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PROPOSED CHAPTER 949 REVISIONS

§ 949.06(1)(a) Medical treatment

Limit payment of medical treatment to a 4 year time period from the date of the crime or
$40,000, whichever comes first.

Specify limit of certain types of medical expenses, such as mental health and associated
prescription costs from the date of the crime to a 4 year time period. Identify exceptions
that apply to include claims involving child victims and adults who were victims of
crimes as children, where the 4 year time period of the claim would start from the date of
the application. May consider caps on expenses.

Mo l * Extend benefits to parents of minor children for parents’ mental health expenses and los
N ) 3 o~ / Z\,Q
(]%@ , Tﬁ wages; set cap. ), < i'n  AYT-0el [n)-F
5‘1% ' Lo} see Rs
}; LS
eg“" § 949.06(1)(b) Work loss

(4 e Limit any lost wage payments to four years after the date of the crime. |
' 949.06(1)(b)(1) and (2) — Limit up to 4 years or $40,000 whichever comes first.

Change “net salary” to “net income” in both the loss of support and economic loss

subsections (§ 949.06(1)(b)(1) and (2); § 949.06(1)(e)). This change allows the Program

to consider all types of income in addition to salary, e.g. replacement of a deceased

/llctlm s social security income.
It is recommended that the substitute work provision be written in a separate paragraph
from § 949.06(1)(b)2. Create a new paragraph to be section § 949.06(1)(b)3 to read: If a
victim is released to return to work with restrictions per a physician but is unable to
return to the job they were performing at the time of the crime, the award shall be
reduced by any income from substitute work (and then use the rest of the language
already in the statute).

H Q  Under § 949.06(1m)(a), family member defined; allow program to pay up to two weeks

of lost wages without a physician certificate in cases involving a homicide survivor. Thisk

would require an administrative code change to Jus § 11.04(2)(a), Wthh currently A\ 7@ "

requires that the disability period be determined by a physician. ¢/ G

7

§ 949.06(1)(e) Economic loss and loss of support

‘ L * Remove the provisions that apply to economic loss and revise loss of support provisions.
\ L\J A }® Simplify loss of support language. The current language results in a calculation that is
A= P confusing to administer and burdensome on surviving dependents.

E f ¢ Consider similar provisions from Minnesota, lowa, and Illinois; identify alternative
approaches:
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Minnesota Iowa Illinois
¢ Pays a monthly benefit to any | e Pays for loss of support at a e Pays a maximum loss of support
dependent. rate of $4,000 per dependent. of $1,000 per month if victim
e Monthly amount (currently e Pays for dépendent care if was working and supporting
$350) is set by the legislature victim is disabled and was dependents at time of death.
each year. , providing care to a dependent. | e Overall maximum is $27,000 per
e Pays regardless of whether the | ¢ Payment is made at Iowa’s claim.
victim was working or minimum wage. e Fairly complicated scheme
supporting dependent at the calculating loss of earnings from
time of death. previous six months over the
e Social security benefits and victim’s life expectancy; minor
‘other government payments child’s age on crime date current
are not deducted. court-ordered child support; etc.
' Benefit is payable for 3 years
or until child reaches age 18;
after 3 years the claim may
be resubmitted and re-
evaluated for continuing
financial need.

Alternative Approaches to Consider for Wisconsin

\0}) * Make yearly payments to dependents for a limited time period, such as 4 years.

X  Deduct life insurance as.a collateral source, only if left to a dependent.

¢ Do not deduct social security benefits.

* Determine whether the benefit should end at age 18 or be paid to dependents for 4 years regardless of
their age at the time of the crime; determine whether to cap the total amount, such as a limit of $4,000
per dependent; determine if benefits should be paid regardless of whether deceased victim was working.

%s  If dependents were relying on financial support of the victim who was working at the time of death, loss
of support is based on net wages. Award based on 4 times the victim’s average net annual income for
the time dependent was entitled to support, not to exceed 4 years.

e If dependents are receiving court-ordered child support, loss of support is based on actual, documented
amount the victim was providing to the dependent at the time of the victim’s death.

M/M“\

e

‘949»:06(1)(d) Funeral benefit ,
/\Q // Increase funeral benefit to at least $4,000, preferably $5,000.
\

E oi Include funeral benefit within overall $40,000 maximum, not as a separate benefit.
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94?)3 (1)(b) Compensable acts ,
Y. ’ﬁ dd drug endangered children under circumstances specified in § 48.02(1)(g).

[ o Add § 948.21(b)-(d) to cover neglect of a child which results in bodily harm, great bodily
harm, or death.
/ Ve

0/ Change language of § 949.03(c) to include bicycles and buggies; to include passengers in
a buggy. Statute would still not cover passengers and drivers of motor vehicles.

/§f 949.06(1)(c) Computation of award

y } ¢/ Add replacement of cell phone or computer held as evidence, not to exceed a certain
amount, such as $200.00.

§ 949}((4) Definition of “medical treatment”
7 S /?élude mental health treatment.
/ ;ﬂ ¢ (Change medicines to “prescription medications”.
o gvo Add adaptations to make victim’s residence handicap accessible; define adaptations in a

. 7
separate subsection; propose a cap on these costs. pel .

Lo

/§ 949.91(5) Definition of “Personal injury”
/ Q\ 8, Update the term “nervous shock” to “psychological trauma”.

AN
§ 949.01(6) Definition of “victim”
v J Clarify “victim” to distinguish from witness or bystander: “Victim” means a person who
is killed or injured by an incident specified in section 949.03(1)(a), not to include a
witness or bystander. («~ e oot cs 1 pPrson f’"\y S«'»wv‘t’hf“ R Gl =l o

e, Ne A N Lk aces {;Q\j} Le e lgvc@}f O ﬁ'e?\-j /
; e or Spslede L Wﬁu r )’7‘; really e A
/'§ 949.04(2)(b) Application for award :

/ ’;}} Require that law enforcement to give out “information” regarding compensation, rather
than “application”.

Y

§ 949.06(1)(bm) Hbmemaker benefit
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i

/.
/d j\o Update the language to remove the term “homemaker” to read: “If the victim was
/ working at the time of the crime as a caregiver in the home, an amount sufficient to ...”

(8 9:1 .06(1m)(a) Family member
/ > ‘(e //Add foster parent.
Remove aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, or parent or sibling of spouse or of a domestic
partner under Ch. 770.

78-949,06(3)(d) Emergency award and 949.10

/’;7 Y ¢ Take out this provision. It is unnecessary to the administration of the Program.

§ 949.07 Manner of payment
/3 Change this provision to say that the award “may” (not shall) be paid in a lump sum;
allow for periodic payments on any claim.

J
/§ 94%(1) Limitations on awards

J 9\0‘\ Add an “in the interest of justice” waiver provision for the 5 day reporting requirement,
for clarification to read: “The department may waive the one-year and/or the 5 day
reporting requirement under this subsection in the interest of justice.”

. §949.08
Tﬁ 3,@ * Add provision that if claimant does not carry the mandatory minimum automobile
insurance, the department may reduce award by the amount of coverage that was
required. ‘

e § 949.08(2)(e) and (em)
‘ T\ Adopt language of § Jus 11.07(7) to reflect that the victim only needs to know that the
offender was under the influence of an intoxicant. Also update § Jus 11.07(7) to reflect
the current prohibited BAC of 0.08.
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1 AN Act ...; relating to: compensating victims of crime. Y %

o

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau \
This bill makes changes to the administration of financial compensation to \
victims of crime. Under current law, a person who is the victim of a crime or a close |
relative of a victim of a crime may receive compensation for certain losses he or she |
~ suffers as a result of the crime, including payment for medical treatment, |
replacement of lost or damaged property, and certain economic losses, including loss /
of income that occurs as a result of the crime and lost economic benefits to dependents |
who had been supported financially by the victim of the crime. [
Under current law, @my@y within one year after the crime occursigz E
to the Department of Justice (DOJ) for an award if the person reported the crime to; \/
aw enforcement within five days after the crime occurred. Current law al allows DOJ
to grant an award after the one—year deadline for application has passed,{ﬁl the ™~
interest of justice. Under current law, DOJ may award up to $40,000 per injury or
death and generally makes the payment in one lump sum. However, DOJ may make

( iy periodic payments in the case of a death or protracted disability. Current law also A
\_54“& allostO:I to provide up to an@"g“ddltmnal $2,000 for funeral and burial expenses. \
"~ This bill makes several" changes;DOJ’s victim compensation award program.

Under the bill, covered expenses may include psychiatric or psychological care and, >
if a Vlctlm suffers a dlsablhty as a result of the crlme reasonable housmg,g\/

e]1g1b1e for compensation and increases the funeral and burial allowance to $5,000.
The bill also allows a parent of a child who was the victim to receive compensation V.
for economic losses and up to $3,000 for costs of receiving psychological or psychiatric /

care. . /

Aﬁb\gb}\oﬂé Q\(; g &Q%w%vmw &Q‘mmﬂmfw

~— S __—



2015 - 2016 Legislature -2 - , LRB- 1689/P1

e PJH:......
f{; o&-i,\\kf\d&ﬁ\}t? tor YK \:} e
\oes of Ak m&iﬁ\w‘»ﬁx/ {’;’g\?ﬁ)

B
i 1

Under the bill, DQJ must make all payments within four years after the crime
occurred, except thagflf a victim is a child, the child may receive payments for up to
four years after he or she applies for compensation. ’l‘he]e bill allows DOJ to make
periodipayments without requiring death or a protracted disability. s

- ¥ he bill clarifies the method for determining @"mount to compensate@
j’/ ependent’s 10s§ offeconomic support. Under the bill, DOJ multiplies the victim’s
average annual earnings by four and subtracts from that amount four years > worth
of federal Social Security payments the dependents are expected to receive and any
life insurance proceeds the dependents receive. of WNe rdatiw's  Josses
Under the bill, if the victim’s losses/are due to certain crimes involving a motor
vehicle and the victim did not carry the minimum insurance required by law on his
or her vehicle, the bill allows DOJ to reduce the amount it pays by the amount the
victim would have received in insurance proceeds if he or she had carried the proper
insurance.
For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows

1 SECTION 1. 949.01 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
%
2 949.01 (4) “Medical treatment” includes medical, surgical, psychiatric or

3 ﬁpsychological, dental, optometric, chiropractic, podiatric and hospital care;
medieines prescription medications; medical, dental and surgical supplies; crutches;

4

5 artificial members; appliances and training in the use of artificial members and
6 appliances. “Medical treatment” includes any Christian Science treatment for cure
7

or relief from the effects of injury.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 ¢. 239; 1979 c. 18;1\1981c 20; 1983 a, 467; 1985 a. 135 s. 83 (3); 1989 a. 140; 1995 a. 153; 2007 a. 20; 2009a 28.

SECTION 2. 949.01 (4g) of the statutes is created to read:

@ 949.01 (4g) “Parent of a Vietim” means a person who is a parenté%glardian, or
10 legal custodian of a child under the age of 18 who is a victim under su,bJ. (6).

11 SECTION 3. 949.0\? (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

12 949.01 (5) “Personal injury” means actual bodily harm and includes pregnancy

13 = and mental or nervous-sheck psychological trauma.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 189; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 467; 1985 a. 135 s. 83 (3); 1989 a. 140; 1995 a. 153; 2007 a, 20; 2009 a. 28.
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‘ SECTION 4

N4
1 SECTION 4. 949.03 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.03 (1) (b) The commission or the attempt to commit any crime specified in
s. 346.62 (4), 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08,
940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.20, 940.201, 940.21, 940.22 (2), 940.225, 940.23, 940.235,

o s W N

940.24, 940.25, 940.285, 940.29, 940.30, 940.302 (2), 940.305, 940.31, 940.32,
941.327, 943.02, 943.03, 943.04, 943.10, 943.20, 943.23 (1g), 943.32, 943.81, 943.86,

943.87, 948.02, 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.075,

@ < O

e
948.08, 948.085, 948,09, 948.095, 948.20, 948.21 (1) (b) to (d), 948.30 or 948.51.

History: 1975 c. 224 5. 145za; 1975 ¢, 344; 1977 &)173, 239; 1979 c. 118; 1983 a. 199, 356, 538; 1985 a. 275; 1985 a. 293 . 3; 1985 a. 306 s. 5; 1987 a. 90, 332, 380, 399,
403; 1989 a. 105, 140, 359; 1993 a. 92, 227; 1995 a. 153, 374, 456; 1997 a. 35, 143, 258; 2001 a. 109; 2005 a, 212, 277; 2007 a. 97, 116; 2011 a. 271; 2013 a. 362.

SECTION 5. 949.03 (1) (bn) of the statutes is created to read:

10 949.03 (1) (bn) The commission or the attempt to commit abuse described in
11 s. 48.02 (vi) (g). 4 |
12 SECTION 6. 949.(;3 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
13 949.03 (1) (¢c) The commission or the attempt to commit the crime specified in

>

. -
@ s. 346.67 (1) if the victim was a pedestrian,‘égperson riding a bicycle, or a passenger
. v '
@ ina bugmj.

History: 1975 c, 224 s, 145za; 1975 c. 344; 1977 ¢,%(3, 239; 1979 c. 118; 1983 a. 199, 356, 538; 1985 a. 275; 1985 a. 293 s 3; 1985 a. 306 s. 5; 1987 a. 90, 332, 380, 399,
403; 1989 a. 105, 140, 359; 1993 a. 92, 227; 1995 a. 153,374, 456; 1997 a. 35, 143, 258; 2001 a. 109; 2005 a, 212, 277; 2007 a. 97, 116; 2011 a. 271; 2013 a. 362.

16 SECTION 7. 949.04 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
17 949.04 (2) (b) The department shall furnish law enforcement agencies with the
18 forms under par. (a). The law enforcement agency investigating a crime shall provide

: X v
19 forms information regarding claims under this subchapter to each person who may
20 be eligible to file a claim under this subchapter.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1975 c. 422 5. 163; 19\5‘1 ¢, 239; 1981 c. 20; 2005 a. 387; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 138; s. 13.92 (1) (bm) 2.

21 SECTION 8. 949.06 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 8
1 949.06 (1) (a) Medical treatment. The department may award no more than
2 3,000 to a parent of a victim for psychiatric or psychological care the parent receives.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 1%1981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

SEcCTION 9. 949.06 (1) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (1) (b) (intro.) Work loss,-which-shall be of g}%@ of a parent of |

3
4
ﬁ\ AL
( ? ) a victim. The department may award a parent of a victim not more than weeks
7

loss is determined as follows:

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 19&{\1981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997.a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

8 SECTION 10. 949.06 (1) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
9 949.06 (1) (b) 1. If the victim or parent of a victim was employed at the time of

10 the injury, loss of actual earnings shall be based upon thevietim’s his or her net-salary

11 income at the time of the injury.

2 ”7“%‘%3}1‘3’5 11. ”Sié%‘és%ifo(ﬁi‘ 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
13 949.06 (1) (b) 2. If the victim was not employed at the time of the injury or, if
14 as a direct result of the injury, the victim suffered a disability causing a loss of
15 potential earnings income, the award may be based upon a sufficient showing by the

16 victim that he or she actually incurred loss of eapnmgs—'llhe—ameunt—ef income.
Q. Prrstmamnoed

17 3. If a victim is released by aggl“igmto return to Work with restrictions but

18 is unable to return to the job he or she was performing at the time the crime was

19 committed, the award shall be reduced by any income from substitute work actually
20 performed by the victim or by income the victim would have earned in available
21 appropriate substitute work the victim was capable of performing, but unreasonably

22 failed to undértake.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 198; ‘i%lc 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

23 SECTION 12. 949.06 (1) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:
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10
11
12
13
14
15

:

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979c ]"}L%l c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

18
19
20
21
22
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History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 19%981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987a 27 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

LRB- 1689/P1
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SECTION 12

949.06 (1) (bm) If-the-vietim-is-a-hememaker at the time of the injury, the victim

was a caregiver in his or her home, an amount sufficient to ensure that the duties
and responsibilities are continued until the victim is able to resume the performance

of the duties, or until the cost of services reaches the maximum allowable under@
W e =

3 - u;_;m_“\
hichever is less. w% 9.0 (Im) (Ct V)

SECTION 13. 949.06 (1) (br) of the statutes is created to read:

949.06 (1) (br) If as a direct result of the personal injury, the victim suffered
a disability, reasonable and necessary housing accessibility adaptations, but not to
exceed $5,000. J

SECTION 14. 949.06\ (1) (cg) of the statutes is created to read:

949.06 (1) (cg) Reasonable replacement value of any computer or cellular
telephone that is held for evidentiary purposes, but not to exceed $200.

SEcCTION 15. 949.(;1\6 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (1) (d) Reasonable funeral and burial expenses, not to exceed $2,000

$5,000. The funeral and bur1a1 avvard may not be considered by the department

\/,»'

S, Qua, Q%(W}(&};ﬂ

SECTION 16. 949.06 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
949.06 (1) (e) Dependent’s economic loss, which shall include contributions of
things of economic value provided by the victim to dependents but lost as a result of

the victim’s death. Loss of support shall be determined on the basis of the victim’s

net salary income at the time of death, and shall be calculated as an-amount-equal

to-4-times follows:
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gﬁ shall multiply that amount by 4. Subject to Subdé %fgd 3., the loss of support award

SECTION 16

1. The department shall determine the v1ct1m S average annual earnings, and

is tl7'lls amount.

AR 0T {e The department shall deduct from the amount calculated under subd

5 amount equal to benefits the dependents received or are expected, over the course

) ) . v, :
of 4 years, to receive as a survivor benefit from the federal iSoc1al (securltv program.

10

11

7 3. The department shall deduct from the amount calculated under subd. 1. the
8 amount of any life insurance proceeds the dependents received as a result of the
9 victim’s death.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 198; 3681 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

SECTION 17. 949.06 (1m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (Im) (a) In this subsection, “family member” means any spouse,

12 domestic partner under ch. 770, parent, grandparent, stepparent, foster parent,

13 child, stepchild, adopted child, grandchild, foster child, brother, sister, half brother,

14 or half sister;—a

e TA —>

18

15 demestic partnerunder ch. 770.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 ¢. 239; 1979 c. 198 \£981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a, 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993a 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276,

SEcTION 18. 949.06 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 949.08 (1Im) (a) and

17 amended to read:

J
949.08 (1m) (a) The Except as provided in par. (b), the department may not

19 make an award of more than $40,000 for any one injury or death and the department
20 may not make any award after 4 years have passed since the date the injury or death

21 occurred.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 ¢. 239; 1979 c. 198‘/1981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993:1 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

22
23

SECTION 19. 949.06 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (8) (b) From insurance payments or program, including worker’s

24 compensation and unemployment insurance. The department may reduce an award

&

>émm

¥, 944. 0 CQ(&) 7. s 3. o L slorures L Cvosked o (ead
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SEcTION 19

J I vy J v
related to a crime under s. 346.62 (4), 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.09, 940.10, or 940.25. if

J
the victim was not in compliance with s. 344.62 (1) at the time of the crime, by an

amount equal to the payment the victim would have received from an insurance
/

program or payment if the victim had been in compliance with s. 344.62 (1). The

department may not reduce a reward by an amount received or to be received from

an insurance payment or program if it has deducted that amount from an award for

economic loss under sub. ( %ﬁe) 3.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 198%981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a. 16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

SECTION 20. 949.06 (3) (d) of the statutes is repealed.
SECTION 21. 949.())'? of the statutes is amended to read:
949.07 Manner of payment. The award, combining both the compensation

award and the funeral and burial award, if applicable, shall may be paid in a lump

for or in periodic payments. The department may pay any portion of an award

directly to the providér of any service which is the basis for that portion of the award.‘
No award may be subject to execution, attachment, garnishment or other process,
except that ém award for allowable expense is not exempt from a claim of é creditor
to the extent that the creditor provided products, services or accommodations the

costs of which are included in the award.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1979 c. 189; 1981 . 20.

SECTION 22. 949.8}\8 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.08 (1) No order for the payment of an award may be made unless the
application was made within 1 year after the date of the personal injury or death, and
the personal injury or death was the result of an incident or offense which had been
reported to the police within 5 days of its occurrence or, if the incident or offense could

not reasonably have been reported within such period, within 5 days of the time when
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SECTION 22

1 a report could reasonably have been made. The department may waive the ene—year

2 requirement requirements under this subsection in the interest of justice.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1979 c. 189; 1981 c. 20; 1983a 199; 1985 a. 242, 337; 1987 a. 27; 1987 a. 332 5. 64; 1989 a. 105, 140; 1991 a. 277; 1995 a. 404, 448; 1999 a.
9; 2003 a. 30, 97, 326.

3 SECTION 23. 949 08 (1m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
4 949.08 (1m) (b) The department may not make any award to a person who was
‘ Ve
@ a child at the time of the injury or death after 4 years have passed sincaﬁate the
6

person made an application for an award under this subchapter.

3

SECTION 24. 949.08 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
8 949.08 (2) (e) Is an adult passenger in the offender’s vehicle, the crime involved
9 is specified in s. 346.63 (2) ‘or 940.25, and the passenger knew the offender was
iO eommitting-that-offense under the influence of an intoxicant or another drug. This
11 paragraph does not apply if the victim is also a victim of a crime specified in s. 940.30,

12 940.305, 940.31 or 948.30.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1979 . 189; 1981 c. 20@1983 a. 199; 1985 a. 242, 337; 1987 a, 27; 1987 a. 332 5. 64; 1989 a. 105, 140; 1991 a. 277; 1995 a. 404, 448; 1999 a.
9; 2003 a. 30, 97, 326. Vo

13 SECTION 25. 949.08 (2) (em) of the statutes is amended to read:

14 949.08 (2) (em) Is an adult passenger in the offender’s commercial motor
15 vehicle, the crime involved is specified in s. 346.63 (6) or 940.25, and the passengef
16 knew the offender was eommitting that-offense under the influence of an intoxicant
17 or another drug. This paragraph does not apply if the victim is also a victim of a crime

18 specified in s. 940.30, 940.305, 940.31, or 948.30.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1979 c. 189; 1981 c. 20; 1 83 a, 199; 1985 a, 242, 337; 1987 a. 27; 1987 a. 332 5. 64; 1989 a. 105, 140; 1991 a. 277; 1995 a. 404, 448; 1999 a.
9; 2003 a. 30, 97, 326.

19 SECTION 26. 949.10 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
20 949.10 (1) (b) An emergency award for funeral and buriai expenses may not
21 exceed $2,000 $5,000.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1981 c. 20, ¥

22 SECTION 27. 949.10 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 27

J
949.10 (2) Any award under sub. (1) 5/@) shall be deducted from the final award
made to the claimant. The excess of the amount of such emergency award over the
amount of the final award, or the full amount of the emergency award if no final

award is made, shall be repaid by the claimant to the department.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1981 c. 20.
(END)
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(/1 @T%l accordance with this subchapter, the department shall make awards, as appropriate, to persons who,

immediately prior to the crime, lived in the same household with and to family members of a victim of s. 940.01,
940.02, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08 or 940.09 for any of the economic losses specified in sub. (1) as a result of
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Stark, Sherri E.

Subject: FW: Victim compensation changes

From: Welsh, Erin B.

Sent: Tuesday, April 28, 2015 10:25 AM
To: Zupan, Kathleen J.

Subject: RE: Victim compensation changes

1. If benefits are extended to parents of minor children (presumably, the child was the victim) for the parénts'
mental health and/or lost wages do you want to place a cap on those benefits? If so, what should the cap be?

e The benefit to the parent should be included in the $40,000 overall benefit.

e The parent should be allowed up to two weeks of lost wages, without having to provide a
physician’s certificate which is required under JUS 11.04(2)(a), if the parent misses work due to the
child’s injuries.

* Mental health benefits available to the parent whose child is the victim of a crime should be capped
at $3,000. This would be included in the overall $40,000 claim maximum.

2. How should economic loss and loss of support benefits be determined? The proposed revisions offer several
options.

Here is what we propose:

rf/d@’%/ * Eliminate the economic loss provisions.

e For loss of financial support for dependents and children under the age of 18:

ﬁ\“‘t@‘ ¥ o ldentify the deceased victim’s net yearly income at the time of death.
o Multiply deceased victim’s net yearly income by 4 years.
&\D kéiv o Deduct 4 years worth of Social Security benefits to be received by the beneficiary/claimant.
o Deduct total amount of life insurance received by the beneficiary/claimant.
o The amount remaining is the loss of support award amount,

3. If benefits are extended to include adaptations to make a victim’s residence handicap accessible, do you want
to place a cap on these expenses or just include them in the $40,000/4 year limit?
¢ Allow for a one-time benefit of up to $5,000 for reasonable and necessary adaptations to
accommodate a crime-related disability. ‘
¢ This benefit would fall within the $40,000/4-year limit.

4. With regard to the proposed change to the definition of “victim” to not include a witness or bystander, would it
work to amend the definition so that a victim must be physically injured or killed by an incident specified in s.
949.03 (1) (a)? | think this would eliminate claims from a person who was psychologically harmed or
traumatized, but not physically injured, as a witness or bystander.

e No; this would eliminate being able to pay costs for victims of sensitive crimes (including children)
who suffer trauma but do not have physical injuries.

e Itisokay to eliminate a witness or bystander who was never in harm’s way. If the person was in
harm’s way, he/she would still be considered eligible.

5. With regard to the mandatory minimum automobile insurance, does this apply only to persons who were injured
in traffic-related crimes? Does it apply to people who did not carry the required insurance at the time of the
injury or death? Please clarify.

e Yesand yes. Compliance with the mandatory minimum automobile insurance law would only apply

to individuals injured or killed in traffic-related crimes who were required by law to carry such
insurance.

Yo/ (2).(d)



PROPOSED CHAPTER 949 REVISIONS

§ 949.06(1)(a) Medical treatment

Limit payment of medical treatment to a 4 year time period from the date of the crime or
$40,000, whichever comes first.

Specify limit of certain types of medical expenses, such as mental health and associated
prescription costs from the date of the crime to a 4 year time period. Identify exceptions

' that apply to include claims involving child victims and adults who were victims of

crimes as children, where the 4 year time period of the claim would start from the date of
the application. May consider caps on expenses.

Extend benefits o parents of minor children for parents’ mental health expenses and lost
wages; set cap. ' )

§ 949.06(1)(b) Work loss

Limit any lost wage payments to four years after the date of the crime.

§ 949.06(1)(b)(1) and (2) — Limit up to 4 years or $40,000 whichever comes first.
Change “net salary” to “net income” in both the loss of support and economic loss
subsections (§ 949.06(1)(b)(1) and (2); § 949.06(1)(e)). This change allows the Program
to consider all types of income in addition to salary, e.g. replacement of a deceased
victim’s social security income, ' ‘ '

It is recommended that the substitute work provision be written in a separate paragraph
from § 949.06(1)(b)2. Create a new paragraph to be section § 949.06(1)(b)3 to read: Ifa
victim is released to return to work with restrictions per a physician but is unable to
return to the job they were performing at the time of the crime, the award shall be
reduced by any income from substitute work (and then use the rest of the language
already in the statute). ’

Under § 949.06(1m)(a), family member defined; allow program to pay up to two weeks
of lost wages without a physician certificate in cases involving a homicide survivor. This
would require an administrative code change to Jus § 11.04(2)(a), which currently
requires that the disability period be determined by a physician.

§ 949.06(1)(e) Economic loss and loss of support

Remove the provisions that apply to economic loss and revise loss of support provisions.
Simplify loss of support language. The current language results in a calculation that is
confusing to administer and burdensome on surviving dependents.

Consider similar provisions from Minnesota, Iowa, and Illinois; identify alternative
approaches:

Updated January 2015



Minnesota

Towa

Pays a monthly benefitto any | e Pays for loss of support at a

dependent, rate of $4,000 per dependent.
Monthly amount (currently e Pays for dependent care if
$350) is set by the legislature victim is disabled and was
each year. providing care to a dependent.

Pays regardless of whether the | ¢ Payment is made at Iowa’s
victim was working or minimum wage.

supporting dependent at the

time of death.

Social security benefits and
other government payments

are not deducted.

Benefit is payable for 3 years
or until child reaches age 18;
after 3 years the claim may
be resubmitted and re-
evaluated for continuing

financial need.

)

Ilinois

e Pays a maximum loss of support

of $1,000 per month if victim
was working and supporting
dependents at time of death.
Overall maximum is $27,000 per
claim,

Fairly complicated scheme
calculating loss of earnings from
previous six months over the
victim’s life expectancy; minor
child’s age on crime date current
court-ordered child support; etc.

* Deduct life insurance as a collateral source, only if left to a dependent.

Alternative Approaches to Consider for Wisconsin
e Make yearly payments to dependents for a limited time period, such as 4 years.

* Do not deduct social security benefits.
e Determine whether the benefit should end at age 18 or be paid to dependents for 4 years regardless of
their age at the time of the crime; determine whether to cap the total amount, such as a limit of $4,000

per dependent; determine if benefits should be paid regardless of whether decéased victim was working,
If dependents were relying on financial support of the victim who was working at the time of death, loss
of support is based on net wages. Award based on 4 times the victim’s average net annual income for
the time dependent was entitled to support, not to exceed 4 years.

If dependents are receiving court-ordered child support, loss of support is based on actual, documented
amount the victim was providing to the dependent at the time of the victim’s death.

§ 949.06(1)(d) Funeral benefit
o Increase funeral benefit to at least $4,000, preferably $5,000..
e Include funeral benefit within overall $40,000 maximum, not as a separate benefit.

Updated January 2015




“B46:62(4)"

346:63(2)-0r.(6)

346.67(1)
940.01
940.02
940.03
940.05

. 940.06

940.07
. 940.08
«=940:09 -
~940:10 -

940.19
940.20
940.201
940.21
940.22(2)
940.225
940.23
940.235
940.24

940.285
940.29
940.30
940.302(2)
940.305
940.31
94032 -
941327 °
943.02
943.03
943.04
943.10
943.20
943.23(1g)

. 94332
943.81
943.86
943.87
948.02
948.025
948.03
948.04
948.05
948.051
948.06
948.07
948.075
948.08

COMPENSABLE CRIMES " Rev. 914

Reckless Driving

Operating Under Influence of Intoxicant or Other Drug

Duty Upon Striking (Pedestrian Only) (Effective on or after 4/4/96)
First-Degree Intentional Homicide

First-Degree Reckless Homicide

Felony Murder : '

Second-Degree Intentional Homicide-

Second-Degree Reckless Homicide

Homicide Resulting from Negligent Control of Vicious Animal

Homicide by Negligent Handling of Dangerous Weapon, Explosives or Fire

Homicide by Intoxicated Use of Vehicle or Firearm
Homicide by Negligent Operation of Véhicle
Battery; Substantial Battery; Aggravated Battery
Battery; Special Circumstances

Battery or Threat to Witnesses

Mayhem

Sexual Exploitation by a Therapist

Sexual Assault

Reckless Injury

Strangulation & Suffocation

Injury by Negligent Handling of Dangerous Weapon, Explosives or Fire
Injury by Intoxicated Use of a Vehicle

Abuse of Vulnerable Adults

Abuse of Residents of Penal Facilities

False Imprisonment

Human Trafficking

Taking Hostages

Kidnapping

. Stalking (Effective 6/14/96)

Tampering with Household Products

Arson of Buildings; Damage of Property by Explosives

Arson of Property Other Than Building

Arson with Intent to Defraud

Burglary

Theft :

Operating Vehicle Without Owner’s Consent While Possessing Dangerous
Weapon

Robbery

Theft from a Financial Institution

Extortion against-a Financial Institution

Robbery of a Financial Institution

Sexual Assault of a Child '
Engaging in Repeated Acts of Sexual Assault of the Same Child
Physical Abuse of a Child

Causing Mental Harm to a Child

Sexual Exploitation of a Child (Effective 4/24/12)

Trafficking of a Child -

Incest with a Child (Effective 4/24/12)

Child Enticement

Use of a.Computer to Facilitate a Child Sex Crime (Effective 4/24/12)
Soliciting a Child for Prostitution (Effective 4/24/12)



948.09. ‘Sexual Intercourse with a Child Age 16 or Older (Effective 4/24/12)

4 948.085 Sexual Assault of a Child Placed in Substitute Care
948.095 Sexual Assault of a Student by a School Instructional Staff Person
948.20 Abandonment of a Child

948.30 Abduction of Another’s Child; Constructive Custody
948.51 Hazing .



949.01 (intro.) Definitions. In this subchapter:

(1) "Crime" means an act committed in this state which would constitute a crime as defined in s. 939.12
if committed by a competent adult who has no legal defense for the act.

(1m) "Department" means the department of justice.

(2) "Dependent" means any spouse, domestic partner under ch. 770, parent, grandparent, stepparent,
child, stepchild, adopted child, grandchild, brother, sister, half brother, half sister, or parent of spouse or
of domestic partner under ch. 770, of a deceased victim who was wholly or partially dependent upon the
victim's income at the time of the victim's death and 1nciudes any child of the victim born after the )
v1ct1ms dea:l:/ (2 f‘\\ L # loulirg acees N g & 0{9%@«3 Bt MQW‘}' A QO

(19 "LaW enforcement agency" has the meaning de51gnated under s. 165.83 (1) (b). 1 ' / 45’
ﬂg/f/h‘é”\%/‘ﬁ' o 42 1 ed

(4) ""Medical treatment" includes medical, surgical,{dental, optometric, chiropractic, podiatric and e

W ; medical, dental and surgical supplies; crutches; artificial members; appliances

and training in the use of artificial members and appliances.” "Medical treatment" includes any ChnstlanL u.ig/t/wi
Science treatment for cure or relief from the effects of injuty.

(9; (Q€S$ML‘ \’ }wf
R s

(4m) "Pedestrian" has the meaning given in s. 340.01 (43). -
(5) "Personal injury" means actual bodﬂy harm and includes pregnancy and mental or pn.emusz-sheel‘?/\ PEye :

. iﬁ &}% (6) "Victim" means a person who is injured or killed by an 1n01dent specified in s. 949.03 (1) (a), or by

1 «‘g £ b any act or omission of any other person that is within the description of any of the offenses listed in s.

C&,‘f% ¥ ‘; ~949.03 (1) (b) or within the description of the offense listed and the condition provided in s. 949.03 (1) L
4;‘@ " (c). This definition does not apply t0 5. 949.165 & O @’f ﬁ /hé‘t )f\oi)é € o (PAi5Dq WS

ﬁl ‘%f\ﬁ T ﬁ\{% (e pate Gom & (
History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 189 198¥c 201983 467; 1985 a. 135 5. 83 (3), : ! '
1989 a. 140; 1995 a. 153; 2007 a. 205 2009 a. 28. : SO
949.03 Compensable acts. Fza Pl

(1) (intro.) The department may order the payment of an award for personal injury or death which results
from:

N
“\
\\

(a) Preventing or attempting to prevent the commission of a crime; apprehending or attempting to ‘\\

apprehend a suspected criminal; aiding or attempting to aid a police officer to apprehend or arrest a |

suspected criminal; aiding or attempting to aid a victim of a crime specified in par. (b); or aiding or K
\

attempting to aid a victim of the crime specified and the condition provided in par. (c). ——

(b) The commission or the attempt to commit any crime specified in si?mZ (4), 346.63 (2) or (6),
940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08, 940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.20, 940.201,
940.21, 940.22 (2), 940.225, 940.23, 940.235, 940.24, 940.25, 940.285, 940.29, 940.30, 940.302 (2),

. 940.305, 940.31, 940.32, 941.327, 943.02, 943.03, 943.04, 943.10, 943.20, 943.23 (1g), 943.32, 943.81,
A(? i 943.86, 943.87, 948.02, 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948. QS 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.075, 948.08,
948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948. 20 948 30 or 948.51. {f« ) ?j Dvak
,v_,;”g

(c) The commission or the attempt to comm1t the crime specified in s. 346.67 (1) if the victim was a
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" History: 1975 c. 224 5. 145za; 1975 c. 344; 1977 c. 173, 239; 1979 c. 118; 1983 a. 199, 356, 538; 1985
a. 275; 1985 a. 293 5. 3; 1985 a. 306 s. 5; 1987 a. 90, 332, 380, 399, 403; 1989 a. 105, 140, 359; 1993 a.
92, 227; 1995 a. 153, 374, 456; 1997 a. 35, 143, 258; 2001 a. 109; 2005 a. 212, 277; 2007 a. 97, 116;
2011 a. 271; 2013 a. 362.

949.04 Application for award.
(1) ELIGIBILITY.

(ag) Any person may apply for an award under this subchapter.

NOTE: Par. (ag) is shown as renumbered from sub. (1) (intro.) by the legislative reference bureau
under s. 13.92 (1) (bm) 2.

(ar) Application by a minor may be made on the minor's behalf by his or her parent or guardian.

NOTE: Par. (ar) is shown as renumbered from par. (a) by the legislative reference bureau under s.
13.92 (1) (bm) 2.

(b) Application by an individual adjudicated incompetent may be made on the individual's behalf by the
guardian or other person authorized to administer the individual's estate.

(2) FORMS.

(a) The department shall prescribe application forms for awards under this subchapter. If the application
results from the commission of or the attempt to commit a crime specified in s. 940.22 (2), 940.225,
948.02, 948.025, 948.051, 948.085, or 948.095 or a crime or an act compensable under s. 949.03 that was
sexually motivated, as defined in s. 980.01 (5), any personally identifiable information, as defined in s.

19.62 (5), provided on the application form is not subject o inspection or copying under s. 19.35 (1). e
n FD &,”ha" ((’f ard vy ¢ K'thg e
) 14 é

(b) The department shall furnish law enforcement agencies v;t?/ﬁ?forms under par. (a). The law LA 12

enforcement agency investigating a crime shall provide-foxms t6 each person who may be eligible to file
a claim under this subchapter.

(3) MEDICAL AND DENTAL RECORDS. The applicant shall submit to the department reports from all
physicians, osteopaths, dentists, optometrists, chiropractors or podiatrists who treated or examined the
victim at the time of or subsequent to the victim's injury or death. The department may also order such
other examinations and reports of the victim's previous medical and dental history, injury or death as it
believes would be of material aid in its determination.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1975 c. 422 5. 163; 1977 c. 239; 1981 c. 20; 2005 a. 387; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a.
138; 5. 13.92 (1) (bm) 2.

949.06 Computation of award.

(1) (intro.) In accordance with this subchapter, the department shall make awards, as appropriate, for any
of the following economic losses incurred as a direct result of an injury:

(a) Medical treatment.

(b) (intro.) Work loss, which shall be determined as follows:



| AR

{g 1. If the victim wa emfjloyed at the time of the injury, loss of actual earnings shall be based upon the

ictim's net t the time of the injury.

/(y s netsalary, jury " <. \aw@é@ﬁy

- ¢ 2. If the victim was not employed at the time of the injury’or, if as a dire?‘ée/sult of the injury, the victim -

" suffered a disability causing a loss of potential earnings{ the award may e based upon a sufficient , j, Se
showing by the victim that he or she actually incurred loss ofweamings/y he amount of the award shall be 1 “}" ~4-
reduced by any income from substitute work actually performed by the Victim or by income the victim R
would have earned in available appropriate substitute work the victim was capable of performing, but
unreasonably failed to undertake. at Yhe hee of e ya Ty E"& Vie el wirkong s oa

- Creeqgwe \a hsor her Thone,
¥ fﬂ}\ (bm) Ifthe-victimrisa] , an amount sufficient to ensure that the duties and responsibilities are
continued until the victim is able to resume the performance of the duties, or until the cost of services
reaches the maximum allowable under sub. (2), whichever is less.

(¢) Reasonable replacement value of any clothing and bedding that is held for evidentiary purposes, but

_not to exceed $300. Lo , ’
,«H’ (¢ v{}\ Cell rf)\wm; b I”""‘ﬁ«”{)@‘g‘ ”“’Q%y ﬁlﬁi’m! QQW (jfc ¢ /‘3‘“(“?4 ™ ‘{QC}S
(cm) Reasonable replacement value for property, other than clothing and bedding under par. (c), that is

held for evidentiary purposes and is rendered unusable as a result of crime laboratory testing, but not to
/ exceed $200.

o

Sool

/ , “*W
(/ \(}‘ (d) Reasonable funeral and burial expenses, not to exceed &Gﬂﬁe funeral and burial award may not
be considered by the department under sub. (2).

(e) Dependent's economic loss, which shall include contributions of things of economic value provided
/"~ . by the victim to dependents but lost as a result of the victim's death. Loss of support shall be determined

() ;
\ﬁu{}/’ on the basis of the victim's netsala-py)at the time of death, and shall be calculated as an amount equal to 4

~ times the victim's average annual earnings.

(f) Reasonable and necessary costs associated witb/s’gcuring and cleaning up a crime scene, not to
exceed $1,000.

.
(e
(1m) gu/;gi)f/

(a) In this subsection, "ffmily member" means any spouse, domestic partner under ch. 770, parcnf,

grandparent, stepparent,|child, stepchild, adopted child, grandchild, foster child, brother, sister, half
gf/ rothety half sister, aumrunclernephewmeee;—ef-pﬁrm"or‘sibﬁﬂgofﬂspousew@fs—@faaaéemest-ieﬂpaﬂﬂcr‘
—under-eh=776

(b) In accordance with this subchapter, the department shall make awards, as appropriate, to persons
who, immediately prior to the crime, lived in the same household with and to family members of a victim
of s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08 or 940.09 for any of the economic losses specified
‘in sub. (1) as a result of the person's or family member's reaction to the death. A dependent may recover
both under sub. (1) and this subsection, subject to the limitation under sub. (2).
— (b 4o w017 (120)

}f,,w(2) g‘he department may not make an award of more than $40,000 for any one injury or death: .

/l () (intro.) Any award made under this section shall be reduced by the amount of any payment received,
.f n
l\ B f&;\\ r?\)ﬁ\k )‘ .



or to be received, as a result of the injury or death:
(a) From, or on behalf of, the person who committed the crime.

(b) From insurance payments or program, including worker's compensation and unemployment
insurance’ O\ ~

(¢) From public funds. ( \\ @ /

: 2
/ﬁ(d’)%sma»gﬁnvy award Gnders. ycw.iulff / e ed\ j
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AN

(e) From one or more 3rd parties held liable for the offender's acts.
(f) From an award under s. 949.26.

@)

(@) An award may be made whether or not any person is prosecuted or convicted of any offense arising
out of such act or omission.

(b) The department may suspend proceedings under this subchapter for a period it deems appropriate on
the grounds that a prosecution for an offense arising out of the act or omission has been commenced or is
imminent.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1977 c. 239; 1979 c. 198; 1981 c. 20, 314; 1985 a. 242; 1987 a. 27; 1993 a.
16, 446; 1997 a. 27, 39; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 276.

Cross-reference: See also ch. Jus 11, Wis. adm. code.
o U>
949.07 Manner of payment. /The award, combining both the compensation award and the funeral and
burial award, if applicable, shaljbe paid in a lump sum,-exeept-that-in-the-case-of-death-or-protracted—

- 'iéjibi&ty—ﬂw'av&“ﬁrdﬁﬁ%ﬁﬁiiﬁﬁ@peﬂodic payments. The department may pay any portion of an

award directly to the provider of any service which is the basis for that portion of the award. No award
may be subject to execution, attachment, garnishment or other process, except that an award for
allowable expense is not exempt from a claim of a creditor to the extent that the creditor provided
products, services or accommodations the costs of which are included in the award.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1979 c. 189; 1981 c. 20.

949.08 Limitations on awards.

(1) No order for the payment of an award may be made unless the application was made within 1 year

after the date of the personal injury or death, and the personal injury or death was the result of an

incident or offense which had been reported to the police within 5 days of its occurrence or, if the

incident or offense could not reasonably have been reported within such period, within 5 days of the time
when a report could reasonably have been made. The department may waive the one-year-requirement— ¥ ¢4
under this subsection in the interest of justice.

(2) (intro.) No award may be ordered if the victim:

(a) Engaged in conduct which substantially contributed to the infliction of the victim's injury or death or

PP, |8
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in which the victim could have reasonably foreseen could lead to the injury or death. This does not apply
to awards to victims under s. 949.03 (1) (a).

(b) Committed a crime which caused or contributed to the victim's injury or death. } o

fe e~

, . . e 0TI

(d) Has not cooperated with appropriate law enforcement agencies. uA i E:;,‘)%;Z;em-’f S;W@ﬁl
[ -

(e) Is an adult passenger in the offender's vehicle, the crime involved is specified in s. 346.63 (2) or
/ '\7 940.25, and the passenger knew the offender was committimg-tha

/ if the victim is also a victim of a crime specified in s. 940.30, 940.305, 940.31 or 948.30.

P ,?5"

. (\1\ (em) Is an adult passenger in the offender's commercial motor vehicle, the crime involved is spécified in_. N
S. 346.63 (6) or 940.25, and the passenger knew the offender was ittt . This 07 4
paragraph does not apply if the victim is also a victim of a crime specified in s. 940.30, 940.305, 940.31, ?f/’”
or 948.30.

() Has not cooperated with the department in the administration of the program.

() Is included on the statewide support lien docket under s. 49.854 (2) (b), unless the victim provides to
the department a payment agreement that has been approved by the county child support agency under s.
59.53 (5) and that is consistent with rules promulgated under s. 49.858 (2) (a).

(2m) If a claimant other than a victim has not cooperated with the department in the administration of the
program, no award may be ordered for the claimant.

(3) No award may be made to any claimant if the award would unjustly benefit the offender or
accomplice.

History: 1975 c. 344, 421; 1979 c. 189; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 199; 1985 a. 242, 337; 1987 a. 27; 1987 a.
332's. 64; 1989 a. 105, 140; 1991 a. 277; 1995 a. 404, 448; 1999 a. 9; 2003 a. 30, 97, 326.

949.10 Emergency awards.

(1) (intro.) Notwithstanding s. 949.06, if the department determines that an award will probably be made
and that undue hardship will result to the claimant if immediate payment is not made, the department
may order emergency awards as follows: )

(a) An emergency compensation award may not exceed $500. & ﬁ%}f
o
Q(S‘ (b) An emergency award for funeral and burial expenses may not exceed $2‘069‘
(o
(2) Any award under sub. (l)ﬁlall be deducted from the final award made to the claimant. The excess of
the amount of such emergency award over the amount of the final award, or the full amount of the
emergency award if no final award is made, shall be repaid by the claimant to the department.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1981 c. 20.



P. 1, line 5 of the analysis

P.1, last line of the analysis

P.2, beginning with line 4
of the analysis
P.2, 2" paragraph fine 1

P.2, 2" paragraph line 2

P.2, 2 paragraph line 6

P.2, 3" paragraph line 1
of the analysis

P.2,3" paragraph
of the analysis

P.2, 4" paragraph line 2
of the analysis

P.2, 4 paragraph line 3
of the analysis

P.2, 5% paragraph line 1
of the analysis

P.2, 5% paragraph line 3
of the analysis

Chapter 949 Preliminary Draft — Suggested Changes

“replacement of lost or damaged property” should read “reasonable replacement
cost for clothing and bedding held as evidence”; remove “certain economic losses”;
add “funeral and burial expenses”.

change “victim’s close relative” to “applicant”.

Remove “generally makes the payment in one lump sum. However, DOJ may make
periodic payments in the case of a death or protracted disability.”

To read, “This bill makes several chankgeé for géi?ents of child victims to DOJ’s...”

Remove “psychiatric or psychological care and” replace with “mental health
treatment”.

Next line to read, “If a victim suffers a protracted disability as a resuit of the crime,

reasonable housing accessibllity adaptations may be allowed.”

To read “The b; I also allows each parent of a minor chlld who was the vu:tlm to
rece!ve compensatuon for eeeaemeeJesses—wage loss and mental health treatment,
upto $3,000 total for both benefitsy

To read, “Under the bill, DOJ shall consider reimbursement of crime related expenses
Incurred within four years after the crime occurred, |f a victim was a minor child at

the time the crime occurred, the victim may receive payments for up to four years
after he or she applies for compensation.

Remove the entire last sentence.

Remove “economic”; to read “victim’s support”.

To read, “victim’s average net annual earnings...”

Replace “relative’s” with “applicant’s” to read, “the applicant’s losses...”

Remove “on his or her vehicle”.

{

Commented [whw11: ) think this first sentence is fine as s, -
because it is signaling a discussion of the several changes that the
bill covers. | think this paragraph could be m-organlled as follows; -
P.2; 2nd paragraph of the analysis . . §
This bill makes several changes to DOJ's victim compensation award.
program. Under the bill, cavered expenses may.include reasonable
housing accessibility adaptations if a victim suffers a protracted
disability as a result of the crime, The bill adds victims of certain
crimes to the list of persons eligible for fon and i

the funeral and burial allowance to $5,000, The bill also allows each
parent of a minor child who was a victim to receive up to $3,000in
compensation for wage losses and mental health treatment.




P.2, 5% paragraph, last line

. of! the analysns Rep!ace proper" with ”mandatory" to read, “carried the mandatory insurance.” e
P.3,Sec.6,line 22 /_ Change “passenger” to “person” to read “ora PErson ina buggy” = —cmes
P.4,sec.7,lined ~ Replace forms” with “application upon request’} - | Commented EWhw21: Just add "upon request.” at the end (or
/ ******** beginning?) of the sentence to read;. -
A . . . - d i t ith th
P.4,Sec. 7, line 3 Replace “regarding claims” with “about the availability of crime victim The department shall fumish law enforcemen “g’"C’efw e 1

forms under par. (a), upon request.

compensation” to read, “information about the availability of crime victim
compensation under this subchapter...”

P.4, Sec. 8, line 6-7 To read, “The department may award benefits to each parent of a victim for mental 1

health treatment that the parent receives subject to limitations set forth under,{ltst ! : : .
provision}.” Note: the benefit for both lost wages and mental health treatment . - { Commented [whwal s imtationtothis vard would asd v

be defined {presumably under s, 949.08(1)] to limit the benefit to
Co:,,n bined are capped at $3,000 for each parent. each parent of a minor child victim to $3,000in compensatlon for
-

wage losses and mental health treatment combmed

P.4,Sec. 9, line 9 To read, “Work loss of a victim, of a parent of a victim, or in the case of a homicide,
of-4 family member, shall be determined as follows:”

Agd/Q/ZS.OG(l)(b)B) toread, “3. The department may award each parent of a victim,

or in the case of a homicide, a family member not more than 2 weeks of lost wages
without requiring proof of disability from a physician, (Note: the limitation of
$3,000 applies to the parent of a minor child victim only, not to homicide survivors.)

P.4,Sec. 9, line 10

P.5, Sec. 13, line 11 76 read, “a protracted disability....”
P.5, Sec. 14, line 14 Qﬁége “cellular” to “mobile”
P.5, Sec. 15, line 18-19 R'énove “The funeral and burial award may not be considered by the department

under sub. (2) s. 949.08(1m)(a).” Note: With the increased funeral benefit to
j?lp, the $5,000 will be included in the overall $40,000 maximum.
mo

P.5, Sec. 16, line 21-23 ve “Dependent’s economic loss, which shall include contributions of things of

economic value provided by the victim to dependents but lost as a result of the

v?’s death.”
P.6, Sec. 16, line 1 Vead, “the victim’s average net annual earnings income, and....”
Yo

P.6;Sec. 17, line 6 read, “the dependents received or are-expected to be received, over..”

P.6,Sec.17,line10 BN _ To read, “the dependents received or to-bereceived as a resulte ...~ | Commented [whwal: The provisions added on P. 6, Sec. 17, |
Lines 4-11 appear to be redundant.. §949, 05(3) already reduces an

. b I ]
P.7, Sec. 20, line 5 o read, “may not make any award for expenses incurred beyond four vears from the AWari by any avalisble collsters) surces.
date of the injury or death.”
P.7, Sec. 21, line 14 move “a reward”; replace with an award.
I 5 inac12.16. o . prae X g o (/ 5 .. | Commented [whw5]: Specifically, is there any language within ]
P..7,Sec.21, lines 13-16 .. Note! Is this last sentence necessary? | \ etttk would dhee or allow e Progan to ot o

collateral source of benefit against an applicant twice? ‘We do hot i
do thisin practice, but | just want to clarify that there was nothihg
in the statute that we missed. .




P. 7, Sec. 23, line 19-20 emove “

H-applicable”
P.8, Sec. 25, line 13 Re/mgvéj’or death”
P.8, Sec. 25, line 14 /A?id the following to read, “Eligible expenses incurred up to 1 year prior to the date

the application was received may be considered for payment and will be included
within the 4 year limitation period.”

B/ Note: the result is that the program will reimburse expenses related to the crime for

(\¢ atotal period of 4 years. If expenses were incurred within one year prior to the
\g.\‘ff‘t} application date, those expenses may be paid but the four year period will begin with
U the date of the first expense for which payment is made.

P.8, Sec. 26, line 18 o read, “under the influence of an intoxicant, a controlled substance, or another

drug which renders him or her incapable of safely driving.”

P.8, Sec. 27, line 24 Tpfread, “under the influence of an intoxicant; a controlled substance, or another

drug which renders him or her incapable of safely driving.”
P.9, Sec. 28 and 29 Section 949.10 can be eliminated.
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AN ACT #o repeal 949.06 (3) (d); to renumber and amend 949.06 (2); to amend
949.01 (4), 949.01 (5), 949.03 (1) (b), 949.03 (1) (c), 949.04 (2) (b), 949.06 (1) (a),
949.06 (1) (b) (intro.), 949.06 (1) (b) 1., 949.06 (1) (b) 2., 949.06 (1) (bm), 949.06
(1) (d), 949.06 (1) (e), 949.06 (1m) (a), 949.06 (1m) (b), 949.06 (3) (b), 949.07,
949.08 (1), 949.08 (2) (e), 949.08 (2) (em), 949.10 (1) (b) and 949.10 (2); and to
create 949.01 (4g), 949.03 (1) (bn), 949.06 (1) (br), 949.06 (1) (cg), 949.06 (i) (e)
2. and 3. and 949.08 (1m) (b) of the statutes; relating to: compensating victims

of crime.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill makes changes to the administration of financial compensation to
victims of crime. Under current law, a person who is the victim of a crime or a close
relative of a victim of a crime may receive compensation for certain losses he or she
suffers as a result of the crime, including payment for medical treatment,
replacement of lost or damaged property, and certain economic losses, including loss
of income that occurs as a result of the crime and lost economic benefits to dependents
who had been supported financially by the victim of the crime.

Under current law, within one year after the crime occurs, the victim or the
victim’s close relative may apply to the Department of Justice (DOJ) for an award if
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the person reported the crime to law enforcement Wlthm five days after the crime |
occurred. Current law allows DOJ to grant an award after the one—year deadline for
application has passed if the department determines it is in the interest of justice. |
Under current law, DOJ may award up to $40,000 per injury or death and generally |
makes the payment in one lump sum. However, DOJ may make periodic payments ‘
in the case of a death or protracted disability. Current law also allows DOJ to provide \
up to an additional $2,000 for funeral and burial expenses. |

This bill makes several changes to DOJ’s victim compensation award program. |
Under the bill, covered expenses may include psychiatric or psychological care and, 1
if a victim suffers a disability as a result of the crime, reasonable housing |
accessibility adaptations. The bill adds victims of certain crimes to the list of persons f
eligible for compensation and increases the funeral and burial allowance to $5,000. /
The bill also allows a parent of a child who was the victim to receive compensation:, /

?afor economic losses andcp to $3,( 000 for C‘ostsLof Teceiving” psychological or psychlatr

{eare?‘m”w ™ e M”" s €h z?‘i; ' fx:ff .
~ ' Under the bill, DOJ mustdnake all paynients 1th1n four years after the crlmei\ 1 {’ b
occurred, except that if a victim d ds a child, t may receive payments for up to ; {3 ““‘,\} o
four years after he or she applies for compensatlona The bill allows DOJ to make | " Yo /
periodic payments without requiring death or a protracted disability. ﬁ e :i

o The bill clarifies the method for determmlng the amount to compensate a' ' '©

"‘\4 dependent for the loss of the victim’s economic support. Under the bill, DOJ * 4

!3 Ny
Cm 2/ multiplies the victim’s average annual searnings by four and subtracts from that """ "
N amount four years’ worth of federal Social Security payments the dependents are

expected to receive and any life insurance proceeds the dependents receive.

Under the bill, if the victim’s losses or the relative’s losses are due to certain
crimes involving a motor vehicle and the victim did not carry the minimum insurance
required by Iaw@whls or her vehicle, the bill allows DOJ to reduce the amount it pays
by the amount the yictim would have receLveiln insurance proceeds if he or she had
carried theajproper‘ansurance“ M vondaloy \

For further information see ‘the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

1 SECTION 1. 949.01 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
2 949.01 (4) “Medical treatment” includes medical, surgical, psychiatric,
3 psychological, dental, optometric, chiropractic, podiatric and hospital care;

4 medieines prescription medications; medical, dental and surgical supplies; crutches;

5 artificial members; appliances and training in the use of artificial members and
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SECTION 1

appliances. “Medical treatment” includes any Christian Science treatment for cure
or relief from the effects of injury.

SECTION 2. 949.01 (4g) of the statutes is created to read:

949.01 (4g) “Parent of a victim” means a person who is a parent, guardian, or
legal custodian of a child under the age of 18 who is a victim under sub. (6).

SECTION 3. 949.01 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.01 (5) “Personal injury” means actual bodily harm and includes pregnancy
and mental or nerveus-sheek psychological trauma.

SECTION 4. 949.03 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.03 (1) (b) The commission or the attempt to commit any crime specified in
s. 346.62 (4), 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08,
940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.20, 940.201, 940.21, 940.22 (2), 940.225, 940.23, 940.235,
940.24, 940.25, 940.285, 940.29, 940.30, 940.302 (2), 940.305, 940.31, 940.32,
941.327, 943.02, 943.03, 943.04, 943.10, 943.20, 943.23 (1g), 943.32, 943.81, 943.86,
943.87, 948.02, 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.075,
948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.20, 948.21 (1) (b) to (d), 948.30 or 948.51.

SECTION 5. 949.03 (1) (bn) of the statutes is created to read:

949.03 (1) (bn) The commission or the attempt to commit abuse described in
s. 48.02 (1) (g).

SECTION 6. 949.03 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.03 (1) (¢) The commission or the attempt to commit the crime specified in

S. 346 67 (1) if the victim was a pedestrlan, a person riding a bicycle, or a(gassenéerj B

vvvvvv e

nabuggy ?‘ Tﬁ@f&mﬂ \
SECTION 7. 949 04 ( (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 7

ing clalms nder this subcha ter/to each person who ma

of (ryme. \Jn(,igi‘*w

N

cwlost e O\V%{;\L«M?“

SECTION 8 949 06 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended"’to*readw (o mp@mi.mf?aq

Q-

TN T

949.06 (1) (a) Medlcal treatmen\ The department may award no more than)

v1ct1m* The department may award a parent of a ylctlm not more than 2 meeks of' )

¢
% earnings Wlthout requiring a physician’s certlﬁcate of roof Work loss 1s;determ /ned\J

. . N %% /‘k""‘ e v
as follows.

SECTION 10. 949.06 (1) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
949.06 (1) (b) 1. If the victim or parent of a victim was employed at the time of
the injury, loss of actual earnings shall be based upon the-vietiza’s his or her net-salary

income at the time of the injury.

SECTION 11. 949.06 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (1) (b) 2. If the victim was not employed at the time of the injury or, if
as a direct result of the injury, the victim suffered a disability causing a loss of
potential earnings income, the award may be based upon a sufficient showing by the

victim that he or she actually incurred loss of earnings-The-ameount-of income.

3. If a victim is released by a physician to return to work with restrictions but

is unable to return to the job he or she was performing at the time the crime was

committed, the award shall be reduced by any income from substitute work actually

performed by the victim or by income the victim would have earned in available

R
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SEcCTION 11

appropriate substitute work the victim was capable of performing, but unreasonably
failed to undertake.
) WF\SECTION 12. 949.06 (1) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:
949.06 (1) (bm) If-thevietim-is-a-homemaker at the time of the injury, the victim
was a caregiver in his or her home, an amount sufficient to ensure that the duties

and responsibilities are continued until the victim is able to resume the performance

of the duties, or until the cost of services reaches the maximum allowable under sub-

- 38 ( (2) 5. 949.08 (1m) (a), whichever is less.
é)/

SECTION 18. 949.06 (1) (br) of the statutes is created to read:
10 949.06 (1) (br) If as a direct result of the personal injury, the victim suffered

11 a\disability, reasonable and necessary housing accessibility adaptations, but not to

12 exceed $5,000.

13 SECTION 14. 949.06 (1) (cg) of the statutes is created to read:
S5
14 ~~-949.06 (1) (cg) Reasonable replacement value of any computer or @ellulagﬁ
/| Mmosile T

15 [ telephone that is held for evidentiary purposes, but not to exceed $200.

16 SECTION 15. 949.06 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

17 ‘ %6 (1) (d) Reasonable funeral and burial expenses, not to exceed $2,000
$5,000, —ﬂlhewf&nelsakaﬁd-buﬁal»awa«rnd«maymdered&by«th&gd@pammeﬁtm

ew s - . et pencnnn, 7 (t‘!’
19 8. M2 L9
20 SECTION 16. 949.06 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
Sk
21 949.06 (1) (e) Pependent’s-economic-loss,which-shall-include-contributions-of-—

22 ,)mi:m;;g@»oﬁ«eeommi&%lu%pm&idedwbyw'f;h*e;yifctim:t “dependents-but-lost-as-a-result-of —

Thed on the basis of the victim’s

23  —the-victim’s-death- Loss of supportall Pe-determ
24 net salary income at the time of deth, and shall be calculated as an-amount-equal
25 to-4-times follows:
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1 1. The department shall determine the victim’s average/annual earnings and
2 shall multiply that amount by 4. Subject to subds. 2. and 3., the loss of support award
3 is this amount.

SECTION 17. 949.06 (1) (e) 2. and 3. of the statutes are created to read: / /C’be
o S
949.06 (1) (e) 2. The department shall deduct from the amount calculated undelg ~
, ?;,w !
subd. 1. an amount equal to benefits the dependents received or are xpected] over

the course of 4 years, ¢ ive s a survivor benefit from the federal social seéurity
program. |

3. The department shall deduct from the amount calculated under subd. 1. the
amount of any life insurance proceeds the dependents received as a result of the

_Xictim’s death.

SECTION 18. 949.06 (1m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.06 (Im) (a) In this subsection, “family member” means any spouse,
14 domestic partner under ch. 770, parent, grandparent, stepparent, foster parent,
15 child, stepchild, adopted child, grandchild, foster child, brother, sister, half brother,

16 or half sister;aur

17

18 ‘SECTION 19. 949.06 (1m) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

19 949.06 (1m) (b) In accordance with this subchapter, the department shall make
20 awards, as appropriate, to persons who, immediately prior to the crime, lived in the
21 same household with and to family members of a victim of s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.05,

22 940.06, 940.07, 940.08 or 940.09 for any of the economic losses specified in sub. (1)
23 as a result of the person’s or family member’s reaction to the death. A dependent may

24 recover both under sub. (1) and this subsection, subject to the limitation under sub-

25 2) 8. 949.08 (1m) (a).
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SECTION 20

SECTION 20. 949.06 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 949.08 (1m) (a) and

amended to read:

949.08 (1m) (a) The Except as provided in par. (b), the department may not

@urred

SECTION 21. 949.06 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
949.06 (3) (b) From insurance payments or program, including worker’s

9 compensation and unemployment insurance. The department may reduce an award

10 related to a crime under s. 346.62 (4), 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.09, 940.10. or 940.25. if

11 the victim was not in compliance with s. 344.62 (1) at the time of the crime, by an

12 amount equal to the payment the victim would have received from an insurance

13
14

15 an insurance payment or program if it has deducted that amount from an award for

16 economic loss under sub. (1) (e) 3.

17 . SECTION 22. 949.06 (3) (d) of the statutes is repealed.

18 SECTION 23. 949.07 of the statutes is amended to read: )

19 949.07 Manner of payment. The awardreémbining—betﬁtmﬁ\eiﬁompensa%mnﬂ—»

20 __award-and-the-funeral and burial-award-if-applicable,shall may be paid in a lump

21

22 for or in periodic payments. The department may pay any portion of an award
23 directly to the provider of any service Which is the basis for that portion of the award.
24 No award may be subject to execution, attachment, garnishment or other process,

25 except that an award for allowable expense is not exempt from a claim of a creditor
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SECTION 23
to the extent that the creditor provided products, services or accommodations the
costs of which are included in the award.

SECTION 24. 949.08 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.08 (1) No order for the payment of an award may be made unless the
application was made within 1 year after the date of the personal injury or death, and
the personal injury or death was the result of an incident or offense which had been
reported to the police within 5 days of its occurrence or, if the incident or offense could
not reasonably have been reported within such period, within 5 days of the time when
a report could reasonably have been made. The department may waive the one—year
requirement requirements under this subsection in the interest of justice.

SECTION »25. 949.08 (1m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

~77949.08 (1m) (b) The department r<nay‘ not make any award to a peis;)n who was

a child at the time of the injury or death 'éfter 4 years have passed since the date the

PRI

erson made an application for an award under this subchapter/ "’#\}( o
(\ Y\ - ’

/\ \
SECTION 26. 949.08 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.08 (2) (e) Is an adult passenger in the offender’s vehicle, the crime involved

is specified in s. 346.63 (2) or 940.25, and the passenger knew the offender was

paragraph does not apply if the victim is also a victim of a crime specified in s. 940.30,
940.305, 940.31 or 948.30.

SECTION 27. 949.08 (2) (em) of the statutes is amended to read:

949.08 (2) A(eni) Is an adult passenger in the offender’s commercial motor
vehicle, the crime involved is specified in s. 346.63 (6) or 940.25, and the passenger

knew the offender was eommitting that-offense under the influence of an intoxicant

-

2o

Al 4
Vo B ‘ oo ’ ' O :/;;:;)i(
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his paragraph does not apply if the victim is also a victim of a crime

f&f’@@ o

mended to read:

g S,

7949.10 @) (b) An emergency award for funeral and burial expenses may not \

exceed $2;000 $5,000. x
SECTION 29. 949.10 (2) of the statutes is amended to read: ‘

949.10 (2) Any award under sub. (1) (a) shall be deducted from the final award /

8 made to the claimant. The excess of the amount of such emergency award over the ,f/
9 i’ amount of the final award, or the full amount of the emergency award if no final //
| ,
10 % award is made, shall be repald by the claimant to the department. s
w ”””””” S e R

11 (END)
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INSERT 5.2:

SECTION 1. 949.06 (1) (b) 4. of the statutes is created to read;
949.06 (1) (b) 4. The department may award each Vtim, parent of a victim,
or in the case of a homicide,@?amily member/not more than 2 weeks of lost wages
without requiring proof of disability from a physician.

INSERT 6.10:

SECTION 2. 949.06 (1) (bg) of the statutes is created to read:

949.06 (1) (bg) The department may award each parent of a child not more than

$3,000 total for reimbursement of expenses under (a) related to mental
health treatment and for work loss under ‘;@)\\\
INSERT 8.14:

949.08 (1Im) (b) If an applicant was a child at the time of the injury, the
department may consider for payment eligible expenses that the applicant incurred
not more than 1 year before he or she submitted an application for an award under
this subchapter. The department may not make any award after 4 years have passed
since the date the person made the application or after 4 years have passed since the
date on which the person incurred the expense prior to submitting the application,

whichever occurs first.
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INSERT 8.18:

, a controlled substance, or another drugto a degree that renders him or her

incapable of safely driving
INSERT 9.1:

, a controlled substance, or another dru%< ;o a degree that renders him or her

incapable of safely driving
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INSERT 9.2:

SEcTION 1. 949.10 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is renumbered 949.10 (1) and
amended to read:

949.10 (1) (intro.) Notwithstanding s. 949.06, if the department determines
that an award will probably be made and that undue hardship will result to the

claimant if immediate payment is not made, the department may order emergency

awards-asfollows:, An emergency compensation award may not exceed $500.

History: 1975 c. 344; 1981 ¢. 20.

SECTION 2. 949.10 (1) (a) of the statutes is repealed.
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Good Afternoon Peggy,

Could we get and update draft and add the “revenge porn” (§ 942.09) law to our compensable crimes list.

Thanks! l / £
% v ﬁ] / o
Phillip Pratt
Office of Rep. Rob Hutton f/’i 5’73 @ o /
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Subject: Draft review: LRB -1689/P2 Topic: Changes to victim compensation fund W?@ ;
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