## Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Health and Human Services**

#### **Assembly Bill 446**

Relating to: training and agreements for administering the drug naloxone, requiring emergency medical technicians to carry naloxone, and immunity for certain individuals who administer naloxone.

By Representatives Nygren, Krug, Bernier, Nerison, Petryk, Born, Craig, Czaja, Endsley, Jagler, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, LeMahieu, Mursau, A. Ott, Petersen, Pridemore, Ripp, Spiros, Strachota, Swearingen, Tauchen, Tittl, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Doyle, Genrich, Hulsey, Kahl, Johnson, Richards, Smith, Schraa and Ballweg; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Cowles, L. Taylor, Darling, Jauch, Gudex, Olsen, Lassa, Ellis, Moulton, Leibham, Shilling, Petrowski, Lazich, Miller, Carpenter, Schultz, Wirch, Erpenbach, Hansen, Harris and Risser.

January 15, 2014 Referred to Committee on Health and Human Services

### January 29, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton, Lazich,

Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Senator Sheila Harsdorf 10th Senate District
- Phil Drewiske
- Bill Keeton AIDS Resource Center

#### Appearances Against

None.

## **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### Registrations For

- Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Brad Schimel Waukesha County District Attorney
- Roger Drewiske
- Anna Dopp Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
- Eric Peterson Milwaukee County

- Jamie Kuhn Milwaukee County
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Karen Hale
- Liz Buchen Lutheran Social Services Agency
- Tim Hoven Medical College of Wisconsin
- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Medical Group Management Association
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Counties Association

## Registrations Against

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### February 04, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton, Lazich,

Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Lazich, seconded by Senator Moulton that **Assembly Bill 446** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (5) Senator Vukmir; Senators Moulton, Lazich, Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Dean Cady Committee Clerk