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2009 Wisconsin Act 227 
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Placement of Advertising Signs in 
Highway Rights-of-Way 

 

CURRENT LAW 

Under current law, with limited exceptions, no sign, except a sign that is necessary for the 

guidance or warning of traffic, may be placed within the limits of any highway.  A person who violates 

this prohibition must be fined not less than $10 nor more than $100 for a first violation and not less than 

$10 nor more than $500 for a subsequent violation. 

Under a different provision of current law, with limited exceptions, a person may not erect, or 

cause to be erected, any advertising, guide, or warning sign within a highway that is outside a city or 

village and is 1,000 feet or less from an intersection with another highway.  A person who violates this 

prohibition must be fined not less than $25 nor more than $100 or imprisoned in the county jail for not 

more than 30 days or both. 

2009 WISCONSIN ACT 227 

2009 Wisconsin Act 227 prohibits, with exceptions, a business entity from placing, or causing to 

be placed, within a highway right-of-way any sign that advertises or promotes a business identified on 

the sign or a business whose telephone number or Internet website address appears on the sign.  If a sign 

has been placed within the highway right-of-way in violation of this prohibition and the business 

identified on the sign or whose telephone number or Internet website appears on the sign had the sign 

made, there is a rebuttable presumption that this business caused the sign to be placed in violation of 

the prohibition, above.  

This new prohibition does not apply to any of the following: 

1. Any sign placed with the permission of an official charged with the maintenance of the 

highway. 
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2. Any sign authorized under s. 60.23 (17m), 66.0429, 84.01 (30) (g), 84.30, 86.195, or 86.196, 

Stats. 

3. The name of a newspaper on a newspaper tube or receptacle. 

4. Any sign advertising a yard sale, garage sale, rummage sale, or similar event. 

5. Any sign advertising an event associated with a church or school. 

Any business entity violating this prohibition is subject to a forfeiture of not more than $50 for 

each offense.  Each sign placed in violation of this new prohibition constitutes a separate offense. 

Effective date:  2009 Wisconsin Act 227 takes effect on May 20, 2010. 

Prepared by:  Don Salm, Senior Staff Attorney May 11, 2010 

DLS:jal 


