State of Wisconsin

B s

Date of enactmentOctober 6, 2009
2009 Assembly Bill 119 Date of publication*:October 20, 2009

2009 WISCONSIN ACT 41

AN ACT to amend118.16 (2) (cg) 1., 118.16 (2) (cg) 4., 118.165 (1) (e) and 938.345 (2p arehtel118.15 (1)
(am) and 118.33 (6) (c) of the statutesating to: requirements for pupils enrolled in five—-year-old kindergarten.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in compulsory school attendance requirement under s.
senate and assembly, do enact as follows: 118.15 (1) (a) and (am)
SecTioN 5. 118.33 (6) (c) of the statutes is created to
SecTioN 1. 118.15 (1) (am) of the statutes is created read:
to read: 118.33(6) (c) 1. Except as provided in subds. 2. and
118.15(1) (am) Except as provided under par. (d), 3., beginning on September 1, 2011, a school board may
unlesghe child is excused under sub. (3), any person hav-not enroll a child in the first grade in a school in the school
ing under his or her control a child who is enrolled in district, including in a charter school located in the school
5-year-old kindergarten shall cause the child to attenddistrict, unless the child has completed 5-year-old kin-
school regularly, religious holidays excepted, during the dergarten.Each school board that operates a 5-year—old
full periodand hours that kindergarten is in session at the kindergarten program shall adopt a written policy speci-
public or private school in which the child is enrolled fying the criteria for promoting a pupil from 5-year—old

until the end of the school term. kindergarten to the first grade.
SecTion 2. 118.16 (2) (cg) 1. of the statutes is 2. Each school board that operates a 5-year-old kin-
amended to read: dergarten program shall establish procedures, condi-

118.16(2) (cg) 1. A statement of the parent's or tions, and standards for exempting a child from the
guardian’s responsibility, under s. 118.15 (1) (a) and requirement that the child complete kindergarten as a

(am), to cause the child to attend school regularly. prerequisite to enrollment in the first grade and for
SecTioNn 3. 118.16 (2) (cg) 4. of the statutes is reviewingthe denial of an exemption upon the request of
amended to read: the pupil’'s parent or guardian.

118.16(2) (cg) 4. A statement of the penalties, under 3. A school board that operates a 5-year-old kinder-
s. 118.15 (5), that may be imposed on the parent or guardgarten program shall enroll in the first grade a child who
ian if he or she fails to cause the child to attend school reg-has not completed kindergarten but who is otherwise eli-
ularly as required under s. 118.15 (1) (a) and (am) gible to beadmitted to and to enroll in first grade as a new

SecTioN 4. 118.165 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended or continuing pupil at the time the child moves into this
to read: state if one of the following applies:

118.165(1) (e) The program is not operated or insti- a. Before either commencing or completing first
tuted for the purpose of avoiding or circumventing the grade, the child moved into this state from a state, coun-
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try, or territory in which completion of 5-year—old kin- pleted kindergarten but who is otherwise eligible to be
dergarten is a prerequisite to entering first grade and theadmitted tcand to enroll in first grade as a new or continu-
child was exempted from the requirement to complete ing pupil at the time the child moves into this state if one
5-year-olkindergarten in the state, country, or territory of the following applies:
from which the child moved. a. Before either commencing or completing first
b. Before either commencing or completing first grade, the child moved into this state from a state, coun-
gradethe child moved into this state from a state, country, try, or territory in which completion of 5-year-old kin-
or territory in which completion of 5-year—old kinder- dergarten is a prerequisite to entering first grade and the
garten is not a prerequisite to entering first grade. child was exempted from the requirement to complete
4. Except as provided in subds. 5. and 6., beginning5-year—ol&kindergarten in the state, country, or territory
on September 1, 2011, the operator of a charter schoofrom which the child moved.
under s. 118.40 (2r) may not enroll a child in the first b. Before either commencing or completing first
grade in the school unless the child has completedgradethe child moved into this state from a state, country,
5-year—old kindergarten. Each operator of a charter or territory in which completion of 5-year—old kinder-
school under s. 118.40 (2r) that operates a 5-year—oldgarten is not a prerequisite to entering first grade.

kindergarten program shall adopt a written policy speci- SecTiON 6. 938.345 (2) of the statutes is amended to
fying the criteria for promoting a pupil from 5-year-old read:
kindergarten to the first grade. 938.345 (2) ScHOOL DROPOUTS AND HABITUAL

5. Each operator of a charter school under s. 118.40TruANTS. If the court finds that a juvenile is in need of
(2r) that operates a 5-year—old kindergarten programprotection or services based on the fact that the juvenile
shall establish procedures, conditions, and standards fois a school dropout, as defined in s. 118.153 (1) (b), or
exempting a child from the requirement that the child based oiabitual truancy, and the court also finds that the
complete kindergarten as a prerequisite to enrollment injuvenile has dropped out of school or is a habitual truant
the first grade and for reviewing the denial of an exemp- as a result of the juvenile’s intentional refusal to attend
tion upon the request of the pupil’s parent or guardian. schoolrather than the failure of any other person to com-

6. The operator of a charter school under s. 118.40ply with s. 118.15 (1) (a) and (anpthe court, instead of
(2r) that operates a 5-year-old kindergarten programor in addition to any other disposition imposed under sub.
shall enroll in the first grade a child who has not com- (1), may enter an order permitted under s. 938.342.




