### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Economic Development**

#### Assembly Bill 770

Relating to: assessment on critical access hospitals; payments to critical access hospitals under the Medical Assistance Program; creating a rural physician residency assistance program; the physician, dentist, and health care provider loan assistance programs; and making appropriations.

By Representatives Hraychuck, Ballweg, Garthwaite, Benedict, Berceau, Bies, Brooks, Clark, Danou, Dexter, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hixson, Hubler, Jorgensen, Milroy, Molepske Jr., Murtha, Roys, Schneider, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Spanbauer, Townsend, Vruwink and Wood; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Olsen, Schultz, Vinehout, Coggs, Erpenbach, Hansen, Holperin, Jauch, A. Lasee, Lassa, Lehman, Robson and Taylor.

February 24, 2010 Referred to Committee on Rural Economic Development.

### March 2, 2010 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Garthwaite, Jorgensen,
		Hraychuck, Clark, Wood, Meyer, Davis and
		Nerison.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Dexter and Murtha.

Appearances For

- Ann Hraychuck, Balsam Lake Representative
- Joan Ballweg, Markesan Representative
- Eric Borgerding, Madison Wisconsin Hopsital Association
- Tim Size, Sauk City Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
- Jeremy Normington-Slay, Friendship Moundview Memorial Hospital and Clinics
- John Russell, Boscobel Boscobel Area Healthcare
- Lisa Maroney, Madison UW School of Medicine and Public Health
- Gina Dennik-Champion, Madison Wisconsin Nurses Association

Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### **Registrations For**

- Jeremy Levin, Sauk City Rural Wisconsin Healthcare Cooperative
- Mark Miller, Monona Senator
- R.J. Pirlot, Madison Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Tim Hoven, Thiensville Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians
- Tom Petri, Madison Wisconsin Primary Healthcare Association

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

### March 4, 2010 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(9)	Representatives Garthwaite, Jorgensen,
		Hraychuck, Clark, Dexter, Wood, Meyer,
		Davis and Nerison.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Murtha.

Moved by Representative Hraychuck, seconded by Representative Jorgensen that **Assembly Bill 770** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(7)	Representatives Garthwaite, Jorgensen,
		Hraychuck, Clark, Dexter, Wood and
		Nerison.
Noes:	(2)	Representatives Meyer and Davis.
A 1 4	(1)	

Absent: (1) Representative Murtha.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Jon Wolkomir Committee Clerk