 (4)
and (5), may not define a preexisting condition more
restrictively than a condition, whether physical or men-
tal, regardless of the cause of the condition, for which
medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was recom-
mended or received within 12 months before the effec-
tive date of coverage.

3. Except as the commissioner provides by rule under
s. 632.7495 (5), all of the following apply to an individual
disability insurance policy that is a short—term policy
subject to s. 632.7495 (4) and (5):

a. The policy may not define a preexisting condition
more restrictively than a condition, whether physical or
mental, regardless of the cause of the condition, for
which medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was
recommended or received before the effective date of
coverage.

b. The policy shall reduce the length of time during
which a preexisting condition exclusion may be imposed
by the aggregate of the insured’s consecutive periods of
coverage under the insurer’s individual disability insur-
ance policies that are short—term policies subject to s.
632.7495 (4) and (5). For purposes of this subd. 3. b.,
coverage periods are consecutive if there are no more
than 63 days between the coverage periods.

SECTION 3177. 632.76 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.76 (2) (b) Notwithstanding par. (a), no claim for
loss incurred or disability commencing after 6 months
from the date of issue of a medicare supplement policy,
medicare replacement policy or long—term care insur-
ance policy may be reduced or denied on the ground that
a disease or physical condition existed prior to the effec-
tive date of coverage. -A- Notwithstanding par. (ac) 2.,
a medicare supplement policy, medicare replacement
policy, or long—term care insurance policy may not
define a preexisting condition more restrictively than a
condition for which medical advice was given or treat-
ment was recommended by or received from a physician
within 6 months before the effective date of coverage.
Notwithstanding par. (a), if on the basis of information
contained in an application for insurance a medicare sup-
plement policy, medicare replacement policy, or long—
term care insurance policy excludes from coverage a con-
dition by name or specific description, the exclusion
must terminate no later than 6 months after the date of
issue of the medicare supplement policy, medicare
replacement policy, or long—term care insurance policy.
The commissioner may by rule exempt from this para-
graph certain classes of medicare supplement policies,
medicare replacement policies, and long—term care
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insurance policies, if the commissioner finds the exemp-
tion is not adverse to the interests of policyholders and
certificate holders.

SECTION 3178. 632.835 (title) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (title) Independent review of adverse-and
experimental-treatment coverage denial determina-
tions.

SECTION 3179. 632.835 (1) (ag) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (1) (ag) “Coverage denial determination”
means an adverse determination, an experimental treat-
ment determination, a preexisting condition exclusion
denial determination, or the rescission of a policy or cer-
tificate.

SEcTION 3180. 632.835 (1) (cm) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (1) (cm) “Preexisting condition exclusion
denial determination” means a determination by or on
behalf of an insurer that issues a health benefit plan deny-
ing or terminating treatment or payment for treatment on
the basis of a preexisting condition exclusion, as defined
ins. 632.745 (23).

SECTION 3181. 632.835 (2) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (2) (a) Every insurer that issues a health
benefit plan shall establish an independent review proce-
dure whereby an insured under the health benefit plan, or
his or her authorized representative, may request and
obtain an independent review of an-adverse-determina-
tion—or—an—experimental-treatrnent a_coverage denial
determination made with respect to the insured.

SECTION 3182. 632.835 (2) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (2) (b) If an-adverse-determination-or-an
experimental-treatment a coverage denial determination
is made, the insurer involved in the determination shall
provide notice to the insured of the insured’s right to
obtain the independent review required under this sec-
tion, how to request the review, and the time within which
the review must be requested. The notice shall include a
current listing of independent review organizations certi-
fied under sub. (4). An independent review under this
section may be conducted only by an independent review
organization certified under sub. (4) and selected by the
insured.

SECTION 3183. 632.835 (2) (bg) 3. of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835(2) (bg) 3. For any-adverse-determination-or
experinental-treatrnent coverage denial determination
for which an explanation of benefits is not provided to the
insured, the insurer provides a notice that the insured may
have a right to an independent review after the internal
grievance process and that an insured may be entitled to
expedited, independent review with respect to an urgent
matter. The notice shall also include a reference to the
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section of the policy or certificate that contains the
description of the independent review procedure as
required under subd. 1. The notice shall provide a toll—
free telephone number and website, if appropriate, where
consumers may obtain additional information regarding
internal grievance and independent review processes.

SEcTION 3184. 632.835 (2) (¢c) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (2) (¢) Except as provided in par. (d), an
insured must exhaust the internal grievance procedure
under s. 632.83 before the insured may request an inde-
pendent review under this section. Except as provided in
sub. (9) (a), an insured who uses the internal grievance
procedure must request an independent review as pro-
vided in sub. (3) (a) within 4 months after the insured
receives notice of the disposition of his or her grievance
under s. 632.83 (3) (d).

SEcTION 3185. 632.835 (2) (e) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (2) (e) Nothing in this section affects an
insured’s right to commence a civil proceeding relating
to a coverage denial determination.

SECTION 3186. 632.835 (3) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (3) (a) To request an independent review, an
insured or his or her authorized representative shall pro-
vide timely written notice of the request for independent
review, and of the independent review organization
selected, to the insurer that made or on whose behalf was
made the adve experimental-treatment coverage
denial determmatmn The insurer shall immediately
notify the commissioner and the independent review
organization selected by the insured of the request for
1ndependent review. —The&nsureé@%%er—auﬂaep&ed

ﬂ%@d—rep;eseﬂ&m For each 1ndependent review in

which it is involved, an insurer shall pay a fee to the inde-
pendent review organization.

SECTION 3187. 632.835 (3) (e) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (3) (e) In addition to the information under
pars. (b) and (c), the independent review organization
may accept for consideration any typed or printed, verifi-
able medical or scientific evidence that the independent
review organization determines is relevant, regardless of
whether the evidence has been submitted for consider-
ation at any time previously. The insurer and the insured
shall submit to the other party to the independent review
any information submitted to the independent review
organization under this paragraph and pars. (b) and (c).
If, on the basis of any additional information, the insurer
reconsiders the insured’s grievance and determines that

— 594 -

2009 Assembly Bill 75

the treatment that was the subject of the grievance should
be covered, or that the policy or certificate that was
rescinded should be reinstated, the independent review is
terminated.

SECTION 3188. 632.835 (3) (f) of the statutes is
renumbered 632.835 (3) (f) 1. and amended to read:

632.835(3) (f) 1. If the independent review is not ter-
minated under par. (e), the independent review organiza-
tion shall, within 30 business days after the expiration of
all time limits that apply in the matter, make a decision on
the basis of the documents and information submitted
under this subsection. The decision shall be in writing,
signed on behalf of the independent review organization
and served by personal delivery or by mailing a copy to
the insured or his or her authorized representative and to
the insurer. -A- Except as provided in subd, 2., a decision
of an independent review organization is binding on the
insured and the insurer.

SECTION 3189. 632.835 (3) (f) 2. of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (3) (f) 2. A decision of an independent
review organization regarding a preexisting condition
exclusion denial determination or a rescission is not bind-
ing on the insured.

SECTION 3190. 632.835 (3m) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 3m) (a) A decision of an independent
review organization regarding an adverse determination
or a preexisting condition exclusion denial determination
must be consistent with the terms of the health benefit
plan under which the adverse determination or preexist-
in ition exclusion denial determination was made.

SECTION 3192. 632.835 (7) (b) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.835 (7) (b) A health benefit plan that is the sub-
ject of an independent review and the insurer that issued
the health benefit plan shall not be liable to any person for
damages attributable to the insurer’s or plan’s actions
taken in compliance with any decision regarding an
adverse determination or an experimental treatment
determination rendered by a certified independent
review organization.

SECTION 3193. 632.835 (8) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.835 (8) (a) and amended to read:

632.835 (8) (a) Adverse and experimental treatment
determinations. The commissioner shall make a deter-
mination that at least one independent review organiza-
tion has been certified under sub. (4) that is able to effec-
tively provide the independent reviews required under
this section for adverse determinations and experimental
treatment determinations and shall publish a notice in the
Wisconsin Administrative Register that states a date that
is 2 months after the commissioner makes that deter-
mination. The date stated in the notice shall be the date
on which the independent review procedure under this
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section begins operating with respect t vers
minations and experimental treatment determinations.

SECTION 3194. 632.835 (8) (b) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (8) (b) Preexisting condition exclusion
denials and rescissions. The commissioner shall make a
determination that at least one independent review orga-
nization has been certified under sub. (4) that is able to
effectively provide the independent reviews required
under this section for preexisting condition exclusion
denial determinations and rescissions and shall publish a
notice in the Wisconsin Administrative Register that
states a date that is 2 months after the commissioner
makes that determination. The date stated in the notice
shall be the date on which the independent review proce-
dure under this section begins operating with respect to
preexisting condition exclusion denial determinations
and rescissions.

SECTION 3195. 632.835 (9) of the statutes is renum-
bered 632.835 (9) (a) and amended to read:

632.835 (9) (a) Adverse and experimental treatment
determinations. The independent review required under
this section wi inati
an experimental treatment determination shall be avail-
able to an insured who receives notice of the disposition
of his or her grievance under s. 632.83 (3) (d) on or after
December 1, 2000. Notwithstanding sub. (2) (c), an
insured who receives notice of the disposition of his or
her grievance under s. 632.83 (3) (d) on or after Decem-
ber 1, 2000, but before June 15, 2002, with respect to an
adverse determination or_an experimental treatment
determination must request an independent review no
later than 4 months after June 15, 2002.

SECTION 3196. 632.835 (9) (b) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.835 (9) (b) Preexisting condition exclusion
denials and rescissions. The independent review
required under this section with respect to a preexisting
condition exclusion denial determination or a rescission
shall be available to an insured who receives notice of the
disposition of his or her grievance under s. 632.83 (3) (d)
on or after the date stated in the notice published in the
Wisconsin Administrative Register by the commissioner
under sub. (8) (b).

SECTION 3197. 632.845 of the statutes is created to
read:

632.845 Prohibiting refusal to cover services
because liability policy may cover. (1) In this section,
“health care plan” has the meaning given in s. 628.36 (2)
(a) 1.

(2) An insurer that provides coverage under a health
care plan may not refuse to cover health care services that
are provided to an insured under the plan and for which
there is coverage under the plan on the basis that there
may be coverage for the services under a liability insur-
ance policy.
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SectioNn 3197n.  632.87 (4) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.87 (4) No policy, plan or contract may exclude
coverage for diagnosis and treatment of a condition or
complaint by a licensed dentist within the scope of the
dentist’s license, if the policy, plan or contract covers
diagnosis and treatment of the condition or complaint by
another health care provider, as defined in s. 146.81 (1)
(a) to (p).

SECTION 3197p. 632.885 of the statutes is created to
read:

632.885 Coverage of dependents. (1) DEFINITIONS.
In this section:

(a) “Disability insurance policy” has the meaning
given in s. 632.895 (1) (a).

(b) “Insured” includes an enrollee.

(c) “Self-insured health plan” has the meaning given
in's. 632.745 (24).

(2) REQUIREMENT TO OFFER DEPENDENT COVERAGE.
(a) Subject to ss. 632.88 and 632.895 (5), every insurer
that issues a disability insurance policy, and every self—
insured health plan, shall offer and, if so requested by an
applicant or an insured, provide coverage for an adult
child of the applicant or insured as a dependent of the
applicant or insured if the child satisfies all of the follow-
ing criteria:

1. The child is over 17 but less than 27 years of age.

2. The child is not married.

3. The child is not eligible for coverage under a group
health benefit plan, as defined in s. 632.745 (9), that is
offered by the child’s employer and for which the amount
of the child’s premium contribution is no greater than the
premium amount for his or her coverage as a dependent
under this section.

(b) Notwithstanding par. (a) 1., the coverage require-
ment under this section applies to an adult child who sat-
isfies all of the following criteria:

1. The child is a full-time student, regardless of age.

2. The child satisfies the criteria under par. (a) 2. and
3.

3. The child was called to federal active duty in the
national guard or in a reserve component of the U.S.
armed forces while the child was attending, on a full-
time basis, an institution of higher education.

4. The child was under the age of 27 years when
called to federal active duty under subd. 3.

(3) PREMIUM DETERMINATION. An insurer or self-in-
sured health plan shall determine the premium for cover-
age of a dependent who is over 18 years of age on the
same basis as the premium is determined for coverage of
a dependent who is 18 years of age or younger.

(4) DOCUMENTATION OF CRITERIA SATISFACTION. An
insurer or self—insured health plan may require that an
applicant or insured secking coverage of a dependent
child provide written documentation, initially and annu-
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ally thereafter, that the dependent child satisfies the crite-
ria for coverage under this section.

SECTION 3197r. 632.89 (1) (dm) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.89 (1) (dm) “Licensed mental health profes-
sional” means a clinical social worker who is licensed
under ch. 457, a marriage and family therapist who is
licensed under s. 457.10, or a professional counselor who
is licensed under s. 457.12.

SECTION 3197s. 632.89 (1) (e) 3. of the statutes is
repealed and recreated to read:

632.89 (1) (e) 3. A psychologist licensed under ch.
455S.

SECTION 3197t. 632.89 (1) (e) 4. of the statutes is
created to read:

632.89 (1) (e) 4. A licensed mental health profes-
sional practicing within the scope of his or her license
under ch. 457 and applicable rules.

SECTION 3197w. 632.895 (12m) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.895 (12m) TREATMENT FOR AUTISM SPECTRUM
DISORDERS. (a) In this subsection:

1. “Autism spectrum disorder” means any of the fol-
lowing:

a. Autism disorder.

b. Asperger’s syndrome.

c. Pervasive developmental disorder not otherwise
specified.

2. “Insured” includes an enrollee and a dependent
with coverage under the disability insurance policy or
self-insured health plan.

3. “Intensive—level services” means evidence—based
behavioral therapy that is designed to help an individual
with autism spectrum disorder overcome the cognitive,
social, and behavioral deficits associated with that disor-
der.

4. “Nonintensive~level services” means evidence—
based therapy that occurs after the completion of treat-
ment with intensive—level services and that is designed to
sustain and maximize gains made during treatment with
intensive—level services or, for an individual who has not
and will not receive intensive—level services, evidence—
based therapy that will improve the individual’s condi-
tion.

5. “Physician” has the meaning given in s. 146.34 (1)
(o).

(b) Subject to pars. (c) and (d), and except as pro-
vided in par. (e), every disability insurance policy, and
every self—-insured health plan of the state or a county,
city, town, village, or school district, shall provide cover-
age for an insured of treatment for the mental health con-
dition of autism spectrum disorder if the treatment is pre-
scribed by a physician and provided by any of the
following who are qualified to provide intensive—level
services or nonintensive—level services:

1. A psychiatrist, as defined in s. 146.34 (1) (h).
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2. A person who practices psychology, as described
in s. 455.01 (5).

3. A social worker, as defined in s. 252.15 (1) (er),
who is certified or licensed to practice psychotherapy, as
defined in s. 457.01 (8m).

4. A paraprofessional working under the supervision
of a provider listed under subds. 1. to 3.

5. A professional working under the supervision of
an outpatient mental health clinic certified under s.
51.038.

6. A speech—language pathologist, as defined in s.
459.20 (4).

7. An occupational therapist, as defined in s. 448.96
4).

(c) 1. The coverage required under par. (b) shall pro-
vide at least $50,000 for intensive—level services per
insured per year, with a minimum of 30 to 35 hours of
care per week for a minimum duration of 4 years, and at
least $25,000 for nonintensive—level services per insured
per year, except that these minimum coverage monetary
amounts shall be adjusted annually, beginning in 2011, to
reflect changes in the consumer price index for all urban
consumers, U.S. city average, for the medical care group,
as determined by the U.S. department of labor. The com-
missioner shall publish the new minimum coverage
amounts under this subdivision each year, beginning in
2011, in the Wisconsin Administrative Register.

2. Notwithstanding subd. 1., the minimum coverage
monetary amounts or duration required for treatment
under subd. 1., need not be met if it is determined by a
supervising professional, in consultation with the
insured’s physician, that less treatment is medically
appropriate.

(d) The coverage required under par. (b) may be sub-
ject to deductibles, coinsurance, or copayments that gen-
erally apply to other conditions covered under the policy
or plan. The coverage may not be subject to limitations
or exclusions, including limitations on the number of
treatment visits.

(e) This subsection does not apply to any of the fol-
lowing:

1. A disability insurance policy that covers only cer-
tain specified diseases.

2. A health care plan offered by a limited service
health organization, as defined in s. 609.01 (3), or by a
preferred provider plan, as defined in s. 609.01 (4), that
is not a defined network plan, as defined in s. 609.01 (1b).

3. A long—term care insurance policy.

4. A medicare replacement policy or a medicare sup-
plement policy.

(f) 1. The commissioner shall by rule further define
“intensive—level services” and “nonintensive—level ser-
vices” and define “paraprofessional” for purposes of par.
(b) 4. and “qualified” for purposes of providing services
under this subsection. The commissioner may promul-
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gate rules governing the interpretation or administration
of this subsection.

2. Using the procedure under s. 227.24, the commis-
sioner may promulgate the rules under subd. 1. for the
period before the effective date of the permanent rules
promulgated under subd. 1., but not to exceed the period
authorized under s. 227.24 (1) (¢) and (2). Notwithstand-
ing s. 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3), the commissioner is
not required to provide evidence that promulgating a rule
under this subdivision as an emergency rule is necessary
for the preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare and is not required to provide a finding of emer-
gency for a rule promulgated under this subdivision.

SECTION 3198b. 632.895 (15) (a) of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.895 (15) (a) Subject to pars. (b) and (c), every
disability insurance policy, and every self—insured health
plan of the state or a county, city, town, village, or school
district, that provides coverage for a person as a depen-
dent of the insured because the person is a full-time stu-
dent, including the coverage under s. 632.885 (2) (b).
shall continue to provide dependent coverage for the per-
son if, due to a medically necessary leave of absence, he
or she ceases to be a full-time student.

SECTION 3198¢. 632.895 (15) (¢) 5. of the statutes is
amended to read:

632.895 (15) (c) S. The Except for a person who has
coverage as a dependent under s. 632.885 (2) (b). the per-
son reaches the age at which coverage as a dependent
who is a full-time student would otherwise end under the
terms and conditions of the policy or plan.

SECTION 3198d. 632.895 (17) of the statutes is
created to read:

632.895 (17) CONTRACEPTIVES AND SERVICES. (a) In
this subsection, “contraceptives” means drugs or devices
approved by the federal food and drug administration to
prevent pregnancy.

(b) Every disability insurance policy, and every self-
insured health plan of the state or of a county, city, town,
village, or school district, that provides coverage of out-
patient health care services, preventive treatments and
services, or prescription drugs and devices shall provide
coverage for all of the following:

1. Contraceptives prescribed by a health care pro-
vider, as defined in s. 146.81 (1).

2. Outpatient consultations, examinations, proce-
dures, and medical services that are necessary to pre-
scribe, administer, maintain, or remove a contraceptive,
if covered for any other drug benefits under the policy or
plan.

(c) Coverage under par. (b) may be subject only to the
exclusions, limitations, or cost—sharing provisions that
apply generally to the coverage of outpatient health care
services, preventive treatments and services, or prescrip-
tion drugs and devices that is provided under the policy
or self—insured health plan.
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(d) This subsection does not apply to any of the fol-
lowing:

1. A disability insurance policy that covers only cer-
tain specified diseases.

2. A disability insurance policy, or a self-insured
health plan of the state or a county, city, town, village, or
school district, that provides only limited—scope dental or
vision benefits.

3. A health care plan offered by a limited service
health organization, as defined in s. 609.01 (3), or by a
preferred provider plan, as defined in s. 609.01 (4), that
is not a defined network plan, as defined in s. 609.01 (1b).

4. A long—term care insurance policy.

5. A Medicare replacement policy or a Medicare sup-
plement policy.

SECTION 3199. Chapter 648 of the statutes is created
to read:

CHAPTER 648
REGULATION OF CARE
MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATIONS

648.01 Definitions. In this chapter:

(1) “Care management organization” means an entity
described in s. 46.284 (3m).

(2) “Department” means the department of health
services.

(3) “Enrollee” has the meaning given in s. 46.2805
(3).

(4) “Permittee” means a care management organiza-
tion issued a permit under this chapter.

648.03 Applicability of other laws. Notwithstand-
ing s. 600.01 (1) (b) 10. a., ss. 600.01, 600.02, 600.03, and
600.12 apply to this chapter.

648.05 Permit. (1) PERMIT REQUIRED. After Decem-
ber 31, 2009, no care management organization may pro-
vide services to its enrollees without a permit under this
chapter.

(2) APPLICATION. A care management organization
applying for a permit shall submit all of the following
information in the format required by the commissioner:

(a) The names, addresses and occupations of all con-
trolling persons and directors and principal officers of the
care management organization currently and for the pre-
ceding 10 years, unless the commissioner waives this
requirement.

(b) Business organization documents, including
articles and bylaws if applicable.

(c) A business plan approved by the department,
including a projection of the anticipated operating results
at the end of each of the next 3 years of operation, based
on reasonable estimates of income and operating
expenses.

(d) Any other relevant documents or information that
the commissioner reasonably requires after consulting
with the department.

(3) STANDARDS FOR ISSUING PERMIT. The commis-
sioner may issue a permit to the care management orga-
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nization if the commissioner finds, after consulting with
the department, all of the following:

(a) All requirements of law have been met.

(b) All the directors and principal officers or any con-
trolling person are trustworthy and competent and collec-
tively have the competence and experience to engage in
the proposed services and are not excluded from partici-
pation under 42 USC 1320a-7 or 42 USC 1320a—7a.

(c) The business plan is consistent with the interests
of the care management organization’s enrollees and the
public.

(4) SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION. The commissioner
may suspend or revoke a permit issued under this chapter
if the commissioner finds, after consulting with the
department, any of the following:

(a) The permittee violated a law or rule, including a
rule establishing standards for the financial condition of
care management organizations.

(b) The permittee is in a financially hazardous condi-
tion.

(c) The permittee is controlled or managed by per-
sons who are incompetent or untrustworthy.

(d) The permittee conceals records from the commis-
sioner.

(e) The permittee’s business plan is not in the public
interest or is not prudent.

(f) The permittee ceases to be certified by or maintain
a contract with the department.

648.10 Powers and duties of the commissioner.
The commissioner may do any of the following:

(1) Promulgate rules that are necessary to carry out
the intent of this chapter, including, after consulting with
the department, standards for the financial condition of
care management organizations.

(2) Use the authority granted under ss. 601.41,
601.42, 601.43, 601.44, 601.61, 601.62, 601.63, and
601.64, including the authority to issue orders, to enforce
this chapter and to ensure that a care management orga-
nization has sufficient financial resources.

648.15 Reports and replies. (1) RePorts. The com-
missioner may require from any care management orga-
nization any of the following:

(a) Statements, reports, answers to questionnaires,
and other information in whatever reasonable form the
commissioner designates and at such reasonable inter-
vals as the commissioner chooses, or from time to time.

(b) Full explanation of the programming of any data
storage or communication system in use.

(c¢) Information from any books, records, electronic
data processing systems, computers, or any other infor-
mation storage system at any reasonable time in any rea-
sonable manner. )

(d) Statements, reports, audits, or certification from
a certified public accountant or an actuary approved by
the commissioner.
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(2) Forms. The commissioner, after consulting with
the department, may prescribe forms for the reports
under sub. (1) and specify who shall execute or certify
such reports.

(3) ACCOUNTING METHODS. The commissioner, after
consulting with the department, may prescribe reason-
able minimum standards and techniques of accounting
and data handling to ensure that timely and reliable infor-
mation will exist and will be available to the commis-
sioner.

(4) RepLIES. Any officer or manager of a care man-
agement organization, any person controlling or having
a contract under which the person has a right to control
a care management organization, whether exclusively or
otherwise, or any person with executive authority over or
in charge of any segment of such a care management
organization’s affairs, shall reply promptly in writing or
in another designated form, to any written inquiry from
the commissioner requesting a reply.

(5) VERIFicATION. The commissioner may require
that any communication made to the commissioner under
this section be verified.

(6) IMmUNITY. In the absence of actual malice, no per-
son shall be subject to damages in an action for defama-
tion based on a communication to the commissioner
required by law under this chapter or by the commis-
sioner under this chapter.

(7) ExperTs. The commissioner may employ experts
to assist the commissioner in an examination or in the
review of any transaction subject to approval under this
chapter. The care management organization that is the
subject of the examination, or that is a party to a transac-
tion under review, including the person acquiring, con-
trolling, or attempting to acquire the care management
organization, shall pay the reasonable costs incurred by
the commissioner for the expert and related expenses.

648.20 Examinations. (1) POWER TO EXAMINE. (a)
To inform himself or herself about a matter related to the
enforcement of this chapter, the commissioner may
examine the affairs and condition of any permittee.

(b) So far as reasonably necessary for an examination
under par. (a), the commissioner may examine the
accounts, records, or documents so far as they relate to
the permittee, of any of the following:

1. An officer, manager, employee, or person who has
executive authority over or is in charge of any segment
of the permittee’s affairs.

2. A person controlling or having a contract under
which the person has the right to control the permittee
whether exclusively or with others.

3. A person who is under the control of the permittee,
or a person who is under the control of a person who con-
trols or has a right to control the permittee whether exclu-
sively or with others.
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(c) On demand, every permittee shall make available
to the commissioner for examination any of its own
accounts, records, documents, or evidences of transac-
tions.

(d) On order of the commissioner any examinee
under this chapter shall bring to the office for examina-
tion such records as the order reasonably requires.

(2) AUDITS OR ACTUARIAL OR OTHER EVALUATIONS. In
lieu of all or part of an examination under sub. (1), or in
addition to it, the commissioner may order an indepen-
dent audit by certified public accountants or an actuarial
or other evaluation by actuaries or other experts approved
by the commissioner of any permittee. Any accountant,
actuary, or other expert selected is subject to rules
respecting conflicts of interest promulgated by the com-
missioner. Any audit or evaluation under this section is
subject to s. 648.25, so far as applicable.

(3) ALTERNATIVES TO EXAMINATION. In lieu of all or
part of an examination under this section, the commis-
sioner may accept the report of an audit already made by
certified public accountants or of an actuarial or other
evaluation already made by actuaries or other experts
approved by the commissioner, or the report of an
examination made by another government agency in this
state, the federal government, or another state.

(4) PURPOSE AND SCOPE OF EXAMINATION. An
examination may but need not cover comprehensively all
aspects of the permittee’s affairs and condition. The
commissioner shall determine the exact nature and scope
of each examination, and in doing so shall take into

account all relevant factors, including the length of time -

the permittee has been doing business, the length of time
the permittee has been certified by the department, the
nature of the business being examined, the nature of the
accounting records available, and the nature of examina-
tions performed elsewhere.

648.25 Conducting examinations. (1) ORDER OF
EXAMINATION. For each examination under s. 648.20, the
commissioner shall issue an order stating the scope of the
examination and designating the examiner in charge.
Upon demand, a copy of the order shall be provided to the
examinee.

(2) ACCESS TO EXAMINEE. Any examiner authorized
by the commissioner shall, for the purposes of the
examination, have access at all reasonable hours to the
premises and to any property of the examinee.

(3) CooperaTION. The officers, employees, and
agents of the examinee shall comply with every reason-
able request of the examiners for assistance in any matter
relating to the examination. No person may obstruct or
interfere with the examination in any way other than by
legal process.

(4) CORRECTION OF BOOKS. If the commissioner finds
the accounts or records to be inadequate for proper
examination of the condition and affairs of the permittee
or improperly kept or posted, the commissioner may
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employ experts to rewrite, post, or balance them at the
expense of the permittee.

(5) REPORT ON EXAMINATION. The examiner in charge
of an examination shall make a proposed report of the
examination, including information and analysis ordered
in sub. (1), together with the examiner’s recommenda-
tions. Preparation of the proposed report may include
conferences with the examinee or the examinee’s repre-
sentatives at the option of the examiner in charge. The
commissioner shall serve the final examination report on
the examinee.

(6) CoriEs FOR BOARD. The permittee shall furnish
copies of the final examination report to each member of
its board or governing body.

(7) REPORT AS EVIDENCE. In any proceeding by or
against the permittee or any officer or agent of the permit-
tee the final examination report shall be admissible as
evidence of the facts stated in the report. In any proceed-
ing commenced under this chapter, the final examination
report shall be admissible as evidence of the facts stated
in the report. In any proceeding by or against the exam-
inee, the facts asserted in any final examination report
properly admitted in evidence shall be presumed to be
true in the absence of contrary evidence.

648.27 Costs. (1) COSTS TO BE PAID BY CARE MAN-
AGEMENT ORGANIZATIONS. Permittees shall pay the rea-
sonable estimate of costs of examinations under s.
648.20, of review of applications under s. 648.05, and of
analysis and financial monitoring of care management
organizations by the commissioner and the department,
including overhead and fixed costs, by a system of regu-
lar annual billings.

(2) DETERMINATION OF COSTS. Annually, the commis-
sioner shall determine the estimated costs under sub. (1)
for the commissioner and the department. The commis-
sioner shall serve a request for payment on each permit-
tee allocating the cost to each permittee in an amount that
the commissioner determines reflects the permittee’s
proportionate share of projected enrollment in the depart-
ment’s annual contracting period.

(3) PAYMENT DEADLINE. The permittee shall pay the
amount determined by the commissioner within 30 days
of service of the request for payment under sub. (2).

648.30 Nondisclosure of information. (1) TyYPES
OF INFORMATION. The office may refuse to disclose and
may prevent any other person from disclosing any of the
following:

(a) Testimony, reports, records, and information that
are obtained, produced, or created in the course of an
inquiry under s. 648.15.

(b) Testimony, reports, records, and information that
are obtained, produced, or created in the course of an
examination under s. 648.20.

(c) Testimony, reports, records, communications,
and information that are obtained by the office from, or
provided by the office to, any of the following, under a
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pledge of confidentiality or for the purpose of assisting or
participating in monitoring activities or in the conduct of
any inquiry, investigation, or examination:

1. The National Association of Insurance Commis-
sioners.

2. An agent or employee of the National Association
of Insurance Commissioners.

3. The insurance commissioner of another state.

4. An agent or employee of the insurance commis-
sioner of another state.

5. An international, federal, state, or local regulatory
or law enforcement agency, including the department.

6. An agent or employee of an agency described in
subd. 5.

(2) WAIVER AND APPLICABILITY OF THE PRIVILEGE.
Section 601.465 (2m) (a) to (d) applies to the privilege
under sub. (1).

648.35 Enforcement procedure. (1) INJUNCTIONS
AND RESTRAINING ORDERS. The commissioner may com-
mence an action in circuit court in the name of the state
to restrain by temporary or permanent injunction or by
temporary restraining order any violation of this chapter,
any rule promulgated under this chapter, or any order
issued under s. 648.10 (2). The commissioner need not
show irreparable harm or lack of an adequate remedy at
law in an action commenced under this subsection.

(2) OrDERS. The commissioner shall issue any orders
under the procedures described in s. 601.63 and shall
hold any hearings under the procedures described in s.
601.62.

(3) COMPULSIVE FORFEITURES. If a person does not
comply with an order issued under s. 648.10 (2) within 2
weeks after the commissioner has given the care manage-
ment organization notice of the commissioner’s intention
to proceed under this subsection, the commissioner may
commence an action for a forfeiture in such sum as the
court considers just, but not exceeding $5,000 for each
day that the violation continues after the commencement
of the action until judgment is rendered. No forfeiture
may be imposed under this subsection if at the time the
action was commenced the care management organiza-
tion was in compliance with the order, nor for any viola-
tion of an order occurring while any proceeding for judi-
cial review of the order was pending, unless the court in
which the proceeding was pending certifies that the claim
of invalidity or nonapplicability of the order was frivo-
lous or a sham. If after judgment is rendered the care
management organization does not comply with the
order, the commissioner may commence a new action for
a forfeiture and may continue commencing actions until
the person complies. The proceeds of all actions under
this subsection, after deduction of the expenses of collec-
tion, shall be paid into the common school fund of the
state.

(4) FORFEITURES AND CIVIL PENALTIES. (a) Restitu-
tionary forfeiture. Whoever violates an order issued
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under s. 648.10 (2) that 1s effective under s. 601.63, any
section of this chapter, or any rule relating to this chapter
shall forfeit to the state twice the amount of any profit
gained from the violation, in addition to any other forfei-
ture or penalty imposed.

(b) Forfeiture for violation of order. Whoever vio-
lates an order issued under s. 648.10 (2) that is effective
under s. 601.63 shall forfeit to the state not more than
$1,000 for each violation. Each day that the violation
continues is a separate offense.

(c) Forfeiture for violation of statute or rule. Who-
ever violates, intentionally aids in violating, or know-
ingly permits a person over whom he or she has authority
to violate a section of this chapter or a rule promulgated
under this chapter shall forfeit to the state not more than
$1,000 for each violation. If the section or rule violated
imposes a duty to make a report to the commissioner,
each week of delay in complying with the duty is a new
violation.

(d) Procedure. The commissioner may order any
person to pay a forfeiture imposed under this subsection,
which shall be paid into the common school fund. If the
order is issued without a hearing, the affected person may
demand a hearing through procedures described under s.
601.62 (3) (a). If the person fails to request a hearing, the
order is conclusive as to the person’s liability. The scope
of review for forfeitures ordered is that specified under
s. 227.57. The commissioner may cause an action to be
commenced to recover the forfeiture. Before an action is
commenced, the commissioner may compromise the for-
feiture.

(5) CRIMINAL PENALTY. Whoever intentionally vio-
lates or intentionally permits any person over whom he
or she has authority to violate or intentionally aids any
person in violating any section of this chapter, any rule
promulgated to administer this chapter, or any order
issued under s. 648.10 (2) that is effective under s. 601.63
is guilty of a Class I felony, unless a specific penalty is
provided elsewhere in the statutes. Intent has the mean-
ing expressed under s. 939.23.

648.45 Affiliates of permittee. (1) INFORMATION.
A permittee and a person attempting to acquire or having
control of a permittee, shall report to the commissioner
the information concerning the permittee, its affiliates,
and the person attempting to acquire control of the per-
mittee that the commissioner requires by rule. The com-
missioner may promulgate rules prescribing the timing
of reports under this subsection, including requiring peri-
odic reporting and the form and procedure for filing
reports.

(2) REPORT FOR AFFILIATES. The permittee may report
on behalf of all affiliated entities if it provides all the
information that would be required if each affiliate
reported separately.

(3) CONSENT TO JURISDICTION. Every permittee shall
promptly submit to the commissioner a statement from




