## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Elections and Local Government**

#### Senate Bill 294

Relating to: reorganizing the Government Accountability Board, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and making appropriations.

By Senators Vukmir, LeMahieu, S. Fitzgerald, Wanggaard, Darling, Kapenga, Nass and Stroebel; cosponsored by Representatives Knudson, Bernier, Knodl, Allen, August, Ballweg, R. Brooks, Czaja, Hutton, Jagler, Katsma, Kerkman, Kleefisch, Kooyenga, Kremer, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, Loudenbeck, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Sanfelippo, Skowronski and Vorpagel.

October 09, 2015 Referred to Committee on Elections and Local Government

### October 13, 2015 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(4)	Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga,
		Wanggaard and Miller.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Senator Risser.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Dean Knudson 30th Assembly District
- Senator Leah Vukmir 5th Senate District
- Bob Spindell
- David Blaska

#### Appearances Against

- Kevin Kennedy Government Accountability Board
- Debra Morin
- Colleen Gruszynski
- Joanne Brown
- Jay Heck Common Cause in WI
- Scott McDonnell Dane County Clerk
- Mary Ann Hanson
- Judge Gerald Nichol Government Accountability Board
- Lori Stottler Beloit City Clerk
- Steven Kulig
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI
- Mark Kelderman Columbus Cannabis Initiative
- William Hotz
- James Mueller
- Marilyn Townsend

- John Allon
- Linea Sundstrom
- Nancy Slattery
- David Martin
- Robert Steinhofer
- Karen Edson
- Joanne Kanter
- Marcia Riquelme DeForest Area Progressives
- Lisa Tolefson

### Appearances for Information Only

• Jamie Aulik - Manitowoc County Clerk

## **Registrations For**

- Scott Manley Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Steve Nass 11th Senate District
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity
- Ardis Cerny

## **Registrations Against**

- Michael Wilder
- Mary Melius
- Peter Skopec WISPIRG
- Dana Schultz
- Rep. Tod Ohnstad 65th Assembly District
- Dan Ross
- Bill Kraus
- Paul Malischke
- Kathleen Fullin
- Mike McCabe
- JoAnn Walsh
- Brook Soltvedt
- Jeff Knight
- Sharon Nash
- Shirley Haidinger
- Joseph Elder
- Mary Juckem
- Susan Depp
- Mary Nelson
- Matt Bodenbach
- Bedros Onuavian
- Joseph Ziegler
- Beverly Speer Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Sherry Caves

- Rep. Chris Taylor 76th Assembly District
- Marian Matthews League of Women Voters Dane County
- Janice Bauman
- Scott Foval People for the American Way
- Janet Murphy
- Rep. Andy Jorgensen 43rd Assembly District
- Nora Cusack
- Rose Sime
- Genie Ogden
- David Knutzen
- Judith Stadler
- Karen Gunderson
- Brent Nicastro
- Ed Mason
- Neil Gleason
- Ingrid Rothe
- Bob Liska
- Chris Ahmuty ACLU of Wisconsin
- Rep. Mark Spreitzer 45th Assembly District
- Kevin Rusch
- Susanne Breckenridge
- Laurene Bach
- Rebecca Alwin
- Penny Bernard Schaber
- Sen. Julie Lassa 24th Senate District
- Rep. Gary Hebl 46th Assembly District
- Rep. Debra Kolste 44th Assembly District
- Mitchell Hussbaum
- Kathryn Mulligan League of Women Voters
- Doug Yangen
- Ellen Fisher
- Eda Wilson
- George Pbhw (sp?)
- Rep Peter Barca 64th Assembly District
- Patrick Bohn
- Beverly Killian
- Mary Anglim
- Rep. Dianne Hesselbein 79th Assembly District
- Larry Christianson
- Gail Bliss
- Tim Carpenter 3rd Senate District

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

#### October 22, 2015 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga,
		Wanggaard, Risser and Miller.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator LeMahieu, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(4)	Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga,
		Wanggaard and Miller.

Noes: (1) Senator Risser.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator LeMahieu, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga, Wanggaard and Miller.

Noes: (1) Senator Risser.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Risser, seconded by Senator Miller that **Senate Amendment LRBa1077** be recommended for introduction.

- Ayes: (2) Senators Risser and Miller.
- Noes: (3) Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga and Wanggaard.

SENATE AMENDMENT LRBA1077 INTRODUCTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Miller, seconded by Senator Risser that **Senate Amendment LRBa1068** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (2) Senators Risser and Miller.

Noes: (3) Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga and Wanggaard.

SENATE AMENDMENT LRBA1068 INTRODUCTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Bill 294** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (3) Senator LeMahieu; Senators Kapenga and Wanggaard.
- Noes: (2) Senators Risser and Miller.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Luke Petrovich Committee Clerk