Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Corrections

Assembly Bill 509

Relating to: the admissibility of hearsay evidence at a preliminary examination.

By Representatives Jacque, Bies, Craig, Krug and LeMahieu; cosponsored by Senators Grothman and Lazich.

February 01, 2012 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Corrections.

February 9, 2012 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (7) Representatives Bies, Jacque, Kestell, Brooks,

Thiesfeldt, Turner and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Kessler. Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

Appearances For

- Andre Jacque Rep., 2nd Assembly District
- Andrew Naze Kewaunee County DA's Office
- James Arb Green Bay Police Department
- Suzanne Beaudoin
- Gayle Patrow WI victim Witness Prof. & Crawford Co VW
- Adam Gerol WI DA's Association
- Tony Gibart WI Coalition Against Domestic Violence
- Christian Gossett Winnebago DA
- Jacalyn LaBre WI Narcotics Officers Association
- Pat Kenney Milwaukee County DA's Office

Appearances Against

- Zac Swingen Rep. Kessler
- Gerald Mowr WI Assoc of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Kelli Thompson State Public Defender

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- David Callender WI Counties Association
- John Keckhaver WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Alice O'Connor WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Jane Kohlweg Columbia Co DA's Office

- Mark Buetow Milw Police Association
- Michael Crivello Milwaukee Police Association
- Jordan Lamb Association of State Prosecutors
- J.B. Van Hollen A.G., WI Dept. of Justice
- Dave Mahoney Sheriff, Dane County Sheriff
- Glenn Grothman Sen., 20th Senate District
- Brad Schimel Waukesha County DA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 16, 2012 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Bies, Jacque, Kestell, Brooks, Krug, Thiesfeldt, Kessler, Turner and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Jacque, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 509** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Representatives Bies, Jacque, Brooks, Krug and Thiesfeldt.

Noes: (4) Representatives Kestell, Kessler, Turner and Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 4

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk