Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 804

Relating to: one-call system violations; sulfur dioxide compliance plans; assessment authority of the Public Service Commission; funding for statewide energy efficiency and renewable resource programs; public utility contracts with affiliated interests; local access and transport areas for telephone service; railroad telecommunications service; Department of Natural Resources permit application procedures related to the construction of a high-voltage transmission line; navigable water general permits and individual permits related to utility facilities; granting rulemaking authority; and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kuglitsch, Steffen, Kulp, Ballweg, Petersen, Macco, Petryk, Knodl, A. Ott, Tauchen and Ripp; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Olsen, Gudex and Marklein

January 25, 2016 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

February 3, 2016 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, T. Larson, Jacque, Petersen, Weatherston, Tranel, Jarchow, Petryk, Neylon, Zepnick, Kahl, Sargent, Genrich and Stuck.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Mike Kuglitsch 84th Assembly District
- Bob Seitz Public Service Commission
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utility Association

Appearances Against

- Keith Reopelle Clean Wisconsin
- Dan Ferber Sierra Club
- Mary Cummings Miron Construction
- Robert Bartel Wisconsin Underground Contractors Association
- Matt Grove WTBA
- Jim Thiel WTBA
- Mitchell Brey Self
- Phillip Purpero WTBA
- Vincent Mosca Self

- Darren Muljo Musson Bros. Inc.
- Susan Michetti Self
- Tyler Huebner RENEW Wisconsin
- Seth Nowak ACEEE

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Garvin ATC
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Matt Bromley Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Alice O'Connor Northern Natural Gas
- Joseph Hoch Alliant Energy
- Todd Stewart Wisconsin Industrial Energy Group
- John Sumi Madison Gas & Electric
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group

Registrations Against

- Jim Boullion AGC of Wisconsin
- Kevin Traas WTBA
- Bill Davis Sierra Club

Registrations for Information Only

None.

Matt Spencer Committee Clerk