Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 265

Relating to: the definition of bicycle; manual turn signals for bicyclists; lighting of bicycles, motor bicycles, and electric personal assistive mobility devices; overtaking and passing vehicles; the operation of bicycles equipped with metal-studded tires; and moped parking.

By Representatives Ripp, A. Ott, C. Taylor, Sinicki, Pocan, Ballweg, Bernier, Jorgensen, Spanbauer, Petrowski, Strachota, Vruwink, Roys, Zepnick, Tranel, Mursau, Stone, Brooks, Steinbrink and Kaufert; cosponsored by Senators Holperin, Grothman and Taylor.

September 16, 2011 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

September 27, 2011 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Keith Ripp Representative
- Arthur Ross City of Madison
- Michael Rewey Wisconsin Bike Federation Board
- Kevin Hardman Wisconsin Bike Federation
- Kevin Leuke Wisconsin Bike Federation

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Jim Holperin Senator
- Curtis Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 11, 2011 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott, Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley,

Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Doyle.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ripp, seconded by Representative Farrow that 1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,

Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard

Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Doyle.

Noes: (0) None.

1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ripp, seconded by Representative A. Ott that **Assembly Bill 265** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Petrowski, Farrow, A. Ott,

Stone, Van Roy, Honadel, Ripp, Endsley, Knilans, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Bernard Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and Doyle.

Schaber, Jorgensen, Bewley and

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Tim Fiocchi Committee Clerk