Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 384

Relating to: requirements for approval of construction of nuclear power plants and changes to the state's energy priorities policy.

By Representatives Petersen, Kuglitsch, Macco, Neylon, Jacque, Thiesfeldt, Weatherston, Kremer, Kulp, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, Murphy, Craig, Sanfelippo, Loudenbeck, Quinn, T. Larson, Petryk, Schraa, Tauchen, Jagler, Jarchow, Nygren, Tittl, J. Ott, Knudson, Knodl, Kleefisch, Vorpagel, Gannon and Rohrkaste; cosponsored by Senators Lasee and Wanggaard.

October 08, 2015 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

November 18, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Tranel,

Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Genrich and

Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Weatherston, Jarchow and

Sargent.

Appearances For

- Representative Kevin Petersen 40th Assembly District
- Commissioner Mike Huebsch Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
- Frank Jablonski Nuclear Energy Institute
- Alex Flint Nuclear Energy Institute
- Scott Manley WI Manufacturers and Commerce
- Kent Miller Wisconsin Laborers District Council
- Terry Hayden WI Pipe Traders Association
- Louis Chapdelaine Self
- Steve Shew Local 400
- Paul Wilson Self
- Kyle Croft Pipefitters Local 400
- Richard Steeves Self
- Trevor Martin Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 400
- Jeff Knaws Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 400
- Margi Kindig Self
- Kelsey Amundson Self
- Thomas Gasperetti Wisconsin Pipe Trades

- Richard Rolland Self
- AJ Gross Self
- Dave Stobaugh Self
- Drew Nigh Self

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Frank Lasee 1st Senate District
- Bob Welch International Union of Operating Engineers
- Tony Silvidi Self
- Kristin Gilkes Alliant Energy
- Gerald Jackson UA Local 434
- Colin Millard Iron Workers District Council
- Steve Breitlow Plumbers Local #75
- Leo Sokolik IBEW State Conference
- Jeff Gaecke Mechanical Contractors Association of Wisconsin
- Beata Wierzba Wisconsin Electrical Cooperatives
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters
- Dale Poweleit Steamfitters Local 601
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Tim Hoven NextEra Energy
- James Buchen Wisconsin Utility Investors
- Dave Bransor Building Trades
- Scott Bartz Southern Wisconsin Building Trades Council
- Matthew Jasica Self
- Pat Landgraf Sheet Metal Workers #18
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Beau Herron Self
- Matthew Worzala Self
- Riley Benson Self
- Anthony Prazio Self
- Brandon Chic Self

Registrations Against

- Genie Ogden Self
- Amber Meyer Smith Clean Wisconsin

• Dennis Dums - Citizen Utility Board

Registrations for Information Only

None.

December 09, 2015 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Tranel and Jarchow.

Moved by Representative Jacque, seconded by Representative Petersen that **Assembly Bill 384** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Matt Spencer
Committee Clerk