

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

January 2011 Special Session

11:06 A.M.

TUESDAY, January 11, 2011

The Senate met.

The Senate was called to order by President Ellis.

CALL OF ROLL

The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:

Senators Carpenter, S. Coggs, Cowles, T. Cullen, Darling, Ellis, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Galloway, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Holperin, Hopper, Jauch, Kapanke, Kedzie, C. Larson, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Miller, Moulton, Olsen, Risser, Schultz, Taylor, Vinehout, Vukmir, Wanggaard, Wirch and Zipperer – 32.

Absent - None.

Absent with leave - Senator Lasse - 1.

The Senate stood for a moment of silent meditation.

The Senate remained standing and Senator T. Cullen led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

CHIEF CLERK'S ENTRIES

The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated **Monday, January 10, 2011**.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Senate Organization** reports and recommends:

Senate Bill 6, January 2011 Special Session

Relating to: creation of an authority, to be known as the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, and making appropriations.

Introduction.

Ayes, 5 – Senators S. Fitzgerald, Ellis, Gorthman, Miller and Hansen.

Noes, 0 – None.

Senate Bill 7, January 2011 Special Session

Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for small businesses.

Introduction.

Ayes, 5 – Senators S. Fitzgerald, Ellis, Gorthman, Miller and Hansen.

Noes, 0 - None.

SCOTT FITZGERALD
Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Olsen added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 1**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Spanbauer and Stone added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 1**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senators Olsen and Grothman added as coauthors of **Senate Bill 2**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Spanbauer and Stone added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 2**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Olsen added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 3**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Spanbauer and Stone added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 3**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Olsen added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 4**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Spanbauer and Stone added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 4**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Grothman added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 5**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Stone added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 5**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Loudenbeck withdrawn as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 1**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Loudenbeck withdrawn as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 3**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Loudenbeck withdrawn as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 4**.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read first time and referred:

Senate Bill 6, January 2011 Special Session

Relating to: creation of an authority, to be known as the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, and making appropriations.

By committee on Senate Organization, by request of Governor Scott Walker.

To committee on **Economic Development and Veterans** and Military Affairs.

Senate Bill 7, January 2011 Special Session

Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for small businesses.

By committee on Senate Organization, by request of Governor Scott Walker, Senator Moulton, and Representative Vos.

To committee on **Workforce Development, Small Business, and Tourism**.

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Grothman added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 1**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senators Kapanke, Schultz, Lazich, Vukmir, Leibham and Olsen added as coauthors of **Senate Bill 6**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Strachota, Ripp, Steineke, Thiesfeldt, Pridemore, Honadel, Spanbauer, Petryk and LeMahieu added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 6**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senators Moulton, Olsen, Leibham, Kedzie, Wirch, Vukmir, Lazich and Schultz added as coauthors of **Senate Bill 7**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Honadel, Steineke, Thiesfeldt, Pridemore, Strachota, Nass, Petryk, Spanbauer, LeMahieu, Vos and Ziegelbauer added as a cosponsors of **Senate Bill 7**.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator S. Fitzgerald, with unanimous consent, asked that the January 2011 Special Session of the Senate adjourn until Thursday, January 13, 2011.

11:12 A.M.

Adjourned.