Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 23

Relating to: disinfection of municipal water supplies.

By Representatives Severson, Rivard, Ballweg, Bernier, Bies, Jacque, Krug, LeMahieu, Marklein, Mursau, Murtha, Thiesfeldt, Tiffany and Ziegelbauer; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Galloway, Moulton, Olsen, Schultz, Grothman and Holperin.

February 17, 2011 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

March 30, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, J. Ott, Severson, Steineke,

Tiffany, Mason, Molepske Jr, Danou, Clark,

Milroy and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Erik Severson, Madison Representative, 28th Assembly District
- Sheila Harsdorf, Madison Senator, 10th Senate District
- Louis Muench, Cumberland Cumberland Municipal Utility

Appearances Against

- Madeline Gotkowitz, Madison
- Mariah Clark, Middleton

Appearances for Information Only

- Ken Bradbury, Brooklyn
- Sarah Nunn, DePere Cumberland Utilities

Registrations For

- Jim Holperin, Madison Senator, 12th Senate District
- Curt Witynski, Madison League of Municipalities

Registrations Against

- Lori Grant, Madison River Alliance of Wisconsin
- Jennifer Giegerich, Madison Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters

- Penny Bernard Schaber, Madison Representative, 57th Assembly District
- Madeline Gotkowitz, Madison Mark Borchert
- Lynn Legler, Madison
- Maureen Early Ruzicka, Madison

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 27, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, J. Ott, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Mason, Molepske Jr, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Rivard, seconded by Representative Kleefisch that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, J. Ott, Severson, Steineke, Tiffany, Mason, Molepske Jr, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Kleefisch, seconded by Representative J. Ott that **Assembly Bill 23** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Mursau, Rivard, Williams, Kleefisch, Nerison, J. Ott, Severson, Steineke and Tiffany.

Noes: (6) Representatives Mason, Molepske Jr, Danou, Clark, Milroy and Hulsey.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Tim Gary Committee Clerk