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Hurley, ‘Peggy

From: : Rep.Johnson

Sent: Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3:02 PM
To: Hurley, Peggy

Subject: RE: Mandatory minimum draft

Thanks Peggy! The only change we would like to make to the draft is to add 940.302 (Human Trafficking) to the list of
violent felonies. That was probably enacted after the body armor provision. Are there any other newer violent felonies
that you know of to add? Thanks.

Christian Ullsvik
Office of Rep. LaTonya Johnson
17th Assembly District

From: Hurley, Peggy

Sent: Tuesday, October 21, 2014 11:26 AM
To: Rep.Johnson

Subject: Mandatory minimum draft

Hi Christian,

Here is the preliminary draft | prepared over the summer. If it meets your approval, | will enter it as a request for the
current session. If you need any changes or would like to discuss the draft, please let me know.

Peggy Hurley
Legislative Reference Bureau
608 266 8906



i
“id

other |

State of Wisconsin

2013 = 2014 LEGISLATURE LRE

S/ - PJH: eev

O"f%?/

PRELIMINARY DRAFT N oT READY EOR INTRODUCTION /[~

("

AN ACT to repeal 941.29 (2); to renumber and amend 941.29 (1); to amend
941.29 (3), 941.29 (4) and 973.176 (1); and to create 941.29 (1g) and 941.29 (4m)

of the statutes; relating to: establishing a mandatory minimum period of

confinement in prison for a person who possesses a firearm after being

convicted of committing certain violent felonies, and providing a penalty.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Current law generally prohibits a person from possessing a firearm if he or she
has been convicted of a felony, found not guilty of a felony by reason of mental disease
or defect, or adjudicated delinquent for an act that if committed by an adult in this
state would be a felony“A person who violates the prohibition is guilty of a felony and
is subject to a ﬁne of up to $25 000 or a term of imprisonment of up to ten years, or

?both b

Under this blll df the person was convicted of certain violent felonies and

violates the prohlbltlén on possessing a firearm, he or she must be sentenced to at

least three years of confinement in pI’lSOIl v
Because this bill creates a new crime or(r%es a penalty for an existing crime,

~ the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penal‘g es may be requested to prepare a

report concerning the proposed penalty and the costs or savmgs that are likely to

. result if the blll is enacted. . 3\\{ T 3y
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For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill. :

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 94%9 (1) of the statutes{ as affected by 2013 WlsconsmAct 223, \

is renumbered 941.29 (1m) and amended to read

941.29 (1m) A person is-subjeet-to-the requirements-and penalties of this
seetion-if he-or-she hasbeen who possesses a firearm is guilty of a Class G felony if

any of the following applies:

(a) Genvieted The person has been convicted of a felony in this state.

(b) Cenvieted The person has been convicted of a crime elsewhere that would
be a felony if committed in this state.

(bm) Adjudicated The person has been adjudicated delinquent for an act
committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in this state would
be a felony.

(c) Found The person has been found not guilty of a felony in this state by reason
of mental disease or defect.

(d) Found The person has been found not guilty of or not responsible for a crime
elsewhere that would be a felony in this state by reason of insanity or mental disease,
defect or illness.

(e) Committed The person has been committed for treatment under s. 51.20 (13)
(a) and erdered is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under s. 51.20 (13) (cv)
1., 2007 stats.

(em) Ordered The person is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under
s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1., 51.45 (13) (i) 1., 54.10 (3) (f) 1., or 55.12 (10) (a).
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SECTION 1
1 (D -Enjoinedunder The person is subject to an injunction issued under s. 813.12
2 or 813.122 or under a tribal injunction, as defined in s. 813.12 (1) (e), issued by a court
3 established by any federally recognized Wisconsin Indian tribe or band, except the
4 Menominee Indian tribe of Wisconsin, that includes notice to the respondent that he
5 or she is subject to the requirements and penalties under this section and that has

6 been filed under s. 806.247 (3).

(g) Ordered The person is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under s.

940. QO” 940. 207
. ;10@\

SECTION 2. 941.29 (1g) of the statutes is crea\/fe to read:

813.123 (5m) or 813.125 (4m).

941 29 (lg) In this sec\/tlon v1olent felony” m¢ans any felony under s. 943.23

Y v
(lm) or (1r), 1999 stats.)or s. 940 01 940 02 940 O , 940.05, 940 06 940. 08 940. (yé

v v quo. Q?S%,
940.10, 940.19, 940. 195 40, 20 940. 201 940. 203 /\940 21 940 255 940. 23 940.285
‘ 4 S
(2) 940 2‘/ 940 295\({%) 940 3\6 1940. 305 940, 31 940 43 (1) to (3) 940 45 (1) to (3/ »;f 5
23 zx Ny v/j i

130, 941857, 94. 01 @ @, 943.011, 943.015, i 247

941. 20 041.96, 94158, (G71.¢
/

/ v
943.02, 943.54, 943.06, 943 10 (é/) 943 23 (V). 943. 32 943%6, 943. 87 946.45

v v
947. 015 948.02 (1) or (3), 948,095, 948.03, 94884, 948, 05 948.06, 948.07, 948.08,
948,085, or 948.30. " L//g;;ﬁ: &

SECTION 3. 941.29 (2) of the statutes is rep\éaled e

SECTION 4. 941‘?%9 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (3) Any firearm involved in an offense under sub-—(2) this s‘e{ction is
subject to s. 968.20 (3).

SECTION 5. 941%9 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
23 941.29 (4) A person is concerned with the commission of a crime, as specified
24 in s. 939.05 (2) (b), in violation of this section if he or she knowingly furnishes a person

: 4
25 with a firearm in violation of sub—(2) this section.
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SECTION 6

1 SECTION 6. 94{.29 (4m) of the statutes is cre\gted to read:
2 941.29 (4m) If the person is subject to this sec\{ion because he or she was
3 convicted of, adjudicated delinquent for, or found not guﬂty-of by reason of mental
4 disease or defect, committing, soliciting, conspiring, or attempting to commit a
5 violent felony, the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.6’1 and the
6 confinement portion of the bifurcated sentence imposed on the person shall be not
7 less than 3 years.. This subsection does not apply to sentences imposed after July 1,

8 2020.

ECTION 7. 973.176 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

10 973.176 (1) FIREARM POSSESSION. Whenever a court imposes a sentence or
11 places a defendant on probation regarding a felony conviction, the court shall inform
12 the defendant of the requirements and penalties applicable to him or her under s.

v v
941.29 (1m) or (4m).

(END)
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INS 2-1

SEcTION 1. 175.60 (11) (a) 2. f. of the statutes is amended to read:

175.60 (11) (a) 2. f. The individual becomes subject to an injunction described
in 8. 941.29 () (1m) () or is ordered not to possess a firearm under s. 813.123 (5m)
or 813.125 (4m).

SECTION 2. 813.12 (2) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read: |

813.12 (2) (¢) 1. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29 (1)
H-and(2){e) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SEcTION 3. 813.122 (2) (b) 1. of the statutes is.amended to read:

813.122 (2) (b) 1. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29 (1)
H-and (2)(e) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 4. 813.123 (5) (a) 2. a. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.123 (5) (a) 2. a. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29
((g)-and (2)(d) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 5. 813.125 (4) (a) 2. a. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.125 (4) (a) 2. a. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29
H-g)and-(2)(d) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

END INS 2-1

INS 4-9
SECTION 6. 941.29 (5) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (5) (intro.) This section does not apply to any person specified in sub.
) (1m) who:
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SECTION 7. 941.29 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (5) (a) Has received a pardon with respect to the crime or felony specified
in sub. &) (1m or 4m) and hés been expressly authorized to poSsess a firearm under
18 USC app. 12083; or |

SECTION 8. 941.29 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (8) This section does not apply to any person specified in sub. (1) (1m)
(bm) if a court subsequently determines that the person is not likely to act in a
manner dangerous to public safety. In any action or proceeding regarding this
determination, the person has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the
evidence that he or she is not likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety.

SECTION 9. 941.29_(9) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (9) (a) This section does not apply to a person specified in sub. 1) (1m)
(e) if the prohibition under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1., 2007 stats., has been canceled under
s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 2. or (16) (gm), 2007 stats., or under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1m. c.

(b) This section does not apply to a person specified in sub. 1) (1m) (em) if the
order under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1. is canceled under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1m. c., if the order
under s. 51.45 (13) (i) 1. is canceled under s. 51.45 (13) (i) 2. c., if the order under s. -
54.10 (3) (f) 1. is canceled under s. 54.10 (3) (f) 2. c., or if the order under s. 55.12 (10)
(a) is canceled under s. 55.12 (10) (b) 3.

SECTION 10. 941.29 (10) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (10) (intro.) The prohibition against firearm possession under this
section does not apply to a person specified in sub. (1) (1m) () if the person satisfies
any of the following:

END INS 4-9.



Hurley, Peggy

From: Ullsvik, Christian

Sent: Thursday, April 23, 2015 8:49 AM

To: Hurley, Peggy

Subject: LRB 0477: violent felon gun possession mand min

Good morning Peggy,
Hopefully this is the last round of edits:

LRB-0477:

elete the following:
/41.327(b)(1) tampering with household
941.327(b)(2) tampering with likelihood of great bodily harm
9/(1.327(3) lying about tampering
9}3.86 Extortion of a financial institution
947.015 Bomb Scare

(I think you did these already, but delete as well if not) :
943.01 Damage to property

943.011 Damage to property

943.013 Damage to property

And just to triple-check, this is how the mandatory minimums would play out for the various
underlying violent felonies (if committed while possessing a gun):

So, for a Class | offense, the violent felon would get 3 years for possession + 1.5 years for the max = 4.5 yrs
minimum incarceration

For a Class H offense, the violent felon would get 3 years for possession + 3 years for the max = 6 yrs
minimum incarceration

For a Class G offense, the violent felon gets 3 years for possession + 5 years for the max = 8 years minimum
incarceration

For a Class A-F, the violent felon gets 3 years for possession + 5 year minimum = 8 years minimum
incarceration

We are hoping to have drafts to show to members and stakeholders on Friday, do you think this draft and the
violent misdemeanant proposal will be back from editing by then?

Thanks!

Christian Ullsvik
Office of Rep. LaTonya Johnson
17th Assembly District
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2015 BILL
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AN ACT ¢o repeal 941.29 (2); to renumber and amend 941.29 (1); to amend.
175.60 (11) (a) 2. £, 813.12 (2) (¢) 1., 813.122 (2) (b) 1., 813.123 (5) (a) 2. a.,
813.125 (4) (a) 2. a., 941.29 (3), 941.29 (4), 941.29 (5) (intro.), 941.29 (5) (a),

941.29 (8), 941.29 (9), 941.29 (10) (intro.) and 973.176 (1); and o create 941.29

minimum period of confinement in prison for a person who possesses a firearm

\after being convicted of committing certain violent felonies, and providing a

! u;mmf« A

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Current law generally prohibits a person from possessing a firearm if he or she
has been convicted of a felony, found not guilty of a felony by reason of mental disease
or defect, or adjudicated delinquent for an act that if committed by an adult in this
state would be a felony. A person who violates the prohibition is guilty of a felony and

J is subject to a fine of up to $25,000 or a term of imprisonment of up to ten years, or
both.
VI Under this bill, if the person was convicted of certain violent felonies and
VN ;) violates the prohibition on possessing a firearm, he or she must be sentenced to at
V4 "~ least three years of confinement in pr1soﬁl\’l‘he bﬂl contains a sunset provision that

2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE D\
LRB-0477/"
PJH:eev;rs 7

Uu

(1g) and 941.29 (4m) of the statutes; relating to: establishing a mandatory -
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eliminates the mandatory minimum period of confinement for sentences imposed on .,

or after July 1, 2020.
( Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime,

the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a
report concerning the proposed penalty and the costs or savings that are likely to
~~result if the bill is enacted. - o B e

For further mformatmn see the state and local ﬁscal estlmate Wthh W1ll be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented i in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 175.60 (11) (a) 2. f. of the statutes is amended to read:

175.60 (11) (a) 2. f. The individual becomes subject to an injunction described
in 8. 941.29 (1) (1m) (f) or is ordered not to possess a firearm under s. 813.123 (5bm)
or 813.125 (4m).

SECTION 2. 813.12 (2) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.12 (2) (c) 1. Notice of the requirements and penalties undér s. 941.29 (1)
H-and(2)-(e) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 3. 813.122 (2) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.122 (2) (b) 1. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29 (1)
H-and-(2)(e) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 4. 813.123 (5) (a) 2. a. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.123 (5) (a) 2. a. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29
H-(g)-and(2)(d) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 5. 813.125 (4) (a) 2. a. of the statutes is amended to read:

813.125 (4) (a) 2. a. Notice of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29
H-(g)-and(2)(d) and notice of any similar applicable federal laws and penalties.

SECTION 6. 941.29 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 941.29 (1m) and amended

to read:

/
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941.29 (1m) A person is-subjeet-to-the requirements and penalties of this
section-if he or she-has been who possesses a firearm is guilty of a Class G felonv if

any of the following applies:
(a) Cenvieted The person has been convicted of a felony in this state.

(b) Cenvieted The person has been convicted of a crime elsewhere that would
be a felony if committed in this state.

(bm) Adjudiecated The person has been adjudicated delinquent for an act
committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in this state would
be a felony.

(¢) Found The person has been found not guilty of a felony in this state by reason
of mental disease or defect.

(d) Feund The person has been found not guilty of or not responsible for a crime
elsewhere that would be a felony in this state by reason of insanity or mental disease,
defect or illness.

(e) Gemmitted The person has been committed for treatment under s. 51.20 (13)

(a) and erdered is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under s. 51.20 (13) (cv)

1., 2007 stats.

(em) Ordered The person is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under

s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1., 51.45 (13) (i) 1., 54.10 (3) () 1., or 55.12 (10) (a).
(f) -Enjeined-under The person is subject to an injunction issued under s. 813.12

or 813.122 or under a tribal injunction, as defined in s. 813.12 (1) (e), issued by a court
established by any federally recognized Wisconsin Indian tribe or band, except the
Menominee Indian tribe of Wisconsin, that includes notice to the respondent that he
or she is subject to the requirements and penalties under this section and that has

been filed under s. 806.247 (3).
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BILL SECTION 6

(g) Ordered The person is subject to an order not to possess a firearm under s.
813.123 (5m) or 813.125 (4m).

SECTION 7. 941.29 (1g) of the statutes is created to read:

941.29 (1g) In this section, “violent felony” means any felony under s. 943.23
(Im) or (1r), 1999 stats., this section, or s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06,
: 40. 207 b

940.08, 940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.195, 940.20, 940.201, 940.203 @40 205?‘;;'

1940.21, 940.225, 940.23, 940.235, 940.285 (2), 940.29, 940.295 (3), 940.30,

940 302, 940.305, 940 31 940 43 (1) to (3) 940 45 (1) to (3) 941.20, 941 26, 941.28,

99 \_

23
24

25

- 941, 292@ 295} 941, 30,941. 327;, 94 §43.01 (2) % $43.011) 975,013 943 02, 943.04,

S e s -

943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943 32 @43 87, 946.43 @948 02 (1) or
(2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08, 948.085, or
948.30.

SECTION 8. 941.29 (2) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 9. 941.29 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (3) Any firearm involved in an offense under sub.(2) this section is
subject to s. 968.20 (3).

SECTION 10. 941.29 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (4) A person is concerned with the commission of a crime, as specified

in 8. 939.05 (2) (b), in violation of this section if he or she knowingly furnishes a person

with a firearm in violation of sub.{(2) this section.

SECTION 11. 941.29 (4m) of the statutes is created to read:

941.29 (4m) If the person is subject to this section because he or she was
convicted of, adjudicated delinquent for, or found not guilty of by reason of mental
disease or defect, committing, éoliciting, conspiring, or attempting to commit a

violent felony, the court shall impose a bifurcated sentence under s. 973.01 and the
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BILL SEcTION 11

confinement portion of the bifurcated sentence imposed on the person shall be not
less than 3 years. This subsection does not apply to sentences imposed after July 1,
2020.

SECTION 12. 941.29 (5) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (5) (intro.) This section does not apply to any person specified in sub.
(b (1m) who:

SECTION 13. 941.29 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (5) (a) Has received a pardon with respect to the crime or felony specified
in sub. (1) (lm or 4m) and has been expressly authorized to possess a firearm under
18 USC app. 1203; or

SECTION 14. 941.29 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (8) This section does not apply to any person specified in sub. (1) (1m)
(bm) if a court subsequently determines that the person is not likely to act in a
manner dangerous to public safety. In any action or proceeding regarding this
determination, the person has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the
evidence that he or she is not likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety.

SECTION 15. 941.29 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (9) (a) This section does not apply to a person specified in sub. (1) (1m)
(e) if the prohibition under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1., 2007 stats., has been canceled under
s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 2. or (16) (gm), 2007 stats., or under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1m. c.

(b) This section does not apply to a person specified in sub. 1) (1m) (em) if the
order under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1. is canceled under s. 51.20 (13) (cv) 1m. c., if the order
under s. 51.45 (13) (i) 1. is canceled under s. 51.45 (13) (i) 2. c., if the order under s.
54.10 (3) (f) 1. is canceled under s. 54.10 (3) (f) 2. c., or if the order under s. 55.12 (10)

(a) is canceled under s. 55.12 (10) (b) 3.
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SECTION 16. 941.29 (10) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

941.29 (10) (intro.) The prohibition against firearm possession under this
section does not apply to a person specified in sub. 1) (1m) (f) if the pefson satisfies
any of the following: |

SECTION 17. 973.176 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

973.176 (1) FIREARM POSSESSION. Whenever a court imposes a sentence or
places a defendant on probation regarding a felony conviction, the court shall inform 7

the defendant of the requirements and penalties applicable to him or her under s.
941.29 (1m) or (4m).

(END)
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INSERE ANALYSIS:

If fhe person is convicted of using a firearm to commit certaln violent Class
ghoughG felonies, he or she must be sentenced to at least fiveyears of confinemen
in prison. If a person is convicted of using a firearm to commit certain violent Class
H or)I felonies, he or she must be sentenced to at least4hree years or at least one year
and six months, respectively, of confinement in prison.

INSERT 6.4:

SECTION 1. 973.123 of the statutes is created to read:

973.123 Sentence for certain violent offenses; use of a firearm. (1) In
this section, “violent felony”\{neans any felony under s. 943.23 (1m) or (1r), 1999
stats?,/ this section,‘/or s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.08, 940.09,
940.10, 940.19, 940.195, 940.20, 940.201, 940.203:/940.21, 940.225, 940.23, 940.235,
940.285 (2), 940.29, 940.295 (3), 940.30, 940.302, 940.305, 940.31, 940.43 (1) to (3),

i)

940.45 (1) to (3), 941.20, 941.26, 941.28, 941 292, 941.30, 941.327, 943.02, 943.04,

i @ﬁs 02 (1) or

(2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05, 948 051, 948,06, 948 07, 948.08, 948.085, or

943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943.32 943.87, 946.43

\o

948.30.

(2) A court shall impose a bifurcated senigence under s. 973‘.01 if the court
sentences a person for committing a violent felony and the court finds that all of the
following are true:‘/

(a) At the time the person committed the violent felony, he or she was subject
to s. 941.29\{)ecause he or she was convicted of, adjudicated delinquent for, or found
not guilty of by reason of mental disease or defect, committing, soliciting, conspiring,

v

or attempting to commit a prior violent felony.

g

+0
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(b) The person used a firearm in the commission of the violent felony for which

N C\&,&S
A8 2D
to Sub. C\&sﬁ»

(2)"%hall be: f& ‘ L/we D)

A
(a) Not less than 5 years if the violent felony is a Clasi\G felony 0SS & 6 )

the court is imposing the sentence.‘/

(3) The confinement portion of a bifurcated sentence imposed pursu

(b) Not less than S\years if the violent felony is a Class H felony. C\ 2SS o ?
(c) Not less than egx"’\ :nd 6 months if the violent felony is a Class I felony
(4) If a court sentences a person under this sectionvfsmd also imposes a sentence
pursuant to s. 941.29 (4m) arising from the same occurrence, the court shall /order
v

the person to serve the sentences consecutively.

V. : '
(5) This section does not apply to sentences imposed after July 1, 2020,

(end 1S



Barman, Mike

From: Ullsvik, Christian

Sent: Monday, April 27, 2015 9:04 AM

To: LRB.Legal

Subject: Draft Review: LRB -0477/2 Topic: Mandatory minimum sentence for possession of gun after

committing a violent felony

Thanks!
Please Jacket LRB -0477/2 for the ASSEMBLY.



