2017 DRAFTING REQUEST

| Assembly Amendment (AA-AB260) | | | | | |
|-------------------------------|---|----------------------|-------------------|---------------------|----------|
| For: | Debra Kolste | (608) 266-7503 | I | Drafter: | kpaczusk |
| By: | Andrew | | Š | Secondary Drafters: | |
| Date: | 6/8/2017 | | 1 | May Contact: | |
| Same as | LRB: | | | | |
| Requeste | Submit via email: Requester's email: Carbon copy (CC) to: michael.duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov michael.gallagher@legis.wisconsin.gov Konrad.Paczuski@legis.wisconsin.gov | | | | |
| Pre Topi | ic: | - | | | |
| No speci | fic pre topic given | | | | |
| Topic: | | | , | | |
| Certifyin | Certifying chiropractors to perform health or physical examinations | | | | |
| Instructions: | | | | | |
| See attached | | | | | |
| Drafting History: | | | | | |
| Vers. | <u>Drafted</u> | Reviewed | Submitted | <u>Jacketed</u> | Required |
| /? | kpaczusk 6/9/2017 | aernsttr 6/9/2017 | | | |
| /1 | | | hkohn 6/9/2017 | hkohn 6/9/2017 | |

<**END**>

FE Sent For:

Paczuski, Konrad

From: Hoyer-Booth, Andrew

Sent: Thursday, June 08, 2017 3:37 PM

To: Gallagher, Michael < Michael. Gallagher@legis.wisconsin.gov>; Paczuski, Konrad

<Konrad.Paczuski@legis.wisconsin.gov>

Subject: Amendments to AB 260

Good Afternoon,

Rep. Kolste would like to have the following amendments drafted for AB 260. Sending to you as the two lead authors but reassign as needed.

- 1) Scrap the pre participation physical examinations portion from the bill altogether
- 2) Scrap the PPE for the WIAA and youth sports and keep it for tech college and 2 year college students only
- 3) Requirement that any chiros performing a PPE must receive an initial certification and additional re-certification every two years. The certification course should at a minimum include:
 - Goals & content of PPE
 - Patient history & physical examination
 - Guidelines for student sports participation in Wisconsin
 - Legal precautions
- 4) Up the hours requirement to 500 for chiropractic acupuncture, 200 of which would need to be clinical in nature
- 5) Limit delegation of services to nurses and MA's, not the exhaustive list included in section 12 of the bill

Note: I tried to model #3 off the requirements currently present in Colorado. I couldn't find anything in their statutes but did attach a flyer from their chiropractic association with a bit more detail.

If we could have these drafts by late Friday afternoon that would allow us enough time to get them to other committee members and stay within the 24 hour rule. The executive session will take place Tuesday morning.

Thank you,

Andrew Hoyer-Booth Office of Rep. Debra Kolste 44th Assembly District Phone: 608.266.7504

Sports Physicals nitial Certification & Re-certification

Doctors of chiropractic may perform Pre-Participation Physical Examinations (PPE) for student athletes in Colorado. Although DCs possess the education and clinical judgment to perform such physicals, the Colorado High School Activities Association (CHSAA) regulations require initial certification and additional re-certification every two years. A DC who is certified through the CCA's course must re-certify on or before their expiration date or he/she will be unable to perform preparticipation sport physicals during the expired period of time.

This course will cover:

- Goals & content of PPE.
- Patient history & physical examination.
- Guidelines for student sports participation in Colorado.
- Legal precautions.
- Appropriate PPE forms.
- PPE Textbook included with INITIAL cert a \$65 value.

Required course materials & rules:

- BRING: Stethoscope, pen light & sphygmomanometer.
- A certified Health Care Provider level CPR class, valid for two years, is included with the seminar fee - CPR runs from 1 to 4 p.m. (If you are already Health Care Provider level CPR certified, you MUST fax/mail a copy of your CPR card to the CCA office prior to registering for the seminar.)
- A written and practical test will be given to attendees completing the PPE course. You must pass the test with a minimum score of 80% to be eligible to perform PPEs.

Dates and Locations

Denver (*30) CCA Conference Center 8751 E. Hampden #B-7

Denver, 80231 Yosemite & Hampden

Thursday,Oct. 26 Drs. Nelson & Wilburn

Saturday, May 6

Drs. Nelson & Wilburn

Thursday, April 13

Rialto Theatre Fort Devereaux Room Collins (*40)

228 E 4th St Loveland, CO 80537

CO Springs, CO 80909

Grand Junction, CO 81505

Olympic Training Center 1750 E Boulder St

Community Hospital Grand 2351 G Rd

Colorado

Springs (*25)

Junction (*50)

Saturday, August 26 Dr. Bill Moreau

Saturday, June 17 **CPR 1-5 p.m. 4 CE Hours Dr. Tim Rinn

*attendee limits No walk-in registrations please!

Up to 7 Colorado CE Hours

Initial Cert: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

includes PPE Textbook - a \$65 value!

Re-Cert: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

CPR Training 1-4 pm; 1 hour break for lunch on own **Grand Junction CPR training from 1-5 pm

INSTRUCTORS (bios on next page):

- Robert Nelson, DC, DACBSP, FICC
- Tim Rinn, DC, DACBSP, CSCS
- Monty Wilburn, DC, CCSP
- William Moreau, DC, DACBSP
- CPR Instructor Mark Wolff, DC, DABCO, DACAN

2017 Sports Physical Certification

| Course Options | Hours | CC | CA Member | Non-Member |
|---|-------|----|-----------|------------|
| INITIAL CERTIFICATION -PPE textbook - \$65 value -CPR training | 7 CE | | \$285 | □ \$360 |
| RECERT - WITH CPR -CPR training | 5 CE | | \$185 | □ \$240 |
| INITIAL CERT -NO CPR -PPE texbook - \$65 value -Send copy of valid CPR Card | 4 CE | | \$215 | □ \$270 |
| RECERT - NO CPR -Send copy of valid CPR Card | 2 CE | | \$115 | □ \$150 |
| CPR ONLY CPR Manual Included | 3 CE | | \$70 | □ \$90 |
| | | | | |

1. Register On-line at www.coloradochiropractic.org

- 2. CALL the CCA at (303) 755-9011 or (800) 829-0339.
- 3. FAX to the CCA, with credit card information to (303) 755-1010.
- 4. MAIL this form with a check or credit card

Please Check the date you would like to attend

| Denver | Thurs. April 13 | |
|------------------|-----------------|--|
| | Thurs. Oct. 20 | |
| Fort Collins | Sat. May 6 | |
| Colorado Springs | Sat. August 26 | |
| Grand Junction | Sat. June 17 | |

| CPR ONLY CPR Manual Included 3 CE □ \$70 | | □ \$90 | s | Send checks to: 8751 E. Hampden Ave #B-7 Denver, CO 80231 | | | |
|--|----------|--------|-------|--|---|--|--|
| Name(s): | | | | Phone: | | | |
| E-mail: | | | _ 🗆 с | heck enclosed | (please make checks payable to the CCA) | | |
| Address: | | | | City _ | Zip Code | | |
| Amount Due: \$ | Credit C | ard #: | | | Exp. Date: | | |



State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRBa0710/0° 1 KP:...\

PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT,

TO ASSEMBLY BILL 260

IN: 6/9/2017 OUT: TODAY

At the locations indicated, amend the bill as follows:

| (2) | 1. Page 5, line (5) : after that line insert: |
|------------|--|
| (3) (4) | "Section 6m. 440.08 (2) (a) 246 of the statutes is created to read: 440.08 (2) (a) 246 Chiropractor health or physical examination certificate: |
| 5 | December 15 of each even-numbered year.". |
| 6 | 2. Page 9, line 9: delete lines 9 to 20 and substitute: |
| 7 | "Section 15m. 446.02 (2) (dm) of the statutes is created to read: |
| 8 | 446.02 (2) (dm) 1. The examining board shall issue a certificate to a |
| 9 | chiropractor who is licensed under this chapter, who submits satisfactory evidence |
| 10 | that the chiropractor has completed a course in performing health or physical |
| 11 | examinations for participation in school or college athletic activities, and who pays |
| 12 | the certification fee specified in subd. 2., except that no fee is required under this |

19

| 1 | subdivision for an individual who is eligible for the veterans fee waiver program |
|----|---|
| 2 | under s. 45.44. |
| 3 | 2. The renewal date for the certificate issued under this paragraph is specified |
| 4 | under s. 440.08 (2) (a), and the fee for initial certification and for renewal of the |
| 5 | certification is \$25. |
| 6 | 3. The examining board shall promulgate rules that establish minimum |
| 7 | requirements or standards for the course that shall be completed in order to obtain |
| 8 | a certificate under this paragraph. |
| 9 | 4. The rules promulgated under subd. 3. shall require the course to cover all |
| 10 | of the following topics concerning health or physical examinations for participation |
| 11 | in school or college athletic activities: |
| 12 | a. The goals and components of a health or physical examination. |
| 13 | b. Taking information about the medical history of a patient. |
| 14 | c. Health guidelines for participation in school or college athletic activities. |
| 15 | d. Compliance with statutes and rules applicable to performing a health or |
| 16 | physical examination. |
| 17 | 5. The examining board shall promulgate rules that require continuing |
| 18 | education in order to renew the certificate.". |

(END)