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defined in s. 108.02 (17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a ,or (8) (am), 814.62
(1), (2), or (3) (a) or (b), or 814.63 (1). The justice ipformation system surcharge is in
addition to the surcharge listed in sub.

SECTION 3240m. 814.86 (1) of'the statutes, as affected by 2009 Wisconsin Act

(1) (b) 1., 346.63 (M (b), or 350.101 (1) (b), if the person who committed the violation
had a blood a}éohol concentration of 0.08 or more but less than 0.1 at the time of the

violation Afor a financial responsibility violation under s. 344.62 (2), or for a violation

undey’s. 343.51 (1m) (b) or a safety belt use violation under s. 347.48 (2m), the clerk

circuit court shall charge and collect a $21.50 justice information system surcharge
from any person, including any governmental unit, as defined in s. 108.02 (17),
paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3), or (8) (am), 814.62 (1), (2), or (3) (a) or (b), or
814.63 (1). The justice information system surcharge is in addition to the surcharge

listed in sub. (1m).
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SECTION 3241. 823.08 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

823.08 (2) (b) “Agricultural use” has the meaning given in s. 91.01 (1) (2).

SECTION 3242. 846.04 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

846.04 (1) The plaintiff may, in the complaint, demand judgment for any
deficiency that may remain due the plaintiff after sale of the mortgaged premises
against every party who is personally liable for the debt secured by the mortgage.
Judgment may be rendered for any deficiency remaining after applying the proceeds
of sale to the amount due. The judgment for deficiency shall be ordered in the original
judgment and separately rendered against the party liable on or after the

confirmation of sale. The judgment for deficiency shall be entered in the judgment
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and lien docket and, except as provided in subs. (2) and (3), enforced as in other cases.
A mortgage foreclosure deficiency judgment entered on or after October 14, 1997, on

property devoted-primarily-to under agricultural use, as defined in s. 91.01 (5);-en
and-after-October-14.-1997. (2), for least 12 consecutive month

preceding 36-month period shall be recorded as an agriculture judgment.
SECTION 3243. 846.04 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

846.04 (2) Except as provided in sub. (3), if a mortgage foreclosure deficiency
judgment is entered on property devoted primarily te under agricultural use, as

defined in s. 91.01 (5); (2), for at least 12 consecutive months during the preceding
36-month period, an action on the deficiency judgment shall be commenced within

10 years after the date on which the mortgage foreclosure deficiency judgment is
entered or be barred.

SECTION 3243c. 846.35 (1) (c) of the statutes, as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act
2, is renumbered 846.35 (6) and amended to read:

846.35 (6) PENALTIES. If a plaintiff fails to provide a notice under par. (a) in
accordance with pars. (a) and (b), or fails to comply with sub. (5), the court shall

award the tenant to whom the notice should have been given or who should not have

named as a defendant $250 in damages, plus reasonable attorney fees. A tenant may

not recover under this paragraph for more than one notice violation.

SECTION 3243e. 846.35 (4) of the statutes, as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2,
is repealed.

SECTION 3243f. 846.35 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

846.35 (5) TENANT NOT NAMED IN COMPLAINT. In an action for foreclosure of
residential real property, the complaint may not name a tenant as a defendant unless

the tenant has a lien or ownership interest in the real property.
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SECTION 3244. 851.08 of the statutes is created to read:

851.08 Domestic partner. “Domestic partner” has the meaning given in s.
770.01 (1) and “domestic partnership” has the meaning given in s. 770.01 (2).

SECTION 3245. 851.17 of the statutes is amended to read:

851.17 Net estate. “Net estate” means all property subject to administration
less the property selected by the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner
under s. 861.33, the allowances made by the court under ss. 861.31, 861.35 and
861.41 except as those allowances are charged by the court against the intestate
share of the recipient, administration, funeral and burial expenses, the amount of
claims paid and federal and state estate taxes payable out of such property.

SECTION 3246. 851.295 of the statutes is created to read:

851.295 Surviving domestic partner. “Surviving domestic partner” means
a person who was in a domestic partnership under ch. 770 with the decedent, at the
time of the decedent’s death.

SECTION 3247. 852.01 (1) (a) (intro.), 1. and 2. (intro.) and b., (b), (c), (d) and (f)
(intro.) of the statutes are amended to read:

852.01 (1) (a) (intro.) To the spouse or domestic partner:

1. If there are no surviving issue of the decedent, or if the surviving issue are
all issue of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner and the decedent, the
entire estate.

2. (intro.) If there are surviving issue one or more of whom are not issue of the

surviving spouse or_surviving domestic partner, one-half of decedent’s property

other than the following property:
b. The decedent’s interest in property held equally and exclusively with the

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner as tenants in common.
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(b) To the issue, per stirpes, the share of the estate not passing to the spouse

or surviving domestic partner, under par. (a), or the entire estate if there is no

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.
(c) If there is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, or issue, to the

parents.

(d) Ifthere is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, issue, or parent,
to the brothers and sisters and the issue of any deceased brother or sister per stirpes.

(f) (intro.) If there is no surviving spouse, surviving domestic partner, issue,

parent, or issue of a parent, to the grandparents and their issue as follows:

SECTION 3248. 852.09 of the statutes is amended to read:

852.09 Assignment of home to surviving spouse or surviving domestic
partner. If the intestate estate includes an interest in a home, assignment of that
interest to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner is governed by s.
861.21.

SECTION 3249. 853.11 (2m) and (3) of the statutes are amended to read:

853.11 (2m) PREMARITAL OR PREDOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP WILL. Entitlements of a
surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner under a decedent’s will that was

executed before marriage to the surviving spouse or before recording of the domestic

partnership under ch. 770 are governed by s. 853.12.

(3) TRANSFER TO FORMER SPOUSE OR FORMER DOMESTIC PARTNER. A transfer under

a will to a former spouse or former domestic partner is governed by s. 854.15.

SECTION 3250. 853.12 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

853.12 (title) Premarital will or predomestic partnership will.
SECTION 3251. 853.12 (1), (2) (intro.) and (a), (3) (a) and (b) and (4) (a) of the

statutes are amended to read:
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853.12 (1) ENTITLEMENT OF SURVIVING SPOUSE OR SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER.
Subject to sub. (3), if the testator married the surviving spouse or recorded a domestic

partnership under ch. 770 with the surviving domestic partner after the testator
executed his or her will, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner is

entitled to a share of the probate estate.

(2) VALUE OF SHARE. (intro.) The value of the share under sub. (1) is the value
of the share that the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner would have
received had the testator died with an intestate estate equal to the value of the
testator’s net estate, but the value of the net estate shall first be reduced by the value
of all of the following:

(a) All devises to or for the benefit of the testator’s children who were born

before the marriage to the surviving spouse or the domestic partnership with the

surviving domestic partner and who are not also the children of the surviving spouse
or surviving domestic partner.

t3) (a) It appears from the will or other evidence that the will was made in
contemplation of the testator’s marriage to the surviving spouse or domestic
partnership with the surviving domestic partner.

(b) It appears from the will or other evidence that the will is intended to be

effective notwithstanding any subsequent marriage or domestic partnership, or

there is sufficient evidence that the testator considered revising the will after
marriage or domestic partnership but decided not to.
(4) (a) Amounts received by the surviving spouse under s. 861.02 and devises

made by will to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner are applied first.
SECTION 3252. 854.15 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:




© W 3 O

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

25

2009 - 2010 Legislature -1541-

854.15 (title) Revocation of provisions in favor of former spouse or
former domestic partner.

SECTION 3253. 854.15 (1) (b) of the statutes is renumbered 854.15 (1) (b) (intro.)
and amended to read:

854.15 (1) (b) (intro.) “Divorce, annulment or similar event” means any of the

.

following:

1. A divorce, any annulment, or any other event or proceeding that would
exclude a spouse as a surviving spouse under s. 851.30.

SECTION 3254. 854.15 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

854.15 (1) (b) 2. A termination of a domestic partnership or other event or
proceeding that would exclude a person as a surviving domestic partner under s.
851.295.

SECTION 3255. 854.15 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

854.15 (1) (c) “Former spouse” means a person whose marriage to the decedent

or domestic partnership with the decedent has been the subject of a divorce,

annulment or similar event.
SECTION 3256. 854.15 (5) (am) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:
854.15 (5) (am) 5. The decedent and the former spouse have remarried or

entered into a new domestic partnership before the death of the decedent.

SECTION 3257. 859.25 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

859.25 (1) (g) Property assigned to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic
partner under s. 861.41.
SECTION 3258. 861.21 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

861.21 (title) Assignment of home to surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner.
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SEcTION 3259. 861.21 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
861.21 (1) (b) “Home” means any dwelling in which the decedent had an

interest and that at the time of the decedent’s death the surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner occupies or intends to occupy. If there are several such dwellings,
any one may be designated by the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.
“Home” includes a house, a mobile home, a manufactured home, a duplex or multiple
apartment building one unit of which is occupied by the surviving spouse or
surviving domestic partner and a building used in part for a dwelling and in part for
commercial or business purposes. “Home” includes all of the surrounding land,
unless the court sets off part of the land as severable from the remaining land under
sub. (5).

SECTION 3260. 861.21 (2), (4) and (5) of the statutes are amended to read:

861.21 (2) DECEDENT'S PROPERTY INTEREST IN HOME. Subject to subs. (4) and (5),
if a married decedent or decedent in a domestic partnership has a property interest
in a home, the decedent’s entire interest in the home shall be assigned to the

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner if the surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner petitions the court requesting such a distribution and if a

governing instrument does not provide a specific transfer of the decedent’s interest
in the home to someone other than the surviving spouse or surviving domestic
partner. The surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner shall file the petition
within 6 months after the decedent’s death, unless the court extends the time for
filing.

(4) PAYMENT BY SURVIVING SPOUSE OR SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER. The court
shall assign the interest in the home under sub. (2) to the surviving spouse or

surviving domestic partner upon payment of the value of the decedent’s interest in
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the home that does not pass to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner

under intestacy or under a governing instrument. Payment shall be made to the
fiduciary holding title to the interest. The surviving spouse or surviving domestic
partner may use assets due him or her from the fiduciary to satisfy all or part of the
payment in kind. Unless the court extends the time, the surviving spouse or
surviving domestic partner shall have one year from the decedent’s death to pay the
value of the assigned interest.

(5) SEVERANCE OF HOME FROM SURROUNDING LAND. On petition of the surviving

spouse or surviving domestic partner or of any interested person that part of the land

is not necessary for dwelling purposes and that it would be inappropriate to assign
all of the surrounding land as the home under sub. (2), the court may set off for the
home as much of the land as is necessary for a dwelling. In determining how much
land should be set off, the court shall take into account the use and marketability of
the parcels set off as the home and the remaining land.

SECTION 3261. 861.31 (1m), (2) and (4) (intro.) and (b) of the statutes are
amended to read:

861.31 (1Im) The court may, without notice or on such notice as the court
directs, order payment by the personal representative or special administrator of an
allowance as the court determines necessary or appropriate for the support of the

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner and any minor children of the

decedent during the administration of the estate. The court shall consider the size
of the probate estate, other resources available for support, the existing standard of
living, and any other factors it considers relevant.

(2) The court may order that an allowance be made to the spouse or surviving

domestic partner for support of the spouse_or surviving domestic partner and any
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minor children of the decedent, or that separate allowances be made to the spouse

or surviving domestic partner and to the minor children of the decedent or their

guardian, if any, if the court finds separate allowances advisable. If there is no

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner, the court may order that an

allowance be made to the minor children of the decedent or to their guardian, if any.

(4) (intro.) The court may order that the allowance be charged against income
or principal, either as an advance or otherwise, but the court may not order that an
allowance for support of minor children of the decedent be charged against the
income or principal interest of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner.
The court may order that the allowance for support of the surviving spouse or
surviving domestic partner, not including any allowance for support of minor
children of the decedent, be applied in satisfaction of any of the following:

(b) Any right of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner to elect

under s. 861.02.
SECTION 3262. 861.33 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
861.33 (title) Selection of personalty by surviving spouse or surviving

domestic partner.

SECTION 3263. 861.33 (1) (a) (intro.) and 1. and (b) of the statutes are amended

to read:
861.33 (1) (a) (intro.) Subject to this section, in addition to all allowances and

distributions, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may file with the

court a written selection of the following personal property, which shall then be
transferred to the spouse or domestic partner by the personal representative:
1. Wearing apparel and jewelry held for personal use by the decedent or the

surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner;
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(b) The selection in par. (a) may not include items specifically bequeathed

except that the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may in every case
select the normal household furniture, furnishings, and appliances necessary to
maintain the home. For this purpose antiques, family heirlooms, and collections that
are specifically bequeathed are not classifiable as normal household furniture or
furnishings.

SECTION 3264. 861.35 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

861.35 (title) Special allowance for support of spouse or domestic
partner and support and education of minor children.

SECTION 3265. 861.35 (1m), (2), (3) (a) and (4) of the statutes are amended to
kread:

861.35 (1m) If the decedent is survived by a spouse, domestic partner, or by

minor children, the court may order an allowance for the support and education of
each minor child until he or she reaches a specified age, not to exceed 18, and for the

support of the spouse or domestic partner. This allowance may be made whether the

estate is testate or intestate. If the decedent is not survived by a spouse or domestic
partner, the court also may allot directly to the minor children household furniture,
furnishings, and appliances. The court may not order an allowance under this
section if any of the following applies:

(a) The decedent has amply provided for each minor child and for the spouse

or domestic partner by the transfer of probate or nonprobate assets, or support and

education have been provided for by any other means.
(b) In the case of minor children, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic
partner is legally responsible for support and education and has ample means to

provide them in addition to his or her own support.
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(c) Inthe case of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner, he or she

has ample means to provide for his or her support.

(2) The court may set aside property to provide an allowance and may appoint
a trustee to administer the property, subject to the continuing jurisdiction of the
court. If a child dies or reaches the age of 18, or if at any time the property held by
the trustee is no longer required for the support of the spouse or domestic partner or
the support and education of the minor child, any remaining property is to be
distributed by the trustee as the court orders in accordance with the terms of the
decedent’s will or to the heirs of the decedent in intestacy or to satisfy unpaid claims
of the decedent’s estate.

(3) (a) The effect on claims under s. 859.25. The court shall balance the needs
of the spouse, domestic partner, or minor children against the nature of the creditors’
claims in setting the amount allowed under this section.

(4) The court may order that the allowance to the surviving spouse or surviving
domestic partner, not including any allowance for the support and education of minor
children, be applied in satisfaction of any of the following:

(a) Any entitlement of the surviving spouse or_surviving domestic partner
under s. 853.12.

(b) Any right of the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner to elect

under s. 861.02 (1).
SECTION 3266. 861.41 of the statutes is amended to read:

861.41 Exemption of property to be assigned to surviving spouse or

surviving domestic partner. (1) After the amount of claims against the estate

has been ascertained, the surviving spouse or surviving domestic partner may

petition the court to set aside as exempt from the claims of creditors under s. 859.25
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(1) (h) an amount of property reasonably necessary for the support of the spouse or
domestic partner, not to exceed $10,000 in value, if it appears that the assets are
insufficient to pay all claims and allowances and still leave the surviving spouse or
surviving domestic partner such an amount of property in addition to selection and
allowances.

(2) The court shall grant the petition if it determines that an assignment ahead

of creditors is reasonably necessary for the support of the spouse or domestic partner.

In determining the necessity and the amount of property to be assigned, the court
must take into consideration the availability of a home to the surviving spouse or
surviving domestic partner and all other assets and resources available for support.
SECTION 3267. 867.01 (1) (b) and (3) (f) of the statutes are amended to read:
867.01 (1) (b) Whenever the estate, less the amount of the debts for which any
property in the estate is security, does not exceed $50,000 in value and the decedent

is survived by a spouse or domestic partner, or one or more minor children or both.

(3) (O Order. If the court is satisfied that the estate may be settled under this
section, after 30 days have elapsed since notice to the department of health services
under par. (d), if that notice is required, the court shall assign the property to the
persons entitled toit. If the estate may be settled under sub. (1) (b), any property not

otherwise assigned shall be assigned to the surviving spouse or surviving domestic

partner, or minor children or both as an allowance under s. 861.31. The court shall
order any person indebted to or holding money or other property of the decedent to
pay the indebtedness or deliver the property to the persons found to be entitled to
receive it. The court shall order the transfer of interests in real estate, stocks or
bonds registered in the name of the decedent, the title of a licensed motor vehicle, or

any other form of property. If the decedent immediately prior to death had an estate
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for life or an interest as a joint tenant in any property in regard to which a certificate
of termination in accordance with s. 867.04 has not been issued, the order shall set
forth the termination of that life estate or the right of survivorship of any joint
tenant. Every tract of real property in which an interest is assigned or terminated
or which is security for a debt in which an interest is assigned or terminated shall
be specifically described.

SECTION 3269. 895.04 (2) and (6) of the statutes are amended to read:

895.04 (2) Ifthe deceased leaves surviving a spouse or domestic partner under

ch.770, and domestic partner under s. 770.05, and minor children under 18 years of

age with whose support the deceased was legally charged, the court rbefore whom the
action is pending, or if no action is pending, any court of record, in recognition of the
duty and responsibility of a parent to support minor children, shall determine the
amount, if any, to be set aside for the protection of such children after considering the
age of such children, the amount involved, the capacity and integrity of the surviving
spouse or surviving domestic partner, and any other facts or information it may have
or receive, and such amount may be impressed by creation of an appropriate lien in
favor of such children or otherwise protected as circumstances may warrant, but
such amount shall not be in excess of 50% of the net amount received after deduction
of costs of collection. If there are no such surviving minor children, the amount
recovered shall belong and be paid to the spouse or domestic partner of the deceased;
if no spouse or domestic partner survives, to the deceased’s lineal heirs as determined
by s. 852.01; if no lineal heirs survive, to the deceased’s brothers and sisters. If any
such relative dies before judgment in the action, the relative next in order shall be
entitled to recover for the wrongful death. A surviving nonresident alien spouse or

a nonresident alien domestic partner under ch. 770 and minor children shall be
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entitled to the benefits of this section. In cases subject to s. 102.29 this subsection

shall apply only to the surviving spouse’s or surviving domestic partner’s interest in

the amount recovered. Ifthe amount allocated to any child under this subsection is
less than $10,000, s. 807.10 may be applied. Every settlement in wrongful death
cases in which the deceased leaves minor children under 18 years of age shall be void
unless approved by a court of record authorized to act hereunder.

(6) Where the wrongful death of a person creates a cause of action in favor of

the decedent’s estate and also a cause of action in favor of a spouse, domestic partner

under ch. 770, or relatives as provided in this section, such spouse, domestic partner,

or relatives may waive and satisfy the estate’s cause of action in connection with or
as part of a settlement and discharge of the cause of action of the spouse, domestic
partner, or relatives.

SECTION 3272m. 895.446 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.446 (4) Any recovery under this section shall be reduced by the amount
recovered as restitution under ss. 800.093 and 973.20 and ch. 938 for the same act

SECTION 3273. 895.485 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.485 (title) Civil liability exemption; agencies, foster parents,
treatment foster parents and family-operated group home parents.

SECTION 3274. 895.485 (1) (c) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3275. 895.485 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.485 (2) (intro.) Except as provided in ss. 167.10 (7) and 343.15 (2), any
foster,treatment-foster or family-operated group home parent licensed under s.
48.62 or 48.625 is immune from civil liability for any of the following:

SECTION 3276. 895.485 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
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895.485 (2) (a) An act or omission of the foster,—treatment—foster or
family-operated group home parent while that parent is acting in his or her capacity
as a foster;-treatmentfoster or family-operated group home parent.

SECTION 3277. 895.485 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.485 (2) (b) An act or omission of a child who is placed in a foster home,
treatmentfosterhome or family-operated group home while the child is in the foster;
treatmentfoster or family-operated group home parent’s care.

SECTION 3278. 895.485 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.485 (3) The immunity specified in sub. (2) does not apply if the act or
omission of a foster;treatment-foster or family-operated group home parent was not
done in good faith or was not in compliance with any written instructions; received
from the agency that placed the child; regarding specific care and supervision of the
child. The good faith of a foster,-treatmentfoster or family-operated group home
parent and the compliance of the foster, treatmentfoster or family-operated group
home parent with any written instructions received from the agency that placed the
child are presumed in a civil action. Any person who asserts that a fosterytreatment
foster or family-operated group home parent did not act in good faith, or did not
comply with written instructions received from the agency that placed the child, has
the burden of proving that assertion.

SECTION 3279. 895.485 (4) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.485 (4) (intro.) Any agency that acts in good faith in placing a child with
afoster;treatmentfoster or family-operated group home parent is immune from civil
liability for any act or omission of the agency, the foster,treatmentfoster or
family-operated group home parent, or the child unless all of the following occur:

SECTION 3280. 895.485 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
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895.485 (4) (a) The agency has failed to provide the foster-treatmentfoster: or
family-operated group home parent with any information relating to a medical,
physical, mental, or emotional condition of the child that it is required to disclose
under this paragraph. The department of children and families shall promulgate
rules specifying the kind of information that an agency shall disclose to a foster;
treatmentfoster; or family-operated group home parent which that relates to a
medical, physical, mental, or emotional condition of the child.

SECTION 3283g. 895.61 of the statutes is created to read:

895.61 Asbestos successor corporation; limitation on liability. (1)
DEFINITIONS. In this section:

(a) “Asbestos claim” means a claim for damages, losses, indemnification,
contribution, or other relief arising out of or related in any way to asbestos, including
all of the following:

1. Aclaim related to the health effects of exposure to asbestos, including a claim
related to any of the following:

a. Personal injury or death.

b. Mental or emotional injury.

c. Increased risk of disease or other injury.

d. Costs of medical monitoring or surveillance.

2. A claim made by or on behalf of any person exposed to asbestos, or by a
spouse, parent, child, or other relative of the person.

3. A claim related to the installation, presence, or removal of asbestos.

(b) “Corporation” means a domestic corporation for profit organized under the
laws of this state or a foreign corporation for profit organized under laws other than

the laws of this state.
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(c) 1. “Successor asbestos-related liability” means any liability that is related
to an asbestos claim and that was assumed or incurred by a corporation as a result
of or in connection with any of the following:

a. A merger or consolidation with a transferor.

b. The plan of merger or consolidation with a transferor related to the merger
or consolidation with or into another corporation.

c. An asbestos claim based on the exercise of control or ownership of stock or
a corporation before the merger or consolidation with a transferor.

2. “Successor asbestos-related liability” includes liability that, after the time
of the merger or consolidation with a transferor for which the fair market value of
the total gross assets of the successor corporation was determined under sub. (4), was
paid, discharged, or committed to be paid or discharged by or on behalf of the
corporation, successor corporation, or transferor in connection with a settlement,
judgment, or discharge in this state or in another jurisdiction.

(d) “Successor corporation” means a corporation that has assumed or incurred
successor asbestos-related liabilities before January 1, 1972, or that is any of that
successor corporation’s successors.

(e) “Total gross assets” includes intangible assets.

(f) “Iransferor” means a corporation from which a successor asbestos-related
liability is or was assumed or incurred.

(2) ArpLICABILITY. (a) The limitations in sub. (3) apply to any successor
corporation, except as provided in par (b).

(b) The limitations in sub. (3) do not apply to any of the following:

1. Worker’s compensation benefits paid under ch. 102 or a comparable worker’s

compensation law of another jurisdiction.
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2. Any claim against a successor corporation that does not constitute a
successor asbestos-related liability.

3. Any obligation under 29 USC 151, et seq., or under any collective bargaining
agreement.

4. A successor corporation that, after a merger or consolidation with a
transferor, continued in the business of mining asbestos, selling or distributing
asbestos fibers, or manufacturing, distributing, removing, or installing
asbestos-containing products that were the same or substantially the same as those
products that were previously manufactured, distributed, removed, or installed by
the transferor.

(3) MEASURE OF LIABILITY. (a) Except as provide in par. (b), the cumulative
successor asbestos-related liabilities of a successor corporation are limited to the fair
market value of the total gross assets of the transferor determined as of the time of
the merger or consolidation with the successor corporation. Subject to par. (b), the
successor corporation does not have responsibility for any successor
asbestos-related liabilities in excess of this limitation.

(b) If the transferor to the successor corporation had assumed or incurred
successor asbestos-related liability in connection with a prior merger or
consolidation with a prior transferor, then the fair market value of the total assets
of the prior transferor determined as of the time of the earlier merger or consolidation
is substituted for the limitation under par. (a) for purposes of determining the
limitation on liability of the successor corporation.

(4) ESTABLISHING THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF TOTAL GROSS ASSETS. (a) A successor

corporation may establish the fair market value of total gross assets for purposes of
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the limitations under sub. (3) by any reasonable method, including any of the
following:

1. By reference to the going concern value of the assets.

2. By reference to the purchase price attributable to or paid for the assets in
an arms-length transaction.

3. In the absence of other readily available information from which the fair
market value can be determined, by reference to the value of the assets recorded on
a balance sheet.

(b) To the extent that total gross assets include liability insurance that was
issued to the transferor whose assets are being valued under this subsection, the
applicability, terms, conditions, and limits of the insurance are not affected by this
section. This section does not affect the rights and obligations of an insurer,
transferor, or successor corporation under any insurance contract or related
agreement, including all of the following:

1. A preenactment settlement resolving a coverage-related dispute.

2. The right of an insurer to seek payment for applicable deductibles,
retrospective premiums, or self-insured retentions.

3. The right of an insurer to seek contribution from a successor corporation for
an uninsured or self-insured period or for a period when insurance is uncollectible
or unavailable.

(c) Subject to par. (b), to the extent that total gross assets include any liability
insurance, a settlement‘ of a dispute concerning the liability insurance coverage
entered into by the transferor or successor corporation with the insurer of the

transferor before the effective date of this paragraph .... [LRB inserts date], shall be
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determinative of the total coverage of the liability insurance for inclusion in the
calculation of the transferor’s total gross assets.

(5) ADJUSTMENT OF FAIR MARKET VALUE. (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) to (d),
the fair market value of the total gross assets at the time of the merger or
consolidation with the transferor shall increase annually at a rate equal to the sum
of the following:

1. The weekly prime rate for the first week of each calendar year since the
merger or consolidation, as reported by the federal reserve board in federal reserve
statistical release H. 15.

2. One percent.

(b) The rate under par. (a) may not be compounded.

(¢) The adjustment of the fair market value of the total gross assets shall
continue as provided in par. (a) until the date that the adjusted fair market value of
the total gross assets is first exceeded by the cumulative amounts of successor
asbestos-related liabilities paid or committed to be paid by or on behalf of the
successor corporation or a predecessor of the successor corporation or by or on behalf
of a transferor after the time of the merger or consolidation for which the fair market
value of the total gross assets is determined.

(d) No adjustment of the fair market value of total gross assets may be applied
to any liability insurance that is included in the definition of total gross assets under
sub. (4) (b).

(6) LIBERAL CONSTRUCTION INTENDED. This section shall be liberally construed
to effect its purposes with regard to successor corporations.

SECTION 3284. 905.05 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

905.05 (title) Husband-wife and domestic partner privilege.
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SEcTION 3285. 905.05 (1), (2) and (3) (a), (b), (c) and (d) of the statutes are
amended to read:
905.05 (1) GENERAL RULE OF PRIVILEGE. A person has a privilege to prevent the

person’s spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or former domestic partner

from testifying against the person as to any private communication by one to the

other made during their marriage or domestic partnership. As used in this section,
“domestic partner” means a domestic partner under ch. 770.

(2) WHO MAY CLAIM THE PRIVILEGE. The privilege may be claimed by the person

or by the spouse or domestic partner on the person’s behalf. The authority of the

spouse or domestic partner to do so is presumed in the absence of evidence to the
contrary.

(3) (a) If both spouses or former spouses or domestic partners or former

domestic partners are parties to the action.

(b) In proceedings in which one spouse or former spouse or domestic partner

or former domestic partner is charged with a crime against the person or property

of the other or of a child of either, or with a crime against the person or property of
a 3rd person committed in the course of committing a crime against the other.

(¢) In proceedings in which a spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or

former domestic partner is charged with a crime of pandering or prostitution.

(d) If one spouse or former spouse or domestic partner or former domestic

partner has acted as the agent of the other and the private communication relates
to matters within the scope of the agency.
SECTION 3285gb. 908.03 (6m) (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

908.03 (6m) (title) HEALTH PATIENT HEALTH CARE PROVIDER RECORDS.
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SECTION 3285gc. 908.03 (6m) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 908.03 (6m) (a)

(intro.) and amended to read:

908.03 (6m) (a) Definition. (intro.) In this subsectionhealth:

1. Health care provider” means-a-massage-therapist-or-bodyworker-issued-a

as-defined has the meanings given in s: gs. 146.81 (1) and 655.001 (8).

SECTION 3285ge. 908.03 (6m) (a) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

908.03 (6m) (a) 2. “Patient health care records” has the meaning given in s.
146.81 (4).

SECTION 3285gg. 908.03 (6m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

908.03 (6m) (b) Authentication witness unnecessary. A custodian or other
qualified witness required by sub. (6) is unnecessary if the party who intends to offer
patient health care previder records into evidence at a trial or hearing does one of the
following at least 40 days before the trial or hearing:

1. Serves upon all appearing parties an accurate, legible and complete
duplicate of the patient health care previder records for a stated period certified by
the record custodian.

2. Notifies all appearing parties that an accurate, legible and complete
duplicate of the patient health care previder records for a stated period certified by
the record custodian is available for inspection and copying during reasonable
business hours at a specified location within the county in which the trial or hearing
will be held.

SECTION 3285gh. 908.03 (6m) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:
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908.03 (6m) (bm) Presumption. Billing statements or invoices that are patient
health care records are presumed to state the reasonable value of the health care
services provided and the health care services provided are presumed to be
reasonable and necessary to the care of the patient. Any party attempting to rebut
the presumption of the reasonable value of the health care services provided may not
present evidence of payments made or benefits conferred by collateral sources.

SECTION 3285gi. 908.03 (6m) (c) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

908.03 (6m) (c) Subpoena limitations. (intro.) Health Patient health care
provider records are subject to subpoena only if one of the following conditions exists:

SECTION 3285gk. 908.03 (6m) (c) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

908.03 (6m) (c) 3. If upon a properly authorized request of an attorney, the
health care provider refuses, fails, or neglects to supply within 2 business days a
legible certified duplicate of its records for the fees established under par—(d) s.

146.83 (1f) (¢) or (d) or (1h) (b) or (c), whichever are applicable.

SECTION 3285gm. 908.03 (6m) (d) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3285p. 909.02 (11) (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

909.02 (11) (title) HeatrH PATIENT HEALTH CARE PROVIDER RECORDS.

SECTION 3286. 911.01 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

911.01 (4) (¢) Miscellaneous proceedings. Proceedings for extradition or
rendition; sentencing, granting or revoking probation, modification of a bifurcated
sentence under s. 302.113(9g) 302.1135, adjustment of a bifurcated sentence under

s. 973.195 (1r), release to extended supervision under s. 302.113 (2) (b) or 304.06 (1)

or discharge under s. 973.01 (4m), issuance of arrest warrants, criminal summonses

and search warrants; hearings under s. 980.09 (2); proceedings under s. 971.14 (1)
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(c); proceedings with respect to pretrial release under ch. 969 except where habeas
corpus is utilized with respect to release on bail or as otherwise provided in ch. 969.

SECTION 3287. 938.02 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.02 (6) “Foster home” means any facility that is operated by a person
required to be licensed by s. 48.62 (1) {a) and that provides care and maintenance for
no more than 4 juveniles or, if necessary to enable a sibling group to remain together,
for no more than 6 juveniles or, if the department of children and families
promulgates rules permitting a different number of juveniles, for the number of
juveniles permitted under those rules.

SECTION 3288. 938.02 (17q) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 3289. 938.207 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.207 (1) (¢) Alicensed foster home or-alicensed treatmentfosterhome if the
placement does not violate the conditions of the license.

SECTION 3290. 938.207 (1) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.207 (1) (f) The home of a person not a relative if the person has not had a

foster-home-or-treatment foster-home license under s. 48.62 refused, revoked, or

suspended within the previous 2 years. Sueh-a- A placement under this paragraph
may not exceed 30 days, unless the placement is extended by the court for cause for
an additional 30 days.

SECTION 3290n. 938.21 (2) (e) of the statutes is created to read:

938.21 (2) (e) If present at the hearing, the parent shall be requested to provide
the names and other identifying information of 3 relatives of the juvenile or family
friends 18 years of age or over whose homes the parent requests the court to consider

as placements for the juvenile. If the parent does not provide this information at the
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hearing, the county department shall make a reasonable effort to provide each
parent with the opportunity to provide this information.

SECTION 3290p. 938.21 (3) (f) of the statutes is created to read:

938.21 (3) (f) If present at the hearing, the parent shall be requested to provide
the names and other identifying information of 3 relatives of the juvenile or family
friends 18 years of age or over whose homes the parent requests the court to consider
as placements for the juvenile. If the parent does not provide this information at the
hearing, the county department shall make a reasonable effort to provide each
parent with the opportunity to provide this information.

SECTION 3291. 938.21 (5) (d) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.21 (5) (d) 2. If a hearing is held under subd. 1, at least 10 days before the
date of the hearing the court shall notify the juvenile, any parent, guardian, and legal
custodian of the juvenile, and any foster parent;-treatmentfoster parent, or other
physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile of the time, place, and
purpose of the hearing.

SECTION 3292. 938.21 (5) (d) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.21 (5) (d) 3. The court shall give a foster parent;-treatment foster parent,
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who is notified of a hearing under
subd. 2. an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;
treatment—foster-parent; or other physical custodian to make a written or oral
statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the hearing,
relevant to the issues to be determined at the hearing. A foster parent,treatment
foster parent; or other physical custodian who receives a notice of a hearing under

subd. 2. and an opportunity to be heard under this subdivision does not become a
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party to the proceeding on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving
that notice and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3292h. 938.21 (5) (e) of the statutes is created to read:

938.21 (5) (e) 1. In this paragraph, “adult relative” means a grandparent,
great-grandparent, aunt, uncle, or sibling of a juvenile, whether by blood, marriage,
or legal adoption, who has attained 18 years of age.

2. The court shall order the county department to conduct a diligent search in
order to locate and provide notice of the information specified in this subdivision to
all adult relatives of the juvenile and to all other adult individuals whose homes are
requested by the juvenile’s parent under sub. (2) (e) or (3) (f) to be considered as
placement options for the juvenile within 30 days after the date of the hearing unless
the juvenile is returned to his or her home within that period. The county
department may not provide that notice to an adult relative or other individual if the
county department has reason to believe that it would be dangerous to the juvenile
or to the parent if the juvenile were placed with that adult relative or individual. The
notice shall include all of the following:

a. A statement that the juvenile has been removed from the custody of the
juvenile’s parent.

b. A statement that the juvenile may need a temporary or permanent
placement outside of his or her home and an explanation of how the individual may
request to have the juvenile placed with him or her.

c. An explanation of the programs and services that may be available to the
adult relative or other individual if the juvenile is placed with him or her including
foster care payments, kinship care payments, assistance with health care needs,

child care assistance, and nutrition assistance.
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d. A description of the types of expenses that the adult relative or other
individual may incur if the juvenile is placed in his or her home and whether and
when the adult relative or other individual may be reimbursed for those expenses.

e. An explanation of how to receive notice of future proceedings relating to the
juvenile if the adult relative or other individual provides contact information to the
county department.

SECTION 3293. 938.27 (3) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.27 (3) (a) 1. The court shall notify, under s. 938.273, the juvenile, any
parent, guardian, and legal custodian of the juvenile, any foster parent;treatment
fosterparent or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile, and
any person specified in par. (b), if applicable, of all hearings involving the juvenile
under this subchapter, except hearings on motions for which notice must be provided
only to the juvenile and his or her counsel. If parents entitled to notice have the same
place of residence, notice to one constitutes notice to the other. The first notice to any
interested party, foster parent, treatmentfosterparent; or other physical custodian
described in s. 48.62 (2) shall be in writing and may have a copy of the petition
attached to it. Notices of subsequent hearings may be given by telephone at least 72
hours before the time of the hearing. The person giving telephone notice shall place
in the case file a signed statement of the date and time notice was given and the
person to whom he or she spoke.

SECTION 3294. 938.27 (3) (a) 1m. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.27 (3) (a) Im. The court shall give a foster parent;treatmentfoster parent
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who is notified of a hearing under

subd. 1. an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;
treatmentfoster-parent or other physical custodian to make a written or oral
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statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the hearing,
relevant to the issues to be determined at the hearing. A foster parenttreatment
foster parent or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who receives a
notice of a hearing under subd. 1. and an opportunity to be heard under this
subdivision does not become a party to the proceeding on which the hearing is held
solely on the basis of receiving that notice and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3295. 938.27 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.27 (3) (a) 2. Failure to give notice under subd. 1. to a foster parent;
treatmentfoster-parent or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) does not
deprive the court of jurisdiction in the action or proceeding. If a foster parent;
treatmentfoster-parent or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) is not
given notice of a hearing under subd. 1., that person may request a rehearing on the
matter during the pendency of an order resulting from the hearing. If the request
is made, the court shall order a rehearing.

SECTION 3296. 938.27 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.27 (6) INTERSTATE COMPACT PROCEEDINGS; NOTICE AND SUMMONS. When a
proceeding is initiated under s. 938.14, all interested parties shall receive notice and
appropriate summons shall be issued in a manner specified by the court. If the

juvenile who is the subject of the proceeding is in the care of a foster parent;

treatmentfoster-parent; or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2), the
court shall give the foster parent,—treatmentfoster—parent; or other physical

custodian notice and an opportunity to be heard as provided in sub. (3) (a).
SECTION 3297. 938.299 (1) (ag) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.299 (1) (ag) If a public hearing is not held, in addition to persons permitted

to attend under par. (a), the juvenile’s foster parent; treatmentfosterparent or other
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physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) may be present, except that the court may
exclude a foster parent,—treatmentfoster—parent or other physical custodian
described in s. 48.62 (2) from any portion of the hearing if that portion of the hearing
deals with sensitive personal information of the juvenile or the juvenile’s family or
if the court determines that excluding the foster parent,treatmentfosterparent or
other physical custodian would be in the best interests of the juvenile.

SEcTION 3298. 938.32 (1) (d) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.32 (1) (d) 2. At least 10 days before the date of the hearing under subd. 1.,
the court shall notify the juvenile, any parent, guardian, and legal custodian of the
juvenile, and any foster parent;-treatmentfosterparent; or other physical custodian
described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile of the time, place, and purpose of the hearing.

SECTION 3299. 938.32 (1) (d) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.32 (1) (d) 3. The court shall give a foster parent,treatmentfoster parent;
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who is notified of a hearing under
subd. 2. an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;
treatment-foster—parent; or other physical custodian to make a written or oral
statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the hearing,
relevant to the issues to be determined at the hearing. The foster parent;treatment
foster parent; or other physical custodian does not become a party to the proceeding
on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving the notice and having the
opportunity to be heard.

SeEcTION 3300. 938.33 (4) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.33 (4) OTHER OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENTS. (intro.) A report recommending
placement in a foster home, treatmentfoster home; group home, or nonsecured

residential care center for children and youth, in the home of a relative other than
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a parent, or in the home of a guardian under s. 48.977 (2) shall be in writing, except
that the report may be presented orally at the dispositional hearing if all parties
consent. Areport that is presented orally shall be transcribed and made a part of the
court record. The report shall include all of the following:

SEcTION 3301. 938.33 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.33 (5) IDENTITY OF FOSTER PARENT OR—TREATMENT FOSTERPARENT
CONFIDENTIALITY. If the report recommends placement in a foster home or-a-treatment
foster-home, and the name of the foster parent er-treatmentfoster parent is not
available at the time the report is filed, the agency shall provide the court and the
juvenile’s parent or guardian with the name and address of the foster parent or
treatment-foster-parent within 21 days after the dispositional order is entered,
except that the court may order the information withheld from the juvenile’s parent
or guardian if the court finds that disclosure would result in imminent danger to the
juvenile or to the foster parent or-treatmentfosterparent. After notifying the
juvenile’s parent or guardian, the court shall hold a hearing prior to ordering the
information withheld.

SECTION 3302. 938.335 (3g) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.335 (3g) REASONABLE EFFORTS FINDING. (intro.) At hearings under this
section, if the agency, as defined in s. 938.38 (1) (a), is recommending placement of
the juvenile in a foster home, treatmentfoster-home; group home, or residential care
center for children and youth, or in the home of a relative other than a parent, the
agency shall present as evidence specific information showing all of the following:

SECTION 3303. 938.34 (3) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.34 (3) (c) A foster home ortreatmentfoster- home licensed under s. 48.62

or a group home licensed under s. 48.625.
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SECTION 3304. 938.355 (2) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
938.355 (2) (b) 2. If the juvenile is placed outside the home, the name of the

place or facility, including transitional placements, where the juvenile shall be cared

for or treated, except that if the placement is a foster home or-treatment-fosterhome
and the name and address of the foster parent er-treatmentfoster-parent is not

available at the time of the order, the name and address of the foster parent or
treatmentfosterparent shall be furnished to the court and the parent within 21 days

of after the order. If, after a hearing on the issue with due notice to the parent or

guardian, the court finds that disclosure of the identity of the foster parent er
treatmentfoster parent would result in imminent danger to the juvenile, the foster
parent or the treatment foster parent, the court may order the name and address of
the prospective foster parents er-treatmentfoster parents withheld from the parent
or guardian.

SECTION 3305. 938.355 (2d) (¢) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.355 (2d) (c) 2. If a hearing is held under subd. 1., at least 10 days before
the date of the hearing the court shall notify the juvenile, any parent, guardian, and
legal custodian of the juvenile, and any foster parent;-treatment foster parent; or
other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile of the time, place,
and purpose of the hearing.

SECTION 3306. 938.355 (2d) (c) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.355 (2d) (c) 3. The court shall give a foster parent;treatmentfoster parent;
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who is notified of a hearing under
subd. 2. an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;

treatmentfoster parent; or other physical custodian to make a written or oral

statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the hearing,
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relevant to the issues to be determined at the hearing. A foster parent;treatment
foster-parent; or other physical custodian who receives a notice of a hearing under
subd. 2. and an opportunity to be heard under this subdivision does not become a
party to the proceeding on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving
that notice and opportunity to be heard.

SEcTION 3307. 938.355 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.355 (4) (a) Except as provided under par. (b) or s. 938.368, an order under
this section or s. 938.357 or 938.365 made before the juvenile attains 18 years of age
that places or continues the placement of the juvenile in his or her home shall
terminate at the end of one year after the date on which the order is granted unless
the court specifies a shorter period of time or the court terminates the order sooner.
Except as provided in par. (b) or s. 938.368, an order under this section or s. 938.357
or 938.365 made before the juvenile attains 18 years of age that places or continues
the placement of the juvenile in a foster home, treatment foster- home; group home,
or residential care center for children and youth or in the home of a relative other
than a parent shall terminate when the juvenile attains 18 years of age, at the end
of one year after the date on which the order is granted, or, if the juvenile is a
full-time student at a secondary school or its vocational or technical equivalent and
is reasonably expected to complete the program before attaining 19 years of age,
when the juvenile attains 19 years of age, whichever is later, unless the court
specifies a shorter period of time or the court terminates the order sooner.

SECTION 3308. 938.357 (1) (am) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (1) (am) 1. If the proposed change in placement involves any change
in placement other than a change in placement under par. (c), the person or agency

primarily responsible for implementing the dispositional order or the district
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attorney shall cause written notice of the proposed change in placement to be sent
to the juvenile, the parent, guardian, and legal custodian of the juvenile, and any
foster parent,-treatment-foster-parent; or other physical custodian described in s.
48.62 (2) of the juvenile. The notice shall contain the name and address of the new
placement, the reasons for the change in placement, a statement describing why the
new placement is preferable to the present placement, and a statement of how the
new placement satisfies objectives of the treatment plan ordered by the court.

SEcTION 3309. 938.357 (1) (am) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (1) (am) 2. Any person receiving the notice under subd. 1. or notice of
a specific foster or-treatment-foster placement under s. 938.355 (2) (b) 2. may obtain
a hearing on the matter by filing an objection with the court within 10 days after
receipt of the notice. Placements may not be changed until 10 days after that notice
is sent to the court unless the parent, guardian, or legal custodian and the juvenile,
if 12 or more years of age, sign written waivers of objection, except that changes in
placement that were authorized in the dispositional order may be made immediately
if notice is given as required under subd. 1. In addition, a hearing is not required for
placement changes authorized in the dispositional order except when an objection
filed by a person who received notice alleges that new information is available that
affects the advisability of the court’s dispositional order.

SECTION 3310. 938.357 (2m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (2m) (b) Hearing; when required. The court shall hold a hearing prior
to ordering any change in placement requested or proposed under par. (a) if the
request states that new information is available that affects the advisability of the
current placement. A hearing is not required if the requested or proposed change in

placement does not involve a change in placement of a juvenile placed in the home
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to a placement outside the home, written waivers of objection to the proposed change
in placement are signed by all parties entitled to receive notice under sub. (1) (am)
1., and the court approves. If a hearing is scheduled, the court shall notify the
juvenile, the parent, guardian, and legal custodian of the juvenile, any foster parent;
treatment-foster parent; or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the
Jjuvenile, and all parties who are bound by the dispositional order at least 3 days prior
to the hearing. A copy of the request or proposal for the change in placement shall
be attached to the notice. If all of the parties consent, the court may proceed
immediately with the hearing.

SECTION 3311. 938.357 (2r) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (2r) REMOVAL FROM FOSTER HOME OR PHYSICAL CUSTODIAN. If a hearing
is held under sub. (1) (am) 2. or (2m) (b) and the change in placement would remove
a juvenile from a foster home;-treatmentfoster home; or other placement with a

physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2), the court shall give the foster parent;

treatmentfoster-parent; or other physical custodian an opportunity to be heard at
the hearing by permitting the foster parent,—treatmentfoster-parent; or other

physical custodian to make a written or oral statement during the hearing or to
submit a written statement prior to the hearing relating to the juvenile and the
requested change in placement. A foster parent-treatmentfosterparent; or other
physical custodian who receives notice of a hearing under sub. (1) (am) 1. or (2m) (b)
and an opportunity to be heard under this subsection does not become a party to the
proceeding on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving that notice
and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3312. 938.357 (2v) (c) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
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938.357 (2v) (c) 2. If a hearing is held under subd. 1., at least 10 days before
the date of the hearing the court shall notify the juvenile, any parent, guardian, and
legal custodian of the juvenile, and any foster parent,-treatmentfoster parent; or
other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile of the time, place,
and purpose of the hearing.

SECTION 3313. 938.357 (2v) (¢) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (2v) (c) 3. The court shall give a foster parent;treatmentfosterparent;
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) whois notified of a hearing under
subd. 2. an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;
treatmentfoster-parent; or other physical custodian to make a written or oral
statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the hearing,
relevant to the issues to be determined at the hearing. A foster parent,treatment
foster-parent; or other physical custodian who receives a notice of a hearing under
subd. 2. and an opportunity to be heard under this subdivision does not become a
party to the proceeding on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving
that notice and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3314. 938.357 (4) (¢) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (4) (¢) 1. If ajuvenile is placed in a Type 2 juvenile correctional facility
operated by a child welfare agency under par. (a) and it appears that a less restrictive
placement would be appropriate for the juvenile, the department, after consulting
with the child welfare agency that is operating the Type 2 juvenile correctional
facility, may place the juvenile in a less restrictive placement, and may return the

Jjuvenile to the Type 2 juvenile correctional facility without a hearing under sub. (1)

(am) 2. The ehild-welfare-ageney shall-establish-a- rate for each type of placement
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hall blished by the department of children and families, in consultation with

the department, in the manner provided in s. 49.343.

SECTION 3315. 938.357 (4) (c) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (4) (c) 2. If a juvenile is placed in a Type 2 residential care center for
children and youth under s. 938.34 (4d) and it appears that a less restrictive
placement would be appropriate for the juvenile, the child welfare agency operating
the Type 2 residential care center for children and youth shall notify the county
department that has supervision over the juvenile and, if the county department
agrees toa change in placement under this subdivision, the child welfare agency may
place the juvenile in a less restrictive placement. A child welfare agency may also,
with the agreement of the county department that has supervision over a juvenile
who is placed in a less restrictive placement under this subdivision, return the

juvenile to the Type 2 residential care center for children and youth without a

hearingunder sub. (1) (am) 2. The child welfare agency shall establisha rate for each

type of placement shall be established by the department of children and families,

in consultation with the department, in the manner provided in s. 49.343.

SECTION 3316. 938.357 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.357 (6) DURATION OF ORDER. No change in placement may extend the
expiration date of the original order, except that if the change in placement is from
a placement in the juvenile’s home to a placement in a foster home, treatmentfoster
home; group home, or residential care center for children and youth or in the home
of a relative who is not a parent, the court may extend the expiration date of the
original order to the date on which the juvenile attains 18 years of age, to the date
that is one year after the date of the change in placement order, or, if the juvenile is

afull-time student at a secondary school or its vocational or technical equivalent and
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is reasonably expected to complete the program before attaining 19 years of age, to
the date on which the juvenile attains 19 years of age, whichever is later, or for a
shorter period of time as specified by the court. If the change in placement is from
a placement in a foster home, treatmentfoster-hoeme; group home, or residential care
center for children and youth or in the home of a relative to a placement in the
juvenile’s home and if the expiration date of the original order is more than one year
after the date of the change in placement order, the court shall shorten the expiration
date of the original order to the date that is one year after the date of the change in
placement order or to an earlier date as specified by the court.

SEcTION 3317. 938.363 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.363 (1) (b) If a hearing is held, the court shall notify the juvenile, the
juvenile’s parent, guardian, and legal custodian, all parties bound by the
dispositional order, the juvenile’s foster parenttreatmentfoster parent; or other
physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2), and the district attorney or corporation
counsel in the county in which the dispositional order was entered at least 3 days
prior to the hearing. A copy of the request or proposal shall be attached to the notice.
If all parties consent, the court may proceed immediately with the hearing. No
revision may extend the effective period of the original order, or revise an original
order under s. 938.34 (3) (f) or (6) (am) to impose more than a total of 30 days of
detention, nonsecure custody, or inpatient treatment on a juvenile.

SeEcTION 3318. 938.363 (1m) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.363 (1m) EVIDENCE AND STATEMENTS. If a hearing is held under sub. (1) (a),
any party may present evidence relevant to the issue of revision of the dispositional

order. In addition, the court shall give a foster parent;treatmentfosterparent; or
other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile an opportunity to be
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heard at the hearing by permitting the foster parent;-treatment-foster-parent; or

other physical custodian to make a written or oral statement during the hearing, or
to submit a written statement prior to the hearing, relevant to the issue of revision.
A foster parenttreatmentfoster parent; or other physical custodian who receives
notice of a hearing under sub. (1) (a) and an opportunity to be heard under this
subsection does not become a party to the proceeding on which the hearing is held
solely on the basis of receiving that notice and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3319. 938.365 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.365 (2) NortICE. No order may be extended without a hearing. The court
shall notify the juvenile or the juvenile’s guardian ad litem or counsel, the juvenile’s
parent, guardian, legal custodian, all of the parties present at the original hearing,
the juvenile’s foster parent;—treatmentfoster-parent or other physical custodian
described in s. 48.62 (2), and the district attorney or corporation counsel in the county
in which the dispositional order was entered of the time and place of the hearing.

SEcTION 3320. 938.365 (2m) (ad) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

938.365 (2m) (ad) 2. If a hearing is held under subd. 1., at least 10 days before
the date of the hearing the court shall notify the juvenile, any parent, guardian, and
legal custodian of the juvenile, and any foster parent;treatmentfosterparent; or
other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) of the juvenile of the time, place,
and purpose of the hearing.

SeEcTION 3321. 938.365 (2m) (ag) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.365 (2m) (ag) The court shall give a foster parent,;treatmentfosterparent;
or other physical custodian described in s. 48.62 (2) who is notified of a hearingunder

par. (ad) 2. or sub. (2) an opportunity to be heard at the hearing by permitting the

foster parent;treatmentfosterparent; or other physical custodian to make a written
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or oral statement during the hearing, or to submit a written statement prior to the
hearing, relevant to the issue of extension. A foster parent;treatmentfosterparent;
or other physical custodian who receives notice of a hearing under par. (ad) 2. or sub.
(2) and an opportunity to be heard under this paragraph does not become a party to
the proceeding on which the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving that notice
and opportunity to be heard.

SECTION 3322. 938.365 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.365 (5) DURATION OF EXTENSION. Except as provided in s. 938.368, an order
under this section that continues the placement of a juvenile in his or her home or
that extends an order under s. 938.34 (4d), (4h), (4m), or (4n) shall be for a specified
length of time not to exceed one year after its date of entry. Except as provided in s.
938.368, an order under this section that continues the placement of a juvenile in a
foster home, treatmentfoster-heme; group home, or residential care center for
children and youth or in the home of a relative other than a parent shall be for a
specified length of time not to exceed the date on which the juvenile attains 18 years
of age, one year after the date on which the order is granted, or, if the juvenile is a
full-time student at a secondary school or its vocational or technical equivalent and
is reasonably expected to complete the program before attaining 19 years of age, the
date on which the juvenile attains 19 years of age, whichever is later.

SeEcTION 3323. 938.371 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.371 (1) MEDICAL INFORMATION. (intro.) If a juvenile is placed in a foster
home, treatment-foster-home; group home, residential care center for children and
youth, or juvenile correctional facility or in the home of a relative other than a parent,
including a placement under s. 938.205 or 938.21, the agency, as defined in s. 938.38

(1) (a), that placed the juvenile or arranged for the placement of the juvenile shall
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provide the following information to the foster parent, treatmentfoster—parent;

relative, or operator of the group home, residential care center for children and
youth, or juvenile correctional facility at the time of placement or, if the information
has not been provided to the agency by that time, as soon as possible after the date
on which the agency receives that information, but not more than 2 working days
after that date:

SECTION 3324. 938.371 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.371 (1) (a) Results of a test or a series of tests of the juvenile to determine
the presence of HIV, as defined in s. 968.38 (1) (b), antigen or nonantigenic products
of HIV, or an antibody to HIV, under s. 252.15 (5) (a) 19., including results included
in a court report or permanency plan. At the time that the test results are provided,
the agency shall notify the foster parent, treatment{foster—parent; relative, or
operator of the group home, residential care center for children and youth, or juvenile
correctional facility of the confidentiality requirements under s. 252.15 (6).

SECTION 3325. 938.371 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.371 (3) OTHER INFORMATION. (intro.) At the time of placement of a juvenile
in a foster home, treatmentfoster home; group home, residential care center for
children and youth, or juvenile correctional facility or in the home of a relative other
than a parent or, if the information is not available at that time, as soon as possible
after the date on which the court report or permanency plan has been submitted, but
no later than 7 days after that date, the agency, as defined in s. 938.38 (1) (a),
responsible for preparing the juvenile’s permanency plan shall provide to the foster
parent, treatment foster-parent; relative, or operator of the group home, residential
care center for children and youth, or juvenile correctional facility information

contained in the court report submitted under s. 938.33 (1) or 938.365 (2g) or
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permanency plan submitted under s. 938.355 (2e) or 938.38 relating to findings or
opinions of the court or agency that prepared the court report or permanency plan
relating to any of the following:

SECTION 3326. 938.371 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.371 (3) (d) Any involvement of the juvenile, whether as victim or
perpetrator, in sexual intercourse or sexual contact in violation of s. 940.225, 948.02,
948.025, or 948.085, prostitution in violation of s. 944.30, sexual exploitation of a
child in violation of s. 948.05, or causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity
in violation of s. 948.055, if the information is necessary for the care of the juvenile
or for the protection of any person living in the foster home, treatmentfoster home,
group home, residential care center for children and youth, or juvenile correctional
facility.

SECTION 3327. 938.38 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (2) PERMANENCY PLAN REQUIRED. (intro.) Except as provided in sub. (3),
for each juvenile living in a foster home, treatmentfoster—home; group home,
residential care center for children and youth, juvenile detention facility, or shelter
care facility, the agency that placed the juvenile or arranged the placement or the
agency assigned primary responsibility for providing services to the juvenile under
s. 938.355 (2) (b) 6g. shall prepare a written permanency plan, if any of the following
conditions exists, and, for each juvenile living in the home of a relative other than
a parent, that agency shall prepare a written permanency plan, if any of the
conditions under pars. (a) to (e) exists:

SECTION 3327p. 938.38 (4) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (4) (bm) A statement as to the availability of a safe and appropriate

placement with a fit and willing relative of the juvenile and;f of what efforts were
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made to comply with an order under s. 938.21 (2) (e) or (3) (f) requiring notification

of all adult relatives of the juvenile and all other adult individuals whose homes have

been re te he juvenile’s paren be considered otential placements for
he juvenile and to notify all other adult individ wh homes hav n

requested by the juvenile to be considered as potential placements for the juvenile.

If a decision is made not to place the juvenile with an available relative; or individual

identified by the juvenile’s parent or the juvenile, the permanency plan shall include

a statement as to why placement with the relative or other individual is not safe or

appropriate.

SECTION 3328. 938.38 (4) () (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (4) (f) (intro.) A description of the services that will be provided to the
Juvenile, the juvenile’s family, and the juvenile’s foster parent, the—juvenile’s
treatmentfoster parent; the operator of the facility where the juvenile is living, or
the relative with whom the juvenile is living to carry out the dispositional order,
including services planned to accomplish all of the following:

SEcTION 3329. 938.38 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (5) (b) The court or the agency shall notify the parents of the juvenile,
the juvenile, if he or she is 10 years of age or older, and the juvenile’s foster parent,
the-juvenile’s-treatment-foster parent; the operator of the facility in which the
juvenile is living, or the relative with whom the juvenile is living of the date, time,
and place of the review, of the issues to be determined as part of the review, and of
the fact that they may have an opportunity to be heard at the review by submitting
written comments not less than 10 working days before the review or by
participating at the review. The court or agency shall notify the person representing

the interests of the public, the juvenile’s counsel, and the juvenile’s guardian ad litem
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of the date of the review, of the issues to be determined as part of the review, and of
the fact that they may submit written comments not less than 10 working days before
the review. The notices under this paragraph shall be provided in writing not less
than 30 days before the review and copies of the notices shall be filed in the juvenile’s
case record.

SECTION 3330. 938.38 (5) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (5) (e) Within 30 days, the agency shall prepare a written summary of
the determinations under par. (c) and shall provide a copy to the court that entered
the order, the juvenile or the juvenile’s counsel or guardian ad litem, the person
representing the interests of the public, the juvenile’s parent or guardian and the
Juvenile’s foster parent;-thejuvenile’streatmentfosterparent or the operator of the
facility where the juvenile is living.

SECTION 3331. 938.38 (5m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (5m) (b) Not less than 30 days before the date of the hearing, the court
shall notify the juvenile; the juvenile’s parent, guardian, and legal custodian; the
Jjuvenile’s foster parent er-treatment-foster-parent, the operator of the facility in
which the juvenile is living, or the relative with whom the juvenile is living; the
juvenile’s counsel, and the juvenile’s guardian ad litem; the agency that prepared the
permanency plan; and the person representing the interests of the public of the date,
time, and place of the hearing.

SEcCTION 3332. 938.38 (5m) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (5m) (c) Any person who is provided notice of the hearing may have an
opportunity to be heard at the hearing by submitting written comments relevant to
the determinations specified in sub. (5) (¢) not less than 10 working days before the

date of the hearing or by participating at the hearing. A foster parent, treatment
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fosterparent; operator of a facility in which a juvenile is living, or relative with whom
ajuvenile is living who receives notice of a hearing under par. (b) and an opportunity
to be heard under this paragraph does not become a party to the proceeding on which
the hearing is held solely on the basis of receiving that notice and opportunity to be
heard.

SECTION 3333. 938.38 (5m) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.38 (5m) (e) After the hearing, the court shall make written findings of fact
and conclusions of law relating to the determinations under sub. (5) (¢) and shall
provide a copy of those findings of fact and conclusions of law to the juvenile; the
juvenile’s parent, guardian, and legal custodian; the juvenile’s foster parent er
treatmentfosterparent, the operator of the facility in which the juvenile is living,
or the relative with whom the juvenile is living; the agency that prepared the
permanency plan; and the person representing the interests of the public. The court
shall make the findings specified in sub. (5) (¢) 7. on a case-by-case basis based on
circumstances specific to the juvenile and shall document or reference the specific
information on which those findings are based in the findings of fact and conclusions
of law prepared under this paragraph. Findings of fact and conclusions of law that
merely reference sub. (5) (¢) 7. without documenting or referencing that specific
information in the findings of fact and conclusions of law or amended findings of fact
and conclusions of law that retroactively correct earlier findings of fact and
conclusions of law that do not comply with this paragraph are not sufficient to comply
with this paragraph.

SECTION 3334. 938.48 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.48 (4) CARE, TRAINING, AND PLACEMENT. Provide appropriate care and

training for juveniles under its supervision under s. 938.183, 938.34 (4h), (4m), or
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(4n), or 938.357 (4), including serving those juveniles in their own homes, placing
them in licensed foster homes orlicensed-treatmentfoster-homes or licensed group
homes under s. 48.63, contracting for their care by licensed child welfare agencies,
or replacing them in juvenile correctional facilities or secured residential care
centers for children and youth in accordance with rules promulgated under ch. 227,
except that the department may not purchase the educational component of private
day treatment programs for a juvenile in its custody unless the department, the
school board, as defined in s. 115.001 (7), and the state superintendent of public
instruction all determine that an appropriate public education program is not
available for the juvenile. Disputes between the department and the school district
shall be resolved by the state superintendent of public instruction.

SECTION 3334p. 938.48 (8p) of the statutes is created to read:

938.48 (8p) INDIAN JUVENILE PLACEMENTS. Reimburse tribes and county
departments, from the appropriation under s. 20.410 (1) (kp), for unexpected or
unusually high-cost out-of-home care placements of Indian juveniles who have
been adjudicated delinquent. In this subsection, “unusually high-cost out-of-home
care placements” means the amount by which the cost to a tribe or to a county
department of out-of-home care placements of Indian juveniles who have been
adjudicated delinquent exceeds $50,000 in a fiscal year.

SECTION 3335. 938.49 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.49 (2) (b) Notify the juvenile’s last school district or, if the juvenile was last

enrolled in a private school under the program under s. 119.23, the private school.

in writing of its obligation under s. 118.125 (4).
SECTION 3336. 938.52 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
938.52 (1) (b) Foster homes or-treatment foster-homes.




