

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AMENDMENT MEMO

2015 Assembly Bill 217

Assembly Substitute Amendment 1

Memo published: June 18, 2015 Contact: Anna Henning, Staff Attorney (266-0292)

2015 Assembly Bill 217 relates to requirements to obtain a license to practice as a clinical social worker.

CURRENT LAW

An individual seeking to obtain a license to practice as a clinical social worker in Wisconsin must submit evidence that the individual engaged in the equivalent of at least 3,000 hours of clinical social work practice. At least 1,000 of those hours must be supervised, face-to-face client contact. [s. 457.08 (4) (c), Stats.]

An administrative rules provision similarly specifies that the 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work practice generally must include at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact. It further specifies that the client contact must include diagnosis and treatment using the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). [s. MPSW 3.09 (3), Wis. Adm. Code.]

Under current law, the Wisconsin Statutes do not similarly specify whether client contact must include diagnosis and treatment, nor do they specify whether any particular method or manual for diagnosis must be used.

2015 ASSEMBLY BILL 217

The bill creates a statutory requirement requiring certain practice hours to include diagnosis and treatment based on the DSM. Specifically, the bill requires that the 1,000 hours of face-to-face, supervised client contact required to obtain a license to practice as a clinical social worker in Wisconsin must include the diagnosis and treatment of individuals using the DSM.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1

The substitute amendment authorizes the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board to determine the minimum number of hours of diagnosis and treatment and the diagnostic protocol that are required rather than specify those criteria by statute. Specifically, the substitute amendment requires the 1,000 hours of face-to-face, supervised client contact required to obtain a clinical social worker license to include a number of hours, determined by the board, of diagnosis and treatment of individuals based on a standard diagnostic protocol approved by the board.

BILL HISTORY

Representative Tom Larson offered Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 on June 11, 2015. On June 16, 2015, the Assembly Committee on State Affairs and Government Operations voted to recommend adoption of the substitute amendment, and the committee also voted to recommend passage of the bill, as amended, both on votes of Ayes, 14; Noes, 0; Absent; 1.

AH:ty