Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs

Senate Bill 240

Relating to: restoring the right to vote to certain persons barred from voting as a result of a felony conviction and changing the information required on voter registration forms.

By Senators Taylor, Miller, Coggs and Risser; cosponsored by Representatives Grigsby, Schneider, Parisi, Young, Pasch, Roys, Hilgenberg, Black, Pocan, Turner, Fields, Kessler, Berceau, A. Williams, Toles and Sinicki.

July 21, 2009 Referred to Committee on Labor, Elections and Urban Affairs.

October 13, 2009 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Coggs, Wirch, Lehman, A. Lasee and

Grothman.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Lena Taylor Senator
- Scott Ross Institute for One Wisconsin
- DuJuan Walker
- Alicia Boehme Disability Rights Wisconsin
- Keith Fair Racine NAACP
- Craig Oliver Racine NAACP
- Brenda Ward National Assn. of Social Workers, WI Chapter
- Darlene Wellner League of Women Voters & Salvation Army
- Kristin Schroeder
- Frank Van den Bosch Wisconsin Prison Watch
- Kathleen Hart WI-CURE
- Peggy Swan
- Ronald Solinger
- Renee Crawford ACLU

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Kevin Kennedy — Government Accountability Board

Registrations For

- John Walters Voices Beyond Bars
- Beverly Speer Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Joel Gratz
- Paul Malischke
- Steve Porter State Bar, IRR Section
- Bill Christofferson
- Chamomile Nusz
- Jim Draeger Wisconsin Network for Peace & Justice
- Judy Miner Wisconsin Network for Peace & Justice
- Marc Herstand National Assn. of Social Workers, WI Chapter
- Nancy Slattery League of Women Voters
- Magda Kmiecik
- Jill Groblewski
- Marilyn Sontag Salvation Army
- Rebecca Chain
- Stacy Harbaugh ACLU
- Mary Beth Schlagheck Wisconsin Network for Peace & Justice

Registrations Against

• J.B. Van Hollen — Attorney General, Department of Justice

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 22, 2010 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Adam Plotkin Committee Clerk