Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Homeland Security and State Affairs

Assembly Bill 329

Relating to: renaming the office of county treasurer in Milwaukee County, creating the elective office of county comptroller for Milwaukee County, transferring the duties of the Milwaukee County treasurer to that elective office, and expanding the duties and responsibilities of that office.

By Representatives Kooyenga, Honadel, Stone, Knodl, Zepnick, Craig and Kapenga; cosponsored by Senator Darling.

October 17, 2011 Referred to Committee on Homeland Security and State Affairs.

October 19, 2011 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (8) Representatives Van Roy, Kuglitsch, Ballweg, August, Kooyenga, Danou, Zamarripa and Bewley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dale Kooyenga Author
- Sen. Alberta Darling Senate Lead Author
- Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele Milwaukee County
- Patricia Najera Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
- Julie Taylor Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Charles Engberg Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Alonzo Kelly, Milwaukee himself

Appearances Against

- Milwaukee County Treasurer Daniel Diliberti Milwaukee County
- Supervisor Theo Lipscomb Milwaukee County Board Member
- Supervisor Eyon Biddle, Sr. Milwaukee County Board Member
- John Reinemann Wisconsin Counties Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Steve Marcus, Milwaukee Marcus Corp.
- Austin Ramirez, Milwaukee HUSCO International
- Maria Montreal Cameron Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
- Mike Jones Miller Coors
- Alma Montenegro, Milwaukee National Financial Corp.
- Steve Baas, Milwaukee MMAC
- Thomas Spero DeLoitte LLP
- Curt Culver MGIC Investment Corp.

Registrations Against

- Pam Reeves Wisconsin County Constitutional Officers
- John Grabel, AFSCME
- Kristi Chlebowski Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association
- Pam Reeves Wisconsin County Treasurers Association

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 15, 2012 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Tanya Hein Committee Clerk