Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

Senate Bill 547

Relating to: adaptive management plans for reducing discharges of phosphorus and total suspended solids to the waters of the state and a statewide variance to the water quality standard for phosphorus for certain dischargers.

By Senators Cowles, Farrow, Petrowski, Grothman and Darling; cosponsored by Representatives Loudenbeck, Krug, Steineke, Spiros, Bies, Marklein, Czaja, Ballweg, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, LeMahieu, Weininger, Kaufert and Klenke.

February 03, 2014 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Public Works, and Telecommunications

February 06, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee, Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rob Cowles Senator 2nd Senate District
- Amy Loudenbeck Representative 31st Assembly District
- Paul Kent Municipal Environmental Group
- Kevin Lahner City of Burlington
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- John Leonhard City of Fond du Lac
- John Umhoefer Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association
- Jim Vanden Brook Wisconsin Land & Water Conservation Association
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Eric Bott Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Appearances Against

- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin
- Elizabeth Katt-Reinders Clean Lakes Alliance
- Denny Caneff River Alliance of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

Russ Rasmussen - DNR

Registrations For

- Joel Haubrich Wisconsin Energy Corporation
- Forbes McIntosh Dane County Cities & Villages Association
- Doug Osterberg Appleton Coated
- Andrew Davis Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce
- Nick George Midwest Food Processors Association
- Scott Suder Wisconsin Paper Council
- Dave Lawrence Wisconsin Rural Water Association
- Todd Stuart Wisconsin Industrial Energy Group

Registrations Against

- Mark Miller Senator 16th Senate District
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- George Meyer Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Scott Kolar
- Mary Kolar
- Liz Wessel Sierra Club
- Caryl Terrell Sierra Club
- Elizabeth Ward
- Shahla Werner Sierra Club
- Kathryn Mulligan LWUDC

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 13, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee,

Kedzie, Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Gudex, seconded by Senator Kedzie that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee and Kedzie.

Noes: (3) Senators Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Gudex, seconded by Senator Farrow that **Senate Bill 547** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (4) Senator Farrow; Senators Gudex, Lasee and Kedzie.

Noes: (3) Senators Wirch, Harris and Shilling.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 3

Scott Rausch Committee Clerk