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Paczuski, Konrad

From: Koenen, Kyle

Sent: Monday, January 30, 2017 3:45 PM

To: Gallagher, Michael <Michael.Gallagher@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Cosmetology Changes

Mike,
We would like to combine two previous drafts with some changes and then add some more content.

1. Combine 0010/P1 with 0147/P1.

2. Change the reciprocity requirement to having a license from another jurisdiction in good standing and passing a
test. So, eliminate the hour “make up” requirement.

3. Eliminate Continuing education requirements for cosmetology and barbering related professions.

Kyle Koenen

Chief of Staff

Office of Senator Chris Kapenga
Office: (608)266-9174

Mobile: (262)939-7093
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1 AN ACT to amend 454713 (1) (intro.); and o create 454.13 (1) (c) and 454.27 (1)

@ (c) of the \s/tatutes relating to; licensure of barbers cosmetologlsts and related
o 'f’ 5 @fm.ﬁéa g el P2 gwrnr ,/?‘ f‘(’y?gaﬁﬁﬁ *gw;x ,-:&;‘;r
3 professionals from Jurlsdlctlons outside Wistonsin.

Analyszs by the Legislative Reference Bureau

C Lo " This is a preliminary draft. An analysis will be prov1ded ina subsequent Versmn
-7 of this draft.

/ For further information see the stafe fiscal estimate, which will be prlnted as

_ _an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

/-5 4
/" SECTION 1. "454.13 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

5‘440.05 (2), the examining board may issue a license to practice cosmetology,

" aesthetics, electrology, or manicuring or to practice as a cosmetology manager to an

~

State of Wisconsin N4

\(_/&@?

o
454.13 (1) (intro.) Upon application and payment of the fee specified in s. |

!

- applicant who is licensed in another state or territory of the United States or in /
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SECTION 1

<

! performed by licensees in this state and to whom either any of the following applies:

i
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!
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SECTION 2. 454.13 (1) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

454.13 (1) (c¢) If the applicant is applying for a license to pracfice cosmetology,
aesthetics, electrology, or manicuring, the applicant has completed a course of
instruction in cosmetology, aesthetics, electrology, or manicuring that is approved by

the licensing authority of the jurisdiction in which the applicant is licensed and that

; requires at least the number of training hours required under s. 454.06 (2) (b), (4) (b), "TV‘

(5) (b), or (6) (b). Ifthe course of instruction does not require at least that number

of training hours, the applicant may substitute experience in licensed practice of the

- relevant profession at the rate of 10 hours of experience in licensed practice for each

. training hour not required under the course of instruction.

#++NOTE: The drafting instructions indicated the substitution rate should be three
months of licensed practice for every 50 training hours not required by the other
jurisdiction’s course of instruction. Because the relevant statutes otherwise characterize
licensed practice experience in terms of hours rather than months, I translated the three
months to roughly 500 hours of licensed practice experience for every 50 training hours,
which renders ten hours of licensed practice experience for every one hour of training not
required in the other jurisdiction’s course of instruction. If this arrangement does not fit
your intent, please let me know.

«++NOTE: I did not include a similar provision for a reciprocal cosmetology manager
license because there is no “course of instruction” path to the cosmetology manager
license. Instead, s. 454.06 (3) (b) allows for 2,000 hours of practice and 150 hours of
theoretical instruction as a substitute for 4,000 practice hours. Please let me know if you
would like to discuss options for an alternative path to reciprocal licensure for the

cosmetology manager license.

SECTION 3. 454.27 (1) (¢) of the statutes is created to read:
454.27 (1) (¢) If the applicant is applying for a license to practice as a barber,
the applicant has completed a course of instruction in barbering that is approved by

the licensing authority of the jurisdiction in which the applicant is licensed and that

- requires at least 1,000 training hours in barbering. If the course of instruction does

' a’u‘,not require at least 1,000 training hours, the applicant may substitute experience in

o
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SECTION 3

;/"flicensed practice as a barber at the rate of 10 hours of experience in licensed praégibe\a,; e
/
(\ for each training hour not required under the course of instruction. /

. *=NoTE: Please see the drafter’s notes above.......o-~

SECTION 4. Initial aﬁpiicability.

(1) This act first applies to an application for licensure under section 454.13 of
the statutes received by the cosmetology examining board on the effective date of this
subsection or an application for licénsure under section 454.27 of the statutes
received by the department of safety and professional services on the effective date
of this subsection

(END)
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This bill eliminates continuing education requirements forYcosmetologists,
aestheticians, manicurists, and electrologistsY Under current law, the Cosmetology
Examining Board¥can require persons holding any of those licenses to complete
continuing education 1) as a part of the disciplinary process to ensure the person’s
professional competency;*r 2) if doing so is necessary to preserve the public health,
safety, or welfare.

The bill also removes continuing education requirements for barbers. Under
current law, the Department of Safety and Professional Services has the authority
to require barbers to complete continuing education until completingéight years of
practice as a licensed barber.

Additionally, the bill eliminates the requirement that an applicant who is
licensed as a cosmetologist, aesthetician, manicurist, electrologist, or barber in
another jurisdiction must have completed 4,000"f10urs of experience in the licensed
practice in order to be granted a reciprocal license. The bill maintains the
requirement for a reciprocal license in current law that an applicant licensed in
another jurisdiction has never been disciplined by the licensing authority of another
jurisdiction and is not party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which it
is alleged that the applicant was negligent or violated the law in the licensed
practice y

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

INS 1-3

SECTION 1. 454.12 of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2. 454.13 (1) (a)\éf the statutes is amended to read:

454.13 (1) (a) The applican%@r&sa%ieast—%@@&heu%seﬁexpeﬂeneeinﬁeensed
practice; has never been disciplined by the licensing authority of another
jurisdictiorg;md is not a party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which

it is alleged that the applicant was negligent in the licensed practice or violated the

law relating to the licensed practice.

History: 1987 a. 265; 2011 a. 190.

v
SECTION 3. 454.265 of the statutes is repealed.

SEcCTION 4. 454.27 (1) (a)\{)f the statutes is amended to read:

Y
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454.27 (1) (a) The applicant has-atleast4,000-hours-of experience-inlicensed

practice; has never been disciplined by the licensing authority of another

@ jurisdictionsrand is not a party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which

it is alleged that the applicant was negligent in the licensed practice or violated any

law relating to the licensed practice.

History: 2011 a. 190.
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1 AN ACT #o repeal 454.12 and 454.265; and to amend 454.13 (1) (a) and 454.27

2 (1) (a) of the statutes; relating to: cosmetology and barbering continuing
3 education requirements and licensure of barbers, cosmetologists, and related
4 professionals from jurisdictions outside Wisconsin.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill eliminates continuing education requirements for cosmetologists,
aestheticians, manicurists, and electrologists. Under current law, the Cosmetology
Examining Board can require persons holding any of those licenses to complete
continuing education 1) as a part of the disciplinary process to ensure the person’s
professional competency; or 2) if doing so is necessary to preserve the public health,
safety, or welfare.

The bill also removes continuing education requirements for barbers. Under
current law, the Department of Safety and Professional Services has the authority
to require barbers to complete continuing education until completing eight years of
practice as a licensed barber.

Additionally, the bill eliminates the requirement that an applicant who is
licensed as a cosmetologist, aesthetician, manicurist, electrologist, or barber in
another jurisdiction must have completed 4,000 hours of experience in the licensed
practice in order to be granted a reciprocal license. The bill maintains the
requirement for a reciprocal license in current law that an applicant licensed in
another jurisdiction has never been disciplined by the licensing authority of another
jurisdiction and is not party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which it
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is alleged that the applicant was negligent or violated the law in the licensed
practice.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 454.12 of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 2. 454.13 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.13 (1) (a) The applicant has-atleast4,000-hours-of experience-in-licensed
praetiee; hasnever been disciplined by the licensing authority of another jurisdiction
and is not a party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which it is alleged

that the applicant was negligent in the licensed practice or violated the law relating

to the licensed practice.

SECTION 3. 454.265 of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 4. 454.27 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

454.27 (1) (a) The applicant has-atleast-4,000-hours of experience-inlicensed
practice; has never been disciplined by the licensing authority of another
jurisdiction; and is not a party to a proceeding before the licensing agency in which
it is alleged that the applicant was negligent in the licensed practice or violated any
law relating to the licensed practice.

SecTION 5. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to an application for licensure under section 454.13 of
the statutes received by the cosmetology examining board on the effective date of this

subsection or an application for licensure under section 454.27 of the statutes
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SECTION 5

received by the department of safety and professional services on the effective date
of this subsection.

(END)



