

# STATE OF WISCONSIN Assembly Journal

# **One-Hundred and First Regular Session**

## 6:33 P.M.

TUESDAY, January 15, 2013

The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.

Speaker Pro Tempore Kramer in the Chair.

Representative Suder asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.

The prayer was offered by Representative LeMahieu.

Representative Billings led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

The roll was taken.

The result follows:

Present - Representatives August, Ballweg, Barca, Barnes, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Born, Brooks, Clark, Craig, Czaja, Danou, Endsley, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Honadel, Hulsey, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knodl, Knudson, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, J. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Richards, Riemer, Ringhand, Ripp, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Smith, Spiros, Steineke, Stone, Strachota, Stroebel, Suder, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Vruwink, Wachs, Weatherston, Weininger, Williams, Wright, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick and Speaker Vos - 93.

Absent with leave - Representatives Doyle, Pasch, Pridemore, Severson and Tranel - 5.

Vacancies - 98th Assembly District - 1.

Speaker Vos in the chair.

#### LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Representative Ballweg asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Pridemore, Severson and Tranel. Granted.

Representative Jorgensen asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Doyle and Pasch. Granted.

#### **Message from the Senate**

From: Jeffrey Renk, Senate Chief Clerk.

Mr. Speaker:

I am directed to inform you that the Senate has

Concurred in: Assembly Joint Resolution 1

Speaker Vos appointed Representatives Swearingen and Wright to escort Governor Scott Walker from his office to the Asembly Chamber.

The Assembly stood informal.

Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of the Honorable Justices of the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of the members of the Wisconsin State Senate.

#### **JOINT CONVENTION**

The houses went into joint convention.

Senate President Ellis presiding.

Senator Ellis recognized the presence of Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley, Justice N. Patrick Crooks, Justice David T. Prosser, Jr., Justice Patience Drake Roggensack and Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler of the Wisconsin Supreme Court; Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen and Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers.

Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms Anne Tonnon Byers announced the arrival of Governor Scott Walker.

Escorted by Senators Gudex and Erpenbach, and Representatives Swearingen and Wright, Governor Scott Walker took his place at the rostrum to deliver his state of the state address.

Pursuant to Joint Rule 73, the governor's message is printed in the Senate journal only.

Representative Suder moved that the joint convention arise.

The question was: Shall the joint convention arise? Motion carried.

7:42 P.M.

The Assembly reconvened.

Speaker Vos in the chair.

### ADJOURNMENT

Representative Suder moved that the Assembly stand adjourned pursuant to **Senate Joint Resolution 1**.

The question was: Shall the Assembly stand adjourned? Motion carried.

The Assembly stood adjourned.

7:43 P.M.