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Duchek, Michael

From: Borgerding, Chris

Sent: Thursday, December 07, 2017 1.04 PM
To: ~ Duchek, Michael

Subject: RE: LRB-3122/P2

For the time being let’s say part of.
Thanks so much,

Chris

From: Duchek, Michael
Sent: Thursday, December 07, 2017 1:03 PM_

To: Borgerding, Chris <Chris.Borgerding@|egis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: RE: LRB-3122/P2

Sure. It looks like dentists have to do 30 hours every 2 years currently, with 25 of those being “instruction in clinical
dentistry or clinical medicine.” Do you know if you want these to be in addition to the 30 or part of the 30?

From: Borgerding, Chris
Sent: Thursday, December 07, 2017 9:18 AM

To: Duchek, Michael <Michael.Duchek@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: LRB-3122/P2

Hi Mike,

We have been working with the Kolste office on LRB-3122/P2 (| have attached for your reference). Andrew from their
office is gone until the 14™ of December and we need to make changes to the bill and have a draft before then. Would
you be able to draft us our own version of this bill? We would like to include dentists in the bill as well as PA’s.

Thanks Mike,
Chris

Chris Borgerding

Office of State Representative John Nygren
Co-Chair, loint Committee on Finance

89th Assembly District

309 East, State Capitol

608.266.2343
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AN ACT tojgmend 448.07 {1) (d); and fo create 448.13 (4), 448.20 (3) (c) and

448.40 (2) (cm) of the statutes; relating to: continfiing education in prescribing

controlled substances fgr physician assistants| and granting rule-making

o entist

Analysis by the Legislative R%e Bureau
This bill requirés a physician assistant{who is authorized to prescribe

controlled substancgs, when renewing his or her license issued by the Medical
Examining Board] .to submit proof of completion of continuing education
requirements promulgated by rule of the board regarding best practices in
prescribing controlled substances.

For further information see the statfe fiscal estimate, wh1ch will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

authority.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 448.07 (1) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2013 Wisconsin Act 240,

is amended to read:
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SEcTION 1

448.07 (1) ‘(d) No registration may be permitted by the secretary of the board
in the case of any physician, physician assistant, or perfusionist who has failed to
meet the requirements of s. 448.13 or any person whose license or certificate has been
suspended or revoked and the registration of any such person shall be deemed
automatically annulled upon receipt by the secretary of the board of a verified report
of such suspension or revocation, subject to the person’s right of appeal. A person
whose license or certificate has been suspended or revoked and subsequently
restored shall be registered by the board upon tendering a verified report of such
restoration of the license or certificate, together with an application for registration
and the registration fee.

SECTION 2. 448.13 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (4) Each person who is licensed as a physician assistant and who is
authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 shall, in each
2nd year at the time of application for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07,
submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by
rule by the board regarding best practices in prescribing contrdlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 3. 448.20 (3) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

448.20 (3) (¢) Promulgating the rules estabiishing continuing education
requirements under s. 448.13 (4).

SECTION 4. 448.40 (2) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

448.40 (2) (cm) Establishing continuing education requirements for renewal
of a physician assistant license under s. 448.13 (4). In promulgating rules under this
paragraph, the board shall consult with the council on physician assistants. ‘

(END)
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SEcTION 1. 447.02 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:
e

447.02 (2) (k) Continuing education requirements for dentists under s. 447.056

P
regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01

(4). The board shall specify a minimum numbe;' of hours of such instruction that
must be completed in each 2-year period. Continuing education requirements
established in the rules proinulgated under this pél/ragraph shall apply only with
respect to a dentist who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21
USC@ZI to 831.

#NOTE: As with physician assistants, I said that these would only apply to
dentists who can prescribe controlled substances. I'm not sure if that’s necessary (i.e., do
all dentists, as a practical matter, have a DEA registration to prescribe controlled
substances?) orif you’d like it to to all dentistsregardless, so let me knowifyou don’t

want that caveat. v > Lo
SEcTION 2. 447.056 (1)0f the statutes is amended to read:

© 447.056 (1)/ Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), a person is not eligible for
renewal of a license to practice dentistry, other than a permitlissued under s. 447.02
(3), unless the person has taught, attended, or otherwise completed, during the
2-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2)
(a), 30 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of dentistry or the
practice of medicine, including not less than 25 credit hours of instruction in clinical
dentistry or clinical medicine and including the credit hours of instruction regarding
best practices in prescribing controlled substances that are required by the board in
rules promulgated under s. 447.02 /§2 ) (k). Not more than 4 of the 30 hours may be
from teaching. Continuing education does not satisfy the requirements under this
subsection unless the continuing education is one of the following:

#++NOTE: See SECTION 1 of this draft. Idid not specify a particular number of credit
hours, I left this up to the board, as I did with physician assistants. OK? See also s.
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447.056 (1) (a) and (b). I assume those would still work with respect to these hours, but
I would suggest confirming that. See also the rest of s. 447.056 and make sure no other
qualifications need to be added here. For example, note that under s. 44’?})56 2),CEis
not required for an first-time license renewal. .

History: 2007 a. 31; 2009 a. 10.



Duchek, Michael

From: Bemis, Zach

Sent: Thursday, December 14, 2017 12:57 PM~

To: Duchek, Michael; Borgerding, Chris : R é (
Subject: RE: Guidelines (4 ¥ A e lou

AT
Thanks, Mike. Can we call you soon to discuss? - ZC"{’

From: Duchek, Michael
Sent: Thursday, December 14, 2017 9:15 AM

_To: Bemis, Zach <Zach.Bemis@legis.wisconsin.gov>; Borgerding, Chris <Chris.Borgerding@legis.wisconsin.gov>
Subject: Guidelines

FY1 | went back and looked to see which boards have actually done guidelines on opiates/controlled substances as
permitted (but not required) under 2015 Act 269. It turns out they all have. | did not compare them in detail, but |
would note that one case, the Podiatry Board appears to have just adopted the Medical Examining Board’s guidelines.

Board of Nursing: YES

Dentistry E.B.: YES . -
Medical E.B.: YES —PWygitraws £ JXS
Podiatry A.C.B.: YES

Optometry E.B. YES

As | mentioned yesterday, the Veterinary E.B. was not included in Act 269 and unlike the other boards, that one is now
housed in another agency, DATCP.

Mike Duchek

Legislative Attorney

Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau
(608) 266-0130



Duchek, Michael

From: Borgerding, Chris

Sent: Monday, December 11, 2017 1:50 PM
To: Duchek, Michael

Subject: LRB 5014/P1

HI Michael,

Could we change the LRB to include veterinarians?

thanks

Chris Borgerding : OQ 0 e & 6’»

Office of State Representative John Nygren / -
Co-Chair, Joint Committee on Finance ’ ia/u ’{é
e

89th Assembly District

09 East, State Capi

309 East, State Capitol ‘f*-(/!‘{)
608.266.2343 {
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| Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
{ This bill requires ajphysician assistantpdentist gvho is authorized to prescribe b

controlled substances, when-renewing his or her license issued by the
m Board or the Dentistry Exammn&ﬁ_@@@g@i@@ to
“Sibmit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by
rule of the board regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances.
For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as

an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SecTiOoN 1. 447.02 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:
447.02 (2) (k) Continuing education requirements for dentists under s. 447.056

regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01



O = W D

© 00 =~ &

10
1
12
13
14
15
16
17

18
19

/.._f

2017 - 2018 Legislature -2- LRB-5014/P1
MED:kim

SecTioN 1
(4). The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that
must be completed in each 2-year period. Continuing education requirements
established in the rules promulgated under this paragraph shall apply only with
respect to a dentist who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21

USC 821 to 831. Gt
MM

NT/E As with phys1c1an as51stants I sa1d that these would only apply to
~dentists who can prescribe controlled substances T’'m not sureif that’s necessary (i.e., do

all dentists, as a practlcal matter, have a DEA regigtration to prescnbe controlled

want that caveat ,,,,,,,,,,

e
e

SECTION 2. 447.056 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.056 (1) (intro.) Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), a person is not eligible
for renewal of a license to practice dentistry, other than a permit issued under s.
447.02 (3), unless the person has t;aught, attended, or otherwise completed, during
the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified under s. 440.08
(2) (a), 30 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of aentistry or
the practice of medicine, including not less than 25 credit hours of instruction in
clinical dentistry or clinical medicine and including the credit hours of instruction
regarding best practices in prescribing coﬁtrolled slibstances that are required by
the board in rulesg promulgated under s. 447.02 (2) (k). Not more than 4 of the 30
hours may be from teaching. Continuingeducation does not satisfy the requirements

under this subsection unless the continuing education is one of the following:
= I —

7 "~ +«NOTE: See SECTION 1 of thls draft I d1d not spemfy a partlculal' number of credit
D ” hours, I left this up to the board, as I did with physician assistants. OK? See also s.
! 447. 056 (1) (a) and (b). I assume those would still work with respect to these hours, but
/. I'would suggest confirming that. See also the rest of 8. 447.056 and make sure no other
; qualifications need to be added here. For example, note that under s. 447.056 (2), CE is
~ “~.not. requlred for an first-time hcense renewal. T T e

SEcTION 3. 448.07 (1) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2013 Wisconsin Act 240,

is amended to read:
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SEcTION 3

448.07 (1) (d) No registration may be permitted by the secretary of the board
in the case of any physician, physician assistant, or perfusionist who has failed to
meet the requirements of s. 448.13 or any person whose license or certificate has been
suspended or revoked and the registration of any such person shall be deemed
automatically annulled upon i'eceipt by the secretary of the board of a verified report
of such suspension or revocation, subject to the person’s right of appeal. A person
whose license or certificate has been suspended or revoked and subsequently
restored shall be registered by the board upon tendering a verified report of such
restoration of the license or certificate, together with an application for registration
and the registration fee.

SECTIOl\f 4. 448.13 (4) of the statutes is created to read.:

448.13 (4) Each person Who is licensed as a physician assistant and who is
‘authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 shall, in each
2nd year at the time of application for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07,
submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by
rule by the board regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 5. 448.20 (3) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

448.20 (3) (¢ Promulgatmg the rules estabhshmg contlnumg education

(e o0 bafances, 8¢ deé- Fived !

corvol

paragx:aph the board shall consult with the cetncil on physician assistants.
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| INSERT A

SECTION 1. 441.16 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
441.16 (3) (d) Establishing procedures for maintaining a certificate to issue
prescription orders, including requirements for continuing education and a

requirement to complete the nursing workforce survey and submit the fee required

unders. 441.01 (7). The requirements established by the b(‘érd under this paragi\/aph
shall include continuing education requirements regarding best practices in
prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.61 (4), for any advarﬁ:ed
practice nurse who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC
821 to {331, and the board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such

instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.

History: 1993 a. 138; 1995 a, 448; 2009 a. 28, 280; 2013 a. 114.

Cross-reference: See aiso ch. N 8, Wis. adm, code.

INSERT B

SECTION 2. 448.13 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (1) (a) 3. Ifthe physician is authorized to dispense controlled substances
under 21 USC 821 tc\)/ 831, continuing education programs regarding best practices
in presdribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961./01 4.

INSERT C

. SECTION 3. 448.40 (2) (ck) of the statutes is created to read:
448.40 (2) (ck) Establishing continuing education requirements under s.
448.13 (1)‘/(a) 3. regarding best practices in prescﬁbing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 9611)1 (4), for renewal of a license to practice mgdicine and surgery by

/
a physician authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831.
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The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that must

DN

be completed in each 2-year period.
”_____’_——'—.—_.

3 SECTION 4. 448.665 of the statutes is renumbered 448.665 (1) (intro.) and
4 amended to read:
5 448.665 (1) (intro.) The affiliated credentialing board shall promulgate rules
6 establishing requirements and procedures for licensees to complete continuing
7 education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal of a license
8  granted under this subchapter. The rules promulgated under this section shall
9 reguaire do all of the following:
10 (a) Require a licensee to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education
11 programs or courses of study within each 2-year period immediately preceding the
12 renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).
13 (2) The affiliated credentialing board may waive all or part of these the
14 requirements for the completion of .continuing education programs or courses of
15 study under sub. (1) if the affiliated credentialing board determines that prolonged
16 illness, disability, or other exceptional circumstances have prevented a licensee from
17  completing the requirements.

r/}listory: 1997 a. 175.

Vv

Cross-reference: See also ch. Pod 3, Wis. adm. code. /
18 SECTION 5. 448.665 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
19 448.665 (1) (b) Establish requirements for a licensee who is authorized to

J
20 dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 to complete continuing
21 education programsregardingbest practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
: v
22 defined in s. 961.01 (4). The affiliated credentialing board shall specify a minimum

23 number of hours of such instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.
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SECTION 6. 449.06 (2in) of the statutes is renumbered 449.06 (2m) (intro.) and
amended to read: '

449.06 (2m) (intro.) The examining board shall promulgate rules requiring a
person who is issued a license to practice optometry to complete, during the 2-year
period immediately preceding the renewal date specified in 5. 440.08 (2) (a), not less
than 30 hours of continuing education. The rules shall include requirements all of
the following;

(a) Requirements that apply only to optometrists who are allowed to use topical
ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents under s. 449.17 or who are allowed to use
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents or remove foreign bodies from an eye or from an

appendage to the eye under s. 449.18.

Hlstory 1977 c. 29; 1991 a. 39, 207; 2005 a. 297; 2007 a. 20.

Cross-reference: See also ch. Opt 7, Wis. adm. code.

12
13
14
15

17

SECTION 7. 449.06 (2m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

449.06 (2m) (b) Requirements for optometrists who are authorized to dispense
controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to/831 to complete continuing education
programs regarding best ractlces in prescribing controlled substances, as defined
in s. 961.({1 4). The specify a minimum number of hours of such

instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.
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PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT to renumber and amend 448.665 and 449.06 (2m); to amend 441.16
(3) (d), 447.056 (1) (intro.) and 448.07 (1) (d); and #o create 447.02 (2) (k), 448..13 »
(1) (a) 3., 448.13 (4), 448.20 (3) (c), 448.40 (2) (ck), 448.40 (2) (cm), 448.665 (1)
(b) and 449.06 (2m) (b) of the statutes; relating to: continuing educé.tion in
prescribing controlled substances for certain health care practitioners and

granting rule-making authority.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill requires a physician, physician assistant, advanced practice nurse
prescriber, podiatrist, dentist, or optometrist who is authorized to prescribe
controlled substances, when renewing his or her license issued by the applicable
credentialing board, to submit proof of completion of continuing education
requirements promulgated by rule of the board regarding best practices in
prescribing controlled substances.

For further information see the stafe fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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SECTION 1. 441.16 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
441.16 (3) (d) Establishing procedures for maintaining a certificate to issue
prescription orders, including requirements for continuing education and a

requirement to complete the nursing workforce survey and submit the fee required

under s. 441.01 (7). The requirements established by the board under this paragraph
shall include continuing education requirements regardiﬁg best practices in
prescribing controlled substances, ag defined in s. 961.01 (4), for any advanced
practice nurse who is authorized to digspense controlled substances under 21 USC
821 to 831, and the board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such

instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.
SECTION 2. 447.02 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:

447.02(2) (0) Continuing education requirements for dentists under s. 447.056
regarding best practices. in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01
(4). The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that
must be completed in each 2-year period. Continuing education requirements
established in the rules promulgated under this paragraph shall apply only with
respect to a dentist who is authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21
USC 821 to 831.

SECTION 3. 447.056 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

447.056 (1) (intro.) Except as provided in subs. (2) to (4), a person is not eligible
for renewal of a license to practice dentistry, other than a permit issued under s.
447.02 (3), unless the person has taught, attended, or otherwise completed, during
the 2-year period immediately preceding the renewal date specified under s. 440.08
(2) (a), 30 credit hours of continuing education related to the practice of dentistry or

the practice of medicine, including not less than 25 credit hours of instruction in
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SECTION 3

 clinical dentistry or clinical medicine and ihcluding the credit hours of instruction

regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances that are required by
the board in rules promulgated under s. 447.02 (2) (k). Not more than 4 of the 30

hours may be from teaching. Continuing education does not satisfy the requirements
under this subsection unless the continuing education is one of the following:

SECTION 4. 448.07 (1) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2013 Wisconsin Act 240,
is amended to read:

448.07 (1) (d) No registration may be permitted by the secretary of the board
in the case of any physician, physician assistant, or perfusionist who has failed to
meet the requirements of s. 448.13 or any person whose license or certificate has been
suspended or revoked and the registration of any such person shall be deemed
automatically annulled upon receipt by the secretary of the board of a verified report

of such suspension or revocation, subject to the person’s right of appeal. A person

" whose license or certificate has been suspended or revoked and subsequently

restored shall be registered by the board upon tendering a verified report of such
restoration of the license or certificate, together with an application for registration
and the régistration fee. |

SECTION 5. 448.13 (1) (a) 3. of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (1) (a) 3. If the physician is authorized to dispense controlled substances
under 21 USC 821 to 831, continuing education programs regarding best practices
in prescribing controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 6. 448.13 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

448.13 (4) Each person who is licensed as a physician aésistant and who is
authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 shall, in each

2nd year at the time of application for a certificate of registration under s. 448.07,
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SECTION 6
submit proof of completion of continuing education requirements promulgated by
rule by the board regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4).

SECTION 7. 448.20 (3) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

448.20 (3) (c) Promulgating the rules establishing continuing education
requirements under s. 448.40 (2) (cm). ‘

SECTION 8. 448.40 (2) (ck) of the statutes is created to read:

448.40 (2) (ck) Establishing continuing education requirements under s.
448.13 (1) (a) 3. regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as
defined in s. 961.01 (4), for renewal of a license to practice medicine and surgery by
a physician authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831.
The board shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that must
be completed in each 2-year period.

SECTION 9. 448.40 (2) (cm) of the statutes is created to read:

448.40 (2) (cm) Establishing continuing education requirements under s.
448.13 (4) regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined
in s. 961.01 (4), for renewal of a physician assistant license by a physician assistant
authorized to dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831. The board
shall specify a minimum number of hours of such instruction that must be completed
in each 2-year period. In promulgating rules under this paragraph, the board shall
consult with the council on physician assistants.

SECTION 10. 448.665 of the statutes is renurﬁbered 448.665 (1) (intro.) and
amended to read:

448.665 (1) (intro.) The affiliated credentialing board shall promulgate rules

establishing requirements and procedures for licensees to complete continuing
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education programs or courses of study in order to qualify for renewal of a -license
granted under this subchapter. The rules promulgated under this section shall
regaire do all of the following:

(a) Require a licensee to complete at least 30 hours of continuing education

. programs or courses of study within each 2-year period immediately preceding the

renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

(2) The affiliated credentialing board may waive all or part of these the
requirements for the completion of continuing education programs or courses of
study under sub. (1) if the affiliated credentialing board determines that prolonged
illness, disability, or other exceptioﬁal circumstances have prevented a licensee from
completing the requirements.

SECTION 11. 448.665 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

448.665 (1) (b) Establish requirements for a licensee who is authorized to
dispense controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 to complete continuing

education programs regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as

~ defined in s. 961.01 4). The affiliated credentialing board shall specify a minimum

number of hours of such instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.

SECTION 12. 449.06 (2m) of the statutes is renumbered 449.06 (2m) (intro.) and
amended to read:

449.06 (2m) (intro.) The examining board shall promulgate rules requiring a
person who is issued a ]icenée to practice optometry to complete, during the 2-year
period immediately preceding the renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a), not less
than 30 hours of continuing education. The rules shall include requirements all of

the following:
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(a) Requirements that apply only to optometrists who are allowed to use topical
ocular diagﬁostic pharmaceutical agents under s. 449._17 or who are allowed to use
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents or remove foreign bodies from an eye or from an
appendage to the eye under s. 449.18.
SECTION 13. 449.06 (2m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
449.06 (2m) (b) Requirements for optometrists who are authorized to dispense

controlled substances under 21 USC 821 to 831 to complete continuing education

programs regarding best practices in prescribing controlled substances, as defined

in 8. 961.01 (4). The examining board shall specify a minimum number of hours of
such instruction that must be completed in each 2-year period.

(END)



