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2. A person who is a law enforcement officer in a state other than Wisconsin
may request and be provided information under subd. 1. a. and b.

() Notwithstanding s. 19.35, the department of justice, the department of
transportation, or any employee of either department may not make information
obtained under this section available to the public except in the context of a
prosecution for an offense in which the person’s status as a licensee is relevant or
through a report created under sub. (19).

(12g) PROVIDING LICENSEE INFORMATION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES. (a) The
department shall provide information concerning a specific licensee to a law
enforcement agency, but only if the law enforcement agency is requesting the
information for any of the following purposes:

1. To confirm that a license produced by an individual at the request of a law
enforcement officer is valid.

2. If an individual is carrying a concealed weapon and claims to hold a valid
license issued under this section but does not have his or her license document, to
confirm that an individual holds a valid license under this section.

3. If the law enforcement agency is a Wisconsin law enforcement agency, to
investigate whether an individual submitted an intentionally false statement under
sub. (7) (b) or (15) (b) 2.

(b) 1. Notwithstanding s. 19.35, neither a law enforcement agency nor any of
its employees may make information regarding an individual that was obtained from
the department under this subsection available to the public except in the context

of a prosecution for an offense in which the person’s status as a licensee is relevant.
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2. Neither a law enforcement agency nor any of its employees may store or
maintain information regarding an individual that was obtained from the
department under this subsection based on the individual’s status as a licensee.

3. Neither a law enforcement agency nor any of its employees may sort or access
information regarding vehicle stops, investigations, civil or criminal offenses, or
other activities involving the agency based on the status as licensees of any
individuals involved.

(13) LosT OR DESTROYED LICENSE. If a license document is lost, a licensee no
longer has possession of his or her‘ license, or a license document is destroyed,
unreadable, or unusable, a licensee may submit to the department a statement
requesting a replacement license document, the license document or any portions of
the license document if available, and a $15 replacement fee. The department shall
issue a replacement license document to the licensee within 14 days of receiving the
statement and fee. If the licensee does not submit the original license document to

the department, the department shall terminate the unique approval number of the

request. f’ of 44,4 s (() (c) J

(14) LICENSE OCATION AND SUSPEN ION (a) The department shall revoke a

rtment determines that sub. (3) (b), (’c)
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it not been suspended, the department shall restore the license within 5 business
days of notification that the licensee is no longer subject to the prohibition.

(b) 1. If the department suspends or revokes a license issued under this section,
the department shall send the individual whose license has been suspended or
revoked notice of the suspension or revocation by certified mail within one day after
the suspension or revocation.

2. If the department suspends or revokes a license under this section, the
suspension or revocation takes effect when the individual whose license has been
suspended or revoked receives the notice under subd. 1.

3. Within 7 days after receiving the notice, the individual whose license has
been suspended or revoked shall do one of the following:

a. Deliver the license document personally or by certified mail to the
department.

b. Mail a signed statement to the department stating that he or she no longer
has possession of his or her license document and stating the reasons why he or she
no longer has possession.

(14g) DEPARTMENTAL REVIEW. The department shall promulgate rules providing
for the review of any action by the department denying an application for, or
suspending or revoking, a license under this section.

(14m) APPEALS TO THE CIRCUIT COURT. (a) An individual aggrieved by any action
by the department denying an application for, or suspending or revoking, a license
under this section, may appeal directly to the circuit court of the county in which the
individual resides without regard to whether the individual has sought review under

the process established in sub. (14g).
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(b) To begin an appeal under this subsection, the aggrieved individual shall file
a petition for review with the clerk of the applicable circuit court within 30 days of
receiving notice of denial of an application for a license or of suspension or revocation
of a license. The petition shall state the substance of the department’s action from
which the individual is appealing and the grounds upon which the individual
believes the department’s action to be improper. The petition may include a copy of
any records or documents that are relevant to the grounds upon which the individual
believes the department’s action to be improper.

(c) A copy of the petition shall be served upon the department either personally
or by registered or certified mail within 5 days after the individual files his or her
petition under par. (b).

(d) The department shall file an answer within 15 days after being served with
the petition under par. (c). The answer shall include a brief statement of the actions
taken by the department. The department shall include with the answer when filed
a copy of any documents or records on which the department based its action.

(e) The court shall review the petition, the answer, and any records or
documents submitted with the petition or the answer. The review under this
paragraph shall be conducted by the court without a jury but the court may schedule
a hearing and take testimony.

(f) The court shall reverse the department’s action if the court finds any of the
following:

1. That the department failed to follow any procedure, or take any action,
prescribed under this section.

2. That the department erroneously interpreted a provision of law and a correct

interpretation compels a different action.
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3. That the department’s action depends on a finding of fact that is not
supported by substantial evidence in the record.

4. a. If the appeal is regarding a denial, that the denial was based on factors
other than the factors under sub. (3).

b. If the appeal is regarding a suspension or revocation, that the suspension or
revocation was based on criteria other than those under sub. (14) (a) or (am).

(g 1. The court’s decision shall provide whatever relief is appropriate
regardless of the original form of the petition.

2. If the court reverses the department’s action, the court may order the
department to pay the aggrieved individual all court costs and reasonable attorney
fees.

(15) LICENSE EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL. (a) Except as provided in par. (e) and
sub. (9r) (b), a license issued under this section is valid for a period of 5 years from
the date on which the license is issued unless the license is suspended or revoked
under sub. (14).

(b) The department shall design a notice of expiration form. At least 90 days
before the expiration date of a license issued under this section, the department shall
mail to the licensee a notice of expiration form and a form for renewing the license.
The department shall renew the license if, no later than 90 days after the expiration
date of the license, the licensee does all of the following:

1. Submits a renewal application on the form provided by the department.

2. Submits a statement reporting that the information provided under subd.
1. is true and complete to the best of his or her knowledge and that he or she is not
disqualified under sub. (3).

4. Pays all of the following:
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a. A renewal fee in an amount, as determined by the department by rule, that
is equal to the cost of renewing the license but does not exceed $27. The department
shall determine the costs of renewing a license by using a 5—-year planning period.

b. A fee for a background check that is equal to the fee charged under s. 175.35
(21).

(c) The department shall conduct a background check of a licensee as provided
under sub. (9g) before renewing the licensee’s license under par. (b).

(d) The department shall issue a renewal license by 1st class mail within 21
days of receiving a renewal application, statement, and fees under par. (b).

(e) The license of a member of the U.S. armed forces, a reserve unit of the armed
forces, or the national guard who is deployed overseas while on active duty may not
expire until at least 90 days after the end of the licensee’s overseas deployment
unless the license is suspended or revoked under sub. (14).

(15m) EMPLOYER RESTRICTIONS. (a) Except as provided in par. (b), an employer
may prohibit a licensee or an out—of-state licensee that it employs from carrying a
concealed weapon or a particular type of concealed weapon in the course of the
licensee’s or out—of-state licensee’s employment or during any part of the licensee’s
or out-of-state licensee’s course of employment.

(b) An employer may not prohibit a licensee or an out—of-state licensee, as a
condition of employment, from carrying a concealed weapon, a particular type of
concealed weapon, or ammunition or from storing a weapon, a particular type of
weapon, or ammunition in the licensee’s or out—of-state licensee’s own motor vehicle,
regardless of whether the motor vehicle is used in the course of employment or

whether the motor vehicle is driven or parked on property used by the employer.
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(16) PrOHIBITED ACTIVITY. (a) Except as provided in par. (am) and s. 943.13 (1m)
and (1n), a licensee or an out—of-state licensee may carry a concealed weapon or a
weapon that is not concealed anywhere on publicly owned property and in publicly

owned buildings in this state.

(am) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., neither a licensee nor an out—of-state

licensee may knowingly carry a concealed weapon, a weapon that is not concealed,

or a firearm that is not

sheriff’s office, or state patrol station; a-prison, jail, house of correction, or secured

1 //“‘_._M_M._J_WM~. e,
: correctional facility:ya county, state, or federal court
e

_sectirity checkpoint in an airport.

2. The prohibitions under subd. 1. do not apply to any of the following:

a. A weapon in a vehicle driven or parked in a parking facility located in a

M".‘,.M.,W,.:;.,,\::’ -

building that is used as, or any portion of which is used as, a location under subd. 1.

o Courtfoom

b. A weaponina courthouse{if a judge who is a licensee is carrying the weapon

15 or if another licensee or out-of-state licensee, whom a judge has permitted in writing
7 “‘b 16 to carry a weapon, is carrying the weapon.
V\Q/k\‘ of Couttroom
c. A weapon in a courthouse( if a district attorney, or an assistant district
18 attorney, who is a licensee is carrying the weapon.
19 (17) PeNALTIES. (@) Any person who violates sub. (2g) (b) or (c) may be required
20 to forfeit not more than $25.
21 (ac) Except as provided in sub. (11) (b) 2., any person who violates sub. (11) (b)
22 1. may be required to forfeit $50.
23 (ag) Any person who violates sub. (2m) (e), (12), or (12g) may be fined not more

24 than $500 or sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days or both.
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(ar) Any law enforcement officer who uses excessive force based solely on an
individual's status as a licensee may be fined not more than $500 or sentenced to a
term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days or both. The application of the
criminal penalty under this paragraph does not preclude the application of any other
civil or criminal remedy.

(b) Any person who violates sub. (16) (am) may be fined not more than $500 or
imprisoned for not more than 30 days or both.

(e) Any person required under sub. (14) (b) 3. to relinquish or deliver a license
document to the department who intentionally violates the requirements of that
subdivision shall be fined not more than $500 and may be imprisoned for not more
than 30 days or both.

(18) RECIPROCITY AGREEMENTS. The department may enter into reciprocity
agreements with other states as to matters relating to licenses or other authorization
to carry concealed weapons.

(19) SrtaTisTICAL REPORT. By March 1 of each year, the department shall submit
a statistical report to the legislature under s. 13.172 (2) and to the governor that
indicates the number of licenses applied for, issued, denied, suspended, and revoked
under this section during the previous calendar year. For the licenses denied, the
report shall indicate the reasons for the denials and the part of the application
process in which the reasons for denial were discovered. For the licenses suspended
or revoked, the report shall indicate the reasons for the suspensions and revocations.
The department may not include in the report any information that may be used to
identify an applicant or a licensee, including, but not limited to, a name, address,

birth date, or social security number.
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(21) ImmunNiTY. (@) The department of justice, the department of
transportation, and the employees of each department; clerks, as defined in sub. (11)
(a) 1. a., and their staff; and court automated information systems, as defined under
sub. (11) (a) 1. b., and their employees are immune from liability arising from any act
or omission under this section, if done so in good faith.

(b) A person that does not prohibit an individual from carrying a concealed
weapon on property that the person owns or occupies is immune from any liability
arising from its decision.

(c) An employer that does not prohibit one or more employees from carrying a
concealed weapon under sub. (15m) is immune from any liability arising from its
decision.

SECTION 42. 440.26 (3m) of the statutes is renumbered 440.26 (3m) (intro.) and
amended to read:

440.26 (3m) RULES CONCERNING DANGEROUS WEAPONS. (intro.) The department
shall promulgate rules relating to the carrying of dangerous weapons by a person
who holds a license or permit issued under this section or who is employed by a
person licensed under this section. The rules shall meet the minimum requirements
specified in 15 USC 5902 (b)- and shall allow all of the following:

SEcTION 43. 440.26 (3m) (a) of the statutes is created to read:

440.26 (3m) (a) A person who is employed in this state by a public agency as
a law enforcement officer to carry a concealed firearm if s. 941.23 (1) (g) 2. to 5. and
(2) (b) 1. to 3. applies.

SECTION 44. 440.26 (3m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

440.26 (3m) (b) A qualified out—of-state law enforcement officer, as defined in

s. 941.23 (1) (g), to carry a concealed firearm if s. 941.23 (2) (b) 1. to 3. applies.
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SECTION 45. 440.26 (3m) (c¢) of the statutes is created to read:

440.26 (3m) (¢) A former officer, as defined in s. 941.23 (1) (¢), to carry a
concealed firearm if s. 941.23 (2) (c) 1. to 7. applies.

SECTION 46. 440.26 (3m) (d) of the statutes is created to read:

440.26 (3m) (d) A licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), or an out—of-state
licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g), to carry a concealed weapon as permitted
under s. 175.60.

SEcTION 47. 813.12 (6) (am) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.12 (6) (am) 1. If an injunction is issued or extended under sub. (4) or if a
tribal injunction is filed under s. 806.247 (3), the clerk of the circuit court shall notify
the department of justice of the injunction and shall provide the department of
justice with information concerning the period during which the injunction is in
effect and information necessary to identify the respondent for purposes of a firearms
restrictions record search under s. 175.35 (2g) (c) or a background check under s.

175.60 (9g) (a).

SecTIiON 48. 813.122 (9) (am) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.122 (9) (am) 1. If an injunction is issued or extended under sub. (5), the
clerk of the circuit court shall notify the department of justice of the injunction and
shall provide the department of justice with information concerning the period
during which the injunction is in effect and information necessary to identify the
respondent for purposes of a firearms restrictions record search under s. 175.35 (2g)

(c) or_a background check under s. 175.60 (9g) (a).

SEcCTION 49. 813.125 (51) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
813.125 (5r) (a) If an order prohibiting a respondent from possessing a firearm

is issued under sub. (4m), the clerk of the circuit court shall notify the department
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of justice of the existence of the order prohibiting a respondent from possessing a
firearm and shall provide the department of justice with information concerning the
period during which the order is in effect and information necessary to identify the
respondent for purposes of a firearms restrictions record search under s. 175.35 (2g)

(c) or a background check under s. 175.60 (9g) (a).

SEcCTION 50. 895.527 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

895.527 (5) (a) Section 167.30 (1), 941.20 (1) (d) or 948.605 or any rule
promulgated under those sections regulating or prohibiting the discharge of
firearms.

SECTION 51. 938.396 (2g) (n) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.396 (2g) (n) Firearms restriction record search or background check. If a
juvenile is adjudged delinquent for an act that would be a felony if committed by an
adult, the court clerk shall notify the department of justice of that fact. No other
information from the juvenile's court records may be disclosed to the department of
justice except by order of the court. The department of justice may disclose any

information provided under this subsection only as part of a firearms restrictions

record search under s. 175.35 (2g) (c) or a background check under s. 175.60 (9g) (a).

SECTION 52. 939.22 (10) of the statutes is amended to read:

939.22 (10) “Dangerous weapon” means any firearm, whether loaded or
unloaded; any device designed as a weapon and capable of producing death or great
bodily harm; any ligature or other instrumentality used on the throat, neck, nose, or
mouth of another person to impede, partially or completely, breathing or circulation
of blood; any electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295 {4} (1c) (a); or any other device
or instrumentality which, in the manner it is used or intended to be used, is

calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm.
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SECTION 53. 941.23 of the statutes is renumbered 941.23 (2) (intro.) and
amended to read:

941.23 (2) (intro.) Any person exeept-a-peace-officer,_other than one of the
following, who gees-armed-with carries a concealed and dangerous weapon is guilty
of a Class A misdemeanor—Netwithstanding:

(a) A peace officer, but notwithstanding s. 939.22, for purposes of this section

paragraph, peace officer does not include a commission warden who is not a
state—certified commission warden.

SECTION 54. 941.23 (1) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23 (1) In this section:

(ag) “Carry” has the meaning given ins. 175.60 (1) (ag).

(ar) “Destructive device” has the meaning given in 18 USC 921 (a) (4).

(b) “Firearm silencer” has the meaning given in s. 941.298 (1).

(c) “Former officer” means a person who served as a law enforcement officer
with a law enforcement agency before separating from law enforcement service.

(d) “Law enforcement agency” has the meaning given in s. 175.49 (1) ().

(e) “Law enforcement officer” has the meaning given in s. 175.49 (1) (g).

() “Machine gun” has the meaning given in s. 941.27 (1).

(g) “Qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer” means a law enforcement
officer to whom all of the following apply:

1. The person is employed by a state or local government agency in another
state.

2. The agency has authorized the person to carry a firearm.

3. The person is not the subject of any disciplinary action by the agency that

could result in the suspension or loss of the person’s law enforcement authority.
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4. The person meets all standards established by the agency to qualify the
person on a regular basis to use a firearm.

5. The person is not prohibited under federal law from possessing a firearm.

SECTION 55. 941.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23(2) (b) A qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer. This paragraph
applies only if all of the following apply:

1. The weapon is a firearm but is not a machine gun or a destructive device.

2. The officer is not carrying a firearm silencer.

3. The officer is not under the influence of an intoxicant.

SECTION 56. 941.23 (2) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23 (2) (¢) A former officer. This paragraph applies only if all of the following
apply:

1. The former officer has been issued a photographic identification document
described in sub. (3) (b) 1. or both of the following:

a. A photographic identification document described in sub. (3) (b) 2. (intro.).

b. An identification card described in sub. (3) (b) 2. a., if the former officer
resides in this state, or a certification described in sub. (3) (b) 2. b., if the former officer
resides in another state.

2. The weapon is a firearm that is of the type described in a photographic
identification document described in subd. 1. (intro.) or a card or certification
described in subd. 1. b.

3. Within the preceding 12 months, the former officer met the standards of the
state in which he or she resides for training and qualification for active duty law
enforcement officers to carry firearms.

4. The weapon is not a machine gun or a destructive device.
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5. The former officer is not carrying a firearm silencer.

6. The former officer is not under the influence of an intoxicant.

7. The former officer is not prohibited under federal law from possessing a
firearm.

SECTION 57. 941.23 (2) (d) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23 (2) (d) A licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), or an out—of-state
licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g), if the dangerous weapon is a weapon, as
defined under s. 175.60 (1) (j). An individual formerly licensed under s. 175.60 whose
license has been suspended or revoked under s. 175.60 (14) may not assert his or her
refusal to accept a notice of revocation or suspension mailed under s. 175.60 (14) (b)
1. as a defense to prosecution under this subsection, regardless of whether the person
has complied with s. 175.60 (11) (b) 1.

SECTION 58. 941.23 (2) (e) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23 (2) (e) An individual who carries a concealed and dangerous weapon,
as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (j), in his or her own dwelling or place of business or on land
that he or she owns, leases, or legally occupies.

SECTION 59. 941.23 (3) of the statutes is created to read:

941.23 (3) (a) A qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer shall, while
carrying a concealed firearm, also have with him or her an identification card that
contains his or her photograph and that was issued by the law enforcement agency
by which he or she is employed.

(b) A former officer shall, while carrying a concealed firearm, also have with
him or her one of the following:

1. A photographic identification document issued by the law enforcement

agency from which the former officer separated that indicates that, within the 12
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months preceding the date on which the former officer is carrying the concealed
firearm, he or she was tested or otherwise found by that law enforcement agency to
meet the standards for qualification in firearms training that that law enforcement
agency sets for active duty law enforcement officers to carry a firearm of the same
type as the firearm that the former officer is carrying.

2. A photographic identification document issued by the law enforcement
agency from which the former officer separated and one of the following:

a. A certification card issued under s. 175.49 (2), if the former officer resides
in this state.

b. A certification issued by the state in which the former officer resides, if the
former officer resides in another state, that indicates that, within the 12 months
preceding the date on which the former officer is carrying the concealed firearm, he
or she has been found by the state in which he or she resides, or by a certified firearms
instructor if such an instructor is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test
for law enforcement officers in that state, to meet the standards for qualification in
firearms training for law enforcement officers to carry a firearm of the type he or she
is carrying, that are established by his or her state of residence or, if that state does
not establish standards, by any law enforcement agency in his or her state of
residence.

(c) A person who violates this subsection may be required to forfeit not more
than $25.

(d) This subsection does not apply to a licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d),
or an out—of-state licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g).

SECTION 60. 941.235 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 941.235 (2) (intro.) and

amended to read:
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941.235 (2) (intro.) This section does not apply to peaee any of the following:

(a)_Peace officers or armed forces or military personnel who go armed in the line
of duty or to any person duly authorized by the chief of police of any city, village or
town, the chief of the capitol police, or the sheriff of any county to possess a firearm
in any building under sub. (1). Notwithstanding s. 939.22 (22), for purposes of this
subsection paragraph, peace officer does not include a commission warden who is not
a state—certified commission warden.

SECTION 61. 941.235 (2) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

941.235 (2) (c) A qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer, as defined in
s. 941.23 (1) (g), to whom s. 941.23 (2) (b) 1. to 3. applies.

SECTION 62. 941.235 (2) (d) of the statutes is created to read:

941.235(2) (d) A former officer, as defined in's. 941.23 (1) (c), to whom s. 941.23
(2) (c) 1. to 7. applies.

SECTION 63. 941.235 (2) (e) of the statutes is created to read:

941.235 (2) (e) A licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), or an out-of-state
licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g).

SECTION 64. 941.237 (3) (cr) of the statutes is created to read:

941.237 (3) (cr) A qualified out-of-state law enforcement officer, as defined in
s. 941.23 (1) (g), to whom s. 941.23 (2) (b) 1. to 3. applies.

SECTION 65. 941.237 (3) (ct) of the statutes is created to read:

941.237 (3) (ct) A former officer, as defined in s. 941.23 (1) (c¢), to whom s. 941.23
(2) (c) 1. to 7. applies.

SECTION 66. 941.237 (3) (cx) of the statutes is created to read:
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941.237 (3) (cx) A licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (d), or an out-of-state
licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g), if the licensee or out—of—state licensee is not
consuming alcohol on the premises.
SECTION 67. 941.237 (4) of the statutes is repealed.
SECTION 68. 941.295 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 941.295 (1m).
SECTION 69. 941.295 (1¢) (b) and (c) of the statutes are created to read:
941.295 (1¢) (b) “Licensee” has the meaning given in s. 175.60 (1) (d).
(¢) “Out-of-state licensee” has the meaning given in s. 175.60 (1) (g).
SECTION 70. 941.295 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.295 (2) (intro.) Subsection {1) (1m) does not apply to any of the following:

SECTION 71. 941.295 (2) (d) of the statutes is renumbered 941.295 (2) (d) (intro.)
and amended to read:

941.295 (2) (d) (intro.) Any manufacturer or seller whese of electric weapons

are-used-in-this-state-selely by persons, unless the manufacturer or seller engages

in the conduct described in sub. (1m) with the intent to provide an electric weapon

to someone other than one of the following:

1. A person specified in pars. (a) to (c), a licensee, or an out-of-state licensee.

SECTION 72. 941.295 (2) (d) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

941.295 (2) (d) 2. A person for use in his or her dwelling or place of business
or on land that he or she owns, leases, or legally occupies.

SECTION 73. 941.295 (2g) of the statutes is created to read:

941.295 (2g) The prohibition in sub. (1m) on possessing or going armed with
an electric weapon does not apply to any of the following:

(@) A licensee or an out-of-state licensee.
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SENATE BILL 90 SEcCTION 73

(b) An individual who goes armed with an electric weapon in his or her own
dwelling or place of business or on land that he or she owns, leases, or legally
occupies.

SECTION 74. 941.295 (2r) of the statutes is created to read:

941.295 (2r) The prohibition in sub. (1m) on transporting an electric weapon
does not apply to any of the following:

(a) A licensee or an out—of-state licensee.

(b) An individual who is not a licensee or an out—of-state licensee who
transports an electric weapon if the electric weapon is enclosed within a carrying
case.

SECTION 75. 941.295 (4) of the statutes is renumbered 941.295 (1¢) (intro.) and
amended to read:

941.295 (1¢) (intro.) In this section;—eleetric:

(a) “Electric weapon” means any device which is designed, redesigned, used or
intended to be used, offensively or defensively, to immobilize or incapacitate persons
by the use of electric current.

SECTION 76. 943.13 (le) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 943.13 (le) (ar).

SECTION 77. 943.13 (le) (al) of the statutes is created to read:

943.13 (1e) (aL) “Carry” has the meaning given in s. 175.60 (1) (ag). v/

SECTION 78. 943.13 (1e) (bm) of the statutes is created to read: 1S ,la(o

943.13 (1e) (bm) “Licensee” means a licensee, as defined in s. Wf?é) (1) (d), or
an out-of-state licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g).

SECTION 79. 943.13 (1e) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

943.13 (1e) (cm) “Nonresidential building” includes fany privately or ublicl\w/
V.o ) lemy  Nonresidential bullding yP yorpublicy

A,,,...————u,_,.‘-«,———-“/""”

~owned building on the grounds of a university or collegg:
\'\\wmﬂ,,,,NM,,A,M_“,A,, e e e el e e e et T T T
T
- 1 - L§

W= 5
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1 SEcTION 80. 943.13 (le) (g) of the statutes is created to read:
2 943.13 (1e) (g0 "Out-of-state licensee” has the meaning given in s. 175.60 (1)
3 (®.

/_&\‘T / SEcCTION 81. 943.13 (1m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

i > 5 943.13 (1m) (b) Enters or remains on any land of another after having been

6 notified by the owner or occupant not to enter or remain on the premises. This

7 paragraph does not apply to a licensee or out-of-state licensee if the owner’s or

8 occupant’s intent is to prevent the licensee or out-of-state licensee from carrying a

9 firearm on the owner’s or occupant’s land.

10 SECTION 82. 943.13 (1m) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

11 943.13 (Im) (¢) 1. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a residence
12 that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the residence, if he or she
13 has not leased it to another person, or the occupant of the residence has notified the
14 actor not to enter or remain at the residence while carrying a firearm or with that
15 type of firearm. In this subdivision, “residence,” with respect to a single-family
16 residence, includes the residence building and the parcel of land upon which the
17 residence building is located, and “residence,” with respect to a residence that is not
18 a single—family residence, does not include any common area of the building in which
19 the residence is located or any common areas of the rest of the parcel of land upon
20 which the residence building is located.

21 2. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains in any part of a nonresidential
22 building that the actor does not own or occupy after the owner of the building, if that
23 part of the building has not been leased to another person, or the occupant of that
24 part of the building has notified the actor not to enter or remain in that part of the

25 building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm. This subdivision does
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W SECTION 82
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943.13 (In){ A person is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor if he or she, while
carrying a firearm, g/nters or remains in any part of a building that is owned,
occupied, or controiled; by the state or any local governméntal unit, excluding any
building or portion of a building under s. 175.60 (16) (am) 1., if the state or local
governmental unit has notified the actor nom or remain in the building while

ws 50 4 (p)
carrying a firearm or with that type of f1rearm] 6 his subsection does not apply to a
person who leases residential or business premises in the building or, if the firearm
is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility, to any part of the building used
as a parking facility.

SECTION 84. 943.13 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 943.13 (2) (am), and
943.13 (2) (am) (intro.) and 1., as renumbered, are amended to read:

943.13 (2) (am) (intro.) A person has received notice from the owner or occupant
within the meaning of sub. (1m) (b), (e) or (f) if he or she has been notified personally,
either orally or in writing, or if the land is posted. Land is considered to be posted
under this subseetion paragraph under either of the following procedures:

1. If a sign at least 11 inches square is placed in at least 2 conspicuous places
for every 40 acres to be protected. The sign must earry provide an appropriate notice
and the name of the person giving the notice followed by the word “owner” if the
person giving the notice is the holder of legal title to the land and by the word
“occupant” if the person giving the notice is not the holder of legal title but is a lawful

occupant of the land. Proof that appropriate signs as provided in this paragraph
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SENATE BILL 90 SECTION 84
subdivision were erected or in existence upon the premises to be protected prior to
the event complained of shall be prima facie proof that the premises to be protected
were posted as provided in this paragraph subdivision.

SECTION 85. 943.13 (2) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:

943.13 (2) (bm) 1. In this paragraph, “sign” means a sign that states a
restriction imposed under subd. 2. that is at least 8.5 inches by 11 inches and colored
orange as described in s. 29.301 (2).

2. For the purposes of subs. (Im) (c) 2. and (1n), an owner or occupant of a part
of a nonresidential building or the state or a local governmental unit has notified an
individual not to enter or remain in that part of the building while carrying a firearm
or with a particular type of firearm if the owner, occupant, state, or local
governmental unit has posted a sign that is located in a prominent place near all of
the entrances to the part of the building to which the restriction applies and any
individual entering the building can be reasonably expected to see the sign.

SECTION 86. 943.13 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

943.13 (3) Whoever erects on the land of another signs which are the same as
or similar to those described in sub. (2) (am) without obtaining the express consent
of the lawful occupant of or holder of legal title to such land is subject to a Class C
forfeiture.

SECTION 87. 946.71 of the statutes is created to read:

946.71 Unlawful use of license for carrying concealed weapons. (1) In
this section, “license” means a license issued under s. 175.60 (2) or (9r).

(2) Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor:

(a) Intentionally represents as valid any revoked, suspended, fictitious, or

fraudulently altered license.
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SENATE BILL 90 SECTION 87

(b) If the actor holds a license, intentionally sells or lends the license to any
other individual or knowingly permits another individual to use the license.

(c) Intentionally represents as one’s own any license not issued to him or her.

(d) If the actor holds a license, intentionally permits any unlawful use of that
license.

(e) Intentionally reproduces by any means a copy of a license for a purpose that
is prohibited under this subsection.

(f) Intentionally defaces or intentionally alters a license.

SECTION 88. 947.01 of the statutes is renumbered 947.01 (1).

SECTION 89. 947.01 (2) of the statutes is created to read:

947.01 (2) A person is not in violation of, and may not be charged with a
violation of, sub. (1) for loading, carrying, or going armed with a firearm, without
regard to whether the firearm is loaded or is concealed or openly carried.

SECTION 90. 947.011 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

947.011 (2) (@) 1. Engage in conduct that is prohibited under s. 947.01 (1) within
500 feet of any entrance to a facility being used for the service with the intent to
disrupt the service.

SECTION 91. 947.011 (2) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

947.011 (2) (c) 1. Engage in conduct that is prohibited under s. 947.01 (1) within
500 feet of any entrance to a facility being used for the service.

SECTION 92. 947.011 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

947.011 (2) (d) No person may impede vehicles that are part of a funeral
procession if the person’s conduct violates s. 947.01 (1).

SECTION 93. 948.60 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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1 948.60 (1) In this section, “dangerous weapon” means any firearm, loaded or
2 unloaded; any electric weapon, as defined in s. 941.295 {4} (1¢) (a); metallic knuckles
3 or knuckles of any substance which could be put to the same use with the same or
4 similar effect as metallic knuckles; a nunchaku or any similar weapon consisting of
5 2 sticks of wood, plastic or metal connected at one end by a length of rope, chain, wire
6 or leather; a cestus or similar material weighted with metal or other substance and
7 worn on the hand; a shuriken or any similar pointed star-like object intended to
8 injure a person when thrown; or a manrikigusari or similar length of chain having

0

weighted ends. A = : }7
10 /\_SE 94 : ere repealed. ﬁ

11 SECTION 95. 948.605 (2) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is ‘amer%ed to read: \ 7 ’
12 948.605 (2) (b) (intro.) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the possession of a o
13 firearm by any of the following: 25 Y., 5./
SECTION 96. 948.605 (2) (b) 1. Mﬁa‘“‘?"’aﬂhe statutes are repealed.
15 SECTION 97. 948.605 (2) (b) 1m. and 1r. of the statutes are created to read:
16 948.605 (2) (b) Im. A person who possesses the firearm in accordance with 18
17 USC922(q)()<B)()@)()( i), or (vii). &w@""d’f’af v
18 Ir. Except if the person is in or on the grounds of a school, é@r@ mf(& ,\‘)
19 \,,gggs_gwsigsﬁ g}gﬁ{ggfwnl}_r} accgrdance with 18 USC 922 (q)< (2) (E) (ijx For purposes of
20 18 USC 922 (g) (2) (B) (ii), an out-of-state licensee, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (g), is
21 fully licensed under the laws of this state.
22 SEcTION 98. 948.605 (2) (b) 6. of the statutes is renumbered 948.605 (2) (b) 2m
23 and amended to read:
24 948.605 (2) (b) 2m. By—alaw—enforcementofficer-or A state—certified

25 commission warden acting in his or her official capacity;-es.
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SECTION 99. 948.605 (2) (b) 8. of the statutes is renumbered 948.605 (2) (b) 3m.
and amended to read:

948.605 (2) (b) 3m. By-a- A person who is legally hunting in a school forest if
the school board has decided that hunting may be allowed in the school forest under
s. 120.13 (38).

SEcTION 100. 968.255 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

968.255 (1) (a) 2. Arrested for any misdemeanor under s. 167.30 (1), 940.19,
941.20 (1), 941.23, 941.237, 941.24, 948.60, or 948.61.

SEcTION 101. 971.37 (Im) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

971.37 (1m) (a) 2. An adult accused of or charged with a criminal violation of
s. 940.19, 940.20 (1m), 940.201, 940.225, 940.23, 940.285, 940.30, 940.42, 940.43,
940.44, 940.45, 940.48, 941.20, 941.30, 943.01, 943.011, 943.14, 943.15, 946.49,
947.01 (1), 947.012 or 947.0125 and the conduct constituting the violation involved
an act by the adult person against his or her spouse or former spouse, against an
adult with whom the adult person resides or formerly resided or against an adult
with whom the adult person has created a child.

SEcTION 102. 973.055 (1) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

973.055 (1) (a) 1. The court convicts the person of a violation of a crime specified
in s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.19, 940.20 (1m), 940.201, 940.21,
940.225, 940.23, 940.235, 940.285, 940.30, 940.305, 940.31, 940.42, 940.43, 940.44,
940.45, 940.48, 941.20, 941.30, 943.01, 943.011, 943.14, 943.15, 946.49, 947.01 (1),
947.012 or 947.0125 or of a municipal ordinance conforming to s. 940.201, 941.20,
941.30, 943.01, 943.011, 943.14, 943.15, 946.49, 947.01 (1), 947.012 or 947.0125; and

SECTION 103. Nonstatutory provisions.
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(1) Using the procedure under section 227.24 of the statutes, the department
of justice shall promulgate rules required under section 165.25 (12) of the statutes,
as created by this act, for the period before the effective date of the permanent rules
promulgated under those sections, but not to exceed the period authorized under
section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes. Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a),
(2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence that
promulgating a rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is necessary for the
preservation of public peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of an emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsection.

SecTION 104. Effective dates. This act takes effect on the first day of the 4th
month beginning after publication, except as follows:

(1) The treatment of sections 165.25 (12), 175.49 (4), and 175.60 (2m) and (5)
of the statutes and SECTION 103 (1) of this act take effect on the day after publication.

(END)
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INSERT 16-15
v
1 SECTION 1. 167.31 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: 2
@ 167.31 (2) (a) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may place, possessgor
3 transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on a motorboat with the motor running,
4 unless the firearm is a handgy/n, as defined in 8. 175.60 gl‘/z (bm), unless the firearm
5 is unloaded, or unless the bow or crossbow is unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying
6 case.
History: 1985 a.36; 1987 a. 27, 353; 1991 a. 77; 1993 a. 147; 1995 a. 122, 201; 1997 a. 248, 249; 1999 a. 32, 158; 2001 a. 8, 56, 90, 108; 2003 a. 33, 139, 326; 2005 a. 169,
B ?sgééoﬁéﬁéz 167.31 (2) (b) of the st‘gcutes is amended to read: k3
167.31 (2) (b) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may place, possess,[or
9 transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on a vehicle, unless the firearm is a
10 handgun, asdefinedins. 175.60 (1) /bm ), unless the firearm is unloaded and encased,
11 or unless the bow or crossbow is unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying case.
ST ST T TS5 4 98 2 20T 20199 3150013650, 0535 19,56 85016,
12 SEcTION 3. 167.31 (2) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:
13 167.31 (2) (¢) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may load or discharge
14 a firearm, other than a hand ; as defined in s. 175.60 1‘/ m), or shoot a bolt or
15 an arrow from a bow or crossbow in or from a vehicle.

History: 1985 a. 36; 1987 a. 27, 353: 1991 a. 77: 1993 a. 147; 1995 a. 122, 201; 1997 a. ‘Zy 249; 1999 a. 32, 158; 2001 a. 8, 56, 90, 108; 2003 a. 33, 139, 326; 2005 a. 169,
253, 286. 345: 2007 a, 97; 2009 a. 246.

16 SECTION 4. 167.31 (3) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 167.31 (3) (a) (intro.)
1 and amended to read: (i rcbvo \
18 167.31 (3) (a) xgcept as provided in sub. (4), no person may plaee; do any of the

19 following:
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1 1. Place, possess, or transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on an a
2 commercial aircraft, unless the firearm is unloaded and encased or unless the bow

3 or crossbow is unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying case.

History: 1985 a. 36; 1987 a. 27, 353: 1991 a. 77; 1993 a. 147; 1995 a. 122, 201; 1997 a. 248, 249; 1999 a. 32, 158; 2001 a. 8, 56, 90, 108; 2003 a. 33, 139, 326; 2005 a. 169,
253, 286, 345; 2007 a, 97; 2009 a. 246.

SECTION 5. 167.31 (3) (a) 2. of the ségtutes is created to read:

167.31 (3) (a) 2. Place, possess, or transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or

4
5
6 on a noncommercial aircraft, unless the firearm is unloaded and encased or the
7 firearm is a handgun, as defined in s. 175.60 (1) (bm), or unless the bow or crossbow
8

1s unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying case.
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1 - 947.011 (2) (d) No person may impede vehicles that are part of a funeral
2 procession if the person’s conduct violates s. 947.01 (1).
3 SECTIVON'VIBV.” 948.60 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
4 948.60 (1) Iﬁ thls secgon, “dangerous weapon” means any fj arm loaded or
5 unloaded; any electric weap(;;,% - : ; metallic knuckles or
L ya
6 knuckles of any substance which could be f)h@i;qx?é same use with the same or
7 similar effect as metallic knuckles; a nuncggkﬁ'{)fang} similar weapon consisting of
8 2 sticks of wood, plastic or metal cor;ne’c’ég at one end by a length of rope, chain, wire
9 or leather; a cestus or similar‘material weighted with metal or other substance and
10 worn on the hand;}/sﬁtjriken or any similar pointed star-like object intended to
11 injure a pe?or/when thrown; or a manrikigusari or similar length of chain having
12 weighted'fénds.
13 - /SECTION 79. 948.605 (1) (a) and (am) of the statutes are repealed.
o 14 SECTION 80. 948.605 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read: o
{\D ,\\ 15 948.605 (2) (a) Any individual who knowingly possesses a firearm at a place
/& 16 that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is -a-scheel-zone in or
17 on the grounds of a school is guilty of a Class I felony. Any individual who knowingly
18 possesses a firearm at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to
19 believe, is within 1.000 feet of the grounds of a school is subject to a Class B forfeiture.
20 SecTioN 81. 948.605 (2) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended o TeadT———
21 948.76(7)5!(2)'(1:)) 7 (intro.) Paragraph (a) doew possession of a
22 firearm by any of the followin‘g:,,,;_@/«/ "
23 SECTION 82. 94;3.,605"(2')'"('6),(1. to A;’;:Mé«fl\d“l,AQf%the statutes are repealed.
T
24 SECTION 83. 948.605 (2) (b) Im. and 1r. of the sta\la}f‘ésa_re created to read:




2011-2012 DRAFTING INSERT LRBs0131/plins
FROM THE CMH....:...
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

¢ (,},g{
Insert 30-25 an W

2. The department shall search its records to determine whether@

;"Sfe/éking to purchase a ha@ is prohibited from possessing a firearm under s.
.= ’

v / ]
941.29. The department shall conduct a criminal history record search1a search to
»

determine whether a person is prohibited from possessing a firearm under s. 51.20

system to determine whether a person has been ordered not to possess a firearm
J v v Y
under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1., 51.45 (13) (i) 1., 54.10 (3) (f) 1., or 55.12 (10) (a)fa search

—
to determine whether the person is subject to an injunction under s. 813.12 or
v v v

813.122, or a tribal injunction, as defined in s. 813.12 (1) (e), issued by a court

1
2
3
®
5
@ (13) (ev) 1., 2007 stats.;a search in the national instant criminal background check
7
(D
9
10
11 established by any federally recognized Wisconsin Indian tribe or band, except the
12 Menominee Indi\e{n tribe of Wisconsin, that includes notice to the respondent that he
13 or she is subject to the requirements and penalti?s under s. 941.29 an that has been
@ filed with the circuit court under s. 806.24:7/ (3),’)21 search to determine Yvhether the
@ person is prohibited from possessing a firearm under s. 813.125 (:m)T)a search to
16 determine if the court has prohibited the \/individual from possessing a dangerous

4

@ weapon under s. 969.02 (3) (c) or 969.03 (1) (c)rélnd a search to determine if an

18 individual is prohibited from possessing a dangerous weapon as a condition of
19 release under s. 969.01.
20

21 Insert 40-11




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

-9 LRBs0131/plins

v
(am) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., neither a licensee nor an out-of-state

licensee may knowingly carry a concealed weapon, a weapon that is not concealed,
or a firearm that is not a weapon in any of the following places:

a. Any portion of a building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, or state
patrol station.

b. Any portion of a building that is a prison, jail, house of correction, or secured
correctional facility.

c. The facility established under s. 46.(3?’)5.

d. The center established under s. 46.05‘/6.

e. Any secured unit or secured portion of a mental health institute under s.
51.0\5{), including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Fa\;ility at Mendota
Mental Health Institute.

f. Any portion of a building that is a county, state, or federal courthouse.

g. Any portion of a building that is a municipal courtroom if court is in session.

h. A place beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.

Insert 51-25
v

f\ﬁ( a nursing home as defined in s. 50.01 (3), a community-based residential

v
facility as defined in s. 50.01 (1g), a residential care apartment complex as defined
v

ins. 50.01 (1d), an adult family home as defined i\%50.01 (1), and a hospice as defined
v
in s. 50.90 (1). @
Insert 52-4

v
SECTION 1. 943.13 (1e) (h) of the statutes is created to read:
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943.13 (1e) (h) “Special event” means an event that is open to the public, is for
a limited duration, has designated entrances to and from the event that are locked

when the event is closed, and requires an admission.

Insert 53-4

3. While carrying a firearm, enters or remains at a special e:r’ent if the
organizers of the special event have notified the actor not to enter or remain at the
special event while carrying a firearm or with that type of ﬁrearmb’ghis subdivi.s,;on

does not apply, if the firearm is in a vehicle driven or parked in the parking facility,

to any part of @/bm)(?mcg used as a pax}ging facility.

o st e B

Insert 53-10 o
2. Enters or remains in any privately or publicly owned building on the grounds
of a university or college, if the university or college has notified the actor not to enter

or remain in the building while carrying a firearm or with that type of firearm.




Hanaman, Cathlene

From: Sappenfield, Anne

Sent: Thursday, June 02, 2011 2:28 PM
To: Hanaman, Cathlene

Cc: Konopacki, Larry

Subject: training lang for SB sub

Hi Cathlene,

I'am including language for a training requirement, below. Also, Sen. Galloway has asked that the maximum fee for
issuance of an initial license be changed to $37 and for a renewal license to $12.

Here is language for a training requirement for the new sub to SB 93. I'm not sure how you're going to structure it, so just
use this however it works.

The individual meets one of the following:

(a) Successfully completes one of the following as demonstrated by a photocopy of a certificate of completion or any
similar document indicating completion of a course of class under this paragraph or by an affidavit from the instructor,
school, organization, or group that conducted or taught a course or class under this paragraph attesting to the completion
of the course or class by the applicant:

1. Acourse of instruction under the hunter education program under s. 29.591 or in another state, country, or
province a hunter education course recognized by the Department of Natural Resources.

2. A National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course

3. Afirearms safety or training course or class available to the general public and offered by a law enforcement
agency, a technical college, a college or university, or a private or public institution or organization or firearms
training school that is taught by an instructor who is certified by the National Rifle Association or by the
department.

4. A firearms safety or training course or class offered to peace officers or to owners and employees of licensed
private detective and security agencies.

5. Afirearms training or safety course or class conducted by a firearms instructor who is certified by the department
or the National Rifle Association.

(b) Participated in organized shooting competitions or military, law enforcement, or security training that gave the applicant
experience with firearms that is substantially equivalent to any course or class under par. (a) as demonstrated with
documentation showing such participation or completion of such course or class.

(c) Is licensed or has been licensed to carry a firearm in this state or in a county or municipality of this state, unless such
license has been revoked for cause as demonstrated by a copy of the current or expired license to carry firearms.

(d) Completed small arms training while serving in the armed forces of the United States as demonstrated by
documentation of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions or by a certificate of completion
of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and certification.

Thanks, Cathlene. Let me know if you have questions about this part.

Anne

Anne Sappenfield
Senior Staff Attorney
WI Legislative Council
(608) 267-9485




