Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Fish and Wildlife

Assembly Bill 371

Relating to: privileges under a Class A or Class B bear hunting license, and bear carcass tag and back tag requirements.

By Representatives Hraychuck, Vruwink, Brooks, Gunderson, Friske, Murtha, Danou, Smith and Suder; cosponsored by Senators Holperin, Wirch, Vinehout, Olsen, Grothman, Hopper, Schultz, Hansen, Kreitlow and Cowles.

| August 12, 2009 Referred to Com | mittee on Fish and Wildlife. |
|---------------------------------|------------------------------|
|---------------------------------|------------------------------|

August 19, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

| Present: | (10) | Representatives Hraychuck, Milroy, Molepske |
|----------|------|---------------------------------------------|
| | | Jr., Steinbrink, Danou, Vruwink, Gunderson, |
| | | Suder, M. Williams, J. Ott. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |

Appearances For

- Ann Hraychuck, Balsam Lake Rep., 28th Assembly District
- Mike Gappa, Eau Claire WI Bear Hunters Association
- Al Lobner, Milladore WI Bear Hunters Association
- Greg Kazmierski, Waukesha WI Chapter of Safari Club International
- Dean Hamilton, Waunakee WI NWTF
- Robert Stafsholt, New Richmond WI Bear Hunters Association
- Scott Meyer, Gleason WI Bear Hunters Association

Appearances Against

- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- David Mahoney, Madison Sheriff, Badger Sheriffs

Appearances for Information Only

• Thomas Van Haren, Madison — WI Dept. of Natural Resources

Registrations For

- Jolene Plautz, Madison U.S. Sportsmen's Alliance
- Tim McCumber, Merrimac
- Ken Smith, La Valle
- Joey Johnson, Ekho

- Stephanie ?, Rhinelander WBHA
- Russell Ryan, Gleason WBHA
- Makayla Kuester, Rhinelander WBHA
- Roger Jones, Rhinelander WBHA
- Wayne Dillenberg, Mountain WBHA
- Dale Hallada, Lake Wood WBHA
- Katelynn Kuester, Rhinelander WBHA
- Gary Muench, Anitgo WBHA
- Shirley Robison, Pelican Lake WBHA
- Leon Robison, Pelican Lake WBHA
- William Johnson, Elcho WBHA
- Warren Johnson, Elcho WBHA
- Gary Goerke, Elcho WBHA
- Brenda Goerke, Elcho WBHA
- Davie Scheuwemawn, Arpin WBHA
- Kendal Durham, Neillsville WBHA
- Eileen Wiesman, Stratford WBHA
- Fred Wiesman, Stratford WBHA
- Galen Liebzeit, Greenwood WBHA
- Ed Hurasy, Neillsville WBHA
- Larry Murphy, Butternut WBHA
- Branddon Humboldt WBHA
- Rosie Murphy, Greenwood WBHA
- Taylor Murphy, Greenwood WBHA
- Dalton Clark, Neillsville WBHA
- Madalyn Clark, Neillsville WBHA
- George Bartels, Wisconsin Rapids WBHA
- Jordan Cibulka, Rhinelander WBHA
- Jacob Anderson, Luck WBHA
- Sierra Hulett, St. Croix Falls WBHA
- Ariane Mattson, Luck WBHA
- Terry Kuester, Rhinelander WBHA
- Gerard Kabat, La Crosse WBHA
- Mark Osthem, La Crosse WBHA
- Barbara Davenport, Westby WBHA
- John Adams, Westby WBHA
- Erika Froeming, Edgerton WBHA
- Don Fiscus, Stodard WBHA
- James Klum, Chaseburs WBHA
- Jordon Huston, Rice Lake WBHA
- Kathleen Huston, Rice Lake WBHA
- Jerold Huston, Rice Lake WBHA
- Carl Schoettel, Neosho WI Bear Hunters Association
- John Kratz, Montello WBHA

- David Klum, Ettrick WBHA
- Joseph Cina, Westby WBHA
- David Campbell, Elkmound WBHA
- Patti Butterfield, Trego WBHA
- Joe Trumble, Cushing WBHA
- Jeff Geitner, Sun Prairie WI Hunters United
- Amy Visger, Minong
- RaeAnn Kalbus, Readfield WBHA
- Jim Weber, Cross Plains WBHA
- Jeffery Kalbus, Readfield WBHA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 17, 2009 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

| Present: | (10) | Representatives Hraychuck, Milroy, Molepske |
|----------|------|---------------------------------------------|
| | | Jr., Steinbrink, Danou, Vruwink, Gunderson, |
| | | M. Williams, J. Ott, Meyer. |
| Absent: | (0) | None. |

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Danou that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

| Ayes: | (9) | Representatives Hraychuck, Molepske Jr., |
|-------|-----|-------------------------------------------|
| | | Steinbrink, Danou, Vruwink, Gunderson, M. |
| | | Williams, J. Ott and Meyer. |
| Noes: | (1) | Representative Milroy. |

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Danou that **Assembly Bill 371** be recommended for passage as amended.

| Ayes: | (8) | Representatives Hraychuck, Steinbrink, | |
|-------|-----|--------------------------------------------|--|
| | | Danou, Vruwink, Gunderson, M. Williams, J. | |
| | | Ott and Meyer. | |

Noes: (2) Representatives Milroy and Molepske Jr..

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 2

Stephanie Hilton Committee Clerk