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Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
PROPOSAL FOR LEGISLATIVE ACTION
Date: February 8, 2013
Working Title of Act: Fair Licensing Fees for New Food Businesses

Statute Sections affected by action: Dairy plants, s. 97.20, Wis. Stats.; Food warehouses, s. 97.27, Wis.
Stats.; Food processing plants, s. 97.29, Wis. Stats.; Retail food establishments, s. 97.30, Wis. Stats.; and
Compulsory inspection of animals, poultry and carcasses, s. 97.42, Wis. Stats.

Description of action, i.e. create new section; amend existing section, repeal and recreate existing
section: Amend ss. 97.20(2)(a), 97.27(2), 97.29(2)(a), 97.30(2)(a), and 97.42(2)}{a), Wis. Stats.

Plain-language description of what action does: This statutory change would extend the licensing
period from one year to up to 15 months for new food processing plants, dairy plants, retail food
establishments, food warehouses, and meat establishments receiving an initial food license within three
months prior to the license’s annual expiration date. Each food-related license administered by
Wisconsin’s Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) expires annually on a
specified date. For example, all food processing plant licenses expire on March 31* each year and all
retail food establishment licenses expire on June 30™.

Maintaining a single expiration date for each license type simplifies the licensing renewal process and
minimizes licensing administration costs. New owners of food-related businesses must pay the full
annual license fee when they apply for a new license and then must renew the license and pay the
annual fee for the following year’s license on the expiration date. License fees are not prorated for
establishments that are in business for a partial year. Business owners that apply for a new license for a
food establishment shortly before the license expiration date are responsible for paying the total, non-
prorated annual fee for the remaining portion of the year they establish the business, as well as the
renewal fee once the license expires. If adopted, this proposal would create a statutory requirement
that new licenses issued within three months of a license expiration date will be valid until the
expiration date of the following year, for a maximum of 15 months beginning on the date a license is
issued. This would be a one-time exemption for new licenses only.

Relationship of this action to any relevant federal laws or regulations: There is no relationship to
federal laws and regulations. Food processing plants, dairy plants, food warehouses, and state-
inspected meat and poultry plants are licensed by the state. Retail food establishments are licensed at
either the state or local level. Food processing plants, dairy plants, and food warehouses are required to
register as food facilities with the US Food and Drug Administration, but there is no fee associated with
this registration.

Fiscal effect on WDATCP: This action will result in a small decrease in fee revenue which will be offset
by a slight reduction in administrative time spent on processing license renewals. We anticipate 50 -
100 new licenses each year would benefit from this fee change.



Statutory changes:

Sections 97.20(2)(a), 97.27(2), 97.29(2)(a), 97.30(2)(a), and 97.42(2)(a), Wis. Stats. would be amended as
follows:

97.20(2) DAIRY PLANT LICENSE.

(a)License requirement. Except as provided in par. (e), no person, including this state, may operate a
dairy plant without a valid license issued by the department for that dairy plant. A dairy plant license
expires on April 30 annually and is not transferable between persons or locations. A new license issued
on or after January 30th will expire on April 30th of the following year.

97.27(2) LICENSE REQUIRED. No person may operate a food warehouse without a valid license issued
by the department for the food warehouse. A food warehouse license expires on June 30 annually. A
new license issued on or after March 30th will expire on June 30th of the following year. Every food
warehouse shall have a separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or food
warehouse locations. Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department and
shall be accompanied by applicable fees required under sub. (3). An application shall include information
reasonably required by the department for licensing purposes.

97.29(2) LICENSE.

(a)Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may operate a food processing plant
without a valid license issued by the department for that food processing plant. A license expires on
March 31 annually. A new license issued on or after January 1st will expire on March 31* of the
following year. Each food processing plant shall have a separate license. A license is not transferable
between persons or locations. Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the
department and be accompanied by the applicable fees required under sub. (3). An applicant shall
identify the categories of food processing activities which the applicant proposes to conduct at the food
processing plant. An application shall include additional information which may reasonably be required
by the department for licensing purposes.

97.30(2) LICENSE.

(a)Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may operate a retail food
establishment without a valid license issued by the department or an agent city or county. Licenses
expire on June 30 annually. A new license issued on or after March 30" will expire on June 30" of the
following year. Each retail food establishment shall have a separate license. A license is not transferable
between persons or establishments. Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the
department, or by the agent city or county, and be accompanied by the applicable fees required under
sub. (3) or s. 97.41. An application shall indicate whether food processing is conducted at the
establishment and shall specify the nature of any food processing activities. An application shall include
other information reasonably required by the department, or by the agent city or county, for licensing
purposes.

97.42(2) LICENSE; CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION.

(a) No person may operate an establishment as defined in sub. (1) (d) without a valid license issued
by the department for each such establishment. That license expires on June 30 annually. A new license
issued on or after March 30" will expire on June 30" of the following vear. No license may be issued
unless the applicant has complied with the requirements of this section. The annual license fee is $200,




except the annual license fee shall be $80 for those establishments engaged only in slaughtering
uninspected animals or poultry or processing uninspected meat as a custom service, and not in other
operations subject to a license under this section. No person may be required to obtain a license under
s. 97.29 or 97.30 for activities licensed under this section or which is inspected under 21 USC 451 to 695.
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Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection issues annual licenses for dairy plants, food warehouses, food processing
plants, retail food establishments, and meat establishments (places where animals
are slaughtered for human consumption or where meat is processed). An applicant
for a license must pay an annual license fee. There is a uniform expiration date for
each kind of facility, for example, all dairy plant licenses expire on April 30. When
a license is issued for a new facility during a license year, the license is valid only until
the uniform expiration date, that is, for less than one year.

Under this bill, if a license for a new dairy plant, food warehouse, food
processing plant, retail food establishment, or meat establishment is issued within
three months of the uniform expiration date for the kind of facility, the license is valid
until the uniform expiration date in the next calendar year, that is, for up to 15
months.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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1 SECTION 1. 97.23‘ (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.20 (2) (a) License requirement. Except as provided in par. (e), no person,
including this state, may operate a dairy plant without a valid license issued by the
department for that dairy plant. A dairy plant license expires on April 30 annually

that a license issued for a new dairy plant on or r January 30 bu

before May 1 expires on April 30 of the following vear. A dai lant license is not

<~ O ot s W N

transferable between persons or locations.

History: 1971 c. 125, 156, 211; 1975 c. 39, 199; 19g7 c. 203 5. 106; 1979 c. 257; 1983 a. 189, 203; 1987 a. 27, 399; 1989 a. 31, 174; 1991 a. 39, 269; 1993 a. 27; 2001 a.
16; 2011 a. 195.

8 SECTION 2. 97.27 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

9 97.27 (2) LICENSE REQUIRED. No person may operate a food warehouse without
10 a valid license issued by the department for the food warehouse. A food warehouse
11 license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new food
12 warehouse on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the following
13 year. Every food warehouse shall have a separate license. A license is not
14 transferable between persons or food warehouse locations. Application for a license
15 shall be made on a form provided by the department and shall be accompanied by
16 applicable fees required under sub. (3). An application shall include information
17 reasonably required by the department for licensing purposes.

18 s B aégl’;:é%i‘gla()g4éggl§’3; égi(gé”)a(g) of the statutes is amended to read:
19 97.29 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may
20 operate a food processing plant without a valid license issued by the department for

21 that food processing plant. A license expires on March 31 annually, except that a
22 license issued for a new food processing plant on or after January 30 but before M
23 1 expires on April 30 of the following year. Each food processing plant shall have a

24 separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or locations.
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1 Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department and be

accompanied by the applicable fees required under sub. (3). An applicant shall

identify the categories of food processing activities which the applicant proposes to

2

3

4 conduct at the food processing plant. An application shall include additional
5 information which may reasonably be required by the department for licensing
6

purposes.

History: 1987 a. 399; 1989 a. 31; 1989 a. 56 5. 25*1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 27, 264; 1995 a. 460; 1997 a. 27; 2001 a. 16; 2009 a. 101.

SECTION 4. 97.30 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

8 97.30 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may

9 operate a retail food establishment without a valid license issued by the department
10 or an agent city or county. Licenses expire on June 30 annually, except that a license
11 issued for a new retail food establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1
12 expires on June 30 of the following vear. Each retail food establishment shall have
13 a separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or establishments.
14 Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department, or by
15 the agent city or county, and be accompanied by the applicable fees required under
16 sub. (8) or s. 97.41. An application shall indicate whether food processing is
17 conducted at the establishment and shall specify the nature of any food processing
18 activities. An application shall include other information reasonably required by the
19 department, or by the agent city or county, for licensing purposes.
20 " Ghotion B, §7.42 (3) () of the statutes 1é amended to reads
21 97.42 (2) (a) No person may operate an establishment as defined in sub. (1) (d)
22 without a valid license issued by the department for each such establishment. That
23 license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new

24 establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the
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1 following year. No license may be issued unless the applicant has complied with the

requirements of this section. The annual license fee is $200, except the annual
license fee shall be $80 for those establishments engaged only in slaughtering
uninspected animals or poultry or processing uninspected meat as a custom service,
and not in other operations subject to a license under this section. No person may

be required to obtain a license under s. 97.29 or 97.30 for activities licensed under

=2 O v s W N

this section or which is inspected under 21 USC 451 to 695.

History: 1971 c. 270 s. 104; 1973 c. 206; 1975 c. 308, 421; 1977 c. 196 5. 131; 1977 c. 216, 365; 1979 c. 110, 154; 1981 ¢. 314; 1983 a. 189, 261; 1983 a. 500 5. 44; 1985
a. 29; 1987 a. 399; 1989 a. 174; 1991 a. 39, 175, 269; 1993 a. 16, 27, 144, 492; 1995 a. 79, 225; 1999 a. 9, 185; 2001 a. 56.

8 (END)
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From:

Attachments:

Becky,

Daniels, Cheryl F - DATCP <Cheryl.Daniels@wisconsin.gov>

Wednesday, September 11, 2013 2:15 PM

Tradewell, Becky

Moll, Keeley A - DATCP; Meany, David V - DATCP; Ingham, Steve C - DATCP
LRB 1578/1 Licensing periods

13-1578_1 (2).pdf

There is one modification that needs to be made to the attached draft. There is one correction to make in Section 3 for s. 97.29,
Stats. There are wrong dates for the period of license coverage. It should read “A license expires on March 31 annually, except that
a license issued for a new food processing plant on or after January 1 but before April 1 expires on March 31 of the following year.”

Otherwise, this one is also good to go. Thank you very much for your work on all of these. Cheryl

Cheryl Furstace Daniels
Assistant Legal Counsel

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,

Trade and Consumer Protection and

Livestock Facility Siting Review Board

2811 Agriculture Dr., Madison WI 53708-8911

608-224-5026
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AN ACT to amend 97.20 (2) (), 97.27 (2), 97.29 (2) (a), 97.30 (2) (a) and 97.42 (2)

(a) of the statutes; relating to: licenses for new dairy plants, food warehouses,

food processing plants, retail food establishments, and meat establishments.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection issues annual licenses for dairy plants, food warehouses, food processing
plants, retail food establishments, and meat establishments (places where animals
are slaughtered for human consumption or where meat is processed). An applicant
for a license must pay an annual license fee. There is a uniform expiration date for
each kind of facility, for example, all dairy plant licenses expire on April 30. When
a license is issued for a new facility during a license year, the license is valid only until
the uniform expiration date, that is, for less than one year.

Under this bill, if a license for a new dairy plant, food warehouse, food
processing plant, retail food establishment, or meat establishment is issued within
three months of the uniform expiration date for the kind of facility, the license is valid
until the uniform expiration date in the next calendar year, that is, for up to 15
months.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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v
SECTION 1. 97.20 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.20 (2) (a) License requirement. Except as provided in par. (e), no person,
including this state, may operate a dairy plant without a valid license issued by the
department for that dairy plant. A dairy plant license expires on April 30 annually

and, except that a license issued for a new dairy plant on or after January 30 but

before May 1 expires on April 30 of the following year. A dairy plant license is not

transferable between persons or locations.
v
SECTION 2. 97.27 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
97.27 (2) LICENSE REQUIRED. No person may operate a food warehouse without

a valid license issued by the department for the food warehouse. A food warehouse

license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new food

warehouse on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the following

vear. Every food warehouse shall have a separate license. A license is not
transferable between persons or food warehouse locations. Application for a license
shall be made on a form provided by the department and shall be accompanied by
applicable fees required under sub. (3). An application shall include information
reasonably required by the department for licensing purposes.

SECTION 3. 97 .29"(2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.29 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may

operate a food processing plant without a valid license issued by the department for

: % Mereh 31 ]
1 expires on of the following vear. Each food processing plant shall have a

separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or locations.

Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department and be
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BILL SECTION 3

accompanied by the applicable fees required under sub. (3). An applicant shall
identify the categories of food processing activities which the applicant proposes to
conduct at the food processing plant. An application shall include additional
information which may reasonably be requiréd by the department for licensing
purposes.
X

SECTION 4. 97.30 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.30 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may
operate a retail food establishment without a valid license issued by the department

or an agent city or county. Licenses expire on June 30 annually, except that a license

issued for a new retail food establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1

expires on June 30 of the following vear. Each retail food establishment shall have

a separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or establishments.
Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department, or by
the agent city or county, and be accompanied by the applicable fees required under
sub. (3) or s. 97.41. An application shall indicate whether food processing is
conducted at the establishment and shall specify the nature of any food processing
aétivities. An application shall include other information reasonably required by the
department, or by the agent city or county, for licensing purposes.

SECTION 5. 97.42K(2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.42 (2) (a) No person may operate an establishment as defined in sub. (1) (d)

without a valid license issued by the department for each such establishment. That

license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new
establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the
following year. No license may be issued unless the applicant has complied with the

requirements of this section. The annual license fee is $200, except the annual
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license fee shall be $80 for those establishments engaged only in slaughtering
uninspected animals or poultry or processing uninspected meat as a custom service,
and not in other operations subject to a license under this section. No person may
be required to obtain a license under s. 97.29 or 97.30 for activities licensed under
this section or which is inspected under 21 USC 451 to 695.

(END)
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From: Barman, Mike

Sent: Friday, September 20, 2013 9:22 AM

To: Tradewell, Becky

Ce: Daniels, Cheryl F - DATCP

Subject: RE: Bills (already jacketed)

When I went to pull the files to jacket the drafts attached to Cheryl's email (09/20/2013) I discovered that LRB-
3137 had already been jacketed for the Senate and LRB-1574 and LRB-1578 had already been jacketed for the
Assembly (per RCT's instructions). Both are ready for pick-up.

From: Barman, Mike

Sent: Friday, September 20, 2013 9:08 AM
To: Tradewell, Becky

Cc: Daniels, Cheryl F - DATCP

Subject: FW: Bills

Becky & Cheryl,
We will go ahead and jacket these three drafts for the Senate ... they will be ready for pick-up later this morning.

Have companion bills (duplicate drafts with new LRB numbers) been drafted?
The companions should be tagged to be jacketed for the Assembly.

Thanks,

Mike Barman (Lead Program Assistant)
State of Wisconsin - Legislative Reference Bureau - Legal Section - Front Office
1 East Main Street, Suite 200, Madison, WI 53703

(608) 266-3561 / mike.barman @legis.wisconsin.gov

From: Daniels, Cheryl F - DATCP [mailto:Cheryl.Daniels@wisconsin.gov]

Sent: Friday, September 20, 2013 8:57 AM

To: LRB.Legal

Cc: Moll, Keeley A - DATCP; Ingham, Steve C - DATCP; Meany, David V - DATCP
Subject: Bills

We believe all of these are fine for jacketing. Again, we would like them jacketed for both houses. Thank you very much.

Cheryl Furstace Daniels

Assistant Legal Counsel

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture,

Trade and Consumer Protection and

Livestock Facility Siting Review Board

2811 Agriculture Dr., Madison WI 53708-8911
608-224-5026
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AN ACT to amend 97.20 (2) (a), 97.27 (2), 97.29 (2) (a), 97.30 (2) (a) and 97.42 (2)

(a) of the statutes; relating to: licenses for new dairy plants, food warehouses,

food processing plants, retail food establishments, and meat establishments.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Under current law, the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection issues annual licenses for dairy plants, food warehouses, food processing
plants, retail food establishments, and meat establishments (places where animals
are slaughtered for human consumption or where meat is processed). An applicant
for a license must pay an annual license fee. There is a uniform expiration date for
each kind of facility, for example, all dairy plant licenses expire on April 30. When
a license is issued for a new facility during a license year, the license is valid only until
the uniform expiration date, that is, for less than one year.

Under this bill, if a license for a new dairy plant, food warehouse, food
processing plant, retail food establishment, or meat establishment is issued within
three months of the uniform expiration date for the kind of facility, the license is valid
until the uniform expiration date in the next calendar year, that is, for up to 15
months.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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SECTION 1. 97.20 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.20 (2) (a) License requirement. Except as provided in par. (e), no person,
including this state, may operate a dairy plant without a valid license issued by the
department for that dairy plant. A dairy plant license expires on April 30 annually

and, except that a license issued for a new dairy plant on or after January 30 but

before May 1 expires on April 30 of the following year. A dairy plant license is not

transferable between persons or locations.

SECTION 2. 97.27 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.27 (2) LICENSE REQUIRED. No person may operate a food warehouse without
a valid license 1ssued by the department for the food warehouse. A food warehouse

license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new food

warehouse on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the following

year. Every food warehouse shall have a separate license. A license is not
transferable between persons or food warehouse locations. Application for a license
shall be made on a form provided by the department and shall be accompanied by
applicable fees required under sub. (3). An application shall include information
reasonably required by the department for licensing purposes.

SECTION 3. 97.29 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

97.29 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may
operate a food processing plant without a valid license issued by the department for
that food processing plant. A license expires on March 31 annually, except that a

1
license issued for a new food processing plant on or after January @%Egut before April

1 expires on March 31 of the following year. Each food processing plant shall have

a separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or locations.

Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department and be
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1 accompanied by the applicable fees required under sub. (3). An applicant shall

2 identify the categories of food processing activities which the applicant proposes to

3 conduct at the food processing plant. An application shall include additional

4 information which may reasonably be required by the department for licensing

5 purposes.

6 SECTION 4. 97.30 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

7 97.30 (2) (a) Requirement. Except as provided under par. (b), no person may

8 operate a retail food establishment without a valid license issued by the department

9 or an agent city or county. Licenses expire on June 30 annually, except that a license
10 issued for a new retail food establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1
11 expires on June 30 of the following year. Each retail food establishment shall have
12 a separate license. A license is not transferable between persons or establishments.
13 Application for a license shall be made on a form provided by the department, or by
14 the agent city or county, and be accompanied by the applicable fees required under
15 sub. (3) or s. 97.41. An application shall indicate whether food processing is
16 conducted at the establishment and shall specify the nature of any food processing
17 activities. An application shall include other information reasonably required by the
18 department, or by the agent city or county, for licensing purposes.
19 SECTION 5. 97.42 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
20 97.42 (2) (a) No person may operate an establishment as defined in sub. (1) (d)
21 without a valid license issued by the department for each such establishment. That
22 license expires on June 30 annually, except that a license issued for a new

23 establishment on or after March 30 but before July 1 expires on June 30 of the
24 following year. No license may be issued unless the applicant has complied with the

25 requirements of this section. The annual license fee is $200, except the annual
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1 license fee shall be $80 for those establishments engaged only in slaughtering
2 uninspected animals or poultry or processing uninspected meat as a custom service,
3 and not in other operations subject to a license under this section. No person may
4 be required to obtain a license under s. 97.29 or 97.30 for activities licensed under
5 this section or which is inspected under 21 USC 451 to 695.
6 (END)
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When I reviewed the previous version of this draft, I realized that I had not changed
the dates in s. 97.29 (2) (a) correctly. Once this redraft is submitted, I will prepare the
companion version and have it jacketed for the Senate.

Rebecca C. Tradewell

Managing Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-7290

E-mail: becky.tradewell@legis.wisconsin.gov
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When I reviewed the previous version of this draft, I realized that I had not changed
the dates in s. 97.29 (2) (a) correctly. Once this redraft is submitted, I will prepare the
companion version and have it jacketed for the Senate.

Rebecca C. Tradewell

Managing Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-7290

E-mail: becky.tradewell@legis.wisconsin.gov




