Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary and Labor

Senate Bill 440

Relating to: exempting electronic smoking devices from the types of smoking devices that may not be used in certain locations.

By Senator Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Murphy and Craig.

March 05, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir, Farrow,

Risser and Harris.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

 Kristin Noll-Marsh - Consumer Advocates for Smoke-Free Alternatives Association

- Vicki McKenna Self
- Mike Morgan Self
- Greg Liebig Self
- Don Muehlbauer Self

Appearances Against

- Michael Fiore Dr. Self
- Murray Katcher Dr. Self
- Gina Dennick-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association

Appearances for Information Only

- Reid Russell Coach Gary
- Gregory Conley Heartland Institute

Registrations For

- Josh Zepnick Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Matt Phillips League of Wisconsin
- Bill Daly Self
- Julainne Endres Johnson Creek Enterprises
- Joe Dralle Johnson Creek Enterprises
- Susan Geiger Johnson Creek Enterprises
- Dave Murphy Representative Wisconsin State Assembly
- Tony Driessen WAMO

- Tony Driessen Bowling Centers Association of Wisconsin
- Polly Reber Wisconsin Association of Distributors
- Eric Peterson RAI Services Company
- Dawn Gundermann Self
- Brian Fojtik NJOY, Inc.

Registrations Against

- Lisa Davidson WPHCA
- Mark Grapentine WMS
- Chris Klein American Heart Association
- Michael Welsch Wisconsin Association of Local Health Depts. & Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Dipesh Navsaria Dr. Self
- Melissa Horn Health First Wisonsin
- Allison Miller Am. Cancer Society
- Dona Wininsky Am. Lung Association

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 13, 2014 Executive Session Held

Present: (5) Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir, Farrow, Risser and Harris.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Grothman, seconded by Senator Vukmir that **Senate Bill 440** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Grothman; Senators Vukmir and Farrow.

Noes: (2) Senators Risser and Harris.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Adam Gibbs

Committee Clerk