## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

## **Assembly Bill 206**

Relating to: special registration plates displaying the words Choose Life and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Jacque, Tittl, Bies, Born, Endsley, Kleefisch, Kooyenga, Murphy, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Spiros, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Pridemore and Weininger; cosponsored by Senators Lazich, Schultz, Leibham and Grothman.

May 17, 2013 Referred to Committee on Transportation

## September 24, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard

Schaber, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (5) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, T. Larson,

Vruwink and Doyle.

## Appearances For

- Andre Jacque Representative
- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference
- Heather Weininger Wisconsin Right to Life
- Julaine Appling Choose Life Wisconsin, Inc.
- Matt Sande Pro-Life Wisconsin

#### Appearances Against

- Nora Cusack Women's Medical Fund
- Tom Kastle
- Jane Jinmaleh

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### **Registrations For**

• Mary Lazich

## Registrations Against

- Jo Anna Pautsch
- Martina Rippon
- Karen Kendrick-Hands
- Dayna Long Wisconsin National Association

- Jo Vukelich
- James Murray
- Prentice Borge
- Will Gruber
- Steve Shirshare
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- David Wolfe
- David Koene
- Deb Schmitt
- Robert Liska
- Chris Taylor Representative
- Irwing Smith
- Scott Ross
- Kelley Albrecht
- Bill Dunn
- Sharon Nash
- Kathleen Driscoll
- Amanda Groves
- Michael Kissick
- Brian Standing
- Ryan Conner
- Nadine Wright
- Katherine Berkvam
- Angela Kirst
- Thomas Kozbusky
- Rose Jorenby
- Nancy McCulley
- Lucienne Klipstein
- Sarah Wagner
- Josh Brown
- Daniel Young
- Oscar Johnson
- Anica Bausch
- Lisa Wells
- Wendi Kent
- Craig Wilson
- Stephan Spera
- Beverly Shymanski
- Robert Syring
- Ronald Cook
- Deena Brazy
- Kathy Miner
- Paula Mohan
- Linde Roberson

- Charles Uphoff
- Gregory Gelembiuk
- Deborah Nelson
- David Knutzen
- Betty Knutzen
- Angela Belt
- Melissa Jelonek
- Elaine Pridgen
- Kate Nolan
- Betty Weynand
- DW Wanberg
- Lauryn Seering
- Dianna Haskins
- Sarah Przybylski
- Michelle Michalak
- Emma Collins
- Jean Sielaff
- Peppi Elder
- Genie Ogden
- Whitney Steffen
- Katy Reeder

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## October 01, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (11) Representative Ripp; Representatives

Thiesfeldt, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and

Kolste.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Spiros, Endsley, T. Larson and

Doyle.

November 12, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Ripp; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley,
T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Doyle,
Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Bernard Schaber that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou and Kolste.

Noes: (1) Representative Kaufert.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou and Kolste.

Noes: (7) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson and Kaufert.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 3** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou and Kolste.

Noes: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Bernard Schaber, seconded by Representative Kolste that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou and Kolste.

Noes: (7) Representative Ripp; Representatives Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson and Kaufert.

Absent: (3) Representatives Thiesfeldt, Vruwink and Riemer.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 7

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Larson that **Assembly Bill 206** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Ripp; Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T. Larson and Kaufert.

Noes: (5) Representatives Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.

Absent: (1) Representative Vruwink.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Elisabeth Portz Committee Clerk