Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 258

Relating to: maintenance and removal of vegetation obstructing the view of outdoor advertising signs along highways under the jurisdiction of the Department of Transportation.

By Representatives Honadel, Ballweg, Bernier, Bies, Brooks, Doyle, Jacque, Kolste, T. Larson, LeMahieu, A. Ott, Ripp, Spiros, Stone, Thiesfeldt and Weatherston; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Farrow and Hansen.

June 28, 02013 Referred to Committee on Transportation

August 13, 2013 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Ripp; Representatives
		Thiesfeldt, Spiros, Sanfelippo, Endsley, T.
		Larson, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber,
		Doyle, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives A. Ott and Vruwink.

Appearances For

- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Mark Rausch Clear Channel Outdoor

Appearances Against

• Charles Weeth - Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Tom Tiffany Senator
- Kurt Weis Lamar, Milwaukee
- Rich Reinart Lamar Advertising of Central Wisconsin
- Chet Gerlach Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attraction
- Trisha Pugal Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Don Snyder Lamar Advertising
- Jerry Falvey Clear Channel Outdoor
- Jane Sweasy Jag Outdoor
- Bren Hartinger Hartland Outdoor
- Brad Yarmark Lamar Advertising

- Ray TenPas TenPas Sign Company
- Keith Carson Fairway Outdoor
- Jason Saari Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Barbara Campbell Lamar Advertising
- Randy Brice CBS Outdoor
- Edward Lump Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Matt Hauser WI Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association
- Tom Howells WI Motor Carriers Association
- Michelle Kussow WI Grocers Association
- Romy Snyder Wisconsin Dells Visitor and Convention Bureau
- Douglas Johnson Midwest Hardware Association

Registrations Against

• Gary Gotke - Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

August 27, 2013 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Ripp; Representatives
		Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Endsley,
		T. Larson, Kaufert, Stone, Bernard Schaber,
		Doyle, Danou and Kolste.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Vruwink and Riemer.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Stone that **Assembly Bill 258** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(12)	Representative Ripp; Representatives
		Thiesfeldt, Spiros, A. Ott, Sanfelippo,
		Endsley, T. Larson, Kaufert, Stone, Doyle,
		Danou and Kolste.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Bernard Schaber.
A 1 ($\langle \mathbf{O} \rangle$	

Absent: (2) Representatives Vruwink and Riemer.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Elisabeth DeBeck Committee Clerk