Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform

Assembly Bill 591

Relating to: authorizing certain optometrists to dispense contact lenses that deliver a therapeutic pharmaceutical agent.

By Representatives Seidel, Zigmunt, Ballweg, Benedict, Berceau, Bies, Brooks, Garthwaite, Hebl, Hintz, Hixson, Hubler, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kestell, Knodl, Molepske Jr., Montgomery, Nass, A. Ott, Pasch, Petrowski, Pridemore, Shilling, Suder, Townsend, Turner, Vruwink, Vukmir, Vos and Hilgenberg; cosponsored by Senators Vinehout, Cowles, Darling, Ellis, Jauch, Lehman, Schultz, Taylor, Decker and Holperin.

November 20, 2009 Referred to Committee on Health and Healthcare Reform.

December 2, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (10) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Bernard Schaber, Stone, Strachota, Nygren.

Absent: (3) Representatives Pasch, Vukmir and Rhoades.

Appearances For

- Donna Seidel Representative, 85th Assembly District
- Peter Theo, Madison Wisconsin Optometric Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeremy Goetsch, Madison
- Tricia Kinley Johnson and Johnson

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

December 17, 2009 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that **Assembly Amendment a1194/1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT A1194/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Seidel, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Bill 591** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Richards, Roys, Benedict, Shilling, Vruwink, Seidel, Pasch, Bernard Schaber, Vukmir, Rhoades, Stone, Strachota and Nygren.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Jeff Kostelic Committee Clerk