STATE OF WISCONSIN Senate Journal

One-Hundred and First Regular Session

TUESDAY, February 19, 2013

The Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read and referred:

Senate Joint Resolution 11

Relating to: recognizing Black History Month.

By Senators Harris, Taylor, Carpenter, Erpenbach, C. Larson, Hansen, Lehman, Wirch, T. Cullen, Vinehout, Lassa, Risser, Shilling, Miller and Jauch; cosponsored by Representatives Goyke, Barnes, Johnson, Young, Zamarripa, Pasch, Sargent, Barca, Bewley, Mason, Milroy, Jorgensen, Kolste, Genrich, Hintz, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Ringhand, Pope, Wachs, Hebl and Ohnstad.

To committee on Senate Organization.

Read first time and referred:

Senate Bill 27

Relating to: the authority and responsibilities of the Legislative Audit Bureau and state auditor, eliminating certain expired audit requirements, and requiring confidentiality during investigations of reports made to the state fraud, waste, and mismanagement hotline.

By Joint Legislative Audit Committee.

To Joint Legislative Audit Committee.

Senate Bill 28

Relating to: payment of unemployment insurance benefits under a work-sharing program.

By Senators Lassa, Taylor, Hansen, Harris and Lehman; cosponsored by Representatives Pasch, Berceau, Zepnick, Hulsey, Wright, Sinicki, Bewley, Ohnstad, Kahl, Shankland and Milroy.

To committee on Workforce Development, Forestry, Mining, and Revenue.

Senate Bill 29

Relating to: creating an off-road vehicle council.

By Senators Leibham, Petrowski, Taylor, Gudex, Harsdorf, Lassa, Moulton, Tiffany and Vinehout; cosponsored by Representatives Severson, Czaja, Ripp, Bies, Brooks, Endsley, Kestell, Murtha and LeMahieu.

To committee on **Transportation**, **Public Safety**, and **Veterans and Military Affairs**.

Senate Bill 30

Relating to: prohibiting the Milwaukee Public Schools from imposing residency requirements on teachers.

By Senators Darling, Olsen, Vukmir, Farrow, Lazich, Kedzie, Tiffany and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Kestell, Knodl, Strachota, Kooyenga, Jagler, J. Ott, Sanfelippo, Kleefisch, Kramer, LeMahieu, Honadel, Kuglitsch, Pridemore, Stroebel, T. Larson, Thiesfeldt, Bies, Brooks, Marklein, Kerkman, Stone, Hutton and Petersen.

To committee on **Education**.

Senate Bill 31

Relating to: creating a local freight bridge program, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Petrowski, Tiffany, Jauch and Shilling; cosponsored by Representatives Ripp, Bernier, Billings, Brooks, Doyle, Endsley, Krug, Marklein, Mursau, A. Ott and Spiros.

To committee on **Transportation**, **Public Safety**, and **Veterans and Military Affairs**.

Senate Bill 32

Relating to: age and speed restrictions on, and safety certification requirements for, the operation of all-terrain vehicles and utility terrain vehicles.

By Senators Leibham, Petrowski and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Severson, Ripp, Bies, Brooks, Czaja, Endsley, Kestell and Murtha.

To committee on **Transportation**, **Public Safety**, and **Veterans and Military Affairs**.

Senate Bill 33

Relating to: employment by a former member of the legislature as a lobbyist.

By Senators Lehman, Lassa, Risser and Harris; cosponsored by Representatives Wachs, Milroy, Hebl, Jorgensen, Ohnstad, Pope, Berceau and Brooks.

To committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications.

Senate Bill 34

Relating to: sales and property tax exemptions for property used by commercial radio and television stations.

By Senators Grothman, Lasee, Hansen, Kedzie, Petrowski, T. Cullen, Schultz, Leibham, Vukmir, Gudex, Olsen and Shilling; cosponsored by Representatives Kleefisch, Jacque, Strachota, Tittl, Petryk, Jorgensen, Doyle, A. Ott, Nerison, Bies, Brooks, Nass, Thiesfeldt, Suder, Jagler, Weatherston, Wright, Zepnick, Murphy, Stone, LeMahieu, Mason, Hulsey, Tranel, Sinicki, Endsley, Pridemore and Kessler.

To committee on Workforce Development, Forestry, Mining, and Revenue.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Economic Development and Local Government** reports and recommends:

Assembly Bill 2

Relating to: extending the expenditure period for a tax incremental district in the city of Marinette.

Concurrence.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Gudex, Petrowski, Leibham, Lassa and Taylor.

Noes: 0.

Senate Bill 21

Relating to: extending the expenditure period for a tax incremental district in the city of Marinette.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Gudex, Petrowski, Leibham, Lassa and Taylor.

Noes: 0.

RICHARD GUDEX

Chairperson

Committee on Economic Development and Local Government

The committee on **Government Operations**, **Public Works**, and **Telecommunications** reports and recommends:

Senate Bill 10

Relating to: methods of providing assistance under the Clean Water Fund Program and the Safe Drinking Water Loan Program and projects that are eligible for assistance under the Clean Water Fund Program.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 7 - Senators Farrow, Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Noes: 0.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 7 - Senators Farrow, Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Noes: 0.

PAUL FARROW Chairperson Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

The committee on Senate Organization reports:

Waived the public hearing requirement, pursuant to Senate rule 18(1m) for the following proposal:

Assembly Bill 3

Ayes: 5 - Senators S. Fitzgerald, Ellis, Grothman, C. Larson and Hansen.

Noes: 0 - None.

Placed the following appointments and proposals on the Senate Calendar of Wednesday, February 20, 2013:

Dennis Badtke Debra Beres Dr. Mary Capodice Thomas Chwala Greg Collins Susan Crane Rodney Erickson Larry Erickson Jeffery Giesking **Allison Gordon Cathy Gorst Michael Grebe Reed Hall David Hoffman** Erik Johnson **Thomas Komp Elizabeth Krueger Franklin LaDien Patrick Lawton Dale Mayo Jeffrey Miller Thomas Murphy Kevin Nicholson** Lillian Nolan Kristine O Meara Sue Rupnow **Karen Schroeder** Patricia Schumacher William Van Sant Lee Van Zeeland Sridhar Vasudevan **Rolf Wegenke Dr. Timothy Westlake** John Wheeler **Neil Wiselev Russell Yale Alexandra Agar Senate Joint Resolution 8 Senate Joint Resolution 11** Senate Bill 10 **Assembly Joint Resolution 2 Assembly Joint Resolution 3 Assembly Joint Resolution 4 Assembly Joint Resolution 6 Assembly Joint Resolution 7 Assembly Bill 3**

Ayes: 5 - Senators S. Fitzgerald, Ellis, Grothman, C. Larson and Hansen. Noes: 0 - None. SCOTT FITZGERALD Chairperson Committee on Senate Organization

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Cullen added as a co-sponsor of **Assembly Bill 3**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Jacque added as a co-sponsor of **Senate Bill 24**.

State of Wisconsin Office of the Senate Majority Leader

February 18, 2013

The Honorable, the Senate:

Pursuant to Section 234.02(1) Wisconsin Statutes, I am appointing Senator Tim Cullen to the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Sincerely, SCOTT FITZGERALD Chair, Committee on Senate Organization