

1

 $\mathbf{2}$

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4, TO ASSEMBLY BILL 179

May 14, 2013 – Offered by Representative RICHARDS.

At the locations indicated, amend the bill as follows:

- 1. Page 1, line 2: after "contracts" insert "; audits of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation by the Legislative Audit Bureau; coverage of employees of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation under the state code of ethics; and staggered terms of office for appointed members of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation".
 - **2.** Page 2, line 1: before that line insert:
 - "Section 1d. 13.94 (1) (dr) of the statutes is amended to read:
- 13.94 (1) (dr) Biennially, beginning in 2013 Annually, conduct a financial audit of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation and, biennially, conduct a program evaluation audit of the economic development programs administered by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation under ch. 238. The legislative

audit bureau shall file a copy of each audit report under this paragraph with the distributees specified in par. (b).

SECTION 1h. 13.94 (1s) (c) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

13.94 (1s) (c) 5. The Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation for the cost of the audit audits required to be performed under sub. (1) (dr).

SECTION 1p. 19.42 (10) (sm) of the statutes is amended to read:

19.42 (10) (sm) The All employees of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation and the members of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation employed in the private sector who are appointed by the speaker of the assembly and the senate majority leader.

Section 1s. 238.02 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

238.02 (1) There is created an authority, which is a public body corporate and politic, to be known as the "Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation." The members of the board shall consist of the governor, who shall serve as chairperson of the board, and 6 members nominated by the governor, and with the advice and consent of the senate appointed, to serve at the pleasure of the governor for 3-year terms; 3 members appointed by the speaker of the assembly, consisting of one majority and one minority party representative to the assembly, appointed as are the members of standing committees in the assembly, and one person employed in the private sector, to serve at the speaker's pleasure for a 3-year term; and 3 members appointed by the senate majority leader, consisting of one majority and one minority party senator, appointed as are members of standing committees in the senate, and one person employed in the private sector, to serve at the majority leader's pleasure for a 3-year term. The secretary of administration and the secretary of revenue shall also serve on the board as nonvoting members.".

22

1	3. Page 2, line 1: delete "Section 1" and substitute "Section 1v".
2	4. Page 3, line 4: after that line insert:
3	"Section 2m. Nonstatutory provisions.
4	(1) Term limits and staggering of terms.
5	(a) The current members of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Economic
6	Development Corporation who are nominated by the governor shall no longer serve
7	at the pleasure of the governor but shall have terms expiring as follows:
8	1. The terms of 2 members, as determined by the governor, shall expire on July
9	1, 2013.
10	2. The terms of 2 members, as determined by the governor, shall expire on July
11	1, 2014.
12	3. The terms of 2 members, as determined by the governor, shall expire on July
13	1, 2015.
14	(b) The current member of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Economic
15	Development Corporation who is employed in the private sector and appointed by the
16	speaker of the assembly shall no longer serve at the pleasure of the speaker of the
17	assembly but shall have a term expiring on July 1, 2013.
18	(c) The current member of the board of directors of the Wisconsin Economic
19	Development Corporation who is employed in the private sector and appointed by the
20	senate majority leader shall no longer serve at the pleasure of the senate majority
21	leader but shall have a term expiring on July 1, 2014.".

(END)