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Proof of Financial Responsibility 
After Auto Accident:  Liability 

Release Exception 

 

CURRENT LAW 

Under current law, if a motor vehicle accident results in injury, death, or property damage of $1,000 or 

more, the Department of Transportation (DOT) is required to notify the operator and owner of the vehicle 

involved in the accident that the person must deposit with DOT security for the accident in an amount specified 

by DOT, which DOT has determined is sufficient to satisfy any judgment for damages resulting from the 

accident. 

Unless an exception applies, if a person fails to timely deposit security after this notice is given, DOT 

must suspend the person’s operating privilege if the person was the vehicle operator and suspend all vehicle 

registrations of the person if the person was the vehicle owner, and DOT may also order certain vehicles 

impounded.  Under one exception, security is not required to be deposited if the person can provide proof of 

financial responsibility (including that an applicable motor vehicle liability insurance policy or bond was in effect 

at the time of the accident providing certain minimum amounts of coverage).  Under another exception, security 

is not required to be deposited if, prior to suspension of the person’s operating privilege or vehicle registration, 

satisfactory evidence is filed with DOT that the person has been released from liability, has been adjudicated as 

not liable, or has executed an agreement to pay an agreed amount of damages to settle all claims.  

DOT may accept a liability release executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 

child only if the total damages do not exceed $5,000 and a doctor certifies that the minor received no 

permanent injury. 

2009 WISCONSIN ACT 242 

2009 Wisconsin Act 242 provides that DOT may, without limitation, accept a liability release executed 

by a parent as natural guardian or by a guardian ad litem on behalf of a minor child. 

Effective date:  2009 Wisconsin Act 242 takes effect on May 20, 2010. 

Prepared by:  Don Salm, Senior Staff Attorney May 11, 2010 
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