Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 182

Relating to: assignment of income, prizes, and earnings to pay a municipal court judgment and prohibiting municipal electric or water utilities from collecting certain utility arrearages from owners of rental properties as property liens.

By Representatives Jacque, Litjens, Ballweg, Bies, Krug, LeMahieu, Nygren, Thiesfeldt and Weininger.

June 13, 2011 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

February 28, 2012 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Representatives Honadel, Klenke, Petersen,
		Tauchen, T. Larson, Weininger and Hulsey.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(4)	Representatives Severson, Zepnick, Steinbrink
		and Staskunas.

Appearances For

- Andre Jacque, Bellevue Rep., 2nd Assembly District
- David Bybee, Racine WI Apartment Association
- Rich Sommer, Stevens Point Sommer Property Management
- Nanette Rozelle, Greeville
- Dale Hicks, Janesville WI Apartment Assoc
- John Fischer, Wausau WI Apartment Assoc
- Jon Frickensmith, Mt. Pleasant Southern WI Landlords Assoc
- Paul Dries, Janesville Janesville Area Rental Properties Assoc (JARPA)
- Brandon Jacoby, Nekoosa
- Carol Kobya, Wisconsin Rapids
- Evan Harrison, Monona

Appearances Against

- Scott Meske, Sun Prairie Municipal Electric Utilities of WI
- Frank Miller, Cudahy WI Water Assoc
- Kim Halverson, Stevens Point Stevens Point Water & Wastewater

- Laurie Kobza, Madison Municipal Environmental Group Water Division (MEG)
- Keith Haas, Racine Racine Water
- Mark Johnson, La Crosse City of La Crosse
- Ken Bloomberg, Plover WI Rural Water Assoc.
- Dave Lawrence, Montello WI Rural Water Assoc
- Paul Lange, Watertown Watertown Water Dept.
- James Brooks, Evansville City of Evansville and Evansville Water & Light
- Dean Falkner, Mukwanago Mukwanago
- Daniel Duchniak, Waukesha

Appearances for Information Only

• Art Luetke

Registrations For

- Abigail Scieszinski, Janesville
- John Dorn, Racine SWLA
- Kelly Jensen, Franksville WI Apartment Assoc
- John Bickel, Beloit
- Gary Goyke, Madison WI Rental Housing Legislative Council
- Harrison Rozelle, Greenville
- Dave Pioro, Racine SWLA
- Jerome Zewen, Union Grove WI Apartments Assoc
- Gus Orozco, Kenosha WI Apartments Assoc
- Gary Shaw, Janeville WI Apartments Assoc

Registrations Against

- Nadine Walsten, Brooklyn
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of WI Municipalities
- Tom Moore, Madison WPPI Energy
- John Weidl, Princeton City of Princeton
- Jeremy Maurer, Oshkosh
- Janis Ringhand, Evansville Rep., 80th Assembly District
- Dave Benforado, Sun Prarie Municipal Electric Utilities of WI
- Travis Cooke, Trempealeau Trempealeau Municipal Utilities
- Brian Hoops, Stoughton Stoughton Utilities
- Sean Grady, Stoughton Stoughton Utilities
- Joseph Pacovsky, Marshfield Marshfield Utilities
- Jeff Peterson, Brodhead Brodhead Water & Light
- Rick Wicklund, Sun Prairie Sun Prairie Utilities
- Darnell Hendricks, Benton Benton Electric & Water Utility

- Joel Haubrich, Milwaukee We Energies
- Terrance Siglinsky, Fort Atkinson City of Fort Atkinson
- Jane Niggemann, South Milwaukee South Milwaukee Water Utility
- Douglas Fischer, South Milwaukee South Milwaukee Water Utility
- Joel Lemke, Stevens Point Stevens Point City Department of Public Works

Registrations for Information Only

- None.
- March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Jason Vick Committee Clerk