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State of Wisconsin
Department of Children and Families

EMERGENCY RULE

Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin Shares
Disregard of Temporary Census Income

DCF 101 and 201

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families orders the amendment of DCF
101.09(3)(b) and the creation of DCF 101.09(3)(b)1.b., 101.26(3), and 201.08(2)(g),
relating to Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin Shares disregard of temporary census income.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Children and Families finds that an emergency exists and that the
attached rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Disregarding income earned from temporary employment with the U.S. Census
Bureau in determining Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin Shares eligibility and child care
copayments is necessary for the public welfare to ensure Wisconsin has a broad pool of
available workers to help ensure an accurate Census count, particularly in historically
undercounted low-income neighborhoods. Census work is currently ongoing.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Children and Families

Statutory authority: Sections 49.145 (1), 49.155 (1m), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Sections 49.145 (1) and (3) and 49.155 (1m), Stats.
Related statutes or rules: NA

Explanation of agency authority

Section 49.145 (1) provides that to be eligible for Wisconsin Works (W-2)
employment positions and job access loans for any month, an individual shall meet the
financial eligibility requirements in sub. (3). The Department may promulgate rules
establishing additional eligibility criteria and specifying how eligibility criteria are to be
administered.




Section 49.155 (Im) (c) 1., Stats., provides that in determining financial eligibility for
the child care subsidy, the W-2 agency shall calculate the gross income of the family as
described in s. 49.145 (3) (b), Stats., for W-2 employment positions and job access loans.
An individual shall also satisfy other eligibility criteria established by the department by
rule under par. (d).

Summary of the rule

The rule excludes income earned from temporary employment with the U.S. Census
Bureau in determining W-2 and child care eligibility and child care copayments. This
exclusion applies for up to 12 weeks per year. A W-2 participant who is working for the
Census fewer than 30 hour per week may be placed in a pro-rated Community Service
Job with hours of Census employment treated the same as hours of other unsubsidized
employment in determining participation requirements and payment amounts.
Disregarding Census earnings will reduce, but not eliminate, family child care copayment
responsibility. In general, a copayment is required from families receiving a child care
subsidy under federal law. A family with only Census income will be required to pay a
copayment at the lowest level.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

In 2009 and 2010, the U.S. Census Bureau will be recruiting and temporarily
employing more than 700,000 people to fill paid, part-time positions to conduct the 2010
census. In 1999 and 2000, the Census Bureau successfully recruited Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) participants to help fill vacancies and wishes to
do the same for the 2010 census.

The Department of Health and Human Service, Administration for Children and
Families, encourages states to disregard the income that TANF participants receive as
census employees. This will mean that temporary income from census employment will
not result in TANF participants losing financial assistance without gaining long-term
employment.

Encouraging W-2 participants to work for the Census Bureau by ensuring that
benefits will not be lost is critical to the Census Bureau’s work. It is important to the
Census to employ workers from neighborhoods that have historically been undercounted.
W-2 participants can play vital roles in establishing an accurate count, which affects
Wisconsin’s congressional representation and federal funding distribution.

Census work can help the State meet the required TANF work-participation rate when
the W-2 participant is receiving a pro-rata W-2 grant. Disregarding income will avoid
confusion resulting from temporary, intermittent employment with varying weekly
earnings. In addition, Census jobs will provide W-2 participants with training and work
experience while they perform a valuable community service. Children of Census
workers will benefit from being in a licensed or certified child care center while their
parents are employed. ‘




Most temporary workers will be employed as enumerators in the field for about 4 to 8
weeks. Nationally, about 100,000 people will be employed in 2009 to locate and verify
addresses and about 600,000 people will be employed in 2010 for non-response follow-
up. Up to 3,500 positions are targeted for Wisconsin in 2009 and 17,400 in 2010.

Thirty-three other states have approved or indicated pending approval of policies
allowing disregard of census income in determining TANF eligibility.

Summary of related federal requirements

In general, a copayment is required from families receiving a child care subsidy.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

All adjacent states have approved or indicated pending approval of TANF guidelines
allowing temporary census employees to maintain TANF eligibility.

Agency contact persons

For Wisconsin Works, the agency contact is Rose Prochazka, (608) 267-7398,
rose.prochazka@wisconsin.gov. For Wisconsin Shares child care assistance, the agency
contact is Sue Mathison, (608) 266-8872, susan.mathison@wisconsin.gov.




SECTION 1. DCF 101.09 (3) (b) 1. is amended to read:
DCF 101.09 (3) (b) Income limitations. 1. The individual is a member of a W-2
group whose gross income is at or below 115% of the poverty line. In this subdivision,

“gross income” does not include any payments of the following:

a. Payments or benefits made under any federal law that specifically exempts such
payments or benefits from being considered in determining eligibility for any federal

means—tested program.

SECTION 2. DCF 101.09 (3) (b)1. b. is created to read:
DCF 101.09 (3) (b) 1. b. Income earned from employment with the United States

Census Bureau that does not exceed 12 weeks per year.

SECTION 3. DCF 101.26 (3) is created to read:
DCF 101.26 (3) Income earned from employment with the United States Census
Bureau that does not exceed 12 weeks per year shall not be considered as family income

in determining financial eligibility for a child care subsidy under s. 49.155 (1m) (c), Stats.

SECTION 4. DCF 201.08 (2) (g) is created to read:
DCF 201.08 (2) (g) Income earned from employment with the United States Census
Bureau that does not exceed 12 weeks per year shall not be considered as family income

in determining the amount of a parental copayment under sub. (1).

SECTION 5. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on June 1, 2009, as

provided in s. 227.24 (1) (¢), Stats.
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Xl ORIGINAL O UPDATED DCF 101 and 201
FISCAL ESTIMATE 00 CORRECTED O SUPPLEMENTAL Amendment No. if Applicable
DOA-2048 N(R03/97)
Subject
Wisconsin Works and Wisconsin Shares Disregard of Temporary Census Income
Fiscal Effect
State: 0O No State Fiscal Effect
Check columns below only if bill makes a direct appropriation O increase Costs - May be possible to Absorb
or affects a sum sufficient appropriation. Within Agency’s Budget [J Yes [ No
0O increase Existing Appropriation O increase Existing Revenues
O Decrease Existing Appropriation X Decrease Existing Revenues O Decrease Costs
[ Create New Appropriation
Local: B No local government costs
1. [ Increase Costs 3. O Increase Revenues 5. Types of Local Governmental Units Affected:
O Permissive [1 Mandatory O Permissive O Mandatory 0 Towns 0 villages 1 Cities
2. 0O Decrease Costs 4. [0 Decrease Revenues O Counties OO Others
O Permissive O Mandatory C] Permissive C] Mandatory [ Schoo! Districts 0 WTCS Districts
Fund Sources Affected Affected Ch. 20 Appropriations

CDOGPR_OFED OPRO OPRS [ISEG [JSEG-S

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

The number of federal Census positions targeted for Wisconsin will be up to 3,500 in 2009 and 17,400 in 2010. The
majority of these positions will be field operation workers with wages ranging form $11.75 to $15 per hour in 2009 and
$13.75 10 $17.75in 2010. The hours for the positions are projected be from 5 to 25 per week, with each position
lasting 4 to 8 weeks. The fiscal impact of disregarding earning on the Wisconsin Shares child care assistance
program is minimal because even the highest paid temporary Census position will calculate to be below the eligibility
level of 185% of the federal poverty level. Disregarding Census earnings will reduce, but not eliminate, family
copayment responsibility. In general, federal law requires that families pay a copayment. A family with only Census
income will be required to pay a copayment at the lowest level. The projected amount of copayment reuduction will be
approximately $16,600 in 2009 and $42,200 in 2010 for a $10 per week, two-child family model for 3,310 children in
2009 and 11,036 in 2010 for 6 weeks of part-time child care.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications
None

Agency/Prepared by: (Name & Phone No.) Authorized Signature/Telephone No. Date
DCF/Susan Mathison (608) 266-8872







State of Wisconsin
Department of Children and Families

EMERGENCY RULE
Emergency Assistance for Needy Families

DCF 120

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families orders the repeal of s. DCF
120.07(note); the amendment of ss. DCF 120.05(1)(f)6. and (3), 120.07, 120.08(4) and
(5)(intro.); and the creation of ss. DCF 120.05(3)(b) and (4), 120.07(1)(note) and
120.07(2)and (2)(note), relating to emergency assistance for needy families.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Children and Families finds that an emergency exists and that the
attached rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The recent large increase in foreclosures has caused tenants living in rental properties
that are in foreclosure to lose their housing. Under the current rule, these tenants are not
eligible for Emergency Assistance due to impending homelessness and would only be
able to receive assistance if they became homeless. This emergency rule will allow these
tenants to receive assistance for impending homelessness and avoid the additional
expense and trauma of homelessness.

The current maximum payment amounts for Emergency Assistance due to
homelessness and impending homelessness are insufticient to allow a smaller family to
obtain or retain a permanent living accommodation. Increasing the payments for smaller
households immediately will help them obtain or retain a permanent living
accommodation with fewer resources from other sources and may prevent homelessness
tor these families.

The current rule has no maximum payment amount for Emergency Assistance due to
an energy crisis. All other categories of assistance have a maximum payment based on
group size. This emergency rule requires that families first exhaust resources available
through the Wisconsin Home Energy Program and sets a maximum payment amount for
assistance available for Emergency Assistance due to energy crisis to make better use of
the program’s limited funds.




Analysis Prepared by the Department of Children and Families

Statutory authority: Sections 49.138 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Section 49.138, Stats.

Related statutes or rules: Section 846.35, Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2;
Section 16.957, Stats., and Chapter Adm 45

Explanation of agency authority

Section 49.138, Stats., provides that the Department shall implement a program of
emergency assistance to needy persons in cases of fire, flood, natural disaster,
homelessness or impending homelessness, or energy crisis. There are 6 criteria under
which a family may be considered to be homeless or to be facing impending
homelessness. One of these criteria is if the family is without a tixed, regular, and
adequate nighttime residence.

The Department shall establish the maximum amount of aid to be granted, except for
cases of energy crisis, per family member.

Summary of the rule

Eligibility for tenants facing impending homelessness because of a foreclosure action

Under the current rule on Emergency Assistance, a group in rental housing that is
facing impending homelessness because of a foreclosure action against their landlord is
not eligible for assistance to obtain a new permanent living accommodation. To be
eligible for Emergency Assistance for impending homelessness a group must be
experiencing a financial crisis that makes it very difficult to make a rent payment,
mortgage payment, or property tax payment and have been notified that they will be
required to leave their current housing if they do not make that payment immediately.

In 2008, foreclosure filings in Wisconsin were 62% higher than in 2007 and were
249% higher than in 2006. The Joint Center for Housing Studies estimates that investor-
owned one- to four-family rental properties account for nearly 20% of all foreclosures
nationally. Despite the fact that low income families generally know that Emergency
Assistance is not available for renters losing their housing due to a foreclosure action
against the owner, at least 18 families in this situation have applied for Emergency
Assistance at Milwaukee W-2 agencies in recent months.

Renters of properties in foreclosure can be even more vulnerable to homelessness
than owners because tenants often have limited notice of the foreclosure and few
resources to allow them to obtain replacement housing quickly. Until the recent
enactment of s. 846.35 Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2, there was no
requirement of notice to tenants in foreclosure of residential rental property. Section
846.35, Stats., provides that the plaintiff in an action for foreclosure of residential rental
property must notify the tenant at filing of the action, when judgment is entered, and
when the hearing to confirm the sale of the property has been scheduled. In addition, a
tenant may retain possession of the rental unit for up to 2 months after the end of the




month in which the sale of the property is confirmed. These new protections for tenants
apply to foreclosure actions that are commenced on or after March 5, 2009. The timeline
for a foreclosure action can vary widely with the redemption period ranging from 3 to 12
months. Tenants facing removal from foreclosed properties for at least the next 4 months
will clearly not be covered by s. 846.35, Stats.

This emergency rule provides that a group in rental housing that is facing impending
homelessness because of a foreclosure action against their landlord will be eligible for
Emergency Assistance to obtain a new permanent living accommodation. To be eligible
for assistance, the group must have received written or oral notice that they will be
removed from their rental housing because of a foreclosure action against the owner, the
removal of the group from the rental housing is scheduled to occur within 30 days, and
the group needs emergency assistance to obtain a permanent living accommodation. The
Wisconsin Works agency will verify eligibility.

Payment amounts for types of need other than energy crisis

Section 49.138, Stats., provides that the Department shall establish the maximum
amount of aid to be granted, except for cases of energy crisis, per family member. Under
the current rule, the payment amount for cases of need due to fire, flood, natural disaster,
homelessness, and impending homelessness is the lowest of the following:

= The total of the maximum payment amount per group member multiplied by
the number of members of the Emergency Assistance group.
* The amount requested by the group.
* The total financial need due to the emergency.
For many years, the maximum payment amount per group member has been $150.

In 2008, there were 10,458 Emergency Assistance grants issued and 93% were cases
of need due to homelessness or impending homelessness. The current grant amounts for
homelessness and impending homelessness are insufficient for smaller households to
obtain or retain a permanent living accommodation. A 2-person group is eligible for a
grant of $300 and a 3-person group is eligible for a grant of $450. The Department’s
analysis of housing costs for low-income families found that average rental costs are
higher than $470 for the smallest households in the counties where a majority of
Emergency Assistance grants are issued, and rent does not increase proportionally with-
each new group member. Housing costs for families with 2 — 4 members are similar, and
housing costs for families of 5 or more are similar with some increases for larger
families. In SFY 08, Emergency Assistance grants issued to smaller size families of 2 to
3 members were 57% of total grants.

This emergency rule changes the payment amounts that eligible families will receive
by increasing the amounts for smaller size families and decreasing the amounts for larger
size families. The amounts were arrived at by attempting to make the overall fiscal
impact cost neutral and within the existing amount of funds allocated for the Emergency
Assistance program. The maximum payment amounts will be $258 per group member
when the group is 2 members, $172 per group member when the group is 3 members,
$129 per group member when the group is 4 or 5 members, and $110 per group member




when the group is 6 or more members. This will result in the following total payment
amounts:
2to 4 members  $516

5 members $645
6 members $660
7 + members $110 for each additional member

Notice of changes to the maximum payment amounts will be published in the
Administrative Register.

The rule complies with the statutory requirement that the Department establish the
maximum amount of aid to be granted per family member by having different maximum
payment amounts for members of groups of different sizes.

Energy crisis

Under the current rule, an Emergency Assistance group is eligible for assistance if
need has resulted from an emergency due to energy crisis, including lack of or imminent
loss of essential home heating, with an immediate threat to the health or safety of the
group either existing or likely to exist. The payment amount is the amount requested by
the group or the total financial need due to the emergency. Financial need may include
heating fuel, electricity, and repair or replacement services necessary to obtain or
maintain the basic heat and electricity requirements of an average household.

There is currently no maximum payment amount for Emergency Assistance based on
need due to an energy crisis. For all other types of need, there is a maximum payment
amount based on group size. The average Emergency Assistance grant for all types of
need is approximately $512. Some grants for energy crisis have been as high as $3,300.
From July 2007 to September 2008, approximately 6% of Emergency Assistance grants
for energy crisis were $1,000 or above, totaling over $41,000.

This emergency rule establishes a maximum payment amount per group for cases of
need due to energy crisis. The initial maximum payment amount will be $500 and
changes to that amount will be announced in the Administrative Register. A group is
eligible for assistance if the group meets the following criteria:

» The group needs financial assistance to obtain or maintain basic heat and
electricity.

s The lack or imminent loss of heat or electricity is or is likely to be an
immediate threat to the health or safety of the group.

* The energy crisis is due to reasons beyond the control of an adult member of
the group or constitute good cause as determined by the W-2 agency.

» The group has exhausted resources available through the Wisconsin Home
Energy Assistance Program (WHEAP) and assistance available through local
utility companies as required by the Public Service Commission.

The WHEAP program had $147 million available for low income energy assistance

this heating season. The total Emergency Assistance available for all types of

emergency for FY 09 was initially $6 million. Another $1 million was added in 2009

Wisconsin Act 2.




Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The policy changes in this rule are based on recommendations of a workgroup
comprised of representatives of W-2 agencies and advocacy groups.

Impending homelessness due to foreclosure. Section 49.138 (1m) provides that a
family is homeless or facing impending homelessness if the family is not in a fixed,
regular, and adequate residence. A family is not in a fixed, regular, and adequate
residence if they have been notified that they will be removed from their rental housing
due to a foreclosure action against the owner and the removal of the group is scheduled to
occur within 30 days.

The statistics on the increase in foreclosures in Wisconsin are from Home
Joreclosures up 81% in U.S., 62% in Wisconsin, http://www.madison.com, January 15,
2009.

The estimate on the number of foreclosures that are one- to four-family rental
properties is by Nicolas P. Retsinas, Director of the Joint Center for Housing Studies,
quoted on the website of the National Coalition for the Homeless,
http://www.nationalhomeless.org/foreclosure/index.html, March 9, 2009.

Payment amounts. The Department analysis of the housing costs of low-income
families is based on data from the Food Share program for December 2007.

The executive budget bill, 2009 Assembly Bill 75, includes a proposal to eliminate
the requirement that the maximum payment amount set by the Department be based on
family size. The Department’s Bureau of Working Families is implementing the new
payment amounts based on the current statutory language to not delay necessary
assistance to smaller low-income families.

Energy crisis. Section 49.138 (1m), Stats., provides that the Department shall
establish the maximum amount of aid to be granted, except for cases of energy crisis, per
family member. The statute is silent on whether the Department may establish a
maximum payment amount based on any criteria other than per family member for cases
of need due to energy crisis. The rule establishes a maximum payment amount per group
regardless of group size.

Summary of related federal requirements

Emergency Assistance is a Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF)
program option available to states under previous Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC) statutes to provide short-time assistance to needy families with
children. Wisconsin chose to continue the Emergency Assistance program when
Wisconsin repealed the AFDC program and accepted federal TANF block grant funds.

There are no federal requirements related to this emergency rule, except that TANF
funds must be used to provide assistance to families with children.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states

None of the adjacent states appear to have an Emergency Assistance program that is
as similar to the AFDC-related Emergency Assistance program as that of Wisconsin.
These states do have a variety of crisis assistance and prevention programs that are




administered in different ways. The programs are generally not limited to families with
children.

Agency contact person

Rebecca Swartz, Bureau of Working Families, (608) 266-1717,
rebecca.swartz@wisconsin.gov.




SECTION 1. DCF 120.05 (1) (f) 6. and (3) are amended to read:

DCF 120.05 (1) (f) 6. An energy crisis,ineluding-lack-of essential-home-heating-or

of the-group-either-existing-or-likely-to-exist as determined under sub. (4).

(3) ELIGIBILITY DUE TO IMPENDING HOMELESSNESS. An emergency
assistance group shall be considered to be facing impending homelessness for purposes of

determining nonfinancial eligibility under sub. (1) if the either of the following apply:

(a) The emergency assistance group is experiencing a financial crisis that makes it

very difficult to make a rent payment, mortgage payment, or property tax payment and
the group has been notified that it will be required to leave its current housing if it does
not make that payment immediately.

¢ 1. The W-2 agency shall determine that the emergency assistance group is
experiencing a financial crisis due to reasons that are either beyond the control of an adult
member of the group or that constitute good cause as determined by the W—2 agency.

) 2. The W2 agency shall verify that the financial crisis was caused by one or
more of the following:

1a. Loss of employment that does not include voluntarily leaving appropriate
employment without good cause.

2b. Substantial loss of wages due to illness or injury of a group member, domestic
violence, lack of child care, a transportation breakdown, or a reduction of work hours by
an employer.

3c. Loss of income due to a second parent leaving the group.




4d. Exceptional, unexpected, and necessary expenses that are not the responsibility of
a third party, such as car repair expenses necessary for transportation to work or medical
expenses required to be paid.

Se. Loss of W—2 benefits due to a sanction that is subsequently overturned through
the dispute resolution process under s. 49.152, Stats.

6f. Other reasonable circumstances as determined by the W~2 agency.

¢)3. The W2 agency shall verify that the emergency assistance group has received
at least one of the following notices:

Ja. A notice terminating tenancy for failure to pay rent that meets the minimum
requirements of s. 704.17, Stats.

2b. A summons and complaint for an eviction action which is based on failure to pay
rent.

3¢. A notice of foreclosure for failure to pay property taxes or a mortgage.

4d. A summons and complaint for a foreclosure action that is based on failure to pay
property taxes or a mortgage.

Se. A writ of assistance, notice of sale, or other verifiable documentation that a
foreclosure judgment has been entered against a member of the emergency assistance

group and the group will be required to vacate the premises imminently.

SECTION 2. DCF 120.05 (3) (b) and (4) are created to read:

DCF 120.05 (3) (b) 1. The emergency assistance group has received written or oral
notice that they will be removed from their rental housing because of a foreclosure action
against the owner.

Note: Under s. 846.35 (1) (a) 3., Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 2, formal notice to the
tenant of the date and time of the hearing to confirm the sale of the property will be required for foreclosure




actions commenced on or after March 5, 2009. This notice will not be required for some tenants facing
impending homelessness because of a foreclosure during the effective period of this emergency rule.

2. The removal of the group from the rental housing is scheduled to occur within 30
days.

3. The group needs emergency assistance to obtain a permanent living

accommodation.

4. The W-2 agency has veritied subd. 1. to 3.

(4) ELIGIBILITY DUE TO ENERGY CRISIS. An emergency assistance group is
eligible for assistance due to an energy crisis if all of the following apply:

(a) The group needs financial assistance to obtain or maintain basic heat and
electricity.

(b) The lack of or imminent loss of heat or electricity is or is likely to be an
immediate threat to the health or safety of the group.

(c) The energy crisis is due to reasons beyond the control of an adult member of the
group or constitute good cause as determined by the W-2 agency.

(d) The group has exhausted resources available through the Wisconsin Home Energy
Assistance Program and assistance available through a local utility company as required
by the public service commission.

Note: For more information on the Wisconsin Home Energy Assistance Program (WHEAP), call 1-866-
HEATWIS (1-866-432-8947) or click on the “where to apply” tab at http://www homeenergyplus.wi.gov/.
For more information on assistance required by the Public Service Commission, contact 800-225-1129 or
http://psc.wi.gov.




SECTION 3. DCF 120.07 is amended to read:

DCF 120.07 Payment amount. The-(1) In cases of fire, flood, natural disaster,

homelessness, and impending homelessness, the emergency assistance payment shall be

the lowest of the following 3 amounts:

(+a) The total of the maximum payment amount per group member for that group size

multiplied by the number of members in the emergency assistance group.

(2b) The amount requested by the group.

(3¢) The total financial need due to the emergency, as determined in s. DCF 120.06
(D).

SECTION 4. DCF 120.07 (note) is repealed.

SECTION 5. DCF 120.07 (1) (note) is created to read:

Note: For cases of need due to fire, flood, natural disaster, homelessness, and impending homelessness, the
maximum payment amount per group member is the following:

$258 per group member when the group is 2 members.

$172 per group member when the group is 3 members.

$129 per group member when the group is 4 or Smembers.

$110 per group member when the group is 6 or more members.
Changes to the maximum payment amounts will be announced in the Administrative Register.

SECTION 6. DCF 120.07 (2) and (2)(note) are created to read:

DCF 120.07 (2) In cases of need due to energy crisis, the emergency assistance
payment shall be the lowest of the following:

(a) The maximum payment amount for the group.

(b) The total financial need due to the emergency, as determined in s. DCF 120.06

(1).

Note: For cases of need due to an energy crisis, the maximum payment amount per group is $500. Changes
to the maximum payment amount will be announced in the Administrative Register.
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SECTION 7. DCF 120.08 (4) and (5) (intro.) are amended to read:
DCF 120.08 (4) If the emergency assistance group’s eligibility is due to homelessness

under s. DCF 120.05 (2)_or impending homelessness under s. DCF 120.05 (3) (b), the

agency shall issue a payment, following the eligibility determination, within 5 working
days of the date that the group notifies the agency that a permanent living
accommodation has been obtained.

(5) (intro.) Emergency assistance payments for impending homelessness under s.
DCF 120.05 (3) (a) may be issued to obtain a new permanent living accommodation or

retain a current permanent living accommodation.

SECTION 8 . EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on April 22, 2009, as

provided in s. 227.24 (1) (c), Stats.
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State of Wisconsin
Department of Children and Families

EMERGENCY RULE

Authorized Hours of Subsidized Child Care

DCF 201

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families orders the repeal of s. DCF
201.02(3); the renumbering of ss. DCF 201.04(2)(b), (d), and (e) to (h); the amendment
of ss. DCF 201.01, 201.02(3) and (19), 201.03(3), (5)(a)(intro.) and (b), 201.04(1)(a)2.,
(2)(a)1.b., (2)(c), 201.05(title), (2), (3), and (4), 201.06(title), (1)(b), and (c),
(2)(a)(intro.) and 2., (b)(intro.) and 1., (d), and (e), and (4), 201.08(3)(a); and the
creation of ss. DCF 201.02(2m), 201.04(2g)(title), (b), and (c), relating to authorized
hours of subsidized child care and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Children and Families finds that an emergency exists and that the
attached rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

2009 Wisconsin Act 28 assumes that implementation of s. 49.155 (6g), Stats., will save
an estimated $9 million over the 2009-2011 biennium.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Children and Families

Statutery authority: Sections 49.155 (6g), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28,
and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Sections 48.651 and 49.155, Stats.

Explanation of Agency Authority

Section 49.155 (1m) (a), Stats., provides the work, training, and educational activities
for which an eligible individual can receive a subsidy for child care. A child care
administrative agency determines the hours of child care authorized per week and
authorizes payment to a child care provider.

Maximum number of authorized hours. Section 49.155 (6g) (a), Stats., as created by
2009 Wisconsin Act 28, provides that no more than 12 hours of child care per day per




child may be authorized unless the parent provides written documentation of work or
transportation requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day. The child care administrative
agency may authorize more than 12 hours, not exceeding 16 hours, of child care per day
for a child whose parent provides written documentation of work or transportation
requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day. If the authorized hours of child care per day
for a child will be reduced from more than 12 to 12 or less because the child’s parent
does not provide the written documentation, the child care administrative agency shall
provide to the child’s parent and to the child care provider 4 weeks’ notice of the
reduction in authorized hours before actually reducing the child’s authorized hours.

Adjusting authorized hours. Section 49.155 (6g) (am) and (b), Stats., as created by
2009 Wisconsin Act 28, provides that if payment to a child care provider is based on
authorized hours of child care, the department shall do all of the following with respect to
establishing and adjusting the number of authorized hours per child:

e The department shall track a child’s hourly usage of child care authorizations over

a 6—-week period.

e Ifthe child’s hourly usage tracked is less than 60 % of the authorized hours of
child care, the department shall reduce the authorized hours of child care for the
child to 90% of the maximum number of hours of child care that the child
attended during that 6—week period.

e The department shall provide written notice of the proposed adjustment to the
child’s parent, the child care provider, and the applicable county department or
agency.

¢ The department shall provide a grace period after the number of authorized hours
are reduced during which time the child care subsidy amount paid to the child
care provider for the child shall remain the same as before the reduction in
authorized hours was made.

The department shall exclude from a child’s hourly usage calculation all of the
following: ,

¢ One week per year of vacation time for the child care provider.

e One week per year of sick time for the child care provider.

e Two weeks per year of vacation time for the child’s parent.

The department shall promulgate rules that specify how these requirements will be
implemented.

Summary of the Rule

The rules incorporate the provisions of s. 49.155 (6g), Stats., regarding authorized
hours of subsidized child care.

The statute requires a grace period during which the subsidy paid to the provider
remains the same after the authorized hours are reduced. The rules provide that the grace
period will be 2 weeks.




The rules also provide that weeks for which the child care administrative agency
approved payment to a provider to hold a slot during a parent’s temporary break in
employment shall be excluded from a child’s hourly usage calculation. Section DCF
201.04 (2) (h) currently provides that the child care administrative agency may authorize
payment to a provider to hold a slot for a child if the parent has a temporary break in
employment and intends to return to work and continue to use the child care provider
upon return to work. The agency may authorize payment for no more than 6 weeks if the
absence is due to a medical reason and is documented by a physician or for no more than
4 weeks if the absence is for other reasons.

In addition, the rules update agency terminology and definitions to reflect changes in
2009 Wisconsin Act 28 that authorize the department to contract with counties, tribes, W-
2 agencies, child care resource and referral agencies, or other agencies to administer the
child care subsidy program and to certify child care providers. Act 28 also provides for
department administration of child care in Milwaukee County.

Summaryv of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies

The Governor’s veto message requested the department to implement a 2-week grace
period.

Summary of Related Federal Requirements

None

Comparison to Adjacent States

Michigan. A provider may only receive payment for a child’s hours of attendance,
except for absences due to the child’s illness, not to exceed 2 consecutive weeks, and
state holidays.

Illinois. Payment to licensed and license-exempt child care centers are based on
authorized days if the total of days attended for all publicly-funded children at the center
location are 80% of the authorized days for the month.

Payment to licensed home providers are based on authorized days if the total of days
attended for all children in a family are 80% of the family’s authorized days for the
month.

Payment to license-exempt home providers are based only on attendance.

Jowa. Payment is based on authorized days with payment allowed for a child not in
attendance not to exceed 4 days per calendar month.

Minnesota. Payment is based on authorized days except child care providers may not
be reimbursed for more than 25 full-day absent days per child, excluding holidays, in a
fiscal year, or for more than 10 consecutive full-day absent days, unless the child has a
documented medical condition that causes more frequent absences.

Agency Contact Person

Pirkko Moilanen, Division of Early Care and Education, (608) 261-4595,
pirkko.moilanen@wisconsin.gov.




SECTION 1. DCF 201.01 is amended to read:

DCF 201.01 Authority, purpose, and applicability. This chapter is promulgated
under the authority of s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (lg), and s. 227.11 (2),
Stats., to provide definitions, procedures, and standards for the administration of child
care funds. This chapter applies to the department, county and tribal agencies, child care

administrative agencies, Wisconsin works agencies, private agencies under contract to

administer child care funds, licensed and certified child care providers, and eligible

parents.

SECTION 2. DCF 201.02 2m) is created to read:
DCF 201.02 (2m) “Certification agency” means the department in a county having a
population of 500,000 or more or any agency that has a contract with the department to

certify child care providers under s. 48.651 and ch. DCF 202 in a particular county or

tribal area.

SECTION 3. DCF 201.02 (3) and (19) are amended to read:

DCF 201.02 (3) “Child care administrative agency” or “‘agency” means any agency
that has a contract with the department to administer child care funds; e any agency that
has a subcontract to administer child care funds with an agency that has a contract with

the department; or, in a county-having a population of 500,000 or more, the department or

the “unit” as defined in s. 49.825 (1) (e), Stats.

(19) “Rate” means the maximum amount a eeunty-ertribal child care administrative

agency will pay for child care.




SECTION 4. DCF 201.03 (3), (5) (a) (intro.) and (b) are amended to read:
DCF 201.03 (3) ASSISTANCE TO COUNHES; IRIBES-AND-W=-2 CHILD CARE

ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES. The department shall provide information and

technical assistance to eounty;-tribal-and-W=2 child care administrative agencies
regarding administration of the child care funding program.
(5) RATE REVIEW. (a) (intro.) The department shall annually review child care

rates set by each ecunty-and-tribe child care administrative agency and shall approve or

disapprove each eeunty agency’s rates and-tribal-ageney-s-rates based on the following

criteria:
(b) The department may grant a variance to a nonstatutory requirement under ss. DCF

201.04 to 201.06 on written request of a eeunty-ertribal child care administrative agency

if the department is convinced that an alternative means meets the intent of the

requirement.

SECTION 5. DCF 201.04 (1) (a) 2. and (2) (a) 1. b. are amended to read:
DCF 201.04 (1) (a) 2. Providers certified by a eeunty-ertribal certification agency

under standards specified in s. DCF 202.08 or 202.09. The child care administrative

agency may authorize payment to providers who become certified from the date the
certification application was received by the ehild-care-administrative certification
agency.

(2) (a) 1. b. A voucher shall be in writing and shall authorize a parent to obtain child

care services stipulated in that voucher from a provider under sub. 33 (1).

SECTION 6. DCF 201.04 (2) (b) is renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (d).




SECTION 7. DCF 201.04 (2) (c) is amended to read:

DCF 201.04 (2) (¢) If a county-or-tribal child care administrative agency authorizes

payment for child care services by means of a voucher issued to the parents or by contract
with a provider, billing and collection of any parent co—payment requirement is the

responsibility of the provider.

SECTION 8. DCF 201.04 (2) (d) is renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (a) and DCF

201.04 (2) (e) to (h) are respectively renumbered DCF 201.04 (2g) (e) to (h).

SECTION 9. DCF 201.04 (2g) (title), (b), and (c) are created to read:

DCF 201.04 (2g) PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION.

(b) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the child care administrative agency shall
authorize no more than 12 hours of child care per day per child.

2. The child care administrative agency may authorize more than 12 hours, not
exceeding 16 hours, of child care per day for a child whose parent provides written
documentation of work or transportation requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day.

3. If the authorized hours of child care per day for a child will be reduced from more
than 12 to 12 or fewer because the child’s parent does not provide the written
documentation required under subd. 2., the child care administrative agency shall provide
to the child’s parent who is receiving the subsidy under s. 49.155, Stats., and to the
child’s child care provider 4 weeks’ notice of the reduction in authorized hours before

actually reducing the child’s authorized hours.




(c) 1. If reimbursement to a child care provider is based on weekly authorized hours
of child care, the department shall do all of the following with respect to establishing and
adjusting the number of authorized hours per child:

a. The department shall track a child’s weekly usage of child care authorizations over
a 6—week period.

b. If the child’s hourly usage tracked under subd. 1.a. is less than 60 percent of the
authorized hours of child care, the department shall reduce the authorized hours of child
care for the child to 90 percent of the maximum number of hours of child care that the
child attended during any week of that 6—week period.

c. The department shall provide written notice of the adjustment under subd. 1. b. to
the child’s parent who is receiving the subsidy under this section, the child’s child care
provider, and the applicable child care administrative agency.

d. The department shall provide a grace period of 2 weeks after the number of
authorized hours are reduced under subd. 1. b., during which time the child care subsidy
amount paid to the child care provider for the child shall remain the same as before the
reduction in authorized hours was made.

2. The department shall exclude from a child’s hourly usage calculation under subd.
1. b., all of the following:

a. One week per year of vacation time for the child’s provider.

b. One week per year of sick time fbr the child’s provider.

c. Two weeks per year of vacation time for the child’s parent who is receiving the

subsidy under s. 49.155, Stats., with the child.




d. Weeks for which the child care administrative agency approved payment to a

provider to hold a slot during a parent’s temporary break in employment under par. (h).

SECTION 10. DCF 201.05 (title), (2), (3), and (4) are amended to read:

DCF 201.05 Gounty-and-tribal Child care administrative agency responsibilities.

(2) TRAINING REQUIREMENT. Ceunty-and-tribal Child care administrative

agencies shall ensure that each new child care worker completes the department’s initial
training during the first 6 months of employment.

(3) RATE-SETTING METHOD. Each eeunty-and-tribal child care administrative

agency shall submit a written statement to the department which describes the method by

which the eeunty-ertribat child care administrative agency has determined reasonable

and customary child care prices and the maximum rate that the eeunty-er-tribal child care
administrative agency will allow for the purchase of child care services. The department
may prescribe standard units of service by which rates are set in order to achieve

statewide consistency.
(4) INFORMATION TO PROVIDERS. (a) Ceunty-and-tribal Child care

administrative agencies shall distribute information to child care providers regarding

child care funding policies.

(b) County-and-tribal-Child care administrative agencies shall require child care
providers to sign a memorandum of understanding prior to receiving authorization or
payment that specifies that the provider agrees to adhere to child care subsidy attendance

reporting policies and cooperate with the agency in all program monitoring efforts.




SECTION 11. DCF 201.06 (title); (1) (b), and (c); (2) (a) (intro.) and 2., (b) (intro.)

and 1., (d), and (e); and (4) are amended to read:

DCF 201.06 Establishing county and tribal ageney child care rates.

(1) (b) Survey. The eounty-ertribal child care administrative agency, except a tribal
agency acting under par. (a) 2., shall annually contact all licensed group day care centers
and licensed family day care centers in the county or tribal area to determine the child

care prices they charge to the general community, except if the department arranges for a

survey independent of the eeunty-or-tribal child care administrative agency. The child

care prices shall be submitted in writing to be included in the survey.

(c) Group. The ceunty-er-tribal child care administrative agency shall set separate

maximum rates for the following groups of children:
(2) MAXIMUM RATES. (a) Licensed group day care centers. In setting maximum

rates for licensed group day care centers, the eounty-er-tribal child care administrative

agency shall comply with the following:

2. In determining whether 75% of the day care slots can be purchased at or below the

maximum rate, the eeunty-er-tribal child care administrative agency may exclude day

care centers that operate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day, receive funding from a
county department established under s. 51.42 or 51.437, Stats., do not have a set
full-time, weekly child care price, or at which more than 75% of the children’s care is
subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (1g).

(b) Licensed family day care centers. In setting maximum rates for licensed family

day care centers, the eeunty-or-tribal child care administrative agency shall comply with

the following:




1. Maximum rates shall be set so that at least 75% of the family day care center slots
in the county or tribal area may be purchased at or below the maximum rates. The
number of slots attributed to a center shall be equal to the center’s licensed capacity. In
determining whether 75% of the day care slots can be purchased at or below the

maximum rate, the eeunty-or-tribal child care administrative agency may exclude day

care centers that operate less than 5 days a week or 5 hours a day, receive funding from a
county department established under s. 51.42 or 51.437, Stats., do not have a set
full-time, weekly child care price, or at which more than 75% of the children’s care is
subsidized undér s. 49.155, Stats., excluding subs. (1d) and (1g).

(d) In—home day care. For in—home care, the eounty-or-tribal child care
administrative agency shall establish the maximum rate at the level of no less than the
state minimum wage established under ch. 104, Stats., and ch. DWD 272. The child care
administrative agency may authorize payment to the child care provider at the local
reimbursement rate for the type of care provided multiplied by the number of children in
care if this rate exceeds the minimum wage.

(€) Other day care providers. For a day care program established or contracted for by
a school board or for a certified school—age day care program, the eounty-ertribal child

care administrative agency shall establish maximum rates in accordance with par. (a).

(4) SPECIAL RATES. A eounty-or-tribal child care administrative agency may set
maximum reimbursement rates that are different from the rates allowed under subs. (1)
and (2) for child care provided for less than a 2—week period, provided sporadically or

provided for care of an ill child through negotiations with the child care provider.
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SECTION 12. DCF 201.08 (3) (a) is amended to read:

DCF 201.08 (3) (a) 1. A change in child care prices or in-the rates paid-by-county-or
ibal o,
SECTION 13. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on May 17, 2010, as

provided in s. 227.24 (1) (c), Stats.
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- State of Wisconsin
Department of Children and Families

EMERGENCY RULE
Child Care Subsidy Program Integrity

DCF 201

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families orders the amendment of ss.
DCF 201.04(5)(title), (b), (¢)3., (d), (e), and (f), and 201.07(1)(e); the repeal and
recreation of ss. DCF 201.04(5)(b)1. and 2. and (c)(intro.); and the creation of ss. DCF
201.02(7g) and (7r), 201.04(5)(a)(title), 201.04(5)(b)3., 4., 5., (bm), (¢c)4. and 5., (cg),
(cr), (ed), (eh), (ep), (ep), and (g), and 201.07(1)(f), relating to child care subsidy
program integrity.

Finding of Emergency

The Department of Children and Families finds that an emergency exists and that the
attached rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The Department of Children and Families has determined that significant disparities
currently exist between DCF 201 and the intent of 2009 Wisconsin Acts 28 and 77
regarding Wisconsin Shares program integrity efforts. The recent efforts of the
legislature and the department to address child care fraud and program integrity are
estimated to save $100 million over the course of the biennium. Currently over $7.1
million of child care provider overpayments have yet to be collected due to the lack of
authority to use basic collections practices such as tax intercept, wage levy, and property
liens. This rule will permit the department to more aggressively collect on these debts,
strengthen the department’s ability to further tighten requirements for child care
providers wishing to do business with the Wisconsin Shares program, and better enforce
the rules of the program. These changes will result in continued fiscal savings as well as
ensure better quality child care for the children of Wisconsin.

Analysis Prepared by the department of Children and Families

Statutory authority: Sections 49.155 (7m), 49.195 (3s), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Sections 49.155 and 49.195, Stats.




Explanation of Agency Authority

Section 49.155 (7m) (a), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 and renumbered
by 2009 Wisconsin Act 77, provides that the department shall by rule establish policies
and procedures permitting the department to do all of the following if a child care
provider submits false, misleading, or irregular information to the department or if a child
care provider fails to comply with the terms of the program and fails to provide to the
satisfaction of the department an explanation for the noncompliance:

¢ Recoup payments made to the child care provider.
¢ Withhold payments to be made to the child care provider.
« Impose a forfeiture on the child care provider.

Section 49.195 (3m) and (3n), Stats., provide for collection of overpayments under s.
49.155, Stats., by warrant and execution and levy. Subsection (3s) provides that the
department shall specify by rule when requests for reviews, hearings and appeals under s.
49.195, Stats., may be made and the process to be used for the reviews, hearings and
appeals. In promulgating the rules, the department shall provide for a hearing or review
after a warrant under sub. (3m) has been issued and before the warrant has been executed,
before property is levied under sub. (3m) or (3n) and after levied property is seized and
before it is sold. The department shall specify by rule the time limit for a request for
review or hearing. The department shall also specify by rule a minimum amount that
must be due before collection proceedings under s. 49.195, Stats., may be commenced.

Summary of the Rules

The rules establish policies and procedures specifying when a child care provider is
responsible for an overpayment under the child care subsidy program, techniques for
collecting overpayments, and penalties that may be imposed on a provider who fails to
comply with the terms of the program. Promulgation of these rules will also allow the
department to implement s. 49.155 (7m) (b), Stats., as created by 2009 Wisconsin Act 77,
regarding personal liability for overpayments and penalties for certain representatives of
a child care business that is a corporation or limited liability company if the business is
unable to pay.

A provider is responsible for an overpayment if any of the following conditions are
met:

¢ The provider’s attendance records indicate more hours than a child actually
attended. If attended hours were misrepresented by the provider, the provider
is responsible for an overpayment of the difference between the reimbursed
hours and the actual hours of attendance regardless of the type of
authorization.

e Care was provided at a location other than the location for which the
authorization for care was issued, except for field trips.

e Care for children during time when the provider was in violation of limits on
the maximum number of children in care or the required provider-to-child
ratios for children of various ages.

[




¢ Care for children during time when the provider was in violation of the terms
of the provider’s license, including the age of the children served by the center
and hours, days, and months of operation of the center.

e The provider benefited by receiving more child care reimbursement than
otherwise would have been paid on the family's behalf under child care
assistance program requirements, the parent is not responsible for the
overpayment, and the reimbursement did not benefit the parent by causing the
parent to pay less for child care expenses than the family otherwise would
have been required to pay under child care assistance program requirements.

A provider and parent are jointly and severally liable for an overpayment if the
provider and parent collude to violate a requirement of the Wisconsin Shares program.

If a child care provider submits false, misleading, or irregular information to a child
care administrative agency or the department or if a child care provider fails to comply
with the terms of the child care subsidy program and the provider fails to provide to the
satisfaction of the department an explanation for the noncompliance, the child care
administrative agency or department may refuse to issue payments to the provider, in
addition to the authority granted the department under s. 49.155 (7) (b) 4., Stats.; recoup
payments made to the provider; and impose a forfeiture on the provider. The existing
rule also allows a child care administrative agency or the department to refuse to issue
new child care authorizations to a provider for a period of time not to exceed 6 months
and to revoke existing child care authorizations to the provider.

A child care administrative agency or the department may impose a forfeiture of $100
to $10,000 on a child care provider if the provider violates a provision of the Wisconsin
Shares program. In determining the amount of the forfeiture, the child care
administrative agency or department shall identify a specific date relating to a specific
child and may consider the following factors:

Seriousness of the violation.

Extent of the violation.

History of prior violations.

Prior imposition of penalties.

Provider willingness to obey program rules.

If the department or a certification agency has given notice to a provider that the
provider is in violation of applicable licensing or certification rules and the provider has
not corrected the violation, the department or child care administrative agency may refuse
to issue new child care authorizations, revoke existing child care authorizations, or refuse
to issue payments until the provider has corrected the violation and demonstrated
sufficient controls to ensure that the violation or comparable violations are unlikely to
occur again.

If a provider has not repaid an overpayment, the child care administrative agency or
department may recover the overpayment by making an offset from current or future




funds under its control that are payable to the provider of no more than 50% of each
payment if the provider is expected to continue to care for children whose care is
subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats. If a provider or former provider has not repaid an
overpayment and the provider or former provider is not expected to continue to care for
children whose care is subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats, the child care administrative
agency or department may recover the overpayment by making an offset from 100% of
funds under its control that are payable to the provider or former provider.

If a debt for repayment of an overpayment is delinquent and no appeal rights are
pending, Section 49.195 (3m), Stats., authorizes the department to issue a warrant that is
considered in all respects a final judgment constituting a perfected lien upon the debtor’s
right, title, and interest in all real and personal property located in the county in which the
warrant is entered. The department shall provide the debtor with notice and an
opportunity for a hearing under ch. 227, Stats, when a warrant has been issued, before
property is seized, and before seized property is sold. The debtor may request a hearing
under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The appeal shall be
limited to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding
against and mistaken identity of the debtor. The department may not withdraw the
warrant based on a hearing request when a warrant is issued or cease enforcement before
property is seized based on a hearing request. If a hearing is requested after property is
seized, the seized property may not be sold before the hearing decision is issued or the
hearing request is withdrawn. When the amount set forth in the warrant and all costs due
the department have been paid, the department shall issue a satisfaction of the warrant.
Statutory exemption rights in ss. 815.18 (3) and 815.20, Stats., apply to this
administrative warrant and execution procedure.

If a debt for repayment of an overpayment is delinquent and no appeal rights are
pending, Section 49.195 (3n), Stats., authorizes the department to levy on personal
property belonging to the debtor, including wages due and deposits in a financial
institution account. The department shall first send a notice of intent to levy at least 10
days prior to the levy, personally or by any type of mail service that requires a signature
of acceptance. Notice prior to levy is not required for a subsequent levy on any debt of
the same debtor within one year of the date of service of the original levy. Next, the
department shall serve the levy upon the debtor and 3™ party in possession of property to
which the debtor has rights. The debtor may appeal the levy proceeding under ch. 227,
Stats., within 20 days from the date on the service of levy. The appeal shall be limited to
questions of prior payment and mistaken identity of the debtor. The levy is not stayed
pending an appeal where property is secured through the levy.

Within 20 days from the service of the levy upon a 3™ party, the 3/ party shall file an
answer with the department stating whether the 3" party is in possession of or obligated
with respect to property or rights to property of the debtor, including a description of the
property or the rights to property and the nature and dollar amount of any such obligation.
The 3™ party shall, upon demand of the department, surrender the personal property or
rights or discharge the obligation to the department, except that part of the personal




property or rights which is, at the time of the demand, subject to any prior attachment or
execution under any judicial process.

If levied personal property that has been surrendered to the department is not a liquid
asset in the form of cash, check, or an equivalent that can be applied to the debt without a
sale of the asset, the department shall provide the debtor with notice and an opportunity
for a hearing under ch. 227, Stats., before surrendered property is sold. The debtor may
request a hearing under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The
appeal shall be limited to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is
proceeding against and mistaken identity of the debtor. If a hearing is requested,
surrendered property may not be sold before the hearing decision is issued or the hearing
request is withdrawn.

The debtor is entitled to an exemption from levy of the greater of a subsistence
allowance of 75% of the debtor’s disposable earnings then due and owing or an amount
equal to 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage for each full week of the of the
debtor’s pay period, an amount equal to 60 times the federal minimum hourly wage for a
two-week pay period, or an amount equal to 130 times the federal minimum hourly wage
for a monthly pay period. The debtor is entitled to an exemption of the first $1,000 of an
account in a depository institution.

Any appeal based on a notice received in a warrant and execution or levy proceeding
or a notice of intent to certify a debt for set-off against a state tax refund shall be limited
to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding against and
mistaken identity of the debtor. The minimum amount that must be due before warrant
and execution and levy procedures may be commenced is $300. The department may
waive recovery of an overpayment if the department has made reasonable efforts to
recover the overpayment from the debtor and determines it is no longer cost effective to
continue overpayment recovery efforts.

Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies

Section 201.04 (5) (b) 1. of this rule refers to s. DCF 201.04 (2¢) (a). Section DCF
201.04 (2) (d) was renumbered s. DCF 201.04 (2g) (a) in EmR10-056/CR10-056, relating
to authorized hours of subsidized child care.

Summary of Related Federal Requirements

States are required to implement strategies to prevent, measure, identity, reduce, and
collect improper payments for funding received under the Child Care and Development
Fund.

Comparison to Adjacent States

Minnesota. Overpayments that benefit a provider and not a family are recouped
from future payments to the provider if the provider continues to care for subsidized
children.




Hlinois. Overpayments are recovered from providers who do not comply with
program policies by tax intercept, reductions in future payments, or other means
determined to be eftective.

Iowa. Iowa uses factors to be considered in determining penalties against providers
who violate the terms of the child care program.

Michigan. Michigan has proposed rules on overpayment recovery and revocation if
a provider’s attendance records are not accurate.

Agency Contact Person

Jim Bates, Section Chief, Fraud Detection and Investigation Unit, Division of Early
Care and Education, (608) 266-6946, jim.bates@wisconsin.gov.




SECTION 1. DCF 201.02 (7g) and (7r) are created to read:

DCF 201.02 (7g) “Complies with the payment schedule” as used in s. 49.195 (3m)
(h), Stats., means the debtor submits each payment due on an overpayment so that it is
received by the department by the due date every month over the life of the debt.

(7r) “Debtor” means a liable person who received an overpayment of
reimbursements for care of children whose care is subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats., or a

person who is liable under s. 49.155 (7m) (b), Stats.

SECTION 2. DCF 201.04 (5) (title) is amended to read:

DCF 201. 04 (§) OVERPAYMENT RECOVERY AND SANCHONS PENALTIES.

SECTION 3. DCF 201. 04 (5) (a) (title) is created to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (a) (title) Parent overpayments.

SECTION 4. DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) is amended to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) Provider overpayments. A child care administrative agency or-

the department shall take all reasonable steps necessary to recoup or recover from a
provider any overpayments made for child care services for which the provider is
responsible or overpayments caused by administrative error that benefited the provider. A

provider shall be responsible for an overpayment if both-of-the-follewing criteria-are

satisfied any of the following conditions are met:

SECTION 5. DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) 1. and 2. are repealed and recreated to read:
DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) 1. A provider received reimbursement based on attendance

records that indicate more hours than a child actually attended. If attended hours were




misrepresented by the provider, the provider is responsible for an overpayment of the
difference between the reimbursed hours and the actual hours of attendance regardless of
the type of authorization under s. DCF 201.04 (2g) (a).

2. A provider received reimbursement for care provided at a location other than the

location for which the authorization for care was issued, except for field trips.

SECTION 6. DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) 3., 4., and 5. and (bm) are created to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (b) 3. A provider received reimbursement made for care during
time when the provider was in violation of the applicable provision regarding limits on
the maximum number of children in care or the required provider-to-child ratios for
children of various ages in ss. DCF 202.08 (6), 250.05 (4), 251.05 (4), or 252.42 (3).

4. A provider received reimbursement for care during time when the provider was in
violation of the terms of the provider’s license under ss. DCF 250.04 (1), 251.04 (1), or
252.05 (3), including age of the children served by the center and hours, days, and
months of operation of the center.

5. A provider benefited by receiving more child care reimbursement than otherwise
would have been paid on the family’s behalf under child care assistance program
requirements, the parent is not responsible for the overpayment under par. (a), and the
reimbursement did not benefit the parent by causing the parent to pay less for child care
expenses than the family otherwise would have been required to pay under child care
assistance program requirements.

(bm) Joint liability. A provider and parent shall be jointly and severally liable for an
overpayment if the provider and parent collude to violate a requirement under this

chapter or s. 49.155, Stats.




SECTION 7. DCF 201. 04 (5) (¢) (intro.) is repealed and recreated to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (c) (intro.) Penalties for subsidy violations. If a child care provider
submits false, misleading, or irregular information to a child care administrative agency
or the department or if a child care provider fails to comply with the terms of the program
in s. 49.155, Stats., or this chapter and the provider fails to provide to the satisfaction of
the department an explanation for the noncompliance, the child care administrative

agency or department may take one or more of the following steps:

SECTION 8. DCF 201. 04 (5) (¢) 3. is amended to read:
DCF 201. 04 (5) (¢) 3. Refuse to issue payments to the provider unti-the-providerhas

corrected-the-vielatien, in addition to the authority granted to the department under s.

49.155 (7) (b) 4., Stats.

SECTION 9. DCF 201. 04 (5) (c¢) 4. and 5. are created to read:
DCF 201. 04 (5) (c) 4. Recoup payments made to the provider.

5. Impose a forfeiture on the provider under par. (cg).

SECTION 10. DCF 201. 04 (5) (cg) and (cr) are created to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (cg) Forfeitures. A child care administrative agency or the
department may impose a forfeiture of $100 to $10,000 on a child care provider if the
provider violates a provision in this chapter or s. 49.155, Stats. In determining the
amount of the forfeiture, the child care administrative agency or department shall identify
a specific date relating to a specific child and may consider the following factors:

I. Seriousness of the violation.




2. Extent of the violation.

3. History of prior violations.

4, Prior imposition of penalties.

5. Provider willingness to obey program rules.

(cr) Licensing or certification violations. 1f the department or a certification agency
has given notice to a provider that the provider is in violation of applicable licensing or
certification rules under chapters DCF 202, 250, 251, or 252 and the provider has not
corrected the violation, the department or child care administrative agency may refuse to
issue new child care authorizations, revoke existing child care authorizations, or refuse to
issue payments until the provider has corrected the violation and demonstrated sufticient

-.

controls to ensure that the violation or comparable violations are unlikely to occur again.

SECTION 11. DCF 201. 04 (5) (d) and (e) are amended to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (d) Notice to parent. When If the department or a child care

administrative agency refuses to issue new authorizations, revokes existing

authorizations, or refuses to issue payments to a provider under par. (c) or (cr), the child

care administrative agency or the department shall provide written notice to the parent as

soon as possible before the effective date of the sanetion penalty.

(e) Offset from funds payable to continuing provider. 1f the a provider has not repaid
an overpayment, the child care administrative agency or department may recover the
overpayment by making an offset from current or future funds under its control that are

payable to the provider of no more than 50% percent of each payment if the provider is

expected to continue to care for children whose care is subsidized under s. 49.155, Stats.




SECTION 12. DCF 201. 04 (5) (ed), (eh), (ep), and (et) are created to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (ed) Offset from funds payable to provider who is not continuing. If
a provider or former provider has not repaid an overpayment and the provider or former
provider is not expected to continue to care for children whose care is subsidized under s.
49.155, Stats, the child care administrative agency or department may recover the
overpayment by making an offset from 100 percent of funds under its control that are
payable to the provider or former provider.

(eh) Warrant and execution under section 49.195 (3m), Stats. 1. ‘Creation of lien.’

a. If the department does not receive a debtor’s payment on a debt for repayment of
an overpayment by the due date 3 times over the life of a debt, the debt shall be
considered delinquent. If a debt is delinquent and no review or appeal rights under s.
DCF 201.07 are pending and the time for requesting a review has expired, the department
may issue a warrant directed to the clerk of circuit court of any county.

b. The clerk of circuit court shall enter in the judgment and lien docket the name of
the debtor named in the warrant, the amount for which the warrant is issued, and the date
on which the clerk entered the information.

c. The department shall pay the fees required under s. 814.61 (5), Stats., for entering
the warrant and shall collect the fees from the debtor named in the warrant when
satisfaction or release is presented for entry.

d. A warrant issued under subd. 2. b. shall be cdnsidered in all respects a final
judgment constituting a perfected lien upon the debtor’s right, title, and interest in all real

and personal property located in the county in which the warrant is entered.




e. The department shall provide the debtor with notice and an opportunity for a
hearing under ch. 227, Stats., when a warrant has been issued. The debtor may request a
hearing under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The appeal shall
be limited to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding
against and mistaken identity of the debtor. The department may not withdraw a warrant
based on a request for hearing.

2. ‘Execution of the warrant.” a. After the warrant is issued and no review or appeal
rights under subd. 1. e. are pending and the time for requesting a review has expired, the
department may file an execution with the clerk of circuit court for filing with the sheriff
of the county, commanding the sheriff to execute the warrant and sell sufficient real and
personal property of the debtor to pay the amount stated in the warrant in the same
manner as upon an execution against property issued upon the judgment of a court of
record, and to return the warrant to thc department and pay to it the money collected by
virtue of the warrant within 90 days after receipt of the warrant. The execution may not
command the sheriff to levy upon or sell any property that is exempt from execution
under ss. 815.18 (3) and 815.20 , Stats.

b. The department shall provide the debtor with notice and an opportunity for a
hearing under ch. 227, Stats., before property is seized. The debtor may request a hearing
under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The appeal shall be
limited to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding
against and mistaken identity of the debtor. The department may not cease enforcement

or seizure based on a request for hearing.




c. The department shall provide the debtor with notice and an opportunity for a
hearing under ch. 227, Stats., before seized property is sold. The debtor may request a
hearing under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The appeal shall
be limited to questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding
against and mistaken identity of the debtor. If a hearing is requested, the department shall
notify the sheriff that seized property may not be sold before the hearing decision is
issued or the hearing request is withdrawn.

3. ‘Satisfaction of the warrant.” When the amount set forth in the warrant and all
costs due the department have been paid to it, the department shall issue a satisfaction of
the warrant and file it with the clerk of circuit court. The clerk of circuit court shall
immediately enter a satisfaction of the judgment on the judgment and lien docket. The
department shall send a copy of the satisfaction to the person named in the warrant.

(ep) Levy under section 49.195 (3n), Stats. 1. ‘Definition.” In this paragraph,
“personal property” means all tangible and intangible property and rights to such property
that is not real estate, including compensation paid or payable for personal services,
whether denominated as wages, salary, commission, bonus or otherwise; periodic
payments received pursuant to a pension or retirement program; rents; proceeds of
insurance; contract payments; stock and bonds; and accounts in financial institutions.

5

2. *Notice prior to levy." a. If the department does not receive a debtor’s payment
on a debt for repayment of an overpayment by the due date 3 times over the life of a debt,

the debt shall be considered delinquent. If a debt is delinquent and no review or appeal

rights under s. DCF 201.07 are pending and the time for requesting a review has expired,
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the department shall give notice to the debtor that the department may pursue legal action
for collection of the debt.

b. The department shall make the demand for payment and give notice to the debtor at
least 10 days prior to the levy, personally or by any type of mail service that requires a
signature of acceptance, at the address of the debtor as it appears on the records of the
department. The demand for payment and notice shall include a statement of the amount
of the debt, including interest and penalties, and the name of the debtor who is liable for
the debt.

c. The debtor’s refusal or failure to accept or receive the notice does not prevent the
department from making the levy.

d. Notice prior to levy is not required for a subsequent levy on any debt of the same
debtor within one year of the date of service of the original levy.

3. ‘Service of levy and review when property levied.” a. The department may collect
the debt and the expenses of the levy by levy upon any personal property belonging to the
debtor.

b. The department shall serve the levy upon the debtor and any 3rd party in
possession of or obligated with respect to property or rights to property that is subject to
levy by personal service or by any type of mail service that requires a signature of
acceptance as provided in s. 49.195 (3n) (m), Stats. The debtor or 3rd party’s failure to
accept or receive service of the levy does not invalidate the levy.

c. Any debtor who is subject to a levy proceeding made by the department has the
right to appeal the levy proceeding under ch. 227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on

the service of levy. The appeal shall be limited to questions of prior payment of the debt
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that the department is proceeding against and mistaken identity of the debtor. The levy is
not stayed pending an appeal where property is secured through the levy.

4. *Third—party response.” a. Within 20 days from the service of the levy upon a 3rd
party, the 3rd party shall file an answer with the department stating whether the 3rd party
is in possession of or obligated with respect to property or rights to property of the
debtor, including a description of the property or the rights to property and the nature and
dollar amount of any such obligation.

b. Any person in possession of or obligated with respect to personal property or rights
to personal property that is subject to levy and upon which a levy has been made shall,
upon demand of the department, surrender the personal property or rights or discharge the
obligation to the department, except that part of the personal property or rights which is,
at the time of the demand, subject to any prior attachment or execution under any judicial
process.

5. ‘Appeal rights before surrendered property is sold.” If levied personal property that
has been surrendered to the department is not a liquid asset in the form of cash, check, or
an equivalent that can be applied to the debt without a sale of the asset, the department
shall provide the debtor with notice and an opportunity for a hearing under ch. 227,

Stats., before surrendered property is sold. The debtor may request a hearing under ch.
227, Stats., within 20 days from the date on the notice. The appeal shall be limited to
questions of prior payment of the debt that the department is proceeding against and
mistaken identity of the debtor. If a hearing is requested, surrendered property rﬁay not be

sold before the hearing decision is issued or the hearing request is withdrawn.
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6. ‘Exemption rights.” a. The debtor is entitled to an exemption from levy of the
greater of a subsistence allowance of 75% of the debtor’s disposable earnings then due
and owing, an amount equal to 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage for each full
week of the debtor’s pay period, an amount equal to 60 times the federal minimum hourly
wage for a two—week pay period, or an amount equal to 130 times the federal minimum
hourly wage for a monthly pay period.

b. The first $1,000 of an account in a depository institution is exempt from any levy
to recover an overpayment.

7. ‘Proceeds.” a. The department shall apply all money obtained under this paragraph
first against the expenses of the proceedings and then against the liability for which the
levy was made and any other liability owed to the department by the debtor.

b. Whenever the value of any personal property that has been levied upon under this
paragraph is not sufficient to satisfy the claim of the department, the department may
levy upon any additional personal property of the debtor until the debt and expenses of
the levy are fully paid.

c. The department may refund or credit any amount left after the applications under
subd. 7.a., upon submission of a claim for that amount and satisfactory proof of the claim,
to the person entitled to that amount.

(et) Threshold for warrant and execution and levy. The minimum amount that must

be due before collection proceedings under par. (eh) or (ep) may be commenced is $300.

SECTION 13. DCF 201. 04 (5) (f) is amended to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (f) Parent not liable. 1f the department refuses to issue payment

based on a provider’s violation of a requirement in this chapter, the provider may not
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hold the parent liable for payment other than the copayment and any amount that the
parent agreed to above the department’s maximum reimbursement rate if the parent relied
on an approved authorization for care for his or her child to receive care from the

provider.

SECTION 14. DCF 201. 04 (5) (g) is created to read:

DCF 201. 04 (5) (g) Waiver. The department may waive recovery of an
overpayment under this subsection if the department has made reasonable efforts to
recover the overpayment and determines it is no longer cost effective to continue

overpayment recovery efforts.

SECTION 15. DCF 201. 07 (1) (e) is amended to read:
DCF 201.07 (1) (e) Collection of an overpayment, including the determination of the
amount of the overpayment, the determination of the amount of the overpayment still

owed, warrant and execution under (eh), levy under par. (ep), or a decision under s.

49.85, Stats., to recover the overpayment by means of certification to the Wisconsin
department of revenue. The provider may make only one request for appeal of the basis
for the overpayment claim. Any subsequent appeals shall be limited to questions of prior
payment of the debt that the department or agency is proceeding against or mistaken

identity of the debtor.

SECTION 16. DCF 201. 07 (1) (f) is created to read:

DCF 201. 07 (1) (f) Issuance of a forfeiture.
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SECTION 17. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect upon publication as

provided in s. 227.24 (1) (c), Stats.
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