## Senate Record of Committee Proceedings

# **Committee on Government Operations and Consumer Protection**

### Senate Bill 314

Relating to: adverse possession against the state or a political subdivision.

By Senators Marklein, Cowles, Kapenga, Lassa, Miller and Ringhand; cosponsored by Representatives R. Brooks, Sargent, Berceau, Billings, Edming, Gannon, Hesselbein, Johnson, Kahl, Katsma, Kessler, Kitchens, Murphy, Novak, A. Ott, Pope, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sinicki, Skowronski, Steffen and Subeck.

October 14, 2015 Referred to Committee on Government Operations and Consumer Protection

November 18, 2015 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present:	(5)	Senator Stroebel; Senators LeMahieu,
		Kapenga, Harris Dodd and Wirch.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

## Appearances For

- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Representative Rob Brooks 60th Assembly District
- Bob Welch Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors
- Daniel Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Curt Witynski Wisconsin League of Municipalities
- Nick Zavos City of Madison
- James Statz
- Doran Viste City of Madison

#### Appearances Against

• Bush Nielson - Wisconsin Land Title Association

Appearances for Information Only

• Jessica Shrestha

**Registrations For** 

• None.

## **Registrations Against**

- Devon Irby Wisconsin Land Title Association
- Pamela Kahn-Stein Wisconsin Land Title Association
- Lisa Peterson Wisconsin Land Title Association

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## December 17, 2015 Executive Session Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Stroebel; Senators LeMahieu,
		Kapenga, Harris Dodd and Wirch.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Senator LeMahieu, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5)	Senator Stroebel; Senators LeMahieu,
		Kapenga, Harris Dodd and Wirch.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Senator LeMahieu, seconded by Senator Kapenga that **Senate Bill 314** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Harris Dodd and Wirch.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

John Soper Committee Clerk